Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Date A Live


Alternative Titles

English: Date A Live
Japanese: デート・ア・ライブ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 6, 2013 to Jun 22, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: AIC Plus+
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 299,151 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #104
Members: 533,858
Favorites: 7,889

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 24, 2013
Veronin (All reviews)
Boobs, explosions and cute girls are a time-tested formula. Apparently.

If there is one that has remained true about the anime industry, it is that cheap entertainment and low-risk adaptations prevail. AIC's "Date A Live" is yet another addition to this tired trend- doing nothing interesting or even particularly well. It expects the audience to willfully ignore its poor writing, because hey-- there are cute girls to gawk at!

Drawing inspiration from the 2008 manga "Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai", Date A Live presents itself as a pseudo-parody of otaku culture. After our protagonist Shidou conveniently encounters two busty ladies fighting one another, he finds read more
May 18, 2013
Spagglespook (All reviews)
Preliminary
Date a Live: a series where a protagonist works to defeat invading entities... by dating them. From this description alone, you the viewer should hopefully have realized that this is a parody series - specifically parodying mecha series such as Evangelion, Gundam and Muv Luv, and replacing the invading force with cute girls.

This may sound absurd, perhaps even trite - but here's the catch - it's actually incredibly fun. If you've watched (or read) some of the aforementioned mecha series, you should at least find amusement in how the mecha genre is respectfully made fun of; couple to that a great ensemble of characters who read more
Nov 20, 2013
lilseph (All reviews)
Note: Everything in this review is my personal opinion. I will try to see both sides of the fence because when i talk to people about Date A Live, they either think the show is a work of art, or they this its a complete mess. I am on the side where I think it's a work of art but I will try to not be bias.

------------------------------------------------------------

Date A Live, or DAL for short, is a show about spirits invading our world and creating spacequakes upon entering our world that kills thousands of people. These spirits are dangerous entities and we do not know much about read more
Oct 13, 2013
dudetb3 (All reviews)
Ok I am kind of scared to write a positive review for this anime due to the fact that all the positive reviews are getting hated on but I just have too. I know people are saying, yea yeah its a fan service, and the popularity of fan service animes are comparable to hipster music, but i gotta say.. this is quite simply one of the best fan services that i have ever scene. Really, the plot is actually intriguing.

It may just be because this year of anime has been incredibly awful and has led me to believe that every single action anime producer read more
Jun 16, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Life isn't always fun.

It's especially bothering when you have a little imouto who drives you nuts everyday when you wake up. But more so, sometimes people wish they get more enjoyment out of their lives. But that might just be a bit too much for a sudden young boy by the name of Shido Itsuka. He gets more than what he ever hoped because on a faithful day, he meets a strange girl who completely turns his life into one hell of a ride.

Yup, the ride begins here and Date a Live takes the concept of 'dating' to a strange level. It's no read more
Jun 4, 2013
Harem-kun (All reviews)
Preliminary
Date a Live(Dead or Alive) is a parody series of mecha series. It is focused on a protagonist, Itsuka Shidou, as he race against time to save cute spirits invading the Earth by dating them. A really unique comdy, harem, love comedy in my opinion.

The story is a 10. Again, there aren't anything else out there like Date a Live. There were things in the anime I didn't expect to happen and I don't mean it in a bad way.

The art is a 10. It really depends what you're used to watching in order to calculate the art score right. To me, this anime read more
May 27, 2013
Jamesml9411 (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you were looking for an harem, love comedy anime, voila Date A Live is the anime to watch.
But hold on, this anime is not only a typical cliché love comedy, but quite full of action and for some people, can be thought of as a bit bloody(?).

Itsuka Shido, the male protagonist, basically tries to save several extraterrestrial beings called "Spirits" by getting the spirits to accept (love) him and to do so, he goes on a "Date" with each and one of them; a typical galge story line. Up to now, it sound a love comedy, but here is what makes this anime called read more
Jun 16, 2013
noptovius (All reviews)
Date a live is a great anime which I think deserves a nice overall rating.

The story is great, the complications, the climax, it is all interesting and can be enjoyed well. However, in the resolution, or the ending, there are still some questions left unanswered which dissatisfies some of the watchers. It is possible that they will answer it in the second season if there is any.

The art is great, the character illustration is realistic and well drawn. The characters in the story is also interesting as some of them are not just ordinary humans and are spirits, and it adds some interests to the read more
Jun 17, 2013
Nebarto (All reviews)
MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS
Date a Live, definitely an interesting series, and does take a unique spin on the harem/dating theme.
Please keep in mind that this is my own personal opinion and whether you choose to think I'm an idiot or not is up to you.
Now returning to the anime, I haven't read the light novel to Date a Live, but I usually just watch the anime or read the manga series if I found the anime interesting. The one thing that did keep me hooked onto this series had to be the way they spun a new way to the aliens to earth/ in this read more
Jun 21, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
Quality entertainment is one thing in any anime show that has ever existed, whether it’s supposed to the intention or if it was unintentional. With that in mind, many people try to reach to the conclusion that shows like Date A Live is the reason why anime has gone downhill in recent years from the fact that it has officially run out of ideas on what to do with any story. It doesn’t matter how well they tell it, just how it entertains the masses. For me, I find this type of thinking to be overly cynical and silly because this isn’t exactly a new read more
Jun 2, 2013
YuzurihaAsuna (All reviews)
Preliminary
Another anime with fanservice as it's theme, of course when there's fanservice there'a always the word "Harem".Don't get me wrong I have nothing against harem anime or it's counterpart, reverse harem. Anyway, as I was saying there's really not much great or new to see in this anime. A tsundere ' Princess ', a kuudere 'doll-like' human, a dandere ' Hermit' with another personality , a sister or rather foster sister who also has a split personality, a yangire, the most brutal spirit ' Nightmare' ( I just love using their codenames ) and finally the dense protagonist who helps anyone in trouble thereby making read more
May 2, 2013
Rayla (All reviews)
Preliminary
The review will further be edited as more and more episodes are released.~


Of course the plot of Date A Live does seem promising and intriguing to a degree, but it was executed poorly. I was so intrigued with the first few minutes that I grew so disappointed when this anime shown me its true colors that I said and I quote, “Really? I feel so disappointed…” As a result, my sister who overheard me asked if I had a bad day at school and thought I was a freak for explaining why I said what I said. But Date A Live does have its merits read more
Nov 20, 2013
Quills_on_Wheels (All reviews)
Preliminary
[This is a spoiler free review in case anyone is wondering.]

It appears as if Date a Live seems to have been an anime I was recommended to by so many friends, yet when I looked at reviews, many of them were... negative. If figured I should go watch the anime myself and see how I feel. So without further wait, let's go.

Story: (6/10)

Admittedly, the story is where Date a Live fails the most at. It's not really anything original (then again it IS a parody anime) It takes on the life of this protagonist who has to date a bunch of magical girls read more
May 18, 2013
nishi_san (All reviews)
- This is a Edited version after the show finished
- This contains a small amount of SPOILERS.

As this is not a very complicate show, I would go straight into business. By no means was this bad show, but this is not something stunning/moving either; despite a rather attractive background and seemingly innovative setting, This is a mediocre show: It is not really that innovative, Not really that corny, not really touching/entertaining and not really humorous, but Instead it stucks right in the middle of everything.

Despite a clear vision as they attempt to innovate by adding Galgame Elements into the plot, adapting some sort read more
Jul 28, 2013
ProjectZakuro (All reviews)
-Project Zakuro Reviews: Date A Live-

Date A Live is an anime that was released early in the spring of 2013 and has received mix criticism from viewers. Some loved it, some hated it. Many anime released prior to Date A Live have been well below decent so how does Date A Live stack up with the new releases? Well then, let's find out.

From my experience, I felt the story had a lot of potential but unfortunately some of that potential was bogged down by rather ridiculous concepts. I'll explain as I go along. A strange phenomenon called "spacequakes" has been causing destruction all over the read more
Jun 29, 2019
Vazka (All reviews)
This is easily one of the worst anime I have watched so far in 2019. You see, it's garbage like this that gives us real anime fans a bad rep. I'm surprised that this horrible anime even has sequels to it. It's literally just the typical cliche harem you get all the fucking time. When this anime tries to be original it just fails miserably and ends up going back to the stupid ass harem tropes you see in every damn harem anime. This review will only be about the first season btw.

The first mistake I noticed in this anime is that it actually read more
May 23, 2014
Jamada (All reviews)
Shows like this don't have to be plot heavy to get by. A gimmicky premise plus some cute girls and action is enough to justify watching for many people (and that includes myself). Whether it's the cuteness of the girls or the hokey Hogan's Heroes/military-ish sounding music used for the preview (and as background music during various light moments throughout the series), Date A Live has a certain charm to it that doesn't need to provide a deep experience to be enjoyable.

That said, I found that I was more interested in the plot than I thought I would be. While I wasn't immediately impressed from read more
May 1, 2015
GiancarloLS (All reviews)
Now, in MAL, there seems to be a disparity of ratings. The ratings really don't reflect on the quality of the anime because it is purely subjective. Being subjective is like talking to guys who like Hyundai because of its "fluidic sculpture" and immediately concluded that Hyundai is awesome; and if you're like me who's looks at what's under the bonnet on car displays and motor shows, you'll end up asking yourself if those guys have never seen a Ford or Toyota before. It's exactly the same in anime: you find out that a harem-anime has almost the same score as Ano Natsu de Matteiru, read more
Jun 26, 2013
Flashflame00 (All reviews)
The whole idea of dating girls and getting a kiss from them in order to free them from a burden brings Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai to mind. However, the whole idea of girls in Mecha armor should be an obvious hint that it's nowhere near close to what we though it would be. I'd have to say that what made this anime enjoyable was the balance between comedy and plot. It wasn't too serious and at the same time, it wasn't too comedic. The amount of fanservice here was average for a new anime (In this century at least). What captivated me the most read more
Oct 13, 2013
TheJamjam1997 (All reviews)
This does not deserve it's hype. Actually, how did it even get hyped in the first place?

This show? Basically fanservice, fanservice, fanservice, more fanservice, boobs, explosions, boobs, explosions.

The main character's reactions to everything made absolutely no sense and had no rationality whatsoever. My adoptive sister is suddenly the commander of a floating invisible airship? Okay, cool. She wants me to date potentially life-threatening girls who can flatten a suburb in a matter of seconds and kiss them? SURE! No problem!

I don't even care if this spoils the beginning, hopefully you won't make the same mistake as me and watch this garbage.

I have read more