Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

High School DxD New


Alternative Titles

English: High School DxD New
Synonyms: High School DxD Dai 2-ki, High School DxD 2nd Season, High School DxD Second Season, Highschool DxD 2
Japanese: ハイスクールD×D NEW

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 7, 2013 to Sep 22, 2013
Premiered: Summer 2013
Broadcast: Sundays at 20:30 (JST)
Producers: Genco, AT-X, Fujimi Shobo
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: TNK
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.721 (scored by 308,921 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #127
Members: 487,442
Favorites: 4,016

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 12, 2014
GBlazeMan (All reviews)
Okay, let's get it out of the way: If your still watching at this point, you probably don't have a problem with ecchi, boobs, panty shots and ALMOST hentai. SO going on that basis, I'm not going to cater to the type of person wo's gonna whine about the obnoxious Boob/panty shots.

This show is awesome. Seriously, it's the best ecchi show ever created (and believe me, I've seen a few). And why? Because it doesn't take itself seriously. Some shows, like Highschool of the Dead, would be good if not for the fanservice, but Dxd works in the opposite way. It would suck without read more
Sep 23, 2013
10makunn (All reviews)
Highschool DxD New!
The second season of “Highschool DxD”. As you may know, this is an anime series that actually has a story line. The anime consists of having ecchi, harem fan services, the same as the prequel. The story is involving a guy named Issei, who is seventeen years old. If you have watched the prequel of this anime, you would know that he is Rias Gremory’s (King) Pawn covering up all eight pieces of the front strike army. Issei has a goal to be best harem king!
Story : 10
The story of the second season is mainly about the characters and their past. read more
Oct 5, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
With the onslaught of ecchi titles that have come out this past year or so, there haven’t been many of them that have the distinct charm or courage as some of the great ones. They are all devoid of any pleasure or wit in how fan-service can be portrayed as colorful and sometimes ascetically beautiful in its artistry and dialogue. However, with that said, there are occasionally great gems hidden in the genre that does provide great comedy and memorable characters. Enter High School DxD.

The series started with the first season as, in my mind, as a decent comedy/fan-service show with plenty of entertainment to read more
Sep 22, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Let's get out of the most obvious factors first. For those already familiar with the High School DxD franchise, you're probably already familiar with some of its elements like the ecchi fanservice, harem building ethnics, and clothes tearing off through battles. More than that though, High School DxD New surprisingly has a plot. Can you believe it? An ecchi series with a plot! Well, if it means anything, it also involves a young man named Hyoudo Issei as he makes his goal to create his own harem and become a harem king.

As part of the continuing show from the original High School DxD that read more
Dec 18, 2014
Shaidowx (All reviews)
Despite the echiness, this anime really has it something. The story and the beautiful soundtrack makes the anime more than a teenage boys fapping material. The story is unique with a spice of fan service. I really like the idea of demons and angels and the action really nicely put up together. There is always something that I'm eager to find out of the plot and i cannot stop myself watching it all over again.
Don't take the series as harem ecchi, take it as a well made science fiction series with intriguing plot, interesting characters and mysterious hidden story behind the world that is read more
Oct 29, 2013
Snakeskins (All reviews)
Alright people, heres to the second season of demons accompanied by boobs boobs more boobs and some stuff that almost crosses lines into the hentai realm, but hey, isn't that what we're all here for at this point?

Sure there are haters out there that are going to accuse anyone who enjoyed this show(or me for giving it a 10) of being an idiot who only cares about boobs, but that is not the case and I will explain why I think its a good show throughout the course of this review.

Story: Issei is back trying to get all the women for his harem or read more
Sep 23, 2013
Baddie007 (All reviews)
Oh Pie, Oh my and Oh No, so what's my verdict for this 2nd season of High school DxD? Not good, and here's why:

Story: Fair 6.

The genre was still the same genre, the plot was a bit new and a bit boring, the only thing that studio TNK does was to add new characters for every climax that comes along. Then again the part where the harem becomes intense was nice to say the least and Rias getting serious with stupid Issei also adds spice to this anime's story plot, but it kinda annoys me that he's too hesitant to bang either one of read more
Sep 22, 2013
YaN333 (All reviews)
Highschool DxD New has been a very popular series among the fans of Ecchi/School-life this season, but does it really live up to the hype? What follows are my honest opinions on it.

Let me begin by saying that I don't wish to be flamed for what I write, and if you take what I say that seriously, than you should think of a decent way to refute my reasoning.

To begin: the story. The story was horribly executed, with any drama in it being written off for scenes where they could make the moral reasoning for the character be nothing more than: "I want read more
Jan 12, 2014
azurexsky (All reviews)
With the coming of High School DxD New (Second Season), it once again delivers on a high note, giving fans what they desire the most (No not just Oppais).High School DxD New concocts a remedy of action / comedy / supernatural / School Life and good ol harem. To top it all off, the audience gets a overly gracious amounts of fan service. This anime clearly is catered to the male audience, but however it possibly wouldn't deter females from also watching it as well for various reasons. Reasons such as having consistent enjoyable episodes, which are usually never dull, a rather above average story read more
Sep 18, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

(This is a review for both Season One and Season Two)

In anime, there are many types of shows, from dark fantasies focusing on action to romantic comedies with a splash of drama. One genre in particular, ecchi, is mainly aimed at providing more sexual themes/happenings than other genres. For many ecchi shows, their focus on "fanservice" tends to diminish the show greatly. However, with High School DxD, the fanservice is actually used in more ways than one.

STORY

High School DxD stars Issei, a normal high school student who is famous for is extremely perverted sense of mind. After unfortunate read more
Sep 24, 2013
TCTriangle (All reviews)
If you watched the first season of this series, then you already know what you're getting into: a very fanservice-heavy harem romantic comedy with good action, decent plot, and memorable characters. This second season doesn't deviate much from the formula - everything you loved before is back, and probably better than ever before.

Story: 9
The story here is even better and more complex than the first season's. The main characters are all back, and the first large story arc deals with Kiba's backstory and expands his character a great deal, while the second arc sheds more light into the whole demon-angel-fallen angel war. Both stories are read more
Sep 24, 2013
MightyJK (All reviews)
Total amazing anime. Though the story is a tad bit weak still it is very funny and enjoyable. contains all the current characters and the new ones combined to make an extradoniary story. contains very humorous and echi animations to make the viewers laugh till tears are found.
Mar 6, 2014
Scragleton (All reviews)
If you are reading this review, then most likely you have seen the first season and gotten used to the high amount of panty shots/boobs. That being said, I'm going to jump right into the review of this boob-filled wonderland that we call High School DxD.

Story 9/10
Most harem anime have little to no story, however, High School DxD is the exception to that rule. The story that it has is a genuinely good one. In this season there is a lot of focus on characters other than Issei. A few of the episodes go into Kiba's past and how he was reborn as a read more
Mar 5, 2019
starfarts (All reviews)
I mean, this is a series about a guy who will turn into the universe's ultimate weapon just by thinking about tiddies. It's not exactly a cerebral concept, and yet at the same time it actually instills a sense of happiness that's way beyond what it should...and that's even before all the ecchi stuff.

In fact, what makes me appreciate DxD so much is the attention to Christian lore. Through the first two seasons we got references to Longinus, the Imperial Regalia, Roland, Saint George, pretty much the entire gamut of the Lemegeton, and probably more that I missed out on. The created world here draws read more
Aug 6, 2014
DasKawaii (All reviews)
Preliminary
An English professor who once taught me argued that you could tell a lot about a work of fiction, whether a novel, movie, play or a TV show, by examining its first line. This is clearly true when examining the second season of Highschool Dxd, also called Highschool Dxd New. The season’s first line is “boobs”, a line which pretty much sums up the entire show. Now don’t get me wrong, Highschool Dxd is, at its core, an Ecchi about boobs and other naked female body parts. However, like its predecessor, it still manages to provide a somewhat interesting and coherent story with decent read more
Jan 17, 2015
jacobjr1 (All reviews)
*WARNING! THIS REVIEW MAY CONTAIN MINOR SPOILERS FOR SEASON 2 OF HIGH SCHOOL DxD*

What do you think of while watching the Ecchi genre? For me, at least, I think about how corny the story line is and how boring the characters are. I'll admit it, Ecchi shows don't interest me. Then came High School DxD, a show with a lot going for it, but the execution wasn't exactly the best. How do you fix something like that? Add another season of course!

Story: 7/10 - The story for the second season doesn't completely overhaul the foundation the first season laid out, but rather expands upon read more
Oct 29, 2014
Anthony_DiGrande (All reviews)
Here's my review of High School DxD New.

The story of High School DxD New follows the events of the first season when Rias moves in with Issei and his family. The plot centers around volumes 3 and 4 of the light novels. The first half show gives you a glimpse into Kiba's past and how he has the last survivor of The Holy Sword Project and how the leader of the project reemerges and wants to use the four holy swords to start a war. The second half of the show is about a truce between the angels, devils, and fallen angels. In addition, the read more
Mar 25, 2016
haremking69 (All reviews)
*will edit when issei reaches 3rd base
The wait for season 3 felt like the ending of school days, empty, like a womb
Let starts this review with a quick back story, i had to replenish a years worth of lotion and tissue to accommodate 4 episodes worth of this blasphemy of an anime
Secondly, i had to install 5 A-grade locks, set up 6 security cameras around my rooms perimeter, an emergency kill switch and hire an ASSASSIN to watch this anime safely, you've been warned
With that being said, i expected nothing less from the 3rd season of Highschool DxD
What we came to love about season 1 read more
Jan 16, 2014
crimson_knight23 (All reviews)
Great anime no joke it has potential ti become a great show it derserves art in point music exact both seasons but seaosn strays off the plot a bit and episdoe 12 was a bit of a cliff hanger but defintley telling us that their will be a season 3 and while your waiting here are some animes you might like seikon no qwaser rosario + vampire heavens lost property and also high school of the dead trust me their will be a season 3 if i gets good dvd and reviews in japan theres not doubt
Nov 20, 2014
LLEYTOSS (All reviews)
Before we start, this review is on the SHOW. As good as the oppai might be, it wouldn't be a proper review if we focused on dem tittays. Therefore we shall be talking about the plot, and not the "plot"

High school DxD is what all ecchi should be. When a friend mentioned to anime to me I thought it was going to be a boobfest with little to no plot at all. I was wrong. I mean , the boobfest was still there but it was accompanied with a plot. A good plot.

STORY: now I won't be spoiling any of the plot here, but read more