Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kono Danshi, Ningyo Hiroimashita.


Alternative Titles

English: This Boy Caught A Merman
Synonyms: This Boy Picked Up A Merman
Japanese: この男子、人魚ひろいました。

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 9, 2012
Producers: CoMix Wave Films
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: None found, add some
Source: Original
Duration: 28 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.611 (scored by 11,929 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #13602
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2778
Members: 23,272
Favorites: 135

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 7, 2013
Xemorth (All reviews)
Plot Summary: This guy (uke) feels sad cause his grandfather died, so he goes and emo's it out on like a rock in the ocean. Stuff happens and he ends up drowning. BUT THEN LIKE A SEXY MERMAN COMES TO SAVE HIM. And like. They bond and fall in love. The end

Art: 10/10
The art style is really unique, pretty, and overall memorable

Story: 6.5/10
It's pretty cliche and corny.

Characters: 6.5/10
Their relationship progresses at an unrealistic rate. And sometimes you want to face palm. But hey, the character interaction is pretty amusing

Enjoyment: 9

Overall: 9

How does a 10 + 6.5 + 6.5 + 9= a 9 you ask? WELLLLLLLLLLLLLL. read more
Feb 12, 2013
sakeya-teddi (All reviews)
When i first started to watch the ova i was pleasantly surprised by the art; it was/ still is beautiful. It wasn't like every other anime, it was colorful yet dark. It drew the eyes in. It was perfect. The music that accompanied the art was wonderful, it really hit the heart and filled the story with life.

In the first two minutes i fell in love. I think the concept of this show was cute, and clever. The characters were really well expressed, being brought to life in front of me.

It made me laugh and giggle, with the subtle little jokes, and had me read more
Oct 19, 2014
Meruru-tan (All reviews)
So I wanted to spend some BL quality time and gave this anime a try.
At first I wasn't too sure if I would really watch this to the end or if I would rather stop halfway because the plot would just be too boring and annoying, but to my surprise Kono Danshi, Ningyo Hiroimashita turned out to be one of the best shounen ai series that I watched up until now!

Story 7/10

Ok the plot of this fictional work isn't that great, it's not some really original story that you have never seen before but it is enough to keep you entertained and to make read more
Mar 13, 2016
Rikuncy (All reviews)
(This is my first review) I do have a thing for "shounen ai" anime but I don't watch much of it. Oh yea and also am I the only one who thinks that Shima Kawauchi looks similar to Haruka from Free!? So does his voice even though Haruka and Shima don't have the same seiyuu.

Sound:10 Outstanding
Music was beautiful, even though I don't see much shows/OVA's with outstanding soundtrack.

Art:9 Great
The art was pretty unusual but relaxing to look at.

Story:8 Very Good
There was a dark aura behind most of the story and I wanted Shima to spend more time with Isaki but the ending was beautiful.

Characters:7 Good
There read more
Mar 29, 2014
Nutty-Sama (All reviews)
I first saw a gifset of it on tumblr, and I was drawn in automatically, the art was beautiful and so I set out to find the anime it was from without knowing anything. You know what? It didn't disappoint me.

Story: 8/10

Within a few minutes, I was already in love with the OVA and by the end of it, I was actually somewhat emotional and very touched by the story even though I found the pacing to be off at times, but let me elaborate a little bit.

In usual anime and manga, parents are either devil spawns or complete angels, but it's not true and read more
Jan 25, 2018
AnshiAneko (All reviews)
Woooow, my first review will be for a gay OVA :') Why the hell not.

(there is, like, one minor SPOILER ahead)

When it comes to shounen-ai, it's supposed to be pretty easy to make it enjoyable for the targeted group. You know, just mix two guys, a bag of stereotypes, sexual tension and you have a shounen-ai anime/manga. ...But then there am I, who will probably shit all over this anime/manga, even though I love LGBT+ stuff.

But let's take it from the start.

Story - 5/10; Characters - 3/10
If you are looking for a good plot, good characters and good story pacing... do NOT watch this read more
Oct 31, 2013
Arciam (All reviews)
This *really* restored my faith in the shounen ai genre.

Despite liking shounen ai - in the sense of "love between boys/men" - very much, I hardly ever read or watch anything of this particular genre anymore... I don't really see the point when it is always the same; the same general design, the same problems that arise, the same unrealistic mushiness. All of which might be enjoyable once or twice but really? Isn't there any other way BL can unfold besides "extremely gooey" or "extremely dark/psycho"?

Now I have found there is.

I gave the story a 9 because, well, I suppose most of all because of read more
Sep 15, 2014
angelsreview (All reviews)
A lonely boy and a lonely merman meet one cold night and soon make a lasting friendship. It’s a pretty sweet story in that regard no matter how choppy the script and imagery was. Shima seriously has an emo sad story which seemed to mess him up badly. It is almost like he wished for someone like Isaki to wash up on shore. Someone to care for him and make him not feel so alone. Someone who was a bit childish himself that could make him smile. Isn’t that what love is all about? In falling in love, it healed a wound that both of read more
Jul 28, 2015
ligerlover297 (All reviews)
WARNING: THIS MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS. I'LL TRY TO BE SUBTLE WITH THE SPOILERS BUT JUST FOR A WARNING IF YOU HAVEN'T WATCHED THE SHOW, DON'T READ THIS.

To put it simply, I'm pretty chill with yaoi. It's not like I like to watch it on a daily basis, no sir, but it's just when I find one that catches my attention that leads me into watching it. This was one of them.

Story: 6

The story is about our main protagonist, Shima, who is basically that kid who wanted to be perfect for his family. So when his parents had a divorce, he was taken to live with read more
May 12, 2017
TygrasKittenHina (All reviews)
Okay so it's 4 AM and I'm unable to sleep but that's besides the point. I found the english dub of this OVA on a website where I generally watch animes and cartoons and well, at first I couldn't get into this anime. It was the weird art style but after pushing past the unique yet beautiful art style, it grew on me and I kinda liked it and the story.

Which brings me to the scoring!

Story: 4/10
Sometime before the start of the anime/ova, Shima loses his grandpa and he's left all alone, until one day while he's at the ocean, mourning his grandpa's death, read more
May 29, 2014
flaming-moltres (All reviews)
The story is kind of cliché, but really enjoyable anyways. The characters are nice, kind of seen before, but they both have some things that make them unique. Some parts were funny, others were really touching, especially Shima's story. The art if what I like the most. It is unique and beautiful. The animation is good, although I did find it a bit not fluid enough at times. The music and sound fitted well with the anime, but nothing outstanding. The Japanese dub is great. but I feel like the English dub was a bit rushed (thus the 6 score).
If you like yaoi and Shonen-ai, read more
Jan 4, 2014
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Guess I found a shounen-ai title that's actually decent for once. This Comix Wave short focuses on a lonely teenage boy bonding with a merman who saves his life when he falls into the ocean and the two connecting through feeling similar bouts of loneliness that they are enduring. The short offers enough depth on both characters to explain their personal issues that led them to how they were living now and it tosses in a dramatic twist in the second half that tests their bond and reaffirms to Shima that he isn't truly alone in life. What allows This Boy Caught a Merman to read more