Gintama': Enchousen


Gintama: Enchousen

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Gintama: Enchousen
Synonyms: Gintama' (2012), Gintama' Overdrive, Kintama
Japanese: 銀魂' 延長戦

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2012 to Mar 28, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Thursdays at 18:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, ParodyParody, SamuraiSamurai, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 9.041 (scored by 115117115,117 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #92
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #666
Members: 232,231
Favorites: 2,698
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 5, 2013
Tyrel (All reviews)
Despite Gintama': Enchousen being shorter than its previous seasons, it still brings the action and comedy part of the show, never leaving, but always staying one step ahead. By doing this, the emotional impact the show brings into the series in some of the small and major arcs is shown in great detail, this leaves the viewers speechless at how perfectly it's put together.

Comedy isn't that strong in series as of late, even in most of the series airing the comedy was either pretty bad or they started out great, but than ended up as failures from becoming great. Knowing when to be funny in read more
Oct 21, 2012
apercarlo (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gintama' Enchousen, one of the top anime on the list and there's only like 3 episodes out.. that says alot right there. to people who think gintama is overrated, try watching it. It's not bad, in fact its great. Give it a try, and this dipshit afdal is just bitching out because his favorite anime wasn't number one

For me Gintama became number 1 for this reasons: Good Story, Originality, Character Personality, Funny, and Great Action.

Story: 10
- The story for gintama is always great.. And the twist that they did where they changed the main character as Sakata Kintoki was genius.. And I love read more
Mar 18, 2013
grumpytoast (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay this is my first time writing a review. So let's give this a shot.

Story (10): Gintama does have a story, unlike most people who haven't thoroughly watched the show don't believe it has. The overall plot is about the three characters who work in an odd-jobs. Though the story is episodic at times, they will often be serious arcs that are compromised of a couple episodes. This is where the overall plot and character development most of the time happen (though sometimes episodic episodes have development to). In these you can see that Sorachi is developing towards a bigger picture. Though right now let's read more
Oct 26, 2012
JezusBull (All reviews)
Preliminary
--Sorry for my English, I'm from a non-English speaking country--

Story - Sorry, but Gintama has no story, there is no plot at all. It's been like this since the beginning, to say it can get away with that just because it has stand alone adventures is ridiculous, just look at Cowboy Bebop or Mushishi, these shows also have many stand alone adventures and yet they have a story, Gintama can get serious from time to time, but it doesn't have real character development and it has a 'story' that goes nowhere.

Art - Average, as always. Art is getting better with each new season, but it's read more
Jul 7, 2016
GreatYeob (All reviews)
Gintama':Enchousen was extremely great, I expected nothing less.
Story:10
First off we get the episode with Kintoki as they promised from the last episode of Gintama', it was mostly for the lols but it also focused on Gintoki's bond with his companions and friends, it showed how close they actually are to each other, especially to Kagura, Shinpachi, Otae, Tama and Sadaharu. The second arc of Gintama':Enchousen revealed a little more of Gin-san's past to us and gave Shigeshige shogun an important role to play in, and it shows that Kagura is still friends with the Shogun's sister, the princess that ran out of the castle read more
Nov 22, 2017
voiretsavoir (All reviews)
This might be the shortest season of Gintama but I love everything about it, from the Kintama Arc which solidified my love for both the characters and for their bond; to the courtesan of nation arc which is pumping me up for the future serious arcs and let me tell you that that arc has one of the best music, fight scene and storyline in the series; to the Beam Sword Style Arc which made me wonder if I should take it seriously or not because the whole thing is both good and farcical and of course there's Sadaharu, our gigantic and adorable dog.

Overall, read more
Dec 14, 2017
ManOfDuty (All reviews)
There are some differences between seasons of Gintama one of most important is that Gintama is getting more serious first season is more like a comedy one second and third and bit serious and like this till the end. There are lot of people who don't really like this and i will say its personal, I like where it’s going because it has potential this way too and i like that they are using it and I must also say that comedy part isn't lost its just got less. Third season consists of 12 episodes so it’s more serious than comedic, it consists of two read more
Oct 29, 2012
simply-idek (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gintama is the most awesome anime I've ever watched, it's true that there are many great animes out there but I find them too common. Like for example, Naruto, Bleach or One piece which have almost the same plot, but I admit those three animes are good too. I'm just saying my opinion, so I think Gintama deserved to be number 1. It's almost an all in one anime. There are fights, romance, comedy and many more that you can't see in other animes. It's whole new different anime so if you haven't finished watching it yet. DON'T FRIGGIN' JUDGE.

Story - Gintama is such read more
Dec 20, 2020
elmonosuke (All reviews)
One of the big Enchousen things is that it covers the Kintama and Courtesan of a Nation arcs, which is a turning point on the series, become more plot-oriented and entering the whole political concept of the story, since it's based on the Edo period.


Although you won't laugh as much (which is one of the major strong points in the show), you'll crave for more as you watch this one, proving that Gintama is not just your everyday comedy series, but also one of the greatest shounen anime of all time.


The OST is also a great feature here, which makes battles even more exciting read more
Sep 25, 2020
BabyGirl06301 (All reviews)
This season is so interesting because it's entirely filled with episodes that carry a serious tone. Gintama is always funny, but everything from the three arcs in this season to the only episodic-type episode carried emotional content. And I loved it.

So, yes, you aren't getting as much straight comedy in this season. If that is the only part of Gintama you like (I don't know why you would be crazy enough to only love the comedy, though), then this season veers away from that. There's only one major story arc, but all the episodes are heavy in one way or another.

The theme of this read more
May 24, 2019
JJJWWS (All reviews)
Already wrote a review on one of the Gintama long series but I am to finish for all of the 6 Gintama on MAL just cause i'm bias AF.

Story (10/10)
Those who are looking for story, seriousness in Gintama is similar to looking for gold in your anus. You are rating an orange while tasting an apple. I rate it 10 just because for me filler = story, and filler is well over 10 in my book.

Art (10/10)
They say the way you enjoy an artistic piece is totally dependent on the eye of the beholder, and to me, Gintama art is top-notch.

Sound (10/10)
The way Gintama sound read more
Aug 9, 2020
SheeshIrei (All reviews)
This is my first review on an anime. I'll try to write my best and try to keep it simple.
Well, Gintama':Enchousen, at first i thought was a non-canon or filler arc. But the more i watched the more i became surprised and astonished. Alright, my first impression on this season on this season of Gintama will be , "I never thought an anime would question itself why the main character in the show is needed, what good does he and is he good enough for the show?" These were some questions answered by this Gintama season beautifully. WHY Gintoki is needed, what good is Gintoki read more
May 8, 2019
TheGostoso (All reviews)
(This review applies to the entire Gintama series.)
What is Gintama about? Well, according to Gin-san: "We don't even know". But for me, Gintama is a great filler with some anime bows tucked in the middle of genius shapes.

Gintama tells a story about Japan at a time when it was dominated by alien forces, the plot focuses on our four protagonists: Gintoki, Shinpachi, Kagura and Sadaharu. Now speaking of the anime, Gintama is very good indeed, all the characters have a different charisma, from their personalities to their beliefs, like our revolutionary Zura, oh my mistake, "Zura janai, Katsura da.", Dear Hasegawa-san (Madao), the whole shinsegumi read more
Apr 9, 2021
rathum2323 (All reviews)
This is a great show for long periods of time and it's mostly comedy but it has a lot of serious arcs as well which are also good. But it is heavily over-rated.

Story is pretty decent but takes a backseat to the comedy and the serious arcs are well written for the most parts.

Art is pretty decent, the animation is pretty good in fight scenes and the characters all look pretty good and cool.

Characters are well written, and they are all unique and have their own quirks. They are interesting and keep the interest in the story.

This is a very enjoyable series because of the read more
Nov 24, 2020
Cloudburst0700 (All reviews)
*This review is spoiler free

This season is very short compared to the previous ones and yet it held up to my expectations. With three arcs back to back, gintama: enchousen has fast pacing.

The animation has seen a slight improvement, which is always a plus (I personally think this season has the best artstyle) but we know that animation has never been the main attraction of gintama.

The new OP/ED are bangers. All 3 arcs are superb, with the 2nd one being my favorite.

Pros: Same as previous seasons. Saying anything more will spoil it.

Cons: the first arc takes up 1/3rd of the whole season which is a read more
May 24, 2020
DJSharp (All reviews)
This was the shortest of the Gintama Arcs but it actually packs a lot in for 13 episodes. There are 3 main Arcs and few one-shot episodes.

Of the Arcs, the first is alright, the second was outstanding and the third decent. There's backstory and a lot of action. The downside is that the humour takes a bit of a backseat but it still made me chuckle and at least at one point cry which is pretty good for such a short arc. It also really benefits from having more budget than the original season.

Overall this is a really good addition to the Gintama read more