Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Pumpkin Scissors


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: PumpSci
Japanese: パンプキン・シザーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2006 to Mar 18, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Gonzo, AIC
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.221 (scored by 12,743 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28412
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2354
Members: 31,168
Favorites: 105

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 20, 2007
YourMessageHere (All reviews)
This is absolutely typical. Oooh, I thought, something about a post-war relief squad. That has some real potential, it's original, good setting, chance for some great stories, those shots look nice, and - Oh nuts, it's Gonzo.

Studio Gonzo have this amazing effect; I suspect they have some kind of quota system in effect. For each really good thing they put out, there seem to be a bunch of things about which you end up thinking "if only they'd just done that differently, that could've been so much better...". Every excellent series like Bokurano that they put out is outnumbered by flawed read more
Aug 7, 2008
Huntsman (All reviews)
Was a good anime, but had the potential to be great.
The story takes place in a parallel earth that looks like Europe in the 20s and 30s. A cease fire has ended between Royal Empire and the Republic of Frost. Three years later the Empire is still plagued by problems from the war, soldiers becoming mercanieries, starvation, and disease. To help solve the problems the Empire sets up Imperial Army Section III nicknamed Pumpkin Scissors. Led by 2nd Lieutenant Alice L. Malvin and a special forces soldier Randel Oland set out to change the empire.

Almost everything about this anime was great. The story wasn't original, read more
Jan 13, 2018
bmoore07 (All reviews)
Assembled through a string of bizarre twists of fate and spearheaded by a tomboy princess known as 2nd Lieutenant Alice L. Malvin, a ragtag outfit of inexperienced yet well-intentioned military officers aspire to forge a positive, lasting impact in their community, their society, and the world at large through resolving one trivial, small-scale case after another. They are Section 3 (nicknamed the “Pumpkin Scissors” unit) of the Royal Empire militia; brought into existence by the Empire’s ceasefire with a rivaling country after a long, arduous, bloody, and pointless war, this unit, the archetypal “whipping boys” of the military, contributes in combating the after-effects of the read more
Apr 13, 2010
erisabesu_kuro (All reviews)
(season 1) This anime, pumpkin scissors is about military section 3, pumpkin scissors helping people after the war. I have to say, even I was skeptical at first and had a hard time picking up the manga, or the anime to watch or read it. But once I got started, I couldn't stop. It has a subpurb plotline, and the characters are VERY believable, it's almost like you mourn for them when something bad happens. It's very realalisting even besides the fact that they have a litle bit of fantasy genre in there. The fantasy genre was so beutifully mixed into the reality that it read more
Jun 18, 2013
SchrodingersMatt (All reviews)
While I believe that a responsible critic should judge each creation on its own individual merits, there are times when the existence of a comparable alternative that surpasses the subject in question on just about every level is evidence enough that it could have been "done better". That holds especially true in this case, where said alternative is widely considered to be essential viewing for anime fans. I mention this because from the military-ruled state to the lower class that's still suffering from the wounds left by war, right down to the noticeably similar art style, Pumpkin Scissors comes out looking an awful lot like read more
Jul 29, 2009
exodus1999 (All reviews)
This is a disappointing pile, the idea behind post war relief is kind of lame, but ok i can deal with it. Character wise , the Alice is the typical obnoxious omgwtfbbq with a ridiculous sense of justice and running into things, and for whatever reason she can fight well (2nd leutinent). then you have 2 half ass soldiers (warrant officer), a useless add in that somehow is a sergeant major, and the only person who probably have seen combat is a corporal? and to top it off he is like a 8foot tall that they make him such a wuss half the time The read more
Sep 23, 2017
Ghostfriendly (All reviews)
An unconventional war anime, with a small unit of colourful soldiers fighting to heal a post-war fantasy Europe, while combating a corrupt army brass and nobility. The strength of the series is the characters, with a fiery, charismatic heroine, who has flaws to overcome but undeniable strength and spunk. Her supporting officers would do credit to Fullmetal Alchemist's cast. Many stand alone episodes are gems of plotting in a convincing, vibrant world, dealing with serious topics of trauma, unemployment, poverty and corruption. Sadly, the two 4-5 ep story arcs are so slowly paced that I found them almost unwatchable; a shame as they included many read more
Jun 22, 2011
animefreak0007 (All reviews)
At first glance it appears like your typical military story. When you actually begin to watch it you realize it's not.
The story is set after a fictional war. The main focus is the section in the army called Pumpkin Scissors. Their duty is to help with rebuilding the country after the war.
This is not the first military anime I watched, but I was surprised of the main characters. They're not defending a country or in a mist of war, but trying to rebuild it. The first time I've heard of something like that.
There is a flaw. Most stories have one. In this case the read more
Aug 6, 2013
angelsreview (All reviews)
The storyline was pretty cool, and is mostly a conspiracy theory in itself. It’s about secrets within the military that during peaceful times come to hunt the people of the world they live in. It’s pretty much about what happens after the war and what we normally don’t see living in the United States since we haven’t had a battle happen on our land in such a long time. It can open the eyes on just how senseless some people can get and how crazy war veterans can be without medical help after being trained to be killers. It also cautions against genetic manipulation of read more
Jul 21, 2010
AfroCookie (All reviews)
Ok Pumpkin Scissors is about an army relief unit and of course the characters within the unit. One who is a princess, another a astute lady chaser, and lastly the one who is a army experiment.

Art & Sound : the art as well as the sound in this anime is average for the time of its release.

Characters : the character of this anime are great we see all of the main 4 characters of this anime develop within the short length of this anime. Also all of the characters have interesting back stories which leads you to want to know a little bit more read more
Apr 17, 2014
BillyB (All reviews)
I really enjoyed watching pumpkin scissors, the heart of the show to me was the Character driven plot. With a great back story and history to it, it allows characters to be fleshed out pretty well for a 24 episode run. You'll find the Solders of the Pumpkin Scissors squad to be loveable and when necessary kick some serious butt too complete the mission of war relief.This anime has one of my favorite Bad asses in anime Corporal Randal Oland who is part of the government biggest war time secret, it is Corporal Oland's job to show no fear, pain, or remorse and attack a read more
Jul 20, 2016
morningxtea (All reviews)
Just like some of my other reviews, the overall rating is quite personal and it's because this is my all-time favourite anime. It's the best, most entertaining anime I've ever seen, and I really enjoyed it. The story itself is not perfect, and even though there's no hope for a second season, I wish there were. I will probably end up reading the manga to find out what's with all the holes in the storyline, but nonetheless, it's enjoyable and really interesting, pulling you along bit by bit. But, you should be able to piece some things together yourself if read more
Dec 7, 2012
WilwarinAndamar (All reviews)
My take on it: Take the military from FMA. Except that Riza's the one in charge, and she's part nobility. The war's over, and Riza's platoon is focused on war relief efforts, looked down upon by everyone; including by those they're trying to help. That's Pumpkin Scissors in a nutshell.

The dub was good, and the storyline had me hooked from episode one. It's a short series that left me begging for more.

The series is short; only 24 episodes, which has its pros and cons. There's very little filler, so the plot stays strong. On the other hand, there's a lot of questions left unanswered.

There read more