Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Busou Renkin


Alternative Titles

English: Buso Renkin
Synonyms: BoRe, BuRe, Arms Alchemy
Japanese: 武装錬金

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 26
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2006 to Mar 29, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:00 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, FantasyFantasy, SupernaturalSupernatural, ComedyComedy, SchoolSchool, ShounenShounen
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.411 (scored by 6417664,176 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20642
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #802
Members: 140,286
Favorites: 848

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 6, 2010
burntlettuce (All reviews)
We all have those series. Which for some unknown reason we can't help to love. We know we shouldn't, we know it's not good. But we can't help but watch the series and be totally entranced by it. Buso Renkin is that anime for me. It's a totally predictable, cliche, crony shonen anime. It's nothing new, it literally brings nothing new to the table, but I just can't help but love this series.

Buso Renkin is your typically shonen experience. It's got a main character who is given a power by another and mysteriously keeps powering up and doesn't ever seem to read more
Jul 18, 2007
VK11 (All reviews)
Busou Renkin is a story that takes many of its elements from other anime. You'll see elements of Fullmetal Alchemist, Ruroui Kenshin, Shakugan no Shana, Fate/Stay Night, and probably a bunch more. Though Busou Renkin was developed by the creator of Rurouni Kenshin, Nobuhiro Watsuki, it is not as epic as the story of Kenshin was. However, despite some of the obvious points of this series, Busou Renkin manages to uphold fairly well and be a relatively enjoying series.

Busou Renkin means Arms Alchemy. In this story, there are homunculi that are running about the land and its up to alchemic warriors, read more
Feb 27, 2008
Obediah (All reviews)
EDIT: There is one thing i have to say. Watch the first three (or four) episodes, consisting of Papillon. If you enjoy them, continue watching. If you don't, stop watching. It's as simple as that.

The first three episodes is like the mini-arc going into the main arc, setting the scene, and making the expression known. If you do not enjoy the style (art, characters, all around) then you won't enjoy the rest. I'm not saying that it's all exactly like that, but it is enough to tell if you will like it or not.

This was a generally good anime. Though some of the aspects of read more
Feb 12, 2009
vault2049 (All reviews)
Busou Renkin is an anime for those who are looking forward to see lots of action, great battles and a great variety of weapons and characters. So if you are a Naruto/Bleach fan you should watch this one, it will be for sure of your liking and probably (in some aspects) may be considered better than the previously named animes.

The story in this anime is pretty much straight forward, those of you who are familiar with Bleach plot will find the storyline very tentative and it will be very likely of your interest, being similar to Bleach's. A boy wakes up from a nighmare, in read more
Mar 12, 2009
ArtRodriguez (All reviews)
This is as good as neo shonen get. It's not too long, but not too short. Fuck Ichigo and Ed, Kazuki has his Kakugane on lock down. "I'LL SPLATTER...YOUR GUTS!"

This is an IIP- "Impossible is possible" anime. The story revolves around alchemy and although it is SUPER played out this anime does well of lacking straying from any comparisons to FMA Quite frankly the only good plot in ALL of Shonen Jump's manga turned anime.

The art is pretty great. What would you expect from Nobuhiro Watsuki? I'm amazed that Xebec ACTUALLY did great designs. The fight scenes are quick, but leave you wanting more. read more
Aug 16, 2008
Gobind (All reviews)
Story: Great! The story isn't CRAZY original but how they portray it is really good so it makes up for it. One of the things that the story packs in a lot into each episode BUT it really flows. The plot twists are pretty good and there aren't many spots were things just seem too convenient, which a lot of anime tend to have. One thing that this story has that I really like is that the story has dark moments but also has good humor that lighten things somewhat.

I try not to give away spoilers in reviews but This story is good so read more
Jan 20, 2008
Minamino_K (All reviews)
Everyone make way. Nobuhiro Watsuki has made another hit anime series and I'm telling you, if you thought Rurouni Kenshin was good then you'll love Buso Renkin. To think I just learned about this today!!!! That made this one so extremely happy. Besides getting a crap load of books and movies this weekend I also get to watch Buso Renkin, sweet sweet hunny. (GRINS) I can't wait to watch it later on this afternoon. This tale with Kazuki will leave an impression!!
Dec 11, 2009
sylvanelite (All reviews)
The first thing to mention, is that Busou Renkin uses terms like "alchemy" and "homunculus". I want to make this clear, Busou Renkin is not a full metal alchemist rip-off. (because that's what I thought it was when I read the plot summary... boy was I wrong.)

Story:
Busou Renkin's story is fairly simple "us" vs "them" goodies vs baddies. But it's the way it's executed that makes the story great. Although there are not many actual plot twists as such (there are a few good ones, though) the plot manages to keep the viewer guessing. What's going to happen? Who is the main villain? How will read more
Nov 14, 2014
GodlyKorean (All reviews)
This isn't my favorite genre of anime with all it's magic action, but because this was like the anime that made me watch anime (I think it's called a bridge anime?) I thought I'd write a short review on it. I may be biased since it brings back memories of when I first started anime, but Busou Renkin was really enjoyable for me, and I think others should give it a try. Busou Renkin is actually a show more fit for kids - teens, not so much mature adults.

Story: In the world that Busou Renkin takes place, there are monsters called homonculus, and the read more
Nov 30, 2007
LTKevin (All reviews)
When I first started watching this anime I thought that it was going to be an other superpower cliché ' I fight , I almost die , I find a new power , I win ' setting and it was almost true . However I found myself enjoying the fights and the cliché moments as if it was the first time I ever saw them . The story realy succeeds in capturing your attention and really makes you think about the story . When you have watched 5 episodes , your sold , it doesn't mather annymore that you can sometimes forsee whats going to read more
Jan 17, 2012
rondoblend (All reviews)
Busou renkin follows the standart formula of a shounen anime. it doesn't offer nothing new whatsoever. Anyone who has a good iQ and has been watching anime for at least a few months will know what to expect.
So i won't bother you with a lengthy review, just remember one or two shounen animes that you have watched , and do a deduction (generalization). and you get a grip of Busuo renkin.
But for inexperied anime lovers this anime is good enough
Mar 22, 2009
animegurl09 (All reviews)
I thought Busou Renkin wasn't something I wanted to watch just by reading the description. But since I like Bleach, I said "why not give this a shot". I did and I was very pleased with this anime. It can relate to Bleach and Shakugan no Shana in several ways. In Busou Renkin, you have this boy (Mutou Kazuki) who has died trying to save this girl (Tokiko) who saved him by giving him the power of this kakugane. As I predicted, he wants to save everyone with this new power and protect the ones he loves.

Of course he struggles and gets stubborn at some read more
Oct 3, 2009
Bishounen_Hunter (All reviews)
Buso Renkin is a fun show to watch. It does have a lot of the typical shonen elements that's to be expected: like the main character wanting to fight fight fight all so he can fulfill the glorious role as the noble “protector” also there are those battles where they spend most of the time explaining how great each other's powers are and then of course pull that one “miracle move” out of their ass. I never understood the point of all that fighting and explaining. Either way Buso Renkin has a lot of this and yet nonetheless I found it enjoyable perhaps mainly read more
Feb 15, 2018
H4Z3 (All reviews)
After i watched it, i really want to talk about Busou Renkin. The show is generally deemed as a thing "Similar to FMA", and i can't for the love of my god understand why. The only thing that they have in common is the fact that alchemy exist, but they handle it in very different ways.

Story: 8
Not too generic, not outstanding. As far as shonen standards go, the plot is good enough to keep you watching.
Art: 8
Considering its time, it's preety good. I don't remember particular scenes where they fked up or did something outstanding, but it keeps up with the time. Don't like Papillon read more
Sep 22, 2009
blackline (All reviews)
My first review ^_____^

I have no idea on what to expect on this anime before I watched it since I don't really know this title.

Now I'm glad I watched this.

The story is typical with the action genre, putting emphasis on battle scenes rather than the plot of the story.The action scenes are good, but not that extraordinary. Just what you would expect of an action-genre anime. But what I think that makes this anime unique is the absurd comedy scenes. I just can't stop laughing while watching this.What also makes it unique is how the idea of alchemy is applied in this anime. One read more
Aug 16, 2015
SSJR2 (All reviews)
Man This is definitely in my list of Top 20 favorite shonen Anime. I mean I get how some newer viewers can have a jaded opinion about this anime cause they have seen a ton of similar shonen anime but if they give this a true chance they will find a great anime that had a lot of potential. This was definitely great for its time.

Story:
The story is pretty straight forward at first but takes an even more dangerous turn later on that really surprised me and helped me enjoy this more. It's not a hugely amazing story in the beginning but its one of read more
Jul 15, 2019
LeonardoRJ12 (All reviews)
If there is an anime that covers many subjects in a masterful way Busou Renkin is certainly this anime. In dealing with complex subjects about life and death, friendship, relationships, dedication and power, all these elements make a perfection combined with each character proposed for this anime. Neither of them loses the details and all the bows point to something bigger that is a golden key that offers this anime that is perfectly extracted of its manga of origin.

Tradução: Se existe um anime que aborda muitos assuntos de maneira magistral Busou Renkin certamente é este anime. Ao lidar com assuntos complexos sobre a vida e read more
Mar 5, 2019
JCopZoro (All reviews)
Buso Renkin is a shounen battle anime that has all the aspects you will enjoy if you like the shounen battle genre. It has a heroic- high school age protagonist, a large cast of fun characters with extraordinary abilities, it has interesting villains, it will include moments of laughter and moments of tragedy, and it has epic fight scenes.

Buso Renkin is also written by the author of the highly acclaimed series, Rurouni Kenshin. Buso Renkin is an all around passable anime. It isnt particularly great in any regard, but it doesnt have any glaring flaws. There are a few aspects about it that read more
Jan 2, 2012
Kurupan (All reviews)
A big lump of awesome. Giant weapon in one hand, power that literally suffocates, disturbing egotistical villain, and don't forget the sweet and sour girl with short hair. It is a bit like Bleach met DBZ and they compromised on the level of seriousness with a pinch of that "no need for unnecessary fights" you get from some protagonists. Maybe not a must see, but definitely a should see.
Jun 26, 2011
MS06FZ (All reviews)
All told this show does nothing particularly noteworthy or exceptional. It is a very standard enemy-of-the-week arc-based super hero show, notable mostly for its superb OP (Makka Na Chikai) and some very amusing characters (Papillon).

However, if you want one of these sorts of shows and don't want a massive time sink, it's worth looking into. It's only 26 episodes and has a standard two-arc plot - a first villain who was NOT THE REAL VILLAIN and a power up etc etc.

Some of the supervillains and superheroes have creative abilities, often underused (like the 3 guys who form a Getter Robo/Macross homage) and some get the read more