Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Death Note


Alternative Titles

English: Death Note
Synonyms: DN
Japanese: デスノート

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 37
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 4, 2006 to Jun 27, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Wednesdays at 00:56 (JST)
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.701 (scored by 798,580 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #422
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1
Members: 1,140,094
Favorites: 75,152

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 1, 2007
Xyik (All reviews)
Death Note is definitely one of the best anime series of all time, for it presents a deeply unique and compelling story rivaled by few. I can truly say it is one of the best, if not the best anime I've watched.

Story: The story is unique. A notebook falls from the sky, and the human who writes a name in it is capable of killing the individual pictured in his mind (I left out the details that you don't care about). This presents the viewers with a highly debatable theme based on morals and justice. Yagami Light, who obtains this power to kill, utilizes it read more
Jun 3, 2015
LordBeefBurger (All reviews)
Preliminary
Warning: Spoilers

I wanted to like this. I really did. And I did for about the first 10-15 episodes. Death Note is probably the most popular anime ever, and when I read the summary, I could see why. After viewing 27 episodes and reading a summary of the subsequent 10, however, that opinion has changed a little bit.

First, a review of the things I DID like:

A) The Concept. Notebook that kills whoever has his name written into it, death gods that love apples, and two genius teens: one a student with a god complex, and the other a highly famous detective with a strong sense read more
Sep 13, 2010
hontobaka (All reviews)
Death Note. Another famous anime. But this time there is one reason for it. In fact, there are lots of good reasons but they can be summed up in one thing: this anime is amazing. Want to know why? Then just keep on reading.

Story (8): The first half of this anime is a masterpiece. The concept itself - the Shinigami's notebook which grants the person who has it the power to kill anyone by simply writing the person's name while picturing the face in his mind - is already brilliant to begin with as it presents the viewer questions like "What would I do if read more
Apr 29, 2015
Revolution666 (All reviews)
May contain light spoilers...

Death Note is a solid series with some brilliant moments in it, but some equally ridiculous ones too. Most of it is pretty much the same thing: a long-ass cat-and-mouse game that keeps taking turns going for and against the two lead foes. Early on it's rather boring as you watching everything take it's time to pick up, and there's even an episode that consists almost entirely of two characters wandering around aimlessly that get real boring real fast. Once the big twists start happening they're mostly impressive, but you almost get kind of sick of them after they keep coming over read more
Jan 12, 2014
Zeomne (All reviews)
Allow me to explain my love of "the pay off" in entertainment:

I hate when I watch something, and it doesn't really matter if I'm following it or not because nothing pays off. So many times I the credits of a movie roll and I'm left stupified thinking to myself "That's it? What about the ___ and the ___? What was the point of me paying attention to the first hour and 20 minutes of this film?"

Some shows or movies set little subconscious mental snares, so that when something happens later on-it pays off. Your friend walks in the room and sees a read more
Jan 25, 2015
Cerial (All reviews)
Death Note, this show has plenty of reviews, so many that I highly doubt mine will stand out, however I am in a certain mood and feel an obligation to review this extremely popular show.

Death Note at first, presents itself very well, Light Yagami, a genius high-school student notices a notebook falling from the depths of the sky. He is intrigued, as class ends he heads over to investigate, he picks up said note book, and he scoffs at it.
He thinks it's nothing but a joke, surely this "death note" couldn't work, why would it work? He ponders, through he hasty decision of read more
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
This has to be one of the most ingenious shows ever!

Yagami Light finds the Death Note, a notebook he found falling down from the sky one day. If he knows someone's face and writes down their name, they die.

So, he wants to kill all the criminals in the world with this, and he gets off to a good start. But then this legendary detective - L - is set to stop him. So starts the battle of the extraordinary geniuses. Yes, they're geniuses. And the same can be said about the ones who created the show. At times I just had to pause it and read more
Jun 18, 2010
krelyan (All reviews)
Adapted by Madhouse in 2006 from the popular Shonen Jump manga written by Ohba Tsugumi and drawn by Obata Takeshi, Death Note is an entertaining ride if an ultimately shallow work. Unless you just got into the fandom, I’ll assume you are already familiar with the basic plot.

One aspect of the show that its fans seem to constantly praise is its writing and if you can swallow the cheesy, over-the-top dialogue (“All according to plan,” must be repeated at least a dozen times throughout the series) then you will definitely be rewarded with fan-favorite gems such as the infamous, “I’ll take a potato chip… read more
Sep 16, 2008
holdenn (All reviews)
Death Note will forever be the best suspense anime for me..... and millions of fans.

The anime starts off Light Yagami, a brilliant college student. While walking towards home, he stumbled upon a notebook that has the word Death Note written on it. As soon as he finds out that the notebook can easily kill off anyone by just knowing the name and face of an person, Light only desire for one thing. To be God of the new world that he will create by erasing all unjust people of the world. And nothing in the world can stop him....except an illustrious detective, who hides under read more
Jul 28, 2013
Polyphemus (All reviews)
Q: What happens when an unstoppable Mary Sue meets an immovable Mary Sue?
A: Death Note.

The protagonist, and his adversary, are both genius pretty boys (with the odd names of Light and L) who have an incredible amount of achievements and skill for their young age. Light somehow predicts things that he could not possibly have the foresight to predict, because, you know, probability is a thing. Don’t worry though, it’s not like you know that he’ll always win, because L possesses this exact same unexplained and ludicrous ability to predict the future; he just does so without a cheesy “Just as planned!” read more
Apr 26, 2014
NegativeFeelings (All reviews)
There's something fundamentally contrived about Death Note which takes what would normally be its best quality, the story/plot, and makes it difficult for a viewer to enjoy it once they start questioning the plot points and devices. For different people, these are things that can either be overlooked or overtake the show absolutely, and it really depends on both how critically one wants to watch Death Note and how far they're willing to suspend their disbelief. The major problem Death Note faces is how seriously it takes the threat of a killer notebook being dropped into the world, and how realistic a stance read more
Oct 4, 2014
Sorrowful (All reviews)
The #1 popular anime on this site, and perhaps in the world. But does Death Note deserve all that popularity and praise? People are entitled to their own opinions based off of how they perceived (if there were any) the themes in Death Note, and how much people individually enjoyed the anime. But this anime is definitely one that EVERYONE should watch and decide for themselves how much they like/dislike it. If you haven't seen Death Note yet, then I'd definitely recommend you to watch it, because in my own opinion, Death Note is the greatest anime made. Of course, I may have over-thought the read more
Jul 28, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
Death Note is probably one of the best series I’ve ever seen. What I really like about it is that I feel the need to pay attention – that rarely happens with the other series I’ve watched. If you blink too much you might miss what’s happening.

Everything that happened was just so interesting. The details are always so well thought of and there are little to no loopholes. I think something major happens in each episode. I always have my jaw dropped at the end of each episode. I do have to admit that Death Note died down around 25-26. I’ll leave it at that read more
Jun 1, 2008
BigBagODicks (All reviews)
Watching this anime for the first time after all the praise I've heard for it lead me to be extremely disappointed.

At first, the premise is interesting. The characters are interesting, everything just seems good.
But as you continue watching it only sinks further and further down hill.
Twists are as heavy handed as they are predictable, Plot holes appear every minute, The characters become less and less believable and well, kind of stupid.
There's instances in the series where a character would have to be a complete moron to fall for what's going on. This is done for the purpose of making the main character seem like a read more
Mar 14, 2007
Ranivus (All reviews)
This is one of the most engaging thriller anime i have ever seen EVER. How could that be? Let me count the ways...

Story - The first story arc involves an extremely intelligent high schooler (Yagami Light) with the power to kill against the best detective the world has to offer (only known to the world as "L"). Its a classic story of cat and mouse, one consistently outwitting the other with cunning tactics and sly tricks. Each episode also leaves the viewer with just enough suspense to keep you wanting more EVERYTIME! Not only that, like any good detective show (i.e. CSI), both main characters read more
Oct 26, 2008
iamjoe (All reviews)
Death Note is original, awesome, and a great anime to watch. The only reason it isn't perfect is because of Near who has to be the lamest enemy ever. Also, the ending was a total cop-out. DUMB, DUMB, DUMB.

The art wasn't that great, but I sure did like this anime anyway.

The sound was fitting; it suited the tense atmosphere and scenes.

The characters were all intriguing and deep, especially Light. It's cool to see such an evil protagonist in an anime. He's certainly original.

If you want a super-cool anime to watch, watch Death Note. Except for L and Near, who made everything read more
Jul 15, 2015
karlstein12 (All reviews)
Basically a brief summary of Death Note from my point of view:

Death Note is a show that needs no introduction at all. The name is on pretty much everyone's lips, the people who have watched it or not and one thing which is certainly true is that if you aren't living under a rock all this time there's a very good chance you have heard the name atleast once in your life. It's one of the very few mediums that have crossed boundaries of it's specific origin and in this case, anime. Yes, Death Note is a name that has gone beyond the peripheral reaches read more
Aug 16, 2008
MedliSage (All reviews)
Death Note

Before you read this review I want you to know that a "10" does not mean perfect, because nothing is perfect. A rating of "10" is what MAL says it is, "outstanding."

Story (10/10)
I'm not going to bother writing a synopsis of the preface of the story since you can read one if you scroll up a little. So moving onto to what I thought of it:

One of the things I loved about Death Note is I felt the need to pay attention. If you don't, you're going to miss what's going on -- and not only did I need to pay attention, I wanted read more
Aug 11, 2008
nyarlathotepsama (All reviews)
I might be the only living anime fan that hasn’t enjoyed Death Note. The reason really is because it seemed to be gimmicky to me. It doesn’t mean this series is in any way bad, no not at all, it just isn’t my cup of tea as they say. After about half the series I began to feel less and less like finishing, counting the number of episodes I had left to watch. To be honest it is a quality series with many and more good features, themes, characters and ideas, but it just didn’t mesh with me.

The writing read more
Oct 30, 2014
GonWithARose (All reviews)
“Dark and mature. A predictable physiological anime. A diamond that choose to stay coal”

REVIEW FREE OF SPOILERS!

DEATH NOTE one of the most well-known anime worldwide and highly ranked.

Let's start! :)


-STORY: 8-
Don’t get carried away, the story isn’t really unique, after all it is –almost- your typical “vigilante” –or hero of justice- anime with a twist. The “lore” –to call it somehow- used in the story IS what makes it unique.

Enter Death Note, a book that falls from the sky, a book that is able to kill people by picturing the person on your mind and writing his or her name on the book –probably read more