Gintama Movie 2: Kanketsu-hen - Yorozuya yo Eien Nare

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gintama: The Final Chapter - Be Forever Yorozuya, Gintama Movie 2
Japanese: 劇場版 銀魂 完結篇 万事屋よ永遠なれ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 6, 2013
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, ComedyComedy, HistoricalHistorical, ParodyParody, SamuraiSamurai, ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 50 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.951 (scored by 9940799,407 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #152
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #887
Members: 177,231
Favorites: 2,226
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 13, 2013
boku-wa-kuma (All reviews)
Just gonna be honest and give this a 10/10!

I haven't actually finished the series but I did get to see the movie in theaters. It was simply amazing! I won't give anything away but you get the typical Gintama goodness!

The story is pretty great. Gintama's jokes are amazing and the way the story was set up was pretty original! The beginning threw me off but, Gintama always does that, to be honest.

The characters were SIMPLY FANTASTIC! The facial expressions and reactions were awesome and I, along with the theater, were laughing to death because of it. Seriously, great design, expressions, outfits, etc.

The audio was GENIUS! read more
Dec 27, 2013
Tyrel (All reviews)
With this movie, Gintama has reached even greater heights. Compared to the previous movie, Gintama: The Final Chapter - Be Forever Yorozuya isn't a retelling of an arc, but a story of Gin's past. Many fans throughout the Gintama franchise have always wanted an arc focusing about Gin's past during the Joui War, and now we get it. As a Gintama fan, you will definitely want to watch this movie about his past and how he tries to cope about what is to come of him.

The movie begins a bit slow at start and this is due to the "Movie Thief" character. While Odd read more
Dec 26, 2013
Detective (All reviews)
The new Gintama movie is a side story that delivers some laughs and new character designs, but is totally convoluted. Asking Gintama to make sense is kind of a faux-pas. It's demented on purpose. But what starts off as an absurdist comedy quickly devolves into boring shounen fan pandering. The movie follows 265 episodes, a recap film, plus a series of practically unrelated OVAs. In conclusion it is a minor entry in the series overall, but is certainly not worth missing for any Gintama fan.

The story opens up with the Yorozuya three and Sadaharu in a movie theatre working part-time to grab some cash. Through read more
Dec 30, 2014
GinZura (All reviews)
I laughed, I cried, I felt. I cursed myself for not viewing it sooner. Be Forever Yorozuya encapsulates everything that makes Gintama in a two hour, finely wrapped package. If the tv series weren’t returning as of next year, I could think of no better way to send off the series. 



Perhaps it needs no explanation, but although Gintama is, at its heart, an episodic comedy series, this film is best watched after at least watching the first series. As it is an anime where characters are its strongest point, more than basic knowledge is required for full enjoyment of the movie.



The story of read more
Jan 16, 2014
fodderchara18 (All reviews)
Easy to understand Gintama review:

1-) If you are reading this that means you are at least considering to watch this movie.

2-) If you are considering to watch this movie, that means you are familiarized with the Gintama series.

3-) If you are not familiarized with the Gintama series, well then shame on you...you poor ignorant being.

3.5-) If you are indeed familiarized with the Gintama series, that means you have good taste.

4-) If you have good taste, you know you`re losing your precious time reading these useless reviews, so stop reading and go watch it.

Nov 27, 2013
whitefoxz (All reviews)
Ok I will have to be honest, I am a new comer to the Gintama series and I heard it was fantastic and I was excited to watch it. I do not know all of the characters personally well but I invited my friends to watch it with me who were also new and OH BOY OK NOW TO GET TO THE REVIEW. ( I would like to point my knowledge of the series first)

STORY - 8
Well firstly the synopsis is on top and I would not like to repeat it here. I would sum it up here quickly. Gintoki has disappeared in the other read more
Sep 26, 2014
Relakuma (All reviews)
I found this movie extremely enjoyable, from the start all the way until the end, it was hilarious!

The beginning of the movie did start off slow, but the gradual progression was good, the story was building up at a good pace.

The ending!! i must say, out of all the movies I've watched so far, this has to be the best ending! It exceeded my expectations, even though a lot of events happened in the end, it did not feel rushed, everything seemed to fit nicely into the story.

The best part of this anime......definitely seeing a future Shinpachi, Kagura, Hijikata, okita and kondo!! read more
Jan 13, 2014
animerisc (All reviews)
Being a fan of Gintama, I really looked forward to this movie. I was not really let down, but maybe that was because I already knew what was coming.

Story: 8
It's an enjoyable story with some interesting twists and turns.The jokes and parodies are up to standard but is overshadowed by the fact that this seemed more of action-filled and drama movie. It still got me in tears and laughing the next second though. However, compared to other serious arcs, this would fall a little flat. It missed something that almost every arc had; a deeper insight into one of the character's past, most of the read more
Dec 26, 2013
sally55510 (All reviews)
As if the anime wasn't incredibly good already...I really think this second film really tops both the series and the previous movie. It had all the elements of what makes the show so good including a wacky intro making it classic Gintama from the get-go.

Story (9): I love the plot, very original in the sense of they managed to create a cohesive plot that connects all the characters that we know and tying into events from the series. Bringing the story into the future was really exciting because we get to see the characters we love in a whole new light which is always fun. read more
Dec 27, 2013
allhey-cookies (All reviews)
Well to start off it should come by no surprise that i feel that this moive is awesome by my score.

Well this moive is one of the kinds that you would expected form gintama. The moive was really funny but yet had an masterpiece story which was masterfully planed out and animated.

Also the story doesnt give it all away and while sometimes it is obvious what going to happen next i only noticed a few mintues before thus keeping it enjoyble the whole way though.

It put the music in the right places which only added to the epic feel it had already.

All in all it read more
Jan 6, 2014
sucreaulait (All reviews)
*This review contains no spoiler*
Instead of the usual wordy review, I am just going to give you a quick run down because, quite frankly, I don't have the time to write and you don't have the time to read.

Story: 9.5
A fulfilling story completed with the signature mixture of outlandish comedy and adrenaline-packed drama that we love about Gintama and all seamlessly packed into an almost 2 hours long movie. Some say the movie offers no new progress into the story, but that's a silly complain because, as with most anime films, this is meant to be, for the most part, non-canon or at least read more
Dec 28, 2013
abandonedclass (All reviews)
"THIS MOVIE IS BAD"... if there's someone who said something like that i dont know their reaction about other anime movie then ( or maybe they were drunk when they said that )

since i'm gintama fan this review might be a bit biased but because i already watched all the episode and chapter i need to shout this

"THIS MOVIE IS AND ALWAYS BE THE BEST MOVIE I'VE EVER WATCHED"
Well maybe not the best to other people but i can safely say that gintama kanketsu-hen : yorozuya eien nare is one of the great anime movie

well lets just begin to review corner then :

story : read more
Oct 7, 2014
tangles800 (All reviews)
Advice: don't skip the beginning even though it seems like an ad

I thought the movie was really touching and I enjoyed it immensely. The beginning confused me, I thought it was simply one of those warnings not to pirate movies that typically come at the beginning of the movie, but instead it was part of the plot! I love how Gintama has the ability to throw the viewer off. However, it is probably not something enjoyed by everyone. Some people like things to be straightforward.

This movie embodies what I love about Gintama. Mixed in with all the comedy is a very touching and exciting story!
Dec 29, 2013
Lemmy7003 (All reviews)
Gintama: Kanketsu-hen - Yorozuya yo Eien Nare, or Gintama: The Final Chapter - Be Forever Yorozuya, is the second film in the Gintama franchise, written by the author of Gintama, Hideaki Sorachi. Written as a possible end to the anime, this film brings Gintama into darker and more dramatic territory, more so then ever before, whilst still balancing the film with the humour that made the series so popular. All this, and more, is all blended together to create one of the best anime films created in modern days.

The film opens with the Yorozuya crew workng in a theater,and whilst it looks like a read more
Dec 26, 2013
paulhan1997 (All reviews)
I was a little worried at first because I hadn't watched gintama in a while and I thought that I was holding expectations that were too high, but of course, the movie reminded me that gintama will never disappoint.

Not much I really need to say about the movie. It had every aspect of gintama pretty well covered and had a pretty solid story to it. Since it dove into the idea time travel, it was bound to have some questionable plot points, but come on. It's gintama so anything is possible. Amazing movie and hope to see the anime returning in the future.
Dec 28, 2013
Jaysiin (All reviews)
I remember all the laughs I had watching Gintama. I was so excited for this movie and it had been lost in my memories until now after waiting for English subtitles. I was right to be excited for this movie because it was... absolutely amazing. Many things in the movie might seem plain like the plot but the creators of the movie have dug deeper and expressed them more thoroughly which can get to the reader even more than a regular scene. The classic jokes of Gintama never fail and the transitions between serious and humor are great too. If you don't watch Gintama, I read more
Dec 27, 2013
Faroos007 (All reviews)
This is my first review, so bear with me =]

Gintama the movie 2, something I've been personally waiting for, for such a long time and boy was it even worth it? ATTARIMAIDA KONOYARO

Story 11/10 the plot for this movie is genius, from the the cause of the future downfall to the way it was dealt with, and I've not exaggerating at all, and ofcourse the freaking the surprise factors that were there left my jaw down for sometime, i could really write way more but trying to keep it spoiler-free

Art 9.5/10 the art of gintama has always been beautiful and detailed , read more
Apr 27, 2014
franky3121 (All reviews)
This movie is awesome, It has a great story and everything.

I love Gintama and this movie makes me love it anymore.
It seems like a serious mainstream movie when you look at the storyline, but its a totally different thing in the movie.


It tells an amazing story, and it strives to give us the humour that we see in the manga and anime in which we love. I love the transformation of characters and it is currently one of my favorite movies of all time.
Jul 26, 2016
saitou2 (All reviews)
Uhm...this movie was kind of weird.
Not that I'm dissapointed in it or anything, just kind of confused.
The first half started out great. It was funny and didn't take itself seriously, like any other Gintama episode. The second half becomes a serious action romp with little to no humor included at all.

Some of these serious parts of the movie was really good, I thought. An example being any scenes in which Otae is sick; especially that scene that lasted one second of her introduction with Kondou's reaction toward her less-than-healthy state.

That second half as I stated was the point where it started getting weird. First read more
Mar 9, 2014
twinsniper (All reviews)
Only the Greatest Anime I have ever seen, that is Gintama. Its nice and relaxed, will be both surprising and predictable, yes, predictable, like this movie, and that my friends, is the amazing thing. You see, Gintama can Actually turn its predictability into a positive, actually making it work better for them. So you can imagine how happy I was to see a movie coming out for it. It was magnificent, majestic...well, just read on.

STORY - 9/10

Let me start out with the negative. This movie is completely and utterly predictable. Half the movie is anyway, and somehow, that actually makes it better. The predictability is read more