One Piece: Episode of Nami - Koukaishi no Namida to Nakama no Kizuna

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

Synonyms: One Piece Special, Episode of Nami: Tears of a Navigator and the Bonds of Friends
Japanese: ワンピースエピソード・オブ・ナミ~航海士の涙と仲間の絆~

Information

Type: Special
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Aug 25, 2012
Producers: Fuji TV
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Genres: ActionAction, AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, FantasyFantasy
Theme: Super PowerSuper Power
Demographic: ShounenShounen
Duration: 1 hr. 46 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 3168131,681 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #3812
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2305
Members: 56,910
Favorites: 75

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 9, 2012
AJL41382 (All reviews)
"Episode of Nami: Tears of a Navigator and the Bonds of Nakama" is the 5th One Piece special and the 3rd recap of a saga in general.

First of all, I really enjoyed watching the "Arlong Park" arc all over again.
I like nami background story the most and seeing old characters like Genzo and Nojiko was really nice. Also, seeing it now had a great rewatch value (which I will talk about later).

Before saying more about the rewatch value, I want to talk about the changes they did from the original arc. (keep in mind that episode of nami is a special, while episode of chopper/alabasta read more
Dec 1, 2012
Monkey_Professor (All reviews)
I’ve heard many times before that people not sure about one piece have been told to get up to and finishing the Arlong park arc before they drop the show… but as if anyone would drop one piece… anyway the reason is that it’s simply such a great arc. One of the most emotionally driven arcs in one piece and a good one to explore the characters while showing their thoughts and views, especially Nami of course. Arlong is a great villain, being the first “none human” villain in the series and demonstrating his power really gives the sense of helplessness the people around him read more
Feb 17, 2017
lundra (All reviews)
Luffy's hat is way too big, -10 points. No, but seriously, his hat looks like it's bulging or something instead of resting comfortably on his little dummy head. In fact, you can see it on the cover for this page, Nami could be hiding a sandwich under there.

Anyway, to the review. For some context, I'm currently on episode 208 or so, just beginning the Water 7 arc. I discovered this special when watching an AMV with the first ending song, Memories. I'm sure many agree that the Arlong Arc is when One Piece gets serious and as such I had high expectations for this special. read more
Jan 11, 2013
aeris2001x2 (All reviews)
*Minor spoilers ahead*

A nice if uninspired update of a classic One Piece Arc.

As most One Piece fans will attest, the Arlong/Nami back story arc was when the show first entered the world of greatness.

I was very excited to see an update with new Animation. The original was comprised of year 2000 tv animation, so while it still had a sumptuous art style its more basic animation could have really used a modern update. In addition the arc itself was not long, so a edited down definitive version was def possible.

So was this update a success? Unfortunately not really

First good points.

The story retains its power, read more
Nov 30, 2012
XCoalTrainXZA (All reviews)
OK so Oda decided to do a anime special focusing on Nami's back-story.It basically shows us how this specific arc would look if it was released today and this special benefits greatly from it as well. So if you are up to date with the One Piece anime and/or Manga then you already know exactly what happens in this special.

But for those of you that have watched it already you would (you should) of noticed that they changed a certain part of the story to compensate for time.The whole special is about 1 hour and 50 min so it is quite long.

What they changed read more
Jul 26, 2018
Eoussama (All reviews)
It's obvious that as popular and highly successful One Piece is, it's become a nature to have a new movie or special episode every now and then, some are just amazing, (for once, Episode of Ace, Film Z/Gold/Strong World/Dead End...etc), some are average, in my experience, I haven't seen a terrible one yet, but could this be my first? it feels like I've been gazed by a bullet on this one. So let me rephrase this and make it clear...

- Story (7.0/10):
“One Piece: Episode of Nami - Koukaishi no Namida to Nakama no Kizuna” is a retelling of the event of the Arlong Park arc, read more
Mar 1, 2019
KevynCosta (All reviews)
Before I begin, I make it clear that I consider this One Piece special to be the best produced to date (01/02/2019).
Before analyzing completely, you need to understand one thing: why the Nami Arc? Why make a special with a single East Blue bow?
The answer to this is simple: Arlong Park was the first bow to change One Piece, it was there, where we saw what One Piece was talking about, the friendship, the sentimental value of something material or not, that was the first really good story crafted from One Piece.
History: As you know, this special deals with the Arlong Park Arc, an arc read more
Jun 18, 2016
AshitaNoJonas (All reviews)
Episode of Nami is one of those One Piece movies that don't tell an original story but instead retell an arc from the series with updated visuals and music. Most of these movies aren't that great, since they try to cram way too much content in a single movie (like the Alabasta movie for example).

This movie however is a bit different. The Arlong Park arc wasn't that long, it actually has the perfect length to be adapted into this kind of movie. It's not rushed at all and they are no important scenes missing. 

On top of that it's a fan favorite arc and for many fans read more
Feb 10, 2017
miikado_ (All reviews)
It is my third time watching Episode of Nami and for the third time - I cried. This special has done well in reminding the viewers of the anger the fishmen felt earlier in the storyline. It is also my go-to whenever I want to feel emotional.

First, it reaffirms that Eiichiro Oda had planned the events of Fishmen Island since the beginning. Justifying the reason why Arlong hates humans and regard them as "inferior beings". How the author was capable of weaving the events together is simply amazing.

Second, this is my favourite arc in One Piece. Normally we are used to the happy-going crew but read more
Jul 13, 2018
Eksevis (All reviews)
It touches most of the important stuff, with some relatively minor exceptions. It carries almost the same weight, at the very least, and takes roughly 3 hour less than the watching the series (this is a rough guess, by the way).

Considering One Piece's fan edit has yet to touch up this arc, if you are rewatching - and I emphasize REWATCHING - it's at least a "75%" decent way to re-experience this arc.

In terms of the "Episode Of ..." series, it's perhaps the best without telling an alternate reality version (see Episode of Chopper for an alternate take on arcs). but in terms of read more
Mar 7, 2021
eminegeaslan (All reviews)
Everything was awesome but i cant believe they ruined most scenes, anime did it way better

.Most scenes were ruined for no reason :((

Story was 10 Art was 10 Sound was 8 Character was 10 but because of the
scenes ruined i couldnt enjoy it. I am reviewing this for the enjoyment because it ruined all scenes.

If you are new to one piece try anime one not this..........................

(Btw some scenes were still awesome and it made me cry again .:(((((((((((((((((((((((( saddddd)

Also mal says i need more long review how do i fix this i guess i will type something here
Feb 26, 2021
OmegaJoestar (All reviews)
This is a compact version of Arlong Park Arc from the anime.This one haven't useless scenes,it's the story,the fight and the drama.

The story is about one of the Muggiwara team,the navigator nami,and how he lived before meeting Luffy and Zoro.The story is pretty sad,and i'm cried the two times i watched(in the anime and in this ova),the art,song and characters is the same of the anime.But i liked this one the most because the story is cleaner and faster,so you can enjoy the fights better.

And that's all,i haven't a lot to say about this,its good,and if you haven't the patience to the anime slow progression read more