Suki na Mono wa Suki Dakara Shou ga Nai!!


Sukisho

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Sukisho
Synonyms: Sukisyo, I like what I like, so there!
Japanese: 好きなものは好きだからしょうがない!!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 9, 2005 to Mar 27, 2005
Premiered: Winter 2005
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: Bandai Visual, Lantis, Movic
Licensors: Media Blasters
Studios: Zexcs
Source: Visual novel
Genres: Boys LoveBoys Love, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, RomanceRomance, Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Demographic: ShoujoShoujo
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.681 (scored by 2116021,160 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #51722
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2592
Members: 45,655
Favorites: 207

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 16, 2010
Nanalilly (All reviews)
Warning: spoilers.

The yaoi fangirls are going to hate me for this. Back when this series came out, it was a runaway smash hit with American fans, especially on the internet. I had never bothered watching the series, but did so on the recommendation of a friend while looking for something to fill my yaoi needs.

I am a pretty dedicated fan of yaoi, but Sukisho is the genre done wrong. Ordinary I am fairly forgiving when it comes to yaoi anime because I understand that the prime focus isn't much different than that of a soft core pornography. The idea behind most shounen ai/yaoi series read more
Oct 15, 2008
suaviorXchu (All reviews)
Okay Sukisho does have some faults. The strangest thing about it is the absence of any female character in the entire series, although there is no shortage of males looking like females. The plot is not particularly original and the uke REALLY needs a haircut.

But overlooking this there is a lot more positive in this series than negative. The seme/uke stereotypes are not as predictable and the story (shock horror) is actually told from the seme's perspective! The dynamics between the characters are really cute too.

Comedy wise, although some of the jokes were predictable, I still had to pause and go back because I read more
Oct 1, 2007
dnt (All reviews)
Sukisho -

Story:

The summary may sound good, but what really lies beneath is a typical, overused plotline with no real comedy to back it up. Hey who cares? Were in it for the shoujo-ai, that itself was somewhat disappointing but enough to appease the people, however this story really lacked so much, not only failing to be remotely funny, it fails in the drama department aswell, the drama is so weak that you just want to laugh. However what really saved this anime from turning to complete boredom was Ran and Yoru (you'll see :P).

Art:

The art wasn't amazing stuff. but read more
Jul 22, 2008
MissOffline (All reviews)
This is one of the few anime I have bought and I was totally satisfied with it. The story is not the best, it seems not planned at all. The artwork could been done better time to time. In other hand I like the background music (especially Matsuris) and I love the humor and the characters! I don't hate a single character, even if one of them is evil.
Sukisho made me laugh like crazy and because of the enormous enjoyment I got from watching it I give it "10" as an overall score. I was very touched in the end of the anime, it was read more
Apr 8, 2008
cxAlena (All reviews)
Have a feeling that the whole Suskisho series was shown mostly for concetrating on contradictory relations of the 2 main heroes including some fanservice (mostly for girls - some relatively intimate but not hentai scenes). What else? I remember only a lot of nice mediocre comedy and a strange confusing story of main heroes' past (what was it there for?).

I've watched it mainly due to high rates and to get acquaintanced with shounen-ai trend... But as for me Loveless is much much more touching though there is relatively little shounen-ai there and a lot of mystery and story twists.
Apr 27, 2015
Stansid (All reviews)
Alright, first of all, I really enjoyed this anime, mostly the characters
But something here is bugging me and it's that the anime seems really lame compared to the original story. Im not gonna make any spoilers but here are my points

when I started watching it, it really caugh my eye. I thought it was going to be awesome but I was wrong. 6 of the 13 episodes didn't focus on the main story but in adding episodes to make it funny. I really liked Sunao so I started to search more information about him and then I discovered the novel and the game, where everything read more
Apr 8, 2010
PanthersClaws (All reviews)
Score 10. Why? Only because of the psychological part of this anime.

Art definately isn't brilliant, though the music makes it up.

Very interesting an unusual
Mar 23, 2011
smithysonian (All reviews)
Overall, I thought Sukisho was ok. I loved the storyline. It was more interesting than some of the other yaoi's I've seen. BUT! It could have used a bit more work! They made it VERY CLEAR who the uke's and the seme's were, but I liked that it was finally done from a seme's point of view for once (WHAT A COMPLETE SHOCKER! 8O)! I liked that the hair colors of the characters were vivid, but it kinda started reminding me of Yugioh after a while and for some reason I kept thinking of Sora kind of like Sonic, honestly. The kids were cute and read more
Dec 4, 2008
AndreTheDark (All reviews)
This is a great anime. Although it starts a little slow, but got a lot of humor in the first episodes, although episode 6 is kinda boring. Later on it gets more serious and darker, and every episode few more details about an event in the past will be shown. Every episode a few more details on the situation will be discovered, and not until the end the truth gets uncovered.

This is a story about love and hate. True love. Cause no matter what Fujimori did, how mean he was to Hashiba and made him to something terrible, Hashiba will face his worst fears read more
Aug 17, 2009
SoumaK (All reviews)
This anime piqued my interest. I watched this because of a recommendation and I'm really glad I followed it.

The anime itself is funny but there are some scenes that are quite mature I will not spoil anything just watch it.

The storyline is rather interesting and unique for me it's new, we do not get hunted everyday by some wierdo hehe.

Overall this anime is great some bad points and really not perfect but its really good to watch if just want to get your spirits up.
Dec 7, 2011
beatingheartx (All reviews)
The story plot and setting for Sukisho is, to me, very fresh. I would say that it is one of a kind. However, despite having such a interesting plot, it is not being built on. I feel that there are some parts of the story where it could still be elaborated on, so as to create a better story.

The art for Sukisho is excellent, and the characters are all very intriguing. Character developments for the main leads are done in a very smooth way, even when there are a few filter episodes. One can clearly see the process in which the main characters changed, read more
Mar 19, 2016
SairasKR (All reviews)
I was looking up some decent yaoi/BL series to watch when this was suggested to me. The person who recommended this genuinely thought it was good, so I thought, why not watch it ?

The huge probem with BL/Yaoi type series is that it is generally low budget and low quality anime, with close to no plot, often bad art/animation, bad music and mediocre characters. Also, the more it gets close to something that looks like a plot, the worse it tends to become, and that's what happened with Sukisho.

***Contains unimportant spoilers***

THE PLOT

I wasn't expecting much from it to be honest. Also, note that I wanted read more
Apr 14, 2016
marsthedandelion (All reviews)
I thought the story was really intersing, but this anime didn't flesh it out enough. The majority of the episodes were fillers, and just random humour, which is fine for a show, but if you're going to have a story you should not waste most of your episodes on nothingness.

I enjoyed this show, but I wouldn't watch it again, the opening song was nice, and I thought the characters were really likable, the art turned me off at first, but after a few episodes it was pretty cute.

As I said, most of the episodes, in my opinion, we're pointless to the story, the show read more
Mar 25, 2018
AmericaWasntLost (All reviews)
Sukisho started out with potential to be deep and emotional... I was expecting some sad medical drama ?? I guess that's the best way to describe my expectations.
It took so long to get to the point; it was overly drawn out. I kept groaning my way through the silly episodes because the plot developed ever so slowly. It was silly forever, and then the plot jumped off the cliff into the darkness.
The characters were a little confusing, but probably the best part of the anime. A part of me loved the strange yaoi dystopia where women don't exist. There wasn't a lot read more
Jan 16, 2016
Duckielover151 (All reviews)
The sad thing about this show... is that I really wanted to like it. I actually rated the story quite highly, because I did find the premise to be absolutely fascinating.

Unfortunately, more than half of this series is taken up by filler. Dumb little side plots that really took away from their story. In fact, I considered dropping it about halfway through.

I am not one of those people who is automatically opposed to filler. I think it can fit into some shows really well and add to the world the writers were trying to create. But seriously? A 13 episode show does not read more
Jan 31, 2016
hayjay (All reviews)
I loved this SO much. I loved the main characters and I thought Yoru and Ran were a great touch. It really made this anime unique for me and I loved how there was so much action, yet romance, and suspense all at the same time.
The artwork was of a typical anime and for that I give it a 10 since it's the style I like and the characters and story was a definite 10 for me as well! I don't understand why so many people rate this so low cuz some parts weren't as dramatic as they made it seem but i completely read more
Apr 1, 2010
sanitysama (All reviews)
It's a very cute love story that will keep you interested all the way through. I liked the story, it didn't seem too forced although dropping from a third floor window normally doesn't induce amnesia, it usually ends in death. I'm not going to comment on its 'believability' because as you're watching, you're going to notice that there are absolutely no female roles in this anime so there's obviously a lot of "just don't ask" details you're going to have to get used to. Not saying it's a bad thing for a shounen ai story, it's just seems a bit forced.
Dec 23, 2013
kurokoko (All reviews)
Let's begin the fact that there are no female characters whatsoever in this series. Many males that look like females, but no female characters.
People who aren't patient with this anime will get really irritated when the episodes don't start uncovering any of what seems like a really deep, dark plot line about a misconception between two inseparable and premature lovers.
It starts out very slow and sometimes, it is only the comedy that kept me watching.
The first ending is great, the art is good- there's nothing bad about it- but the story and characters really struck me when I was watching read more
Jul 29, 2016
PlaceFantasy (All reviews)
Sukisho was a ride from start to finish. Not necessarily a good ride, but a ride nonetheless. To compare it to a true ride (IE carnival) it would be the merry go round. Slow, boring, and tame, but if it's the last day of the carnival and you have one or two tickets left--Sukisho will make due.

TL;DR - Sukisho was a good enough anime and I would recommend it to a BL fan who's seen everything else the genre has to offer. However, to someone who likes more exciting BL anime, I wouldn't give this one a recommendation.

The story of Sukisho was definitely read more
Oct 8, 2017
animissy (All reviews)
This is mostly gonna be short because I watched this way back in the day when I had to watch anime on Youtube in 3 parts! Wow, that was so long ago.

Anyways, this review is mostly from memory (I might rewatch it) but I remember liking this anime. I thought it was fun. Yes, the plot is really...out there, like if you really think about it it doesn't make such sense. But 12 year old me thought it was fun.

The 'seme' and 'uke' dynamic is played pretty straight here and while I'm pretty...over that whole thing nowadays (I'm 23) at the time it was new read more