Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kanon (2006)


Alternative Titles

English: Kanon
Synonyms: Kanon Remake, Kanon 2006
Japanese: カノン (2006)

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2006 to Mar 16, 2007
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:00 (JST)
Producers: Pony Canyon, TBS, Movic
Licensors: ADV Films, Funimation
Studios: Kyoto Animation
Source: Visual novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.081 (scored by 106,686 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #474
Members: 203,366
Favorites: 4,345

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 14, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
A boy named Yuuichi is moving to a town he lived in seven years ago. However, he doesn't remember anything. When living in this town, he meets a lot of girls, all with tragic stories, and he helps them.

Sure, the concept sounds like just about any other anime based on a visual novel would be. However, despite several other shows of that type, this actually does remarkably well.

STORY

Well, to be honest, this show has got to be one of the greater shows I've ever watched, no doubt! The story is just so good it leaves me astonished at times. It starts out as a read more
Sep 23, 2007
z-pak (All reviews)
This was a series that allowed my emotions to run wild. Each of the characters is presented with their own tragic tale of the past. Even the supernatural and fantasy elements are carefully intertwined in the story in such a way that it does not stick out. This is truly an excellent series.

Story: 9/10

The development starts out rather slow and silly and can get a bit dull. I was on a hiatus with this series for almost half a year before I started watching again. It is set up like a harem series, but it is different from them, which sets it apart from other read more
Dec 24, 2013
5camp (All reviews)
Kanon is the the last of the Kyoto Animation animated Key visual novels that I had to see. Somehow I'd managed to watch all of Clannad, Clannad After Story and Air. While writing staff and directing staff differ slightly with each iteration, there's an incredibly clear singular style between each anime. It's a style that with each series of theirs I watch, and those inspired by its nakige formula such as Ano Hana, I can increasingly see the strings for. Strings that are made from the bloodied remains of mentally deficient little girls killed mercilessly and dangled limply from the fingers of Key writer Jun read more
Nov 12, 2007
WAHa_06x36 (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is something very wrong with Key. It shows in most of their stories, but nowhere is it as obvious as in Kanon. It is a problem shared throughout the otaku industry, but once again, in Kanon it is more clear than anywhere else.

The problem seems to be a severe emotional immaturity and a nearly pathological fear of women. In Kanon, this influences nearly every female character: They are, through numerous contrivances, designed to be as non-threatening as possible. They are either so retarded that they would have no chance to function in society except by fiat of the writers, or not human, or otherwise read more
Feb 3, 2009
noteDhero (All reviews)
Animation - 6
It' the same character design as we've all seen in Air and Clannad. Big, glassy eyes, with proportionately large tears. It's nothing new, but it is polished. Animation wise, it's what we know of from Key. Hair whipping through snow, blades of grass, and orbs of light. No striking animation sequences, or dynamic animation at all except for a fight that Mei gets into, but nothing special.

Sound - 6
Kannon is rife with pseudo-ambient music and music box themes that would make Enya decry the milquetoastness of it all. The opening and ending are forgettably familiar. There read more
Apr 10, 2008
ZiodyneLoL (All reviews)
Alright I seriously do not like Dramas and sad stories were depressing things go on, but Kanon (2006) is one of the best anime's I have ever seen!
It made me feel all sorts of feelings that I have not felt in quite awhile now.
Its a must watch anime for anyone who is into the whole depression state Anime's, or even if you are not! This Anime is that great!

• Story - I rated the story a 9 because I thought that the fantasy thing was the only part holding it back. Although it still was a good part to have demons and miracles, but read more
Jun 8, 2007
Mushushu (All reviews)
This is by far one of the most moving, heart-wrenching, and dramatic anime series I have ever watched. It's earned a special place in my heart and I will undoubtedly buy the DVDs as well. Everything from the story, the characters, settings and re-occuring themes within Kanon reverberate with passion and drama; a kind of quality that is hardly ever seen in most anime, yet not only have they accomplished such a feat but have raised the bar for everyone else wanting to make a lasting and memorable masterpiece.

Themes of lost love, death, sickness, and the supernatural constantly propel the story forward for read more
Jul 18, 2007
Yuuya (All reviews)
Story:

This is by far the best storyline i have seen out of all the anime i have seen. The unique side stories between the female protagonists were deeply touching and even made my cry on every single one. Unlike a lot of anime it really showed the slice of life side of things, it hinted a minority of fantasy which was revealed fairly early on into the story. I'm going to give this a 10.

Art:

I must say that a good storyline and excellent artwork is rare to find in any anime, but in Kanon they got those two just right, not too realistic, not read more
Oct 30, 2014
muizzsiddique (All reviews)
For an amazing anime it had way too many flaws. I loved the characters, the story behind them and the emotions conveyed throughout the entirety of the anime. But to be honest with you there was a lot of wrong with this anime, such as how a lot of the things introduced in this anime made no sense and it was clear that the writers didn't want it to.

Makoto's story arc has to be the one I love the most. She was a great character to begin with and just like Kaori she actually felt like a normal girl, but that slowly changed for better read more
Oct 23, 2007
Master10K (All reviews)
Kanon (2006) is a great Supernatural, Romance, Comedy, Drama about a boy named Yuichi Aizawa who goes to live with his cousin and aunt after not visiting them for 7 years. For some reason he has he has blocked of a part of his memories from 7 years ago but he begins to recall some of his memories, as meets some familiar faces.

This is a very well-written story which starts off developing at a leisurely pace, only introducing the characters and their surroundings. It isn't until a couple episodes in when the true story surfaces, with its intriguing plot. There's only one overall plot which read more
Aug 26, 2009
Wilio (All reviews)
Kanon(2006) will give you a warm feeling, but the lack of character's depth and the slow story can make you turn away from it.

Note: I'll stop saying Kanon(2006) and say Kanon instead, you get the point.

The story in Kanon is based around a guy related with girls. Somehow this guy suffers from amnesia, which I never knew why. He can't remember any of the past relations he had with them seven years ago. What stroked me the most is that for a 24 episodes show, it was slow. If you're not a fan of stories that graduate so slowly that you don't know where it's read more
Jul 2, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
A bit disappointing, but not bad. (BTW, There are a few spoilers)

Everyone seemed to have a really good opinion of Kanon 2006, so I expected the most out of it. I was left a bit dissatisfied, but was entertained nonetheless.

I had a totally different idea about it before I started watching it. I thought it was going to be an anime about normal, run-of-the-mill anime people, but this is KyoAni after all. There were times when my jaw would just drop and my shoulders would shrug, connoting I didn’t understand some details, but I did pick up its essence in the end. It was almost read more
May 11, 2014
Quan_ (All reviews)
[Adapted From Original Blog Post]

I’ve never been extremely fond of the whole slice of life/drama series in anime. From where I stand they seem like boring, by-the-book series that never go anywhere, do anything, and have a main character that is as interesting as a window curtain. This in mind, when I go into such series, there’s a certain bit of apprehension, or dread if you will, cause I know that it will be about 50% walking around at school and 45% drama that has no substance.
This doesn’t mean I’ve never enjoyed a slice-of-life(Clannad, SNAFU, School Days(joking)) but when I first looked at Kanon, I read more
Nov 24, 2008
Ceptryn (All reviews)
Watching Kanon among all the hentai game adaptations like being dragged to your grandma's dance party being shocked that it ain't bad.

Erotic visual novels... or Hentai games are they're better known, are not exactly Shakespearean work. They typically feature some hopeless wuss boy, with way too much porno magazines under his bed and and a nose that donates vast amounts of blood whenever he seems some cleavage that's vaguely PG-13.

And yet, for some unfathomable reason, this same hopeless guy would not only the object to sexual desire for a hot girl of every archetype, but also the school teacher (who happens to have read more
Mar 28, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

Kanon (2006) is one of the most beloved shoujo anime of all time; fans describe it as a touching, devastatingly sad storyline with memorable characters that make for a "life-changing" experience. It is highly regarded as a masterpiece that could make just about anyone cry. Well, long story short, Kanon didn't even come close to fulfilling that criteria for me thanks to one simple reason; nothing in this anime is relatable, believable, or genuine by any stretch of the imagination. This show demonstrates a complete misunderstanding of the very fundamental nature of human relationships, most notably the concept love. Rather then spilt this read more
Mar 7, 2014
xbobx (All reviews)
"Can you promise me?"

These are dangerous words, and the answer that may follow them is even more dangerous. Sometimes people say it carelessly and wont be able to keep that promise, specially kids, since they still don't know the impact some words might have.
This is the main focus of Kanon. Things that happened on the past and haven't been forgotten. Promises that were done, and haven't been kept.
It's a unusual but still very interesting theme, that fits perfectly with the style of drama-romance Key/Visual Art's have. For those who aren't familiar with their visual novels and anime adaptations yet, Kanon would be a nice start. read more
May 17, 2013
BassExtractor (All reviews)
There is most likely typos, but please try to overlook them.

What lies before us here is an unique anime which is sure to leave deep marks in your heart, and make you create emotions you didn't know you even possessed.

The Anime Kanon 2006 is an adaption of a visual novel with the same name created by the company key.
Although I haven't played the game, I can mention that it was created in 1999. This means that you shouldn't by any means compare this anime to the other adaptions of key's works (Clannad, Air & Little Busters) as Kanon was created earlier than the beforementioned. (Especially read more
Mar 31, 2013
Marchionessx (All reviews)
"It's called a miracle because it never happens." - Misaka Shiori
This review could contain some spoilers if you have not watched Clannad.

Kanon (2006) or Kanon for short, as a whole is a riveting story, but it left me wanting a bit more, no, I don't mean it in a good way. I'll explain it soon.

Story: You have Yuuichi Aizawa, who returns to a city he used to visit after being gone for several years. He lives with his cousin Nayuki, and goes to school with her. As soon as he transfers to her school, that's when things begin to ravel, and he recollects his past. read more
Nov 26, 2017
Dionkeykong (All reviews)
Warning:My reviews contain high doses of black humor,naughty language and some other shit.
Oh yes yes yes...Another over-fuckin-rated anime..After having watched Air i seriously thought that this was gonna be one and the same..And i wasn't far off..

First off..I watched the original before this and i thought it was like watching my 99 yr old granny masturbate.It scarred me for life.Animation was shit,story was shit,characters were shit,every single thing about Kanon was an absolute pile of dog mess..

And what they did with this remake?They made it better by making it even worse..Let me explain..The original even though it was wayyyyyyyy too rushed it had some important read more
Mar 2, 2008
game8910 (All reviews)
WOW...was my first reaction when I finished watching Kanon. IMO this is one of the BEST drama/romance animes you can watch. With amazing animation quality, incredible and touching storyline, the dynamic Key/Kyoto duo, and a bunch of super moe characters, Kanon 2006 quickly took a spot as one of my top animes and my reasons for it are:

Story: Just like previous Key/KyoAni production Air, Kanon was mainly divided into different arcs for the different girls and each took a set number of episodes to unfold, each one bringing some sort of tragic or mysterious chain of events on our main character. I obviously have arcs read more