Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Pokemon Movie 08: Mew to Hadou no Yuusha Lucario


Alternative Titles

English: Pokemon: Lucario and the Mystery of Mew
Synonyms: Gekijouban Pocket Monsters Advanced Generation: Myuu to Hadou no Yuusha Lucario, Pokemon Movie 8
Japanese: ポケットモンスターアドバンスジェネレーション ミュウと波導の勇者 ルカリオ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 16, 2005
Studios: OLM
Source: Game
Duration: 1 hr. 40 min.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.371 (scored by 42,553 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22182
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1431
Members: 67,485
Favorites: 125

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 15, 2008
Gin-iro (All reviews)
After so many years and whatnot, most fans would think that eventually the Pokemon movies would lose their charm that the first few gave. I was starting to believe that myself.

What made Lucario and the Mystery of Mew so appealing was that instead of just showing a legendary pokemon and making it more epic than it really needs to be, this Pokemon movie took a step backwards and just didn't use a legendary pokemon as a main character (Mew seemed more as a side character) but Lucario was also close to the old atmosphere that made the older movies so great.

The very first scene shows read more
Nov 30, 2008
shadowsaiph (All reviews)
This movie, out of all the Pokemon movies, is my absolute favorite.

-Story-
The story line keeps you guessing, no matter what part it is at. I could watch this movie over and over and over again, and the ending is very moving. Anyone, even those who don't like Pokemn that much, will find this story absolutely great.

-Art-
They had a lot of new art, and the setting was beautiful.They had a lot of fun with the outfits (in the beginning). I did not see any art errors whatsoever.

-Sound-
I loved the theme song (it is my favorite one) and I loved the ending song as well. All the read more
Apr 11, 2015
Chaotic_beauty (All reviews)
Oh, Mystery of the Mew, what shall I do with you? Mew was so fricking cute in this. And Lucario was a badass. Honestly and completely unironically. Yet, with a clear conscience, I can't recommend this film. Maybe you should bother if you're an avid fan of Lucario or Mew. The movie is so ambitious, yet the script is dreadful. So, where do I start?

Better get good out of the way. Soundtrack was fine, even if not on the level of the first or fifth film. Art, on the other hand, was not fine - it was much better. Just like in the last film, read more
Aug 29, 2016
NickKennedy (All reviews)
Lucario and the Mystery of Mew, as the name implies, follows Lucario, a rare Pokémon who was sent centuries into the future by being trapped in a staff by his teacher Aaron. Lucario has been my favorite Pokémon for as long as I can remember, and this movie represents him perfectly. His relationship with Aaron is great, and his character is cool, yet endearing. This movie has so much more heart than many other Pokémon movies. It's tragic, exciting, and uplifting. The animation is also fantastic, and while the cgi has aged badly, the 2D animation allows Lucario and the others to make some really read more
Sep 15, 2018
PokeFan2112 (All reviews)
A good movie.
The first half or so was pretty weak. I didn’t like the use of medival fantasy elements, (never been a fan of those), and the plot wasn’t very interesting at first. The Rescue Pikachu stuff wasn’t really very engaging, and the whole ball scene was way too long.
But by the halfway point of the movie, and especially by the point when the Regis were introduced, things got very interesting with the Tree of Beginning plot and the whole time flower stuff, and it built until the ending of the movie, which was as intense and emotional as expected for the franchise.
The action scenes read more
Oct 28, 2018
MyLifeWthLucario (All reviews)
An excerpt from my Lucario and the Mystery of Mew Review. Watch the full thing here: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=tcgJ2BZHPVg

“Pokemon hit the United States with unbridled success as children all over the world began to tune in to Ash Misty and Brock's adventures all over the world. It captured a raw, childlike enjoyment of seeing cute animals violenting engage in battles for the sake of a young child master everyone could relate too. But with the engagement of the morality of Pokémon capture being questioned on the daily, it was clear to Gamefreak it was time to change things up. With the late turn of the century and read more
May 14, 2017
ImRingo (All reviews)
***This is a spoiler free review***

I don’t necessarily want to be labeled as that guy who reviews Pokemon stuff but after seeing the two very drastically different reviews for Pokemon Movie 8: Lucario and The Mystery of Mew, there was a dire need for a decent review.

Like many major anime franchises such as Bleach and Naruto, Pokemon has many movies that accompany the different seasons airing. While some of the Pokemon movies seem rushed out and bland, I believe Pokemon Movie 8: Lucario and The Mystery of Mew is a very well done movie wrapped around a fairly good cast.

Story 6/10:

So the eighth Pokemon movie read more
Jan 28, 2011
oxana (All reviews)
Our heroes - or mainly, Ash - compete in a contest at Cameron Palace to earn the title of the "Guardian of the Aura". Little do they know that the legend of Sir Aaron may not be as it seems, and that the staff that's been handed down from generation to the next actually holds within it a Pokémon Lucario - an apprentice of Sir Aaron himself.

The movie's plot if pretty good, the art is the usual level of Pokémon movies, and I really liked this film; it was eventful, didn't repeat itself (something that happens in children’s movies/shows all too often to underline the read more
Oct 4, 2013
Kawaiipikachuu (All reviews)
A very odd setting in this Pokemon movie, I believe it takes place in Britain. Ash is mistaken as the new savior. As Ash hold a mysterious staff, he feels that he could hear someones soul speaking out to him...

As the Queen tells the reborn Lucario about what happened to his deceased master, he reluctantly joins Ash and friends to fix The Tree of Life.

As the crew and their Pokemon get seperated, the Pokemon befriend Mew, as it has grown weaker due to the Tree dying.

Ash and Lucario have the same aura, so they both try and save the tree. Lucario pushes Ash away, and read more