Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko.


Alternative Titles

English: The "Hentai" Prince and the Stony Cat.
Synonyms: HenNeko
Japanese: 変態王子と笑わない猫。

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2013 to Jun 29, 2013
Premiered: Spring 2013
Broadcast: Saturdays at 22:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.361 (scored by 160,964 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #22322
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #277
Members: 296,474
Favorites: 1,545

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 1, 2013
Veronin (All reviews)
A strong cast of characters is sometimes all that is needed.

Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko (referred to as HenNeko henceforth) is a romantic comedy that knows its own strengths. Rather than focusing solely on panties, cleavage and harem tropes (oh, there's still plenty of that), it delivers a genuinely refreshing experience that cleverly combines its moe appeal with a strong cast of characters.

The story follows Yokodera Youto and his hidden perversions. Hidden, of course, as joining the track club solely to gape at girls is not considered socially acceptable behavior. He conceals these thoughts under a facade, acting in part as the average read more
Jul 1, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
You know one of those days when you're feeling down and is hunting for something, anything to calm your moody day? Well, that hunt might not be easy but if Henneko is something on your hit list, then you might of hit a bulls-eye. That's because this is an anime that will brighten the mood of your moody day. In more ways than one, Henneko caters to the fantasies of a young teenager. It focuses more on Youto Yokodera, a young boy who is going through the journey of adolescence. What he seems to be more interested than sports or academics though is of the read more
May 20, 2013
blaZofgold (All reviews)
For an anime with such an evocative title, Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko is actually a fairly...acceptably clean slice-of-life comedy with some really, really bizarre plot twists and characters. A harem-type anime, HenNeko tries to break the archetype by just being extremely weird, but still keeping comedy and romance at a harem-type best. While it may be a bit overly "fuwa fuwa" in both art and character design, Hentai Ouji delivers a compelling and hilarious story of a misunderstood high-school boy and his series of mishaps with the girls around him, all controlled by a mysterious cat statue. Definitely a good anime.

Story (8/10)
Art (9/10)
Sound (7/10)
Character read more
Feb 9, 2014
PyraXadon (All reviews)
Usually, anything with the word "hentai" in it is instantly thrown out the window for most people, as its word association is for the most part, is towards porn, as hentai means "pervert" in the japanese language. Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko, or the hentai prince and stony cat in english uses that word in such a way, that it almost means nothing, in this pretty damn good rom-com.

Story (8.05/10): The story of Hentai Ouji (simplifying the title), bases itself around Youto Yokodera, an open pervert, as many can guess from the title. Through a series of circumstances involving the best friend character read more
Feb 25, 2018
Heika- (All reviews)
At first, I thought this anime was an ordinary ecchi anime, which showed a boring story, putting ecchi art like any other anime. as with just looking at the title "hentai". however, still can not judge just by its cover. after watching it to completion, the story is incredible.

At the beginning of the episode, the story begins with a silly and outspoken main character. then began to emerge an interesting path like the power of a cat statue, and how the personality can move on to others. and of course I did not expect it.
then the story began to continue how the power of the read more
May 13, 2013
Varyn (All reviews)
Preliminary
At first I was extremely tentative to start watching this show, expecting mindless fanservice, a half-arsed plot and a full baking tray of cookie cut characters. But I'm pleasantly surprised with what I've seen in the first 5 episodes.

By far the best feature of the show is the comedy. The extreme bluntness of the main characters speeches have me laughing my ass off in the first couple of episodes. "So I offered up my dutch wife and all my lust disappeared like I'd just had a fantastic fap!"

The character interactions are incredibly interesting for an anime of this genre. They each have read more
Aug 4, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko
HenNeko is a comedy with bits of romantic elements that fails to bring the most of it by how confusing and fast paced the things goes.

Story
The story is weak, and you will find yourself to say WTF is this, i don't understand, and for the most part the story is silly and fails to be interesting, where you can see the plotholes and get confused and it bothered me that the cat statue could grant every single wish like if he was a god and can do even the imposible i mean the statue was made from two normal girls with read more
Mar 29, 2016
LeaderTGW (All reviews)
Pretty odd show with less than memorable service.

I'll start off by saying that I didn't like how this show was presented. While re-watching Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko I felt like the producers were adding too many elements to the story at once. One moment I'm hearing about the stony cat, next moment they're talking about losing facades, expressions etc. It's like, I felt that it would've been better if they let the story plot and events unfold one at a time rather than all at once because it felt like a mess.

(as much as I wanted to like them) hated the read more
Jun 25, 2014
KiryuKun00x (All reviews)
This anime was on my plan-to-watch list for a long time and just recently picked it up to have a go. Boy was I in for a surprise, it turned how to be very good and was unexpected of the entertainment value I receive. How awesome would it be to have a Cat God grant any wish of your desire, but does it come with a cost?

Story-8
The story centers aroud Youto Yokodera who is rather an "average joe" highschool student. Due to his perverted nature, his actions are always being misunderstood thus having a problem of expressing inner self. After hearing a story from a read more
Jun 30, 2013
BushiBooz (All reviews)
It's doesn't matter how the sound is, or the quality is in an anime. What matters is how the anime impacted on the viewers. How it leaves an impression for its viewers. And how it leaves the mind lingering in a positive way.

I hope my review will pique your interest. I won't say any spoilers.

Your common romcom, as so I thought. There is a love triangle involved, but it didn't seem like it focused much on the love. After a few episode, it seems like your common love triangle. But you know what? It's a very good romcom. I thought why stop halfway, so I read more
Jun 25, 2013
hjbhhjmn (All reviews)
Preliminary
Let's get to the point - you are watching this because you like moe. There simply is no other reason for anyone to watch it. The story is barely coherent and the plot twists are more like back flips induced by characters to maintain a harem, create an opportunity for hit and miss comedy and create an explosion, LITERALLY AN EXPLOSION, of moe.

Since we now know why you are watching let's get to the good, the bad and the moe.

Story 4/10
There is no story, or not at least one meant for any decent inspiration or contemplation. It exists only so that there read more
Nov 15, 2015
-Remix- (All reviews)
Have you ever seen an anime with extremely strong characters but a really weak plot?

Quite a contrast, isn't it? I've seen plenty of anime with a decent plot line but really weak characters, but this is the first time I've ever seen a flip-flop like this. And perhaps you also agree, if you've already watched this show.

Enter the main characters: first up, Youto Yokodera. A pervert by nature, Youto is basically every high school boy: he will do anything in his power to see girls...... well you get the point. Next up, Tsukiko Tsutsukakushi (say that five times fast). Tsukiko is an emotionless, monotonous girl read more
Nov 25, 2013
DKZed (All reviews)
HenNeko is a comedy/romance/drama put in order with the former genre being the most prevalent. It's something that you may want to watch to pass time or just for something lighthearted and funny, but under examination this show is lacking and has its own list of flaws and problems.

The show follows the generic romance formula (which is not necessarily bad) where a boy meets a girl, or girls, and through experiences that they share romance starts to develop. The show takes upon the perspective of Yokodera Youto as he develops relationships with the people around him. The interesting twist with this show is that there read more
Mar 5, 2015
daimonfo (All reviews)
Boy this anime is strange. In many ways.

First off it started like any normal anime these days: with a perverted male going on and on about swimsuits and what not. Then it turned into semi-magical anime where a cat statue grants wishes. Then it become a semi-love story with lot of harem. Then it went back to the cat statue that grants wishes, only this time everyone could use it. Then it became a mess of sorts and I got totally confused by the episode. And then it turned into a full-blown sad story through the cat statue where they go into the past to read more
Jul 8, 2013
RazorRamona200 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hey there, muchachos! Time to make my review, so:

mou ikkai kotchi muite iitai koto ga motto aru kara
mou ikkai kotchi muite honki ga yureru ai no future
dakara kotchi muite maware chikyuu koi o nosete
dakara kotchi muite guuzen ja nai FantaFuture!

Enough of that before them mod thinkof my review as a troll, so, no more BS, here are my ratings for each this anime's category:

Story- good 7

I like the plot where it involves this stony cat that has the capacity to grant any wishes and this is where the proverb "Be careful of what you wish for or you might just get read more
Jun 18, 2013
Anime_Troll (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime's strength lies it's 'laugh out loud' comedic inane story, without any deeper meaning behind it.

This is one those animes which are made for pure entertainment, comedy, with no real intention of aspiring to become a memorable anime and crudely follows a shadowy outline of a story.

Let's just say it's an anime that doesn't take itself seriously.

Though the anime wasn't a disaster, the episodes after the 6th one probably lost my interest in terms of story; there didn't seem to be a solid plot development. The anime's plot did not live up to the seemingly large expectations that was foreshadowed by the first read more
Jul 27, 2018
Super_Recoder (All reviews)
Never expected to be this good!

"The Hentai Prince and the stony cat!" is really under-rated for the content it actually carries. I had expected a harem go-lucky anime, but this anime has a real plot, a real good plot. (along with plenty ecchi stuff).

The Plot gets slightly darker as you dwell further into the episodes. The Story is nice. At first it starts off as a normal ecchi stuff, but gradually progresses to unveil the real plot.

Art : Good

Sound : Normal Effects were good. But the OP/ED weren't really very catchy. So it is just ok.

Characters: The Neko God was real savage.

Leaving a 10 rating read more
May 16, 2018
Nimurai (All reviews)
Harem-esque but with substance. The story keeps evolving and changing and you can see the characters change from 'your typical harem people' to 'Oh! Those are actual characters'. Yes, they progress and develop, even if the main first plots are lost in translation.

I enjoyed it. I was somewhat satisfied with the ending and how the story developed. It wasn't a disappointment as almost every other harem I've watched, and I could enjoy both main characters as well as some secondary ones. The plots and subplots and chaos was nice and refreshing.

It is not piece of art, but you would not waste your time read more
Oct 2, 2014
munchkins_x (All reviews)
To start off, the plot really got to me in the beginning. The cat who grants wishes, the girl who loses her expression, and the perverted boy who doesn't have memory of his past! I was sure it would keep me so hooked that I might finish this anime in a day!! But it wasn't like that. It took me atleast 3 days to complete this short anime. Suffice to say, what was promising in the beginning seemed kind of dull midway. It had its moment of laughter but then the story drags on. The only thing which I thought this anime had its weight read more
Aug 21, 2015
NeppyNepNep (All reviews)
Full article here!
http://www.gamerselite.co.uk/the-hentai-prince-and-the-stony-cat/

Hentai Ouji to Warawanai Neko. is an anime that is often judged earlier for it's title, though it's more misunderstood. This anime does not have any hentai in it at all, and the fan service is more tame than others. But what really makes this anime stand out from others, is the writing and characters.

Story (7) - The story isn't outstanding unfortunately. It does have it's sad and happy moments, but nothing strikes off as memorable. In a nutshell, it revolves around the main protagonists wishing towards the Cat God (hence the Stony Cat in the title), but wishes will always come at read more