Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Aikatsu!


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Aikatsu! Idol Katsudou! Idol ga Tsudou!, Aidoru ga Tsudou!, Aikatsu! 2, Idol ga Tsudou! 2
Japanese: アイカツ!アイドルカツドウ!

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 178
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2012 to Mar 31, 2016
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Thursdays at 18:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG - Children

Statistics

Score: 7.501 (scored by 3,990 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #15702
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2400
Members: 19,808
Favorites: 477

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Sep 26, 2013
Florete (All reviews)
When I was first taught about "idols" as a child, we knew them as false gods. Then I started watching anime and I realized it's practically the same thing for Japan.

*Original review of the first 50 episodes follows. For an overview of the rest, scroll down*

Aikatsu! follows the idol trend of the past few years. These are shows about cute young girls singing and dancing that look like they're for young girls but are actually for grown men, only this time around it actually is for young girls (it has some periphery demographic, though). It follows a group of middle school friends led by Hoshimiya read more
Nov 23, 2012
Rayla (All reviews)
Preliminary
“My name is Hoshiyama Ichigo. I’m your ordinary first year middle school student. Back then, I would have never imagined that I, me, someone like me could become an idol!”

Story (7/10)
Aikatsu short for Aidoru Katsudou! (Idol Activities) is a collectible card game created by Bandai which revolves around using cards featuring various designer clothes to help aspiring idols make their dreams come true. The story tells of Hoshiyama, Ichigo as she slowly rises to the top with her best friend Kiriya, Aoi and new member of the group *drum rolls* Shibuki, Ran. I know what you’re thinking… “Not another anime about idols.” Which I can read more
Oct 31, 2012
MavisVermillion (All reviews)
Preliminary
Well when I saw the picture of the cover for the anime it was really cute and looked girly so I thought I would give it a try when I watched the first episode it was so much like Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream which is also an anime about making idols but in Pretty Rhythm Aurora Dream they skate and dance while skating which is really cool and in Aikatsu they just dance normally and sing which is a bit more like a bit more real !!! :D But because they were so much alike I was quite shocked but still the way they set read more
Mar 31, 2016
Max (All reviews)
There aren't many idol anime with over a hundred episodes, and there are even fewer idol anime that have the ability to hook and surprise you for such a long period of time. Coming in at just under two hundred episodes, Aikatsu is a series that manages to do both, and there are so many ways to describe it; energetic, revitalising, and optimistic, to name a few. But the best thing about Aikatsu is that it's able to toss its target audience aside and create something able to entertain people of all ages. Unlike Hollywood family movies or shows like Friendship is Magic, there isn't read more
Oct 14, 2013
CherryBum (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first ever review but,I really like Aikatsu and it'smy most favorite anime ever! So, this is all about girls trying to become the top idol and beating the current top idol.
The first episode wasn't that good but when you keep watching it until the last episode you wil enjoy it.
For me this is my rating:
Story: 10
I understand the story even when i just watched episode 1 and 2.The story is like other idol thing when you have to beat someone but this one is really great!
Art: 9
I really love the art but when they like sing and dance it's 3d. read more
Jul 29, 2016
zombie_pegasus (All reviews)
Although this anime has a bit of a slow start, the story is one of the better ones that I've seen. Although it is a fairly typical coming-to-fame story, it is well done and unlike most anime that feel unfinished it keeps going until the story reaches a proper end. One very interesting thing is the cast collecting in the anime to the point that the main cast actually switches about halfway through. There are around 100 different characters and they each have interesting personalities, although some of them have unfortunately short screen times.

The art of the main series is well done with the girls read more
Apr 1, 2016
AllenHavens92 (All reviews)
Despite what some may say just by looking at any images or promotional stuff for this series, I am not afraid to say that I have, without any regret, enjoyed Aikatsu! to its fullest!

First off, the story is very simple: a group of girls aim to be the best idols by attending an academy that solely focuses on idol training. That's pretty much the gist of it. Of course, you have to understand this series is supposed to be for kids. However, there's something about watching each episode that feels satisfying. If ever I'm having a bad day, or I'm getting tired of seeing other read more
Jun 15, 2015
Caitlyn51 (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all, the anime is bringing down logic. For an example, Shibuki Ran is a professional idol and yet Ichigo and Aoi are higher than Ran. Aikatsu8 was full of BS, instead of the higher-ups, they put rookies! The fact that rookies have surpassed higher-ups is just stupid.

Second of all, characters such as Yurika, Kaede, Shion, Ran etc have REALLY less showtime. Season 3 is about rookies trying to become top idols and they are supposed to give more showtime to them more, BUT when they want to show that the top idols being their seniors, it's mostly Ichigo, Aoi, Otome or Sakura. They read more
Mar 2, 2016
Kagami (All reviews)
Preliminary
Do you have a dream? Do you know somebody with a dream? Now tell me this: Do you believe that a dream can be accomplished if effort becomes an ingredient in the story that is your life? Hoshimiya Ichigo certainly has a case for any doubters of this theory. Who is Ichigo you ask? Hoshimiya Ichigo is a normal girl like numerous young girls who watch this in Japan. Hoshimiya Ichigo is a normal though animated human like all of my readers. Hoshimiya Ichigo had a dream and with effort, turned her scoop into a mic. Hello readers, this is Aikatsu.

Aikatsu is an anime that read more
Jul 20, 2015
digitalT2 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Overall ... 9.4 from me to Aikatsu

Story: 10
Because the story is good, enjoyable and interesting this anime teach me to keep fighting.

Art: 9
For Season 1 (until episode 25) the CGI is bad, but CGI had improvement on Season 2

Sound: 9
Stereo sound and Good music make me very enjoyable to this anime

Character: 9
Aikatsu doesn't have Antagonist Character except Mister S (Season 2 episode 56 / 63)

Enjoyment: 10
Stroy, CGI, and other Techincal Spesification are Enjoyable

Overall: 9.4
Feb 24, 2013
CrystalChara (All reviews)
Preliminary
This anime is not finished yet, only 19 episodes out , but it is nevertheless one of my favorites! do you like super cute anime with a good story and lovely characters! then it is perfect!
I think it is much better and intressang than Pretty Rhythm: Aurora Dream.
it has a lot more action, and I like that they dance instead of skating. I also like the main character here better than in Pretty Rhythm: Aurora Dream.
You meet many more characters, each with their own unique personality!
it is an anime that makes you never want to give up what you really love! bit like yumeiro read more
Aug 18, 2016
deathdjentcore (All reviews)
Preliminary
(Currently at ep 66)
Ever since I watched Love Live! and K-On! I needed something cute, relaxing, fun and music filled to watch that I could watch at the end of the day to unplug from work, university and everyday life. To be honest I wanted to see more Idol stuff, as I'm now stuck in Idol Hell forever and I don't plan on getting out. I then AKB0048 thinking it was going to be another cute anime albeit in a futuristic setting, and boy I was wrong and I got them feels out of it, but still I needed something to let off some steam.

I read more
Mar 19, 2017
Mikaru7 (All reviews)
This is a pretty fun anime. I loved it. It is a typical Shoujo idol anime but it's entertaining.

The characters here never fail to make me smile. Hoshimiya Ichigo being the main protagonist is extremely fun-loving and naive. Kiriya Aoi is the Idol Professor who supports her best friend Ichigo. Shibuki Ran is cold and hard to approach at first but later Ichigo and Aoi befriends her. All the characters here have special and lovable traits of their own.

The music is enjoyable. There isn't even a single song I hate in this series.
The animation is pretty nice and I loved the Shoujou-flavours in characters' designs.

The read more
Jul 30, 2017
SuiteUnicorn (All reviews)
I've seen all 178 episodes of Aikatsu. Since the main character changes season 3 I will probably separate my reviews for seasons 1&2 to 3&4

Story 6/10
To be honest, the story in season 1 surpasses the rest for one main reason: the character actually had a set goal that was realistic and specific which is to pass Mizuki and become Starlight Queen.

The rest of the seasons were utter disappointments. To summarise, they would create a new (unoriginal story) arc which has nothing to do with the final outcome of the show, manage to actually successfully create some kind of suspense or excitement and betray us read more
Jun 21, 2017
charu002 (All reviews)
This anime usually gears to kids. As the time goes on, it goes less and less. Here is my review for Aikatsu. (I almost typed Aikatsu Stars)

Story:
Aikatsu is one of the anime that can be reference who is in the entertainment industry. As one watched longer, there are some quotes that everyone can find. It's a lesson that can be used to viewers as well. It showed how hard the work to be a top idol. Even it is a game adaptation (card adaptation), one must not deny that the way their doing can be a real life demonstration too.

Art:
As the story goes, the audition read more
Nov 28, 2016
Geddon616 (All reviews)
First of all before i begin this i almost wished they had seperated season 1 and 2 from season 3 -4 since even reviewing those last two pulls my rating down which is why i will actually give them a slight one of their own reviews so i get my message through.

Season 1-2: Story Made me a big fan of this anime with its own spin of the idol world and how they divide the audiotions and everything else up into different parts of jobs an idol can get. Its not all that realistic considering the idol world is very harsh but it gives read more