Love Live! School Idol Project

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Love Live! School Idol Project
Japanese: ラブライブ! School idol project

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 6, 2013 to Mar 31, 2013
Premiered: Winter 2013
Broadcast: Sundays at 22:00 (JST)
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Sunrise
Source: Other
Genre: Slice of LifeSlice of Life
Themes: MusicMusic, SchoolSchool
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.421 (scored by 195228195,228 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #18992
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #417
Members: 395,958
Favorites: 7,485

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 17, 2013
Pietru (All reviews)
When asked, a lot of people don't like idol anime or anything similar, or in other words, anime based on music and stuff. I'm one of these people. I don't usually watch idol anime, but I wanted to try this out because of the outstanding art that this anime offers.

At first I was really hesitant, even to the point where I removed it off my PTW list because I would feel embarrassed having watched something like this. Sure this anime might be targeted towards children rather than teens/adults, but it doesn't mean that teens/adults wouldn't enjoy this. This anime taught to me that hard work read more
May 22, 2014
TrashyPandas (All reviews)
Trashy Pandas Love Live! School Idol Project Review May 22, 2014

*THIS ONLY CONTAINS THE FIRST SEASON I WILL EVENTUALLY GET AROUND TO WRITING THE REVIEW FOR THE ENTIRE SERIES BUT SCHOOL IS TAKING UP ALL OF MY TIME*

“Datte kanosei kanjitanda. Sou da susume. Kokai shitaku nai me no mae ni bokura no michi ga aru.”
“I feel we have a chance. Yes let's push forward. I don't want to regret it later. Our future lies right ahead.” from the song Susume by Muse.
Hope. Desires. Goals. Perseverance. Friendship. Love. Music. The girls of the school idol group Muse share all of these wonderful things as they give read more
Jun 26, 2013
Hamelin (All reviews)
"Love Live! School Idol Project", I have never fully watched any idol series before, so this one was my first, and I ended up enjoying it a lot. I've tried to watch IdolM@ster when it first aired, but I just couldn't get into it. I watched Love Live after it was finished airing. I honestly don't know why I decided to watch Love Live, but I'm so glad I did.

Story
There was a clear story, which was good. School is gonna get shut down if they don't get enough students, Honoka (main character) decides to become school idols to stop the school from closing. The story read more
Mar 31, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
So, you want to become a superstar?

It's not easy. In fact, it takes more than just skill. It takes the will, determination, support, technique, integrity, and a little bit of luck to reach success. In fact, reaching that point of success is especially hard when there's competition. Among other things, being an idol also means to shine and make yourself a name in the industry. You have to embrace what you do and no matter what, always aim for success.

At least, that's what the girls at Otonokizaka High School wishes to do...

Alright, this series known as Love Live! School Idol Project is actually read more
Sep 26, 2014
Beghty (All reviews)
After watching "Wake up Girls" and listening to plenty of idolm@ster songs, I decided I had a weak spot for idol shows. I just finished watching NHK and as I usually like to do, switch off to something light before picking up another heavy show.
This being said I never had high expectations of Love Live and knew from the start that it was going to be mediocre and that I was just along to satisfier a cute craving. At first things looked good, with the show making me laugh at several points read more
Feb 5, 2013
KawaiiSlowpoke (All reviews)
Preliminary
Love Live! Is a School Idol Project, hence the name of course. I tried to get into Idolmaster, but something just wasn't blowing my skirt up.

However, Love Live! Jumps into things a little bit faster and it's funny and such a guilty pleasure. It's not bad but it's not excellent either. It's something to watch to make you smile and hum along when they sing and to laugh at the characters. It's not here to blow your mind, it's an Idol anime after all.

Story - 7

The story is about this all girl's school (at least I don't remember every seeing any boys), Otonokizaka High School, read more
Aug 28, 2021
YU3LE (All reviews)
I swear to god, when I tell you this anime changed my life I mean it. It quite literally opened my mind to finding out who I am, introduced me to idol culture, made me realize I was a lesbian, and allowed me to get into a workout regimen all at once. Outstanding writing, character arcs, relatable cast, and adorable character design. Although some of the choreography is kinda lazy, I don’t even care. Such a good anime, 10/10, would recommend even to someone that doesn’t like this genre. Now, although I love this anime, there is but one flaw. The Nico stans that came read more
May 16, 2020
Munyuu_ (All reviews)
At first when someone told me about this, I been wanting to watch it for a long time… But never had the chance to because I would never make time for myself. But after I have watched it, I am regretting not watching it sooner…

Story 10/10: I like this point. The story here is put in a very realistic way and even though some parts of it are not “realistic” in way, I like how the characters go with the problems that they face, and how they solve them, is something that I enjoyed seeing. The fact that they can save their school from shutting read more
Oct 27, 2017
bmoore07 (All reviews)
“You can’t fool television viewers with dancing girls and flashing lights” - Bob Barker

If there’s any pop culture entity that can dispute Mr. Barker’s claim, it is the idol genre. Prizing style over substance, flair over functionality, and pizazz over practicality, titles within the idol genre have discovered success time after time by appealing to its fanbase more than anything else. Unfulfilled character arcs, glacial pacing, stale voice acting, and even gaping plot holes can all be negated by the lavish concerts and energetic score from your standard idol anime. That’s not to mention the miracles that a moe pop idol can conjure; there are read more
Sep 3, 2020
ThatGuyLalo (All reviews)
So what did I think of School Idol Project... well to be perfectly honest it was surprisingly enjoyable. When I decided to watch the anime I thought of it only as a filler in between my seasonal anime grind. But on my was I mistaken. I was into the show and the Idols performances! Whenever they where getting hyped for a show I felt that same energy! I wanted to grace the stage with Honoka, Rin, You (my fav and the BEST obviously) and all the other Idols. The art and story were not the best but for me it's all how the anime makes read more
Oct 22, 2017
LIQfilms (All reviews)
Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you’ve probably taken note of the rising popularity and plethora of idol related anime in the last few years. Any time I dare venture out to any anime convention that just so happens to be taking place within my proximity, I’m bound to be met with an onslaught of idol related merchandise from body pillows, those strange mouse pads that also have a pair of breasts on them, figures, CDs and even several cosplayers too – it’s inescapable! However, it’s not necessarily hard to understand why such shows garner such popularity, as they seem to be almost designed read more
Dec 30, 2019
Hiirokaze (All reviews)
Love Live! is fun and lighthearted, but most of the appeal comes from getting invested in the community (seiyuus, the mobile: “game school idol festival”, and the fandom in general).

The school idol tournament “Love Live” and the plot of the school shutting down are not interesting by themselves, and so the show focuses on the characters. However, there are too many characters to develop so none of them end up getting developed anyway. Of the nine main cast members, Rin and Hanayo are forgettable, Maki, Kotori, Nico and Nozomi are one-dimensional, Umi and Eli are decent and the main character, Honoka, is basically just a read more
Apr 25, 2013
xDiablo (All reviews)
This show is a sad guilty pleasure of mine. I shouldn't like this, but I did.

It shows what hard work can really achieve. Especially with so much competition out there. It can really motivates you to be successful. With all that aside the show is very shallow and simple.

Cute girls dancing and singing to save their beloved school.

Story: Based around nine girls working to become idols and save their school. The initial story is okay, but nothing ever goes past that. The plot is weak and suffers from this, but what can you expect from a 13 episode series. The story can only read more
Aug 10, 2014
GoodLuck (All reviews)
When this show was airing I decided not to watch Love Live, because its ain't my style however I ended up watching it because of the rhythm game app I found in a commercial.

This show is really enjoyable. The art, and music were really great and I found myself somehow excited to watch the next episode (hasn't happened in a while.) Now I know I said its enjoyable, but only if you don't really think about it. (I watched while I waited for my LP to refill)

The plot is a group of girls become idols to save their school. Original really, however I read more
Oct 14, 2014
LeikoHaran (All reviews)
I know what you're thinking...And stop it.
Recently I've been on a sort of 'binge watch' of anime; but not just any anime, I'm talking about the type with no plot, high school girls doing crazy things, minor fan service, why? Because after a tough day of college the LAST thing I want to do is put on an episode of Serial Experiments Lain, right?

But what if I told you that there exists a moe idol show with so much more to offer than meets the eye? A show with so much heart, passion and hard work put into it, that it has actually bustled its read more
Jun 18, 2014
suikashoujo (All reviews)
I have to admit that when I first started watching this show, I wasn't expecting a whole lot. I decided to give it a try because I had recently gotten hooked on the mobile app, but I figured that it would be little more than a feelgood story about some friends getting together and singing some catchy songs. Nothing groundbreaking, and definitely nothing too serious. Which is probably why I was so impressed by what it ended up being.

Story: 10/10

What I appreciated the most about Love Live was that it didn't try to pretend that the girls would be able to get up right away read more
May 15, 2018
Nivo3041 (All reviews)
I'm a big fan of the Love Live franchise, so I'm sorry if I look like a mired person or with bad judgment, but the truth is that I like all seasons of Love Live (including Sunshine and the movie). But that does not stop me from wanting to give my opinion about this anime.

History:
Love Live is an anime that does not have a deep, ingenious or innovative story. This does not make this point weak or anything like that, the series creates a simple story for the characters to "develop" the way they see fit. The story is developed based on training and training read more
Nov 29, 2015
ILikeReviewing (All reviews)
This is my first review, so please bear with me.

Story: 9/10
The story is easy to understand. School closing down due to a lack of applicants, and three girls decide to form a school idol group to gain popularity. They name this idol group "μ's" and eventually end up with nine members in total. I had no problems with pacing of the story - it wasn't too slow or fast - and found each episode very interesting, making me want to watch more.

Art: 8/10
The art is, in a word, flawless. The characters, although looking very different from one another, are all cute. In fact, I was read more
Oct 23, 2017
SunlitSonata (All reviews)
What does it mean to sell out? For many, this term is often used in a negative light, to suggest giving up artistic integrity for the sake of appealing to the fans and getting all the profits. The sad fact is that in this day and age, more auteur products that try to tell different stories from the norm don’t sell well, and that the mainstream is cluttered with copies banking on past trends for the sake of appeal. This applies to movies, TV, and even anime. Sure, there are exceptions to this, as there always are, but more often than not, I feel like read more
Apr 13, 2015
Seto_Masamune (All reviews)
Love Live! is a Comedy, Idol anime co-created by music label Lantis and animation studio Sunrise in 2010. The story is about Honoka Kōsaka, girl who loves her school and after she hears that it plans to close down because of lack of first year applications, she becomes determined to save her school. After see how popular school idols are, decides to create a idol group called μ's (Muse) with her friends to attract new students and save the school. So that the plot of Love Live, as i normal don't write spoilers, all i can say that the writing and flow of the story read more