Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Corpse Party: Tortured Souls - Bougyakusareta Tamashii no Jukyou


Alternative Titles

English: Corpse Party: Tortured Souls
Synonyms: Corpse Party: Tortured Souls - Bougyakusareta Tamashii no Jukyou
Japanese: コープスパーティー Tortured Souls -暴虐された魂の呪叫-

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 4
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 24, 2013
Producers: MAGES.
Licensors: Maiden Japan
Studios: Asread
Source: Visual novel
Genres: MysteryMystery, HorrorHorror, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 29 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 6.821 (scored by 133236133,236 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #45292
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #469
Members: 227,497
Favorites: 1,357

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 23, 2013
moonkingdomify (All reviews)
Hello. Well this was probably the most disturbing thing I have ever seen in my life. Not only is this the most disturbing animated series I have ever watched, it is the most disturbing fiction work I have had the pleasure of experiencing.

This is one of those series that makes you cringe but you still love it because it takes you on a well written story. Where as this is still not my favorite horror anime, I still think that it did an amazing job with what little time it had. It had a story and a conclusion and we were not left with a read more
Aug 18, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Watching Corpse Party is literally like watching a horror movie. There you are, trapped. Can't even shout, can't even cry, the dangers are coming by. When you realize that death is coming before you, screams are shouted out but you won't be heard. But that's just the beginning. For once you're trapped, Corpse Party will take you to a place where your life will never ever be the same again. (that is if and only if you escape alive)

Corpse Party: Tortured Souls - Bougyakusareta Tamashii no Jukyou (or simply known as Corpse Party: Tortured Souls) is a series of four OVA episodes. The animation is read more
Apr 29, 2016
XHellLyterX (All reviews)
Well...this definitely tortured my soul. "Was it because it was scary?" You might ask. The answer is no. It was simply...mind numbingly stupid. And incomprehensibly bloody. Corpse party is an opera of gore which not only fails as an anime, but also fails on every fundamental level of the horror genre.

Plot: 2/10

The story begins with a group of people in a classroom performing a ritual of some sort. They suddenly and inexplicably get transported into another dimension full of other students who are getting killed by these mysterious ghosts as well as each other. While this may seem interesting enough (to those with twisted minds read more
Nov 13, 2014
Alicemelon (All reviews)
Naming an anime "Corpse Party: Tortured Souls" is like making a promise to the viewer that you're going to deliver with exactly that. It's easy enough to expect the opposite; after all, for some reason a lot of would-be horrifying, gory anime are hit with the unfortunate black bars of censorship, or the convenient off-screen carnage of PG-13 justice, or otherwise just have a mechanism to protect your eyes from seeing violence, even if violence is the reason you're there. Sometimes the Blu-ray edition arrives months later to fix that, and sometimes it just remained unfixed, forever covered in a shining white light across the read more
Dec 24, 2013
mutsoko (All reviews)
This is my first ever review so please bare with me. And i apologize in advance for the mistakes ill make.


Corpse Party: Tortured souls blew my mind, It was absolutely disturbing to the point that it just made me sick to my stomach and this is coming from someone who enjoys watching horror/gore animes but even though it was disturbing i really did enjoy it.

Although the plot was your typical ''Students trapped into an creepy building'' kind of plot i still enjoyed it and after it ended it left me craving for more.

The blood coming out of the walls, Organs splashing everywhere.. God read more
May 30, 2014
kotoriko (All reviews)
So I decided to watch Corpse Party because of the intriguing name and of the things I'd heard about it. ("It's so disturbing!")
I wasn't exactly disappointed... I just have high standards. I'm extremely critical of the horror genre because I am not easily scared and they usually lack a good story, which is most important to me.


Story:
It was better than I thought it would be. I honestly expected a half-assed ending with no real conclusion and tons of plot holes. But it was actually pretty good. The explanations for the events in the story were interesting and made decent sense. But that only came read more
Oct 7, 2015
skjoldr-san (All reviews)
I'll try to tell you why this isn't worth of your time without writing unecessary things or trying to sound cool like so many reviewers do.

Bear in mind that I have not played the games this OVA is based on.

This is as generic as generic gets.
It fails to deliver anything (except boredom) and it tries to cope with its flaws by adding unecessary elements to it - examples being:

Cheap ''sad'' scenes
Even more blood than is necessary (it just gets silly at a certain point)

Now - is it bad to have a lot of blood and gore when it comes to horror/gore/slasher media?
Absolutely not, if there read more
Aug 23, 2014
wengdeng (All reviews)
It may seem weird that the my overall score is lower than every other number on there, but the problem is that while Corpse Party satisfies the requirements of every technical aspect, what it lacks, utterly, is delivery.

I don't know why they decided to make it 4 episodes long (5 including the OVA, which is actually quite important and a lot more well done than the rest of the series) when it could have easily been a standard 12/13 long one. And, to be honest, probably the only reason I enjoyed at all is because I had already played the game. Otherwise, it would have read more
Oct 7, 2015
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Welcome, my Beauties, to the first review of horror anime month. Last year, one of the things I looked at was Corpse Party: Missing Footage, a short OVA about a bunch of one-dimensional characters being dull. We saw a bit of blood and carved up children at the beginning, but nothing else to connect it to horror. This year, I'm going to look at the follow up that, supposedly, moves into straight up horror. Corpse Party: Tortured Souls.

Story:

A group of eight kids is staying at school late after an event and telling ghost stories. Before leaving they, along with their teacher, decide to do a read more
Jun 26, 2015
ProjektBaka (All reviews)
Corpse Party: Tortured Souls brings you gore on a silver platter, well, a silver platter containing dismembered limbs, rotting and beheaded corpses, and a lot of cringe. It’s the perfect package for horror genre enthusiasts or a perfect gateway anime for those trying to get into the genre.

The story is set in Heavenly Host Elementary School, which is an elementary school that was torn down following the murders and disappearances of several of its staff and students. By the start of the story, another school called Kisaragi Academy had been built over the elementary school site. One night, a group of students from Kisaragi Academy read more
Oct 28, 2014
SirHellfire (All reviews)
Easily one of the goriest and most viscerally enjoyable show I’ve ever watched.

The Short Version:
(+)The soundtrack layers fear upon you.
(+)The art is pretty good.
(-)None of the characters are memorable.
(-)The violence is a bit stomach turning.

The Story (5/10): The story behind this show is, when you actually pay attention, very confusing. A bunch of kids try out a school urban legends and call forth a wicked spirit, which in turn transports them to a different dimension filled with ghosts wanting to kill them… Or you could just expect a standard gorno horror flick and take bets on whose going to die first. The ending of the read more
Aug 4, 2014
Protaku (All reviews)
Since the Horror genre in anime is quite small compared to Action, Adventure, Slice of Life, etc --- Corpse Party: Tortured Souls is very often compared to other animes like Hellsing Ultimate, Elfen Lied and all those other Ivy league animes. Sad to say, but Corpse Party just can't compare to any of those when it comes to quality. However, in terms of blood, gore, and (brutal) deaths, Corpse Party has a nice niche that lets it compete with the other bad boys.
read more
Feb 28, 2014
ilovepandas (All reviews)
Lacking in the "fear department"

Although it was scary from time to time, it had more of a "splatter movie" like storyline. The buildup was ok, although the story was missing the "sitting at the edge of your seat" moments. I didn't cringe in fear once, but were mostly just grossed out by all the gory scenes.
It was also really easy to figure out who the "real" villain was ( pretty much guessed it from the start).
I think a reason for the lack of frightening moments, may be partially blamed on the intro ( it contained way too many spoilers read more
Jun 20, 2015
zoiichuu (All reviews)
If you're looking for an anime that has a lot of gore in it, you are in for a treat!
[Some spoilers, I advise to watch first]

This 4 part anime really get's straight in with the storyline, I watched the game-play first then the anime adaptation, and they both link really well. There's scenes noticeably the same which makes it fun to watch.

The storyline is very slurred, everything happens quickly which makes it feel like the anime ended too fast. The clues characters get seem to come from nowhere, we don't fully get to see where they find information.

The art in term on how well illustrated read more
Aug 4, 2013
Grimlock08 (All reviews)
As a fan of Corpse Party, I was rather disappointed, but still enjoyed it. The pacing was far too fast and it strayed from the plot of the games a little too much with some of the character deaths, but that's my only complaint, really. The best way to look at it is that it's the Wrong End that didn't get put into the game. If you don't like gore you REALLY will not like Corpse Party, there's people dying left and right in the OVA and games. I swear the atmosphere in the games is the worst part, I was tense as hell playing read more
Mar 7, 2015
Splimmie (All reviews)
In a land far far away.. A few students gather together for a final meet up.. SUDDENLY their life changed forever...

I guess that was a pretty good introduction.. Anyways, where to start off my first review.. I'll make it short.

First of all, the story is really letting you to sit on the edge of your chair (don't fall off ur chair pls, that will hurt and then you won't be able to watch further epsiodes of this insane anime) The sounds also fit perfectly in it. Sometimes a creepy sound in your right ear...Sometimes in your left...
This is a great anime for those read more
Nov 11, 2013
TokyoSanchez (All reviews)
During this 4-day weekend (for me at least) I've watched 3 animes with, at the very least, good amounts of horror aspects. Those three would be Another, Mirai Nikki, and of course, Corpse Party. However, Corpse Party is different from the other two I watched as it is basically completely horror-oriented, whilst the other two have mystery implemented into it. However, even though Corpse Party did do well enough in the horror element itself, the subpar feel of most of the other aspects of the story kept it from being some kind of brilliant masterpiece.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Story:
The start of the story feels very formulaic to most media read more
Apr 4, 2018
godofmankind (All reviews)
[STORY: 3/10]
As someone who played the game themselves, I can say that this four episode OVA leaves out quite a bit of information just due to how short it is. With this game's interesting premise, it feels like the creators squandered the potential the animation had.

[ART: 5/10]
The art for this production is nothing special, but they do go far enough to add the necessary gore present in the game, so I'll give them credit for that.

[SOUND: 4/10]
The sound for this production fits, but nothing spectacular. The voice actors do their best with what they are given.

[CHARACTER: 2/10]
Most characters are killed off, so not much development read more
Nov 22, 2014
Micsupreeme (All reviews)
Corpse Party: A relentless, extremely violent, psychopathic, fast paced, supernatural horror... That's how i would summarize it anyway.

Despite its overwhelming level of violence, there is (thank god) a very interesting story behind this short show. As you may know, this is an adaptation of the Corpse Party Game, and throughout, the plot as well as being horrifying and dark, is also very vivid, cinematic (thriller styled), and it does come across as well though out. Multiple times i felt like i was "watching" a book!

In terms of presentation, the art (very important for gore), was very good, similarly, the blood splatter sounds etc. also came read more
Jan 13, 2014
Maninmotion (All reviews)
Before I go into the specifics I would like to say one thing. All of these are my own beliefs and I do not expect anyone to completely agree with them or agree with them at all. But as a person who have watched almost all genre of anime, and countless number of shows (I do not really feel like adding all to my profile), I believe my opinion may help someone who has trouble deciding "Corpse Party: Tortured Souls" is worth their time or not.

*The review is spoiler free.

Story:
The story is absolute nonsense. It is weak, hard to believe, and shoved down the read more