Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Blood+


Alternative Titles

English: Blood+
Synonyms: Blood Plus
Japanese: ブラッドプラス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 50
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 8, 2005 to Sep 23, 2006
Premiered: Fall 2005
Broadcast: Saturdays at 18:00 (JST)
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.801 (scored by 94,203 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #204
Members: 207,942
Favorites: 3,730

Reviews

TheLlama
Mar 14, 2008
A show about a girl who fights monsters... sounds kind of unoriginal, no? Well, whatever it sounds like to you, this is one helluva awesome show :D

The story is dark, sad and action-packed. I like how they present everything with a sad setting; it's not like it's just one big brawl after another; it is emotions and resolve-strengthening, it's battles which have a reason other than just being yet another battle. The story keeps complex but simple enough to follow without too much thinking "what's happening?"

The animation style in Blood+ is really cool. It's got good shading details, and the characters looks good too; they've read more
I found this review Helpful
Wyko
Jan 12, 2007
This anime is one of the best ones that I have ever seen before in my life. The plot somehow manages to stay incredibly strong throughout all of the 50 episodes, showcasing many different types of characters, from the most comical to the most radically serious. The animation has a very unique style, which somewhat surprised me early on, but then I realized that it simply made the show more unique.

What every viewer must realize first off is that this is NOT just an anime about vampires. The fact that the characters often require blood to survive is used as an effective plot device, read more
I found this review Helpful
Sohei
Jul 28, 2009
Note: If you found this review helpful (or not), leave me a PM or comment, and give me some constructive criticism!

Post-note: All scores are compared to titles I have watched personally and represent the verbal "score" of that number, with a 7 meaning " Good". It is unrelated to the 1-10 grading that a lot of people seem to solely apply, without thinking of what it means.

So. Blood+

Originally an offshoot of an earlier movie, Blood+ combines both existing elements present in anime and new ones, to create a somewhat unique shonen (yes, shonen, because that's what this is, don't be fooled by the R+ rating) read more
I found this review Helpful
patco23
Sep 6, 2007
I used to watch a fair amount of anime, but over the past few years, my interest in it had been gradually waning, partly because of the decreasing number of good shows being produced, and partly because of lack of time due to my heavy workload.

However, this trend was reversed when I had the good fortune of coming across Blood+. I had never heard of it before, but the premise seemed interesting enough, though not particularly original or unique. I decided to give it a shot, expecting at least a decent and entertaining show but not read more
I found this review Helpful
iamjoe
May 4, 2009
Blood+ is a cool vampire series that's not so cool because it went on far longer than it should.

The anime this was based off of was so much more interesting, but to appeal for fans, they made Saya younger, hotter, more man-hungry than her previous incarnation. Ah, accessibility...

Art was average. Sound was cool. I like the ED theme song where it sounds like an old lady is being strangled.

Characters were balls. The brother was freaking annoying. I hated him, ruined the damn series. However, most other people were fine.

I didn't enjoy this series so much as I enjoy getting an enema.

You read more
I found this review Helpful
ggultra2764
Oct 29, 2011
Blood+ offers up an alternate take of the events from Blood: The Last Vampire featuring Saya's hunt of the Chiropteran creature threat. Being at 50 episodes of length, this gives the series plenty of time to build up on events with its plot and explore the causes that led to the Chiropteran threat being as serious as it did. It also expands on Saya's character and the mysterious organization (Red Shield) aiding her in thwarting the Chiropteran threat.

In terms of characterization, the series does enough to flesh out prominent characters that influence Saya's decisions from those who serve to allow her to retain the normalcy read more
I found this review Helpful
NotenSMSK
Dec 4, 2014
Blood+ was truly an interesting anime - it requires patience but once one starts to get accustomed with the pace and characters, it is an amazing anime.

Story wise Blood+ starts slow. It takes time to develop, to let the elements of the story, for the characters to interact naturally rather than forcing them into a swirling bog to just push the story ahead. And it starts with the basic anime form: The basic elements are put forth - Chiropteran and Saya. One can assume that with the progression of stronger foes and conflicting feelings, there is nothing more to the anime than the main character read more
I found this review Helpful
Okazaki-Fragment
Apr 20, 2015
A girl on to fight against monsters, a secret organisation and powerful enemies! If you want to enjoy an anime with a dark tune, complex story and really great charakter development, Blood+ would be a good choice! But beware if you get too close to certain charakters, your heart might get broken!

If you are looking for a fun and happy anime series, don't watch it. As I said before the anime is rather dark and as the name says bloody. There are some scenes that can be considered cruel (not only in a physical way).

And one more warning, before the praise: If you're expecting tons read more
I found this review Helpful
AkatsukigirlTy
Oct 6, 2009
Blood+ was recommended to me by a friend about five months ago. After being briefed on the basic plotline by her I was less than impressed to say the least, after all, one girl fighting the forces of evil (Or in this case Chiroptera) with her band of merry men, it was an idea done many a time before (Just look at Buffy the Vampire Slayer!) Yet I decided to give it a go regardless. I was delighted to find myself proved wrong however after finishing the anime just a few weeks later. I’ve since re-watched it twice and would definitely recommend it to anyone read more
I found this review Helpful
lawlmartz
Jan 23, 2016
"It is beyond blood. I have formed a bond with you sweeter and stronger than Blood." - Solomon

Blood+ is an interesting anime- not because it's particularly innovative or groundbreaking in its field, but precisely because it does what it does well, and doesn't fall victim to mistakes and tropes that many other shonen fantasy anime have, and continue to do. The premise is a twist on vampire fiction- taking many points from classic bloodsucking media, and yet giving it an anime spin, mixing the two in an enjoyable way that doesn't rip the fabric of the fiction.


Artwork and Animation: 7

Production IG produced Blood+ starting read more
I found this review Helpful
GoodEnoughForMe
Mar 1, 2011
When Blood+ came out back in 2005, it was one of the seasons most anticipated releases. The original work, Blood: The Last Vampire, screamed for a longer storyline that showed some development. And while Blood+ was to take place in a separate universe, if it managed to construct a decent story around the beautiful aesthetics of the film, then we would have had a definite winner. Sadly, Blood+ is, to put it bluntly, a bit of a mess.

Blood+ starts off decent enough. Saya, our protagonist, is revealed to be the only one capable of killing the human killing, blood sucking chiropterans. Early on, a read more
I found this review Helpful
showandAG
Jul 5, 2015
If you watched Blood C and you didn't think it was very good, don't let that keep you away from Blood+.

Story 10/10

I thought that Blood+ was really well done. If I had to pick a favorite part of Blood+ I think it would be the story. I love when a show has a story that takes a lot of episodes to play out, but doesn't ever loose focus. This is what Blood+ does best. The concept is fairly simple but there are many complexities that you discover as the show progresses.

Art 8/10

For an anime made in 2006 this show is on par read more
I found this review Helpful
SammyUnwin
Jan 6, 2015
A horror anime that does adventure, better than most other adventure anime. The anime is set throughout different locations and time periods in history, that are based on real world events. The core of the show is about vampires, but with an evolutionary twist to it. It follows a young girl called Saya (a protagonist that is actually likable) that soon discovers she's not who she thinks she is and what she is. It's definitely an anime I'd recommend to anyone and has a GREAT soundtrack too. Oh and I highly recommend that you get some tissues prepared, it has it's Romeo and Juliet moments read more
I found this review Helpful
Joe_Devaney
Jul 20, 2016
Overview:
At this point, twists on the traditional legends of vampires have pretty much become the norm in just about any type of media. However, anime is particularly infamous for it. Generally, they put a twist on the legend using their own folklore and making them mutants or demons rather than the undead, with sucking blood being practically the only resemblance to the original legend they've got. "Blood+" is one such anime, and while it's not without many flaws, it's still a nice and welcome twist on an outdated tale.

Story (8/10):
It's very hard to delve into the story without presenting some spoilers but I'm going to read more
I found this review Helpful
Pontax
Jul 13, 2015
Was a nice action, dramatic thriller. Enjoyed the character development a lot. I would recommend if you want to watch an anime that continues past 12 episode cap. Very amusing, will definitely watch again.
I found this review Helpful
usernome
Nov 10, 2015
I watched this some years ago and rewatched recently because I didn't remember the story very well. I guess this show is not worth rewatching if you're not as forgetful as me.

The series' enviroment is good and the soundtrack is also good. I loved almost all the openings and endings (there are 4 each). But the plot... oh boy, that could have been great. The plotline is: the main character has to kill all the chiropteans (vampires) and Diva, the main antagonist (also a chiroptean). Sounds really stupid but at some points this is very well played and really entertaining. Also, there's a little discussion read more
I found this review Helpful
Pyrefly
Apr 15, 2008
Story: Any vampire fans would appreciate the story; the ever-reusable (and reused) vampire legend gets a new spin here. From the very first episode, the main character Saya is unwittingly thrown into a fight for humanity that only she can put an end to. Accompanied by her (sexy) cellist guardian who has some link to her, she sets out to rid the world of the vampire-like chiropterans plaguing the earth. Fortunately for us, the story is quite a bit more complex than that. Very soon into the series, the story becomes deeper, with many twists revealed about Saya and her dark past.

Art: From what read more
I found this review Helpful
JeremyC
Jan 23, 2008
Blood+. It has been a while since I saw it but now, after all this time, I feel I can really reflect on it. It's your typical vampire story with a twist. The beginning was extremely interesting, but after a while, it just got kinda boring, and in the end, I felt as if I had wasted a lot of my time. It could have ended a lot earlier instead of making it 50 episodes.

The emphasis is more on the characters than the action, and all the fights are pretty much the same. Nothing that would really amaze me. This would have been alright if read more
I found this review Helpful
yinell
Sep 23, 2016
Right in middle of the show i was wondering what if, blood + with original mystical aura of story comes in hollywood version. In cinema I'm watching blood + with its originality, this thought was refreshing.

It's one of those shows which uses theme not very rare , but kind if usual one.
But when you watch the series the strong theme which covers its whole range of episodes with originality you really feel its one of a unique anime.
Blood + no doubt covers it's whole 50 episodes with its unique theme , art and storytelling.

The characters were bit unusual when the anime starts' but With read more
I found this review Helpful
animegirl16091
Dec 14, 2015
when i would come home from school on the weekdays i would look forward to the weekends because good anime are always on back in those good old days on toonami and adult swim. blood + was on adult swim so i had to stay up till midnight for this show to come on and it was very well worth the wait for each episode for english dub it was pretty good, and this was an amazing horror anime that i have ever seen that has a good story, its very romantic and lots of action and adventure.

story 10

this anime is about a high school read more
I found this review Helpful