Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Black Blood Brothers


Alternative Titles

English: Black Blood Brothers
Japanese: ブラック・ブラッド・ブラザーズ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Sep 8, 2006 to Nov 24, 2006
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Fridays at 23:30 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Group TAC
Source: Light novel
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.221 (scored by 45,387 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28372
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1209
Members: 83,147
Favorites: 486

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 12, 2007
Urai (All reviews)
Story:
Even though I'm not a great vampire genre fan I liked the story of this anime. It has a nice build-up without leaving you guessing too much. The smooth development of the story and the nice cliffhangers keep you interested and because of there are only 12 episodes it's an easy to watch show. 9/10

Animation:
The animation style of Black Blood Brothers is a kind of cartoonish, but that really fits the story. This only goes for the shape of the characters, because there movements are fluent and mature. Especially the fights are done very nicely and makes you wanting more. In contrast to most vampire read more
Mar 26, 2008
Monkey_D_Luffy (All reviews)
Story:
It's a story that does indeed focus on a vampire, however the story makes it so that it doesn't revolve around the vampireness, because it really focuses on Jirou, the main character, going up against the Kowloon Children. The background story is revealed in small tidbits at the beginning of each episode, and is rather enigmatic at the start, however unveils as you progress over the episodes and is completely revealed on the final episode. The story itself really is kinda crappy, however the fact that they managed to fully pack the story and it's background story into just 12 episodes is somewhat notable I read more
May 24, 2014
ploopploop (All reviews)
At the beginning of this anime I didn't really get the story due some events that weren't explained properly. It took out a bit of the joy and even made me consider the drop out on this one. However.. after a couple of episodes I finally started to understand the story. I was able to connect the relations between the characters and DAMN I have to say, this was one well out thought anime!

After having seen all the episodes it made me realize 1 thing, I want more!

The art of this anime reminds me kinda of some "classic" animes. In my opinion it told me read more
Dec 20, 2010
HavanaCruz (All reviews)
This anime is as mediocre as it looks, the plot summary I read on Wikipedia was more interesting than the actual series.

Story: 5/10

The story was okay. It's not as interesting as the description of the series would make it to be. It had alot of history mentioned in the plot but who cares when it was basically about a vampire who is an old war hero moving his brother to a new place so he could experience friendship. They could have put the history in the scenes if it was really all that important, therefore the 12 episodes would have been worth it. This could read more
May 11, 2010
BeebopJazzAttack (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok, I'm going to make this very brief.

I didn't watch the whole show. I got up to like episode 7. And I was scimming down, looking at toher reviews and I noticed something. People are saying this is better then Trinity Blood!!!! No way is this better! Trinity Blood had characters with more life, the art work was a billion times better. This was like the flu compared to Trinity Blood.

I don;t even remember the story, who were the main characters? uhg this was boring.....

Take care everyone.
Jun 18, 2013
PerryJervis (All reviews)
I only have a few things to say about this poor excuse for a anime.
its unbelievably awful and im disappointed with the amount of people giving it a good rating, when quite clearly its one of the worst anime ever created.
my only advice would be to not watch this, otherwise you will be bored senseless for the full 12 episodes. That is all the reviewing that mess deserves.

YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED. .
Sep 16, 2010
lovelyphantom (All reviews)
Preliminary
It would be ill adviced if I did not warn you ahead that the sound area is going to get pretty ugly, but you've been warned.

I didn't really want to try Black Blood Brothers after the horrid rech of a series Twilight had come out and was ruining the name of vampires, so I was a little untrusting of this series. But after seeing an amv for Within Temptation on this series I decided why not when I find the time. I found that time yesterday.

The plot was descent enough, had some flaws, but it was descent. It sort of reminded me a little read more
Jun 24, 2008
XxVampiregurlxX (All reviews)
Black Blood Brothers is by-far one of the best animes I've seen yet. Parts of it may have people confused, but by the end, it all makes sense and may have you going "wow"! The plot line is great, and it doesn't take too much away from the traditional vampire story which was kind off nice for once. I still have yet to figure out why this series is not very popular, it has something for everyone: fight scenes, romance, action and a few comedy scenes.
Jul 14, 2009
Hikarucrush (All reviews)
Black Blood Brothers was the best vampire animed show I have ever watch in my entire life!!! If you haven't seen this show and you love vampires like I do you really really really need to see this its got love, hate, violence, comedy, and most of all action!!! Take it from me once you see this amazing show you will want it to never end 'cause there are only 12 episodes in the making and I've seen all of them!!!
Nov 12, 2012
angelsreview (All reviews)
I really did like the show, though I found it a bit hard to pick out what was happening now and happening back during the attack on Hong Kong because of some of the flash backs. Kotaro is a really cute and funny character, always getting into trouble and is a good contrast to his very old sounding brother, Jiro. It’s nice that they had kept a version of the real vampire myths. They kept the *cough* feelings that happen when a vampire bites another, and some of the stuff about their weaknesses and such. The play between a couple of people is rather fun read more
Dec 23, 2009
Pichigaru (All reviews)
Well to begin with, this is just another vampire based anime, although not the best it does well with catchy music and a good story line. however with the story line it is simple to guess what will happen next which was dissapointing and the characters were not all that imaginative but they all portrayed their roles quite well. it has a fair share of humorous scenes and a few good short battle scenes, even the commentary was enjoyable if you listen to it on DVD. Overall if you like vampire animes and have run out of ideas of which ones to watch consider this read more
Jan 10, 2013
Shura-shurato (All reviews)
Personaly i expected WAY more of this anime, story is quite ok but got rushed, en i wanted to see more background history and further development of some char. I could follow the storyline easy, at some points it was distracting from the real line, some fights were good but toned down to much, like many anime after 2001 i had a bit trouble with this one, an had hoped for more epis. somewhat dissapointing that it was only 12 episodes
Jun 6, 2010
nina4life (All reviews)
This is one of those shows which just had potential for more.
Unfortunately, it failed in almost everything it tried to do.
What a wasted opportunity.


STORY[6]:
-> So generic it hurts. Story follows ex-vampire killer(vampire himself), a hero of a war which is shown in first episode and his attempts to protect his little brother, all that while dealing with various bits from his past. While it had a lot of potential because it was presented somewhat in a new way, it failed miserably due to the fact many things are just not explained. I dunno if there's manga which is supposed to be read before/after watching the read more
Oct 7, 2012
HybridMedia (All reviews)
I don’t know if you notice lately or before but there was been a numerous amount of anime with vampires in the main element. Much like movies in the past, present and the future, the vampire boom has been around anime ever since the ‘80s (as far as I know) and there were many hits such as Hellsing, Blood: The Last Vampire, Karin, Vampire Hunter D and many others to be named. But I wonder what can be different about this series or different from any vampire media……well, let’s hope it won’t be like that other vampire franchise but let’s focus on this now.

During read more
Mar 16, 2011
Inugirlz (All reviews)
I hate that Twilight is mentioned every time vampires come up but if ur a Twilight hater please don't be discouraged.

I found Black Blood Brothers truly wonderful, with a meaningful ED theme, and intricate characters.

The ending could've been better

as for me it left something to be desired but it was truly a good series.
Apr 19, 2013
Caraniel (All reviews)
Solidly entertaining but ultimately quite average.

PLOT: There’s a decent enough storyline but sometimes I was left feeling that I wasn’t getting the full picture. There is an awful lot going on – a myriad of side stories and back stories that are just not given enough time, it seems there would have easily been enough material to cover 26 episodes rather than the 12 on offer. As such we’re left with a short show with a lot of characters and not enough time is allowed for character development. The end result is a lot of generic-ness. Its a pity because there some really interesting characters read more
Dec 5, 2009
iAnimeAddictx3 (All reviews)
Black Blood Brothers or BBB for short..is my FAVORITE vampire anime other than Hellsing,the art and animation is wonderful,and the plot is as well.And,FUNimation has once again impresses me on the English dubbed voice actors.

Although,I like the Japanese dub...equally...^^

Overall 10(Masterpiece)

-Delaney
Sep 30, 2008
DEATHNOTEJUNKIE8 (All reviews)
i love love love love love love love love love vampire animes lol... love lol.. umm any way this anime was great it was almost better than vampire knight . if your a big fan of vampire animes then get ready to add this to your top five animes . it had adventure, drama,action, romance,suspense all compact in one anime . its been awhile since i seen anime that i watched with out stoping. this anime is starts off about silver balde , he is tryint to kill the remaining Kowloon Children that are descended from the Kowloon King of the Hong Kong Crusade read more
May 18, 2009
Missheru (All reviews)
BBB was released in the 3 DVD format. Nice in that three rents and you're done and generally the 3 DVD format lends itself to a formula. Now give or take but disc 1 is intros and set-up, disc 2 is the build of the story, and disc 3 is the conclusion.

I watched the first disc and was hooked. Full out "gimmie" mode hanging on release dates keeping all hope for them at the top of the netflix queue. Disc 2 though sent out the warning flags. What's going on? Why are we still introducing characters? read more
Apr 19, 2009
hitsuki_kun (All reviews)
Hong Kong in 1997. Happened all of the sudden the "KOWLOON ORIGIN" of the wild event. Hong Kong fell into a state of near-destruction. So far only appeared in the story of the vampire has become known to the public the reality of the so-called "CRISIS KOWLOON" is referring to this time. Humans and vampires in order to deal with a common enemy kowloon origin and the composition of the same front, this is called "HONG KONG HOLY WAR" battle. Will have a use kowloon origin cut off, defeating the ancestor of king of kowloon vampire. He is the "VING DAO" - Jiro Mochizuki. Jiro read more