Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Loveless


Alternative Titles

English: Loveless
Synonyms: LL
Japanese: LOVELESS

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 7, 2005 to Jun 30, 2005
Premiered: Spring 2005
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Media Blasters
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.051 (scored by 53,862 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #35782
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #996
Members: 107,187
Favorites: 1,605

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jul 14, 2008
kiriska (All reviews)
It's rare that a series leaves me at a complete loss for words, and I really don't mean that in a good way. I've managed to gathered the words now though, and here they are:

STORY - ...What story? Seriously, at what point is anything in this series explained? (Hint: never!) There are problems presented, sure -- Seimei, Ritsuka's older brother, was killed and he wants to find out who did it and why. Not really that intriguing or original, but it works, right? Additionally, Ritsuka has amnesia and is a "completely different person" than he was two years prior, but he doesn't know what happened. read more
Jan 5, 2008
sasori_yume (All reviews)
For me, the best word to describe this anime is simply "beautiful"... If you truly want to understand it you have to take a closer look and be able to see beyond the "shounen-ai" or "shotacon" tags. I can't even say it's about a homosexual love, because it goes way beyond that, at a more spiritual level. In this anime, love becomes a great source of power. The fighter/sacrifice couples simply HAVE to create a great bond between them in order to become powerful.
But love is not the main theme, it deals with a lot of other issues too. For example, the way we read more
Jul 17, 2008
natsuocosplay (All reviews)
I believe that Loveless is MUCH MORE than just some shounen-ai story. It is so much deeper than that. It really delves into the life of a young boy who is lost in the world. Ritsuka's real name being Loveless is a strong showing of that fact.

I have to say that sadly, I was confused a few times while watching this anime. And many people I have talked to get very upset about how it was ended. They say that there were too many questions left unanswered. But think about it, in real life, there are always more questions that have not been answered.

STORY: I read more
May 17, 2014
Greenwaves31 (All reviews)
The yaoi fangirls are going to kill me here. Loveless stands up with Gravitation, Junjou Romantica, and Sekai Ichi Hatsukoi as one of those BL anime that all yaoi fans love. While out of all of those the only one I legitimately enjoyed was Gravitation, that is just a matter of personal taste. Junjou and Hatsukoi are at least somewhat decent, especially when compared to what BL anime that came before them were like. With that out of the way I can safely say that Loveless is one of the few anime that made me want to claw my own eyes out.

The story centers around read more
Nov 24, 2007
-Yuki- (All reviews)
Loveless could some times be a confusing anime but it's irresistible
The story revolves around Aoyagi Ritsuka,a 12-year old who transfers with a mom having countless mental breakdowns which leads to child abuse dealing physical pain. Two years ago Ritsuka had lost memories and became a different person, from there his brother Seimei becomes important in his life. The anime begins with the death of Seimei which keeps Ritsuka wondering who killed his brother. The story truely begins when Ritsuka meets Agatsuma Soubi, Seimei's former fighter, and all the unexplained mystery comes, well you must watch it to see. It's true that to some the battles read more
Jul 6, 2007
jet2r0cks (All reviews)
My first shonen-ai anime. I didn’t even think it was shonen-ai, so it caught me by surprise. I thought it was about something dark and creepy – guess not.

I watched anime with shonen-ai premises before, and have watched one shojo-ai anime, but this anime is really different. At first it was hard to believe/handle. I didn’t even like it at first because the shonen-ai was very surprising (didn’t like it until episode 3). I’m a good girl, from a conservative family, so I’ve never seen anything like it. The fact that the main character is a 12 year old boy who’s involved with a male read more
Aug 2, 2011
xhimekittyx (All reviews)
Before I begin, I am going to say it outright - I HATE YAOI. Yaoi-fan girls drive me crazy. I have yet to meet some mature ones, but hey, they probably exist right? And guess what? I'm a girl too and I hate yaoi :o le gasp. Also I rarely will review anime I hate with a passion (unless DBZ) and this is the only other exception.
When someone said I should watch this - I watch about 5 minutes of episode 1 and stopped. Why? I read the plot. What is wrong with the plot you ask?
To delve into what society is today, homosexuality read more
Jun 22, 2009
shinigamiallie (All reviews)
It took me a long time to finally sit down and watch this anime and not because of the shonen ai themes...because of the cat ears. Normally I'm just not a cat-ear type of girl, but after watching the first episode or two and realizing the importance of the cat ears and their overall symbolism in the show I was incredibly hooked.

The story was beautiful and well written, however, I gave the story a 9 because I believe that there was a lot left unsaid. It was almost as if they were waiting for a second season that never came to ease up some questions read more
Oct 17, 2009
Galactic_Kitten (All reviews)
While I recognise the strength of emotion in this series, and the beauty, I was never able to get past the fact that Sobi is a pedophile. There is nothing wrong with Shonen-ai, but this goes way beyond that. You have a man in his twenties chasing after a boy who is 12, barely starting puberty. Even if Loveless was in his later teens, 15 or 16, I'd be able to deal with that, but 12? It's sick. I could understand if it was a brotherly love, Loveless lost his brother, and finds it hard to believe that people could love him. While they do read more
May 2, 2008
Anomalous (All reviews)
If you’re not a manga reader, you probably wonder why whenever a manga becomes an anime, they’re will be fans insisting that the manga is so much better. Usually, that’s debatable – anime does have the benefits of things like color and sound, and if there are major plot changes some might be for the better. On the other hand, there are also anime adaptations that are inferior to their respective manga not because of what’s in the anime but rather what’s not. Oftentimes, short anime series will be made from long manga that end up with a made-up, rushed, or inconclusive ending. This is read more
Oct 8, 2017
Watabrone (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, so as a younger man learning about his own sexuality, I adored this anime and the romance of an older man taking and caring for a younger boy. This was a highly romanticised idea in my adolescent brain.

Coming back and watching it again, ten years later, I find myself exceptionally uncomfortable. This story is about a paedophile grooming a boy (yes yes, technically he is a hebephile, but general society does not see that distinction). I guess, due to age, I identify with the adult of the series more than the child, and as an adult I find this repugnant.

I had to drop it, read more
Jun 29, 2014
mugenisbeautiful (All reviews)
let's see...i have to say this anime has no redeeming features what to ever! it was horrid and i do NOT recommend you waste a single moment of your precious existence on this shit. i knew it was terrible when i made the choice to watch it but i still did because i thought i would be worth making fun of but it's not even worth that, trust me man!

STORY: story was very unoriginal ,very poorly developed and left me bored out of my mind in by the second episode. And i honestly do think they could have developed it if they wanted to even read more
Feb 23, 2018
AnshiAneko (All reviews)
DISCLAIMER: I “thank” AWC’s Random Challenge for making me watch this… and honestly thank my friend who suffered together with me.

Also, there are a few spoilers ahead.

There are shounen-ai anime. There are bad shounen-ai anime (which are, let’s be honest, almost all of them). And then there is Loveless, a cacophony of things that just shouldn’t exist.

Yeah, of course, there is this really deep plot about Ritsuka being Loveless and the other guy being Beloved…. lol, nope, there’s not. Let’s be honest, this anime is about a little boy being wooed by a grown up, adult man. I’m not even kidding.
But let’s start from read more
Jan 29, 2013
RedvelvetDaisuki (All reviews)
I searched far and wide to download the rare English dub DVD release for this anime and to my disappointment; it is one of the most dreadful and dull anime that I have cross paths with.

Story (5/10)

I can see that the author is struggling and striving for a good story. She used a lot of symbolisms, life problems, and tries to make a sort of fantasy battle anime combined with romantic drama.

First of all, you cannot just make an unknown and boring character jump right ahead with another character without even explaining the connection between the two because viewers cannot relate and feel read more
Mar 8, 2011
izzayizblak (All reviews)
I watched the anime before reading the manga, as my friends advised I shouldn't. I admit, the concept was harder to grasp and overall a bit more confusing that it would've been if I'd read the manga before hand. I really love the relationship between Ritsuka-kun and his peers. His wit and view of things is very accurate for someone who recently lost something special to them. He is very observant and also very hesitant. His relationship with Soubi is harder to grasp at a younger age. It seems to be overall complicated, but as it develops; it becomes more of a heart pull. I read more
Dec 4, 2007
altergenesis (All reviews)
Highs: Engaging side characters; fascinating environment; crisp animation

Lows: Side characters play very little role; plot leaves many questions; confusing at times; in the end, nothing happens

Normally I am not one to take the time to watch a shounen-ai anime, although the animation and the plot intrigued me enough to give Loveless a chance. I was already taken in by the interesting setting; in which majority of the people in the world have cat ears on the tops of their heads. Seemed like something different and new.

Loveless starts off normally, with a young boy with a lot of angst and problems over his lost brother. The read more
Jul 12, 2010
rioyoki (All reviews)
Preliminary
Just a short overlook:)I don't write long reviews.
The story itself is a romance that takes place during the pique of a young boys adolescence. The feelings of an unbiased perception of love is very evident and further delves into the inhibitions of what most slice of life animes aim for but with a more realistic character development. The situations are very similar to the struggles of an adolescent; the main character called "Loveless" fitting as it is, suffers from lack of self esteem, a mother with grief issues from the recent loss of his older brother. He truly is alone and lost though through the read more
Feb 5, 2014
Demona697 (All reviews)
OK so here goes my first review, wish I could say I'm writing this cause I loved the anime so much, but I really can't. I actually wish I hadn't wasted my time with it.
First off I have to give the story a 3 and here's why:
When I rate a story I take into account the ending too, if your like me this read this. The ending isn't really one, to me it felt like a longer series that just got cut off. They don't explain the big secret mystery of the whole series, and the last episode actually left me with more questions than read more
Apr 17, 2017
delladork (All reviews)
Loveless is an anime that teaches us that even the emo-est of dudes can learn how to care about himself and other people now that he's got himself a boyfriend.

This is the story of an angsty emo 12-year old who falls into a deep depression after his beloved onii-chan's tragic death. He hasn't smiled or cared about anyone or anything since the incident. All he wants to know is who killed his brother. Ritsuka's life is boring, dull, and stupid and ain't no one got a chance at turnin' that frown upside down. Until...a random older man named Soubi comes along to sweep him read more
Feb 16, 2018
DIYDepression (All reviews)
It's a pretty good anime, if you're into pedophilia!

Loveless is the story of a prepubescent boy who is being romantically groomed and pursued by an adult man. If that's your bag, then have a blast, because this is probably the biggest and most popular show that has been officially endorsed by NAMBLA. If you want cat boy yaoi without the unfortunate overtones of Loveless, then go play Lamento: Beyond the Void. If you want a yaoi without any of the creepy undertones, then you don't want yaoi.

With that said, it is a shame that the author of Loveless is probably one or two read more