Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kodomo no Omocha (TV)


Alternative Titles

English: Kodocha
Synonyms: Child's Toy
Japanese: こどものおもちゃ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 102
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 5, 1996 to Mar 27, 1998
Premiered: Spring 1996
Broadcast: Fridays at 18:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Studio Gallop
Source: Manga
Duration: 22 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 15,072 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4002
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2102
Members: 38,977
Favorites: 939

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 15, 2009
laurlai (All reviews)
This may be the first and last review I ever write.

Kodocha was the very first anime series I watched from start to finish. Yes, this show was definitely worth finishing. Overall, this anime is a 10, even though outward appearances don't suggest so. Never judge a show solely on its art.

My friend referred me to Kodocha, saying I'll definitely like it, but at the time I wasn't interested in anime, so I wasn't sure.

I was curious enough to watch it. Admittedly, I was really not impressed with the beginning of the show (Beginning as in, the first five minutes. I guess I saw the read more
Sep 9, 2007
melancholy (All reviews)
Preliminary
this review is based on:
44 episodes of the anime seen
Episodes 1-35 of the English dub
& Episodes 36-44 of Japanese w/ English Subtitles
This review contains mild spoilers to refer back to, so be careful!
Please keep in mind this review is meant for people who have seen the anime.

My notes & Opinion on this anime
[This portion is meant for people who don't want to read the whole review.]

Oh man! I've been wanting to write a review for Kodocha for a while now ~ I was planning to wait until I finished the series, BUT FOR THE LOVE OF HARUHI, I MUST WRITE A REVIEW

So ya read more
Feb 9, 2008
Choto (All reviews)
I must say I will always stick and love to this anime because it was the first romance anime i have ever watched. 1 month before i watched this anime i didn't even know what anime was until my friends told me and then i found kodocha no omocha. This anime may look like a kiddy show but it really isn't. There is A LOT of drama later on in the series and i cried at some points watching this series. The plot is the best part about this story, it mainly revolves around drama and romance where a famous child actor called Sana Kurata read more
Jun 10, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Everyone has heard that you "can't judge a book by its cover", but some anime really surprise you by COMPLETELY changing partway through in terms of tone and style. Kodomo no Omocha is definitely one of the more misleading anime I've ever seen in that regard.

This anime starts by introducing us to a vapid, moronic child TV star named Sana that zooms around the screen on a permanent sugar high, much like an anime version of The Great Cornholio from Beavis and Butthead. I'm going to come right out and say it, Sana starts out as one of the most annoying characters in the history read more
Feb 2, 2017
TakamakiJoker (All reviews)
After my re-watch of Toradora which anime that I strongly recommend I decided to look for some more romance anime on the net. while I was browsing the net looking for romance anime to watch my friend recommend me another great romance comedy called Kodocha and he told how great it was. Then I decided to go to Amazon.co.uk and decided to blind buy the series but I couldn't because it was out of print in the US and the whole series would cost me £100+ pounds. One month later something hilarious happened. Despite this show being out of print for a long time, some read more
May 24, 2014
OblivionXKnight (All reviews)
My Kodocha Review

Kodocha started as a Manga in 1995. Then an anime in 1996 and the dub version in 2005. I really love Kodocha. I Love watching It. This show makes me very happy and it's so crazy, wild, and funny with cool songs and I really love it. This is my review.

Story 10-10
Kodocha Is about Sana who is ten years old And she has her own TV show called Child's Toy. She is very hyperactive, crazy, funny, wild and is so very fun to watch. And she is in school and the other kids in her school are very bad in class. The classroom read more
Jan 5, 2016
Nunnally03 (All reviews)
I watched Kodocha as a kid and I was really hooked into it back then. I remember having this huge crush on Akito back in the days lol. After so many years, I decided to watch it again and read the manga (which I don't know how many times I've read because of how good it is)

Story: 7/10
After re-watching the anime, I realized that it's not really as great as I thought it was. The first 15 episodes was really good because of the plot and I like the whole drama between Sana and Akito's love story. What I didn't like about this read more
Apr 13, 2008
SussQueen (All reviews)
I added Rei as a character! yay!!! I just cant believe he wasnt even on the thingy!? He in is in EVERY episode! hmmm oh well hes there now X]

Well this anime is very fun and lively so if you have a short attension span this anime is for you. The humor is somewhat mild (not crude) but i guess it has to be bc the story is about elementary/middle schoolers. There not much more i could say without spoiling it but I got hooked right from the first episode and I am sure you will too if you give it a try!

Thank you for read more
Jul 9, 2012
SweetPink15 (All reviews)
Preliminary
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Based on 1-23 Episodes-

So far, I can tell you this is one of the most unique,beautiful and random anime's ever made. It has everything Drama, Tragical and real life problems to out-right random moments that really make you laugh, this anime keeps me laughing,crying,jumping and above all emotional.

Story- 9, I gave it a nine because, There is a little something wrong with a elven year old's P.O.V, it just seemed weird that she had so much love life and so much drama and "she's only a child" which is said through out the whole series.

Art- 9, the anime is older than read more
Nov 13, 2009
shootdawoop (All reviews)
This anime is adorable. It's cute but, for those of you who hate long animes, I still would recommend you watch this! It's calm and collected. I've been trying to watch romance animes instead of my usual action stuff and I actually liked this one. The characters may be kids, but it's really good stuff. The love is a progress kind of thing, it takes some time. And there was only about 6 fillers out of 102 episodes, so that's a good thing in my book!
Feb 26, 2018
ninetailedfoxie (All reviews)
DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT JUDGE THIS SHOW BASED ON IT'S ARTWORK. The art makes this anime look like it is another shoujo with real cutesy and fun characters and plot. I assure you, that is not the case. In fact, this anime is all but that. I have judged this anime before even giving it a try and I'm so sad I haven't seen it earlier. Now, that been said, I can review it.

Story 10/10

The story follows Sana, a middle school student, who is also an actor in variety shows etc. ( read the synopsis xD ) Now what makes the story read more
Feb 7, 2018
otakuAshu2812 (All reviews)
Preliminary
It is very interesting to see an extremely cheerful girl like Sana to feel uncomfortable due to L.O.V.E. Also it is really adorable to see Hayama who is very reserved child, fall in love with Sana. The way he shows jealousy. The way he gets irritated, it is ADORABLE. I love his ways of showing that he cares by saying 'I don't hate it'. And asking Sana that if she faces problems he would be there.

Sana's singing is really great

Over all this anime is KAWAIIIIII

This is my first review and I am a bit nervous because I started watching anime half a year ago but read more
Jan 22, 2018
PuRe_ChAoS (All reviews)
Kodomo no Omocha or what I and and probably a good majority refer to as Kodocha was my first real experience with anime/manga so my review is probably a little biased but bear with me. The first time I watched this I was probably when I was about 12-13, and I'm 18 now so it hasn't been that long for most peoples standards but to me it feels like such a long time ago with everything I've gotten to do in relation to anime and industry related things and I've definitely grown in my tastes but this will always hold such a special place in read more
Jan 21, 2018
wokparty (All reviews)
If you came here for romance, this show is will not be kind to you.

This is a story about a hyperactive girl, Sana. She makes the show.
She is the definition of fun and will seduce everyone with her overbearingly energetic attitude.
In dire straits, she knows how to act, but romance is beyond her.

Some things she says are beyond amazing and makes you wonder how an 11 year old girl can be more mature and understanding than any adult.
These moments are what this show is about although It has bit of a messy story line.

Positive themes in this show:
Dealing with cruel people in positions of power
Coping read more
May 15, 2013
Sakura4-1-00 (All reviews)
*THIS IS MY FIRST REVIEW!!!*

I have a mouthful of things to say about Kodocha and, I don`t even know where to start. How about i start with how i discovered Kodocha.

Well, It all started when I was mourning over Full Moon Wo Sagashite. I had just finished it and, i needed something to distract me from my loss. So, i was clicking around on my computer, when i actually found an answer on yahoo. All it said was: "If you liked Full Moon, you`ll like Kodocha." Next thing i knew, i was typing Kodocha into my search engine, and thats how it all began.

Lets read more
Jul 28, 2014
icurry (All reviews)
Kodocha was my childhood anime.

I grew up watching Kodocha and sailor moon. I still don't understand to this day why WHY does Sana call Rei her pimp.

Kodocha is great despite its appearance, The art may be lacking but do keep in mind that this was what was popular during that time.

The story is great; It was funny and very enjoyable. It had that arrogant boy and dumb girl factor.

Thumbs up to whoever voiced Akito because I am very pleased! His voice fit perfectly with his character and it brought a smile on my face when I saw him flustered or jealous.

Overall this is a read more
May 19, 2015
Tsunderechick (All reviews)
Kodomo no Omocha was a story about a young girl named Sana a part time child actor and elementary school student. the season follows her story to when she was 11 to 26 years old with her friends Hayama, Fuka, Tsuyoshi, Aya Sugita and
Naozumi Kamura. I thought this story line was great Sana Chan is very humorous and you can get easily connected to her. I loved the battle between Sana Chan and Hayama and the deep moments they shared as well it is a tear jerking story . as they enter into middle school the ride gets bumpy when Hayama was about to read more
Dec 29, 2015
bearvarine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Very good dramatic story hiding in a so-so, sometimes silly, sometimes slapstick anime series.

Kodomo no Omocha is about the coming-of-age of a young 6th grade girl named Sana Kurata. Sana is popular, energetic and emotionally honest. She first gets involved with trying to change the bad behavior of a couple boys in her new 6th grade class. However this is not as easy as she first thinks, and she soon discovers that one of the boys' problems are far deeper than she first realized. From there, her life grows more complex and the story moves to deeply involve the boys, her read more
Mar 6, 2019
Chouquette (All reviews)
Before I start, I'll just say this anime/manga has been my favourite thing since I was 11 years old. A good 8 years now.

Story: It follows Sana Kurata, an energtic girl with a pure heart and fierce soul. Her rival/best friend, Akito Hayama and all of her family and friends through her own challenges and events of growing up. You get a feel of character growing and helping one-another. While she doesn't have a typical life you'll still enjoy this. 10/10

Art- I love old styled anime in general, but the art here is my *all* time favourite. Simple, but beautiful. Sana happens to share my read more
Jun 26, 2010
Theowne (All reviews)
Kodocha is hard to peg down into a single genre: occasionally it's a hilarious comedy, occasionally it's a sobering drama, and as the show progresses, a very sweet romance series starts to emerge as well. It starts out very light-hearted, with the characters still in grade school, but as they grow up and the story progresses, the show tackles some more weighty themes. Yet despite all of this, the core of the show is still warmhearted and endearing, and this is primarily due to an excellent ensemble of characters. Sana, the lead character, is absolutely a joy to watch, with a layered read more