Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya


Alternative Titles

English: Fate/Kaleid Liner Prisma Illya
Japanese: Fate/kaleid liner プリズマ☆イリヤ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 10
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 13, 2013 to Sep 14, 2013
Premiered: Summer 2013
Broadcast: Saturdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Silver Link.
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.211 (scored by 72,749 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28672
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #588
Members: 166,786
Favorites: 804

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 9, 2016
Yuni (All reviews)
I am the bone of my spin offs.

Yuri is my body, moe is my blood.

I have resulted in over a thousand boners.

Known to lolicons.

But not to you filthy casuals.

Have withstood magical girls and their self aware banter.

Yet, those viewers only care about the yuri scenes.

So as I pray... UNLIMITED LOLI TWERKS!




Fate/kaleid, the somewhat self aware, somewhat deconstructing, and fully bonerific and moeblob magical girl show, also known as Carnival Phantasm with only Fate characters and with... magical girls. I found this show to actually be more entertaining than Fate/Stay Night UBW, for even though it is as stupid and over the top as UBW, if read more
Sep 7, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya is one of those anime series where people may tends to look away just because for what it is. You know that saying that goes “don't judge a book by its cover?” Well, I guess some anime fans seems to do just the opposite of that and take the cover for granted. This is one of those anime series that might bring some disappointment at first especially to those loyal fans of the Type-Moon franchise. Series like Fate/Stay Night, Garden of Sinners, and a more recent example of Fate/Zero has a stance of that serious atmosphere going on. What does Fate/kaleid liner read more
May 17, 2014
Hime-In-A-Box (All reviews)
Fate/Kaleid is something that happens when you take a seemingly stupid idea and turn it into something that's close to spectacular.
Now, before I get started, I just want to point something out; A lot of people disliked this series, or dropped it in the first few episodes because it's a Fate/ series... turned Magical Girl. I did the same. When it was first airing, I dropped it, not because I didn't think it was interesting, I just didn't feel like watching it at the time. I, too, think that turning the Fate/ series into a Magical Girl series is a, well, stupid idea. I read more
Nov 8, 2014
MeowPower (All reviews)
STORY
On the outside, Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya just seems to be a magical girl parody of the Fate series, and in many ways it is. Though, it manages to stand on its own with a story I can take seriously. The story starts off as a monster of the week show, but like any good magical girl show, it deviates from the formula. With focus on the internal conflict with Illya and external conflict with a new character Miyu. Though, I found the two conflicts to be cliche and predictable (Rehash of MGLN). The whole conflicts between rival magical girls and personal read more
May 22, 2015
ratchet573 (All reviews)
Do you like loli?

Do you like spin-off anime of excellent series that have nothing to do with said excellent series?

Do you like a show that can’t decide what the hell it wants to be?

Then sit down and watch Fate/Kaleid, a ten episode anime that is full of everything you love about Fate/Zero and Fate/Stay Night, such as hilarious comedy, underaged lesbians, and magical girls. You know, the kind of things fans asked for after watching the main series.

If you are a fan of the series, I’m sure you’re going to pass Kaleid up based upon the fact it is a cutesy magical girl anime. I read more
Dec 15, 2013
LilGreasyKid (All reviews)
Few animes had the impact, drama and downright manliness of Fate/Zero, a Type-Moon production that blew away all my expectations for an anime. With this entry in the Fate series, I went in expecting something big. The bar set by the previous series was huge and I'm not surprised that this fell short (in fact, why even compare the two?) . However, what's here is a solid MG anime with a dash of Fate thrown in.

The story is told is a very straight forward fashion. Through the perspective of Illyasviel von Eizenbern, the viewer gets a blend of mediocre middle school drama, heart-pounding battles read more
Oct 3, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

When people think of magic in relation to the fantastical, people think of wizards, spells, and all-powerful incantations. It's something that doesn't exist in the real world, as much as we would like it to be. "Magical girls" take it one step forward. On top of the magic, they also include transformations, cute girls, and life lessons. In Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya (what a name!), these common tropes are found once more.

STORY

F/k (I need to shorten the name at this point!) starts by having our main character, Illya, one day encountering Ruby, a magical stick that gives Illya the read more
Sep 21, 2013
divinehand125 (All reviews)
As you might have seen in the summary for this anime is that it is a spin off set in an alternate reality which illya and her parents are a family and Shiro is her cousin who frequently visits to check up on her as well as cook and do some house work. the series also has other characters from the fate series such as Tohsaka Rin and the epic heroes from both fate/stay night and fate/zero.
Now on with the review.

Story

What makes this different from other magical girl series is that there is no mascot animal that goes around and recruits female heroes. read more
Nov 29, 2013
Hectotane (All reviews)
I hated, and didn't watch, Fate Stay Night because of how much Shirou sucked; being the usual self-insert male lead who doesn't have much skill and is at the mercy of the lot of females herein.

I wanted to beat the crap out of the douche bags responsible for Carnival Phantasia because it made Shirou (and whoever else is a male) even more pathetic.

Then comes a "magical girl spin-off." Rather than climb up the steep hill of "making [Shirou] likeable for the audience outside of Wapan," Type Moon pulls this stunt and takes the easy way out by catering to the pedophiles. I mean... DAMN.

Lyrical Nanoha read more
Feb 23, 2015
MRN3 (All reviews)
when I first saw Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya as being a newcomer to the Fate/ universe I wasn't expecting much but oh boy my expectations were blown away the minute I hit play.

The story has a magical girl vibe where you make a contract to fight evil and become magical girls but keeping true to the Fate/ universe and its lore with most of the enemies Illya, Miyu, Rin and Luvia fight make up the 7 classes of servants from the Holy Grail War. all in told the story is great and the pacing is spot on as everything flows really well.

The art is beautiful read more
Sep 25, 2015
Alden_Tarkus (All reviews)
Fuck me, I’m two years late to this review. Oh well, it’s not like anyone will read my review anyway.

Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma Illya is a spinoff series of the popular “Fate” visual novel series. This show adopts a satirical take on the popular “Magical Girl” genre of shows with the well known Fate characters thrown into the mix. It aired in the Summer of 2013, adapted from the manga series of the same way.

My first experience with this particular series was a popular clip of two young girls clad in typical magical girl outfits making out, complete with close-ups of spit-swapping as another girl watches read more
Sep 10, 2017
Yukikaze_sama (All reviews)
For someone who watched other Fate series, Fate/loli might seem like a joke. While it's partially true, there is much more to this anime that makes it stand on its own.

Being a mostly comedic spin-off, Kaleid doesn't go to deep with a story. Synopsis is pretty much all that happens in this anime plot-wise.
But being simple doesn't mean being bad. Prisma☆Illya manages to keep perfect balance between comedy and serious moments. You won't experience out of place comedy nor forced drama. Both comedy and drama are of high quality: jokes are funny and feel good. Drama doesn't annoy viewer, is easy to understand and read more
Jan 8, 2015
jmzmeaney (All reviews)
Aight so Fate/kaleid liner Prisma☆Illya is the most dope anime I have seen so far in my life. This is the best out of all the Fate/ series. If you are thinking hey isn't this just a fan service show just like Carnival Phantasm? If you think that way I am sorry but you should get checked for brain damage because this show has everything you could ever want and more. The show contains the best girl from the Fate/ series Illya in a main character role and also she is a magical girl. Other Fate/ characters make appearances but they don't really matter at read more
Jul 26, 2016
HumbertoZero (All reviews)
[This review will not contain spoilers]

Well, for starters I must say I did not enjoy this anime but I will give credit where credit is due.
I don’t the the whole idea of sexualizing some little girls into this extend (so many lower angle shots and other stuff that made me cringe) or the whole magic girl idea that Japan seems to like for whatever reason. I must say that I watched this because some Fate/ fans friends told me that 3Rei was good and was worth watching the previous seasons first (I’m still to check that for myself).

[ Story | 6 ]
The story, for me, read more
Oct 3, 2013
Fujaku (All reviews)
I originally rolled my eyes when I heard about this. Fate/kaleid. A magical girl spinoff to one of my favorite anime franchises, the Fate franchise. While Fate/kaleid is not the first magical girl spinoff (that award goes to Nanoha, I believe), the Fate franchise is really really popular, and TYPE-MOON seems to have all intention of milking it out for as long as they can. So I came into this show expecting a happy-go-lucky magical girl show that would be little more than fanservice.

Boy was I wrong.

Fate/kaleid tells the tale of Ilya. Unlike in the original Fate, Ilya has lived a perfectly normal life so read more
Apr 11, 2014
LegendaryGirl-A (All reviews)
Where Fate/stay night meets Cardcaptor Sakura in a more kickass fashion.

Fate/kaleid liner Prisma Illya is a spin-off of Fate/stay night set in an alternate universe where Illyasviel von Einzbern is a magical girl. While it is directed by the same director as C³ - which was never really sure of what it wanted to be - Fate/kaleid knew exactly what it was and never tried to do anything else. It is a magical girl anime through and through and I wouldn't go into this expecting anything more.

The story is told in a simple, straight-forward fashion. It doesn’t take itself too seriously. It doesn’t try too read more
May 3, 2015
GiancarloLS (All reviews)
Whenever we're talking about Type-Moon's FATE SERIES, it's like we're talking about Mercedes-Benz. It's always about the quality, the execution of elegance, the prowess of what they're doing, and the legacy. In a one-word layman's term, it's the awesomeness.

Compared to my previous reviews where I was talking about Lexus, Hyundai and BMW as metaphors and analogies for the anime that has nothing to do with cars, in Fate/Kalied Liner Prisma Illya (or Prisma Illya for short), I've got a definite reason of talking about Mercedes Benz--it's because Irisviel's sports coupe that Kiritsugu bought for her is the Mercedes-Benz 300SL!

And the 300SL is the pioneering-gullwing Merc read more
Feb 8, 2016
NotAnElk (All reviews)
Since I can't be bothered to write a review for all three seasons that currently exist of Fate/Kaleid liner Prisma Illya, which will be shortened to Fate/Kaleid or variations of that for the rest of this review, this will apply to all of them.

Don't let the apathetic attitude from the first paragraph mislead you, I love Fate/Kaleid, to the point where I was unable to watch any other anime until halfway through my 3rd back-to-back rewatch of the show because I just wanted to be watching Fate/Kaleid.

Fate/Kaleid does something that I see so many animes, including the original Fate/Stay Night 2006 adaptation, forget read more
Sep 2, 2016
xdzzz (All reviews)
Quick Review.

Story:
Decent story derived from Fate/ series. Collection of cards by magical girls.
Not deep by any means but works for the series and the fact that they keep it at 10 episodes actually helps. The pace was quick which worked for it.

Art:
Grade A++. Phenomenal artwork, animation work. Gorgeous lighting.
Small things such as the refracted lighting, glow of the outlines, beautiful backdrops; just really, really skilled execution in the art section. Principles of animation used often and successfully gives personality to the characters (squash stretch, pose-to-pose, etc). Effects are corful and fun.
The quality of art made this series fun to watch.

Sound:
Good music. Loved the opening and read more
Sep 19, 2014
Lord_Rutsah (All reviews)
To be honest I don't like the Fate series in general. And yet somehow the spin-off of the series turned out BRILLIANT. Also keep in mind that normally I don't like the whole magical girls idea thing at all.

Rin (from Fate stay) and Levi (original I guess?), along with their 2 magical wands (...damn you Seitokai...) are on a mission to collect all the heroic spirit cards for the archmage in Germany. The wands, (Ruby & Sapphire) have a will of their own and eventually get tired of their masters' constant fights, so they go ahead and choose new masters, 2 girls seemingly chosen at read more