Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

D.Gray-man


Alternative Titles

English: D.Gray-man
Synonyms: D. Gray-man, D. Grey-man
Japanese: ディー・グレイマン

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 103
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 3, 2006 to Sep 30, 2008
Premiered: Fall 2006
Broadcast: Tuesdays at 18:00 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.141 (scored by 181,341 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3822
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #121
Members: 455,697
Favorites: 12,577

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 24, 2008
TheLlama (All reviews)
Preliminary
On the surface, D. Gray-Man sounds like just another shonen anime with an organization of good guys with special weapons fighting evil monsters. Yeah, that's the base of it, but DGM turns into something more, something deeper than many other shonen anime series. In fact, I feel that it sneaks around seinen territory.

While the setting is standard shonen all the way, you'll find yourself surprised when watching this show. It starts off a bit slow, with many fights, small arcs (~1-4 episodes) and nothing special to it. However, it quickly picks up, and some way into season 2 or 3, DGM starts to show its read more
Jan 19, 2012
Crofty (All reviews)
I'll be honest here. I don't usually go for long running shounens. Since my younger days of pokemon, digimon and yu-gi-oh (back before I'd even heard the term anime and just thought of them as cartoons), the longest anime series I've watched was 50 episodes, and that was only one show and took me forever to finish. High episode counts put me off. I like my stories to have an end. I like my battles not to drag on for five episodes. I like my plot arcs to end before I've had enough of them. When my characters have to get stronger, I like a read more
Nov 22, 2007
alderis (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my review of the episodes which I have seen which is up through 58.

Im not going to dull people with a summary of the story its on anidb and other such websites and they do a better job than I would. However if you want a short summarized version of what Im going to say, here it is: Want a series that start out as typical shounen series that transform into a powerful epic that twists and turns in unexpected ways? Then I would recommend D.Grey-man.

The story starts off pretty good, but read more
Mar 12, 2008
sspatel_55 (All reviews)
When i originally wrote this review (after watching the 72 episodes that had aired at that time), D.Grayman was #42 in "Popularity" on myanimelist.net and a very Popular Manga (#10). The show had a score of 7.8..BUT You might have noticed that the score and popularity you now see is much higher reason being the anime starts off fairly slowly and takes a while to kick into gear and progress the plot. But once its does you just might be a fan...

The Story has a very original plot. When I started this anime I immediately liked the concept of chosen humans + "innocence" = akuma read more
Jul 18, 2010
IceAndCream (All reviews)
Preliminary
To be fair, I can understand why D. Grayman has a huge following. You've got an interesting premise, lots of good characters, and excellent animation by BONES. And cool weapons and uniforms. And Allen's REALLY cute. The only problem is the snail-paced plot development. And that's gonna be a lot to endure for a 100+ episode series.

It starts out interesting enough. We meet our hero (Allen), and get introduced into the world of exorcists who fight akuma (monster/human/machine hybrids). We learn what the goal is (save the world--specifically to save the crystal substance called "innocence" from the evil read more
Feb 26, 2008
Rimona (All reviews)
Preliminary
I think D.Gray-man is one of those animes you don't expect to be a masterpiece, yet you fall in love with it the more you watch it. To be honest I even liked the fillers in this series, actually not knowing they were fillers because I read the manga after I saw the anime (and desperately wanted to know what happens next).

The story is a bit stereotype, at least the main plot, but there are so many wonderful stories and moments it makes it very unique.

I can't say a single bad thing about the animation. Of course it's not that great as manga, but read more
Feb 20, 2011
reinis-jan (All reviews)
Story - 5
The story was bad to say the least. It was badly paced as most of the time your stuck to seeing something between shonen- anime glued together with a lot of dramatism. And that means that action fight's are predictable and almost seem pointless and the Allen or Lenalle or other guys from the Order cry after almost every fight about something. The story had so much plot-holes that there were more holes then the plot. Also on the end all you get is about the same were this anime started. The last episode everyone is still fighting akuma's and more read more
Feb 3, 2016
Nervin (All reviews)
Themes surrounding exorcists and demons have been treated in previously in other works, and D.Gray-man revolves around such topic. What makes this anime different, is that it takes the liberty to slightly adjust such theme to match the setting, and also make an arguably more intriguing story. With the recent announcement of the upcoming sequel of D.Gray-man, people may wonder whether this battle shōnen is worth their time, and in this case it is, but only to a certain extent, as several crucial elements of a battle shōnen were executed in a lackluster manner. Not to mention the presence of some very lackluster characters.

~Story~

The story read more
Feb 19, 2009
Marthgun (All reviews)
Preliminary
What can I say, I tried.

For anime, you usually need to suspend your disbelief and just enjoy the story or the characters or the art. It isn't an exercise in logic or anything serious. However when it becomes that everything affronts your sensibilities, it's time to turn it off. This anime was beyond frustrating, very unenjoyable. I've been frustrated at animes like Bleach, Naruto, Hunter x Hunter, but nothing this awful.

First, I didn't read the manga, maybe that is where it all went wrong. It starts out by throwing you into a world that is far fetched, with unrealistic physics read more
Jul 22, 2009
vault2049 (All reviews)
D.Gray-man is a shounen/action/adventure anime. It aplies the typical formula: long episode range with 19-20 minute animation, practically endless storyline and a main lead that predominates over all. It plays a lot with religion, this is what actually makes it really interesting.

Like in almost all shounen animes the first episodes seem to be interesting. This is because you don't know anything about the world in which the events are going to take place or about the protagonists of this story. So meet Allen Walker, a 15 year old boy who has the power to see Akumas (means demons, mechanical killing machines is the term aplied read more
Mar 13, 2009
-Exo- (All reviews)
"Akuma: monsters born from dead souls mistakenly recalled by their loved ones to the living world."
"Exorcists: those who aim to destroy akuma and retrieve the Innocence scattered around the world."

So. At first look D.Gray-man may seem like a typical shonen anime. The main character is probably going to be a hot-head who wants to get stronger and stronger for a certain purpose... usually to protect his friends.

But.
D.Gray-man is not like any shonen anime I've ever seen. In fact, it's got something much more than most.

--STORY--

You may be thinking "Hmm... a guy with a deformed arm... Full Metal Alchemist?"

Well, no, actually.

D.Gray-man's plot may seem like it's read more
Apr 26, 2011
ChibiHime (All reviews)
Note: This review has been completely changed and thought over.

To be honest, I was extremely iffy to watch D. Gray-Man. I mean, a series over 100 episodes screams out filler and something more mainstream like Naruto or Bleach. I began to watch it because I already had it and the holidays had come by. With nothing else to do, D. Gray-Man was the better option out of the rest of my anime storage.

This anime is really quite a typical shounen with action, a set enemy and a love interest. It goes more into the dramatic side though. Of course, D. Gray-Man follows the exorcist Allen read more
Jan 17, 2009
webkid94 (All reviews)
Preliminary
D.Gray-man is one of those "hit or miss" shows, for me it was a bit of a miss, but some hits.

Story - 7.4/10 (C)
The tale begins with the introduction of Allen Walker, a young man with a strange power to send demons packing. His adventures in the Black Order, his encounters with many different types of Akuma, and his relationships with his fellow Exorcists are shown.
-------------------------------------
The beginning felt a tad awkward, it was a little on the comedy side (When Allen goes to the Black Order), and for a show like D.Gray-man, it didn't really fit. It took me a few episodes (and some motivation) read more
Feb 5, 2008
Titan-Kikumaru (All reviews)
Preliminary
If Hollywood going to film this anime into live-action (well, hopefully not, they tends to ruin the greatness of anime) I’m positively sure that it would be directed by Mr. Tim Burton. The anime is quite similar to his works. The dark, gothic, and edgy.

Even though the story is typical shounen anime, it’s fun to watch the whole drawing things. Black, white, and grey are the main color use in the anime, but doesn’t make the artwork dull, instead it makes the late 19th century setting to be stronger.

The main antagonist, Earl of the Millennium looks non-threatening at all. With his massive grin read more
Dec 23, 2009
ragre (All reviews)
To everyone thinking "Oh, joy. Another cliche shonen anime!", you'll be surprised how different and fresh D.Gray-Man is from most other anime. OK, it starts off slow and has a sort of simple, definitely cliche plotline at the beginning. It seems really boring with simple and boring characters, right? Wrong.

DGM (aka D.Gray-Man. I'll use this from now on - easier to type up) is definitely a more character-driven anime, instead of the usual plot-driven ones. The characters are all real and tangible; they have emotions and they show them. Each of them have different backstories, which are revealed as the story progresses and each of read more
Dec 31, 2018
achuso (All reviews)
This is probably the most underrated show of all time. It's very unique when compared to other shounen anime, too.

You will notice how great, unique and advanced the story is as you progress. At the same time, it succeeds to keep the storyline simple and clean; Innocence and exorcists good, Akuma and Millenium Earl bad, The Heart big important, whoever finds The Heart achieves victory royale. After ridicule events that may occur in this absurd story, there're no plot holes formed and loose ends are ALWAYS tied up. In addition, there're no forced power-ups or friendship power assemblies to do the impossible. In fact, there read more
Mar 29, 2015
cognitohazard (All reviews)
I'm going to be honest: don't waste your time with the anime. It does not do the manga ANY justice whatsoever. I happen to be a huge fan of the manga; the art style has always impressed me, the pacing is just right, the humor is done well, and the characters are so well developed and interested. 10/10 in every category.

The anime has none of that.

The animation is lackluster, the filler plots are long, abundant, and dull, and the characters are simplified and just not done well at all (it's difficult to explain, but the depth and fullness of the characters just do not come read more
Apr 8, 2007
requiem (All reviews)
Preliminary
Gah .. okay, i've seen 10 episodes so far. And im gonna start about what's wrong-ish about this anime >.>

First of all, hmm... well, the Earl of Millennium is really not my favorite of villains. He looks too weird, and not-so-sinister, despite his evil laugh.

Another thing is that I think all of the Akuma are like weird emancipated bad guys, who, like their Lord, aren't so sinister looking after all. They just look weird.. >.> But.. i guess there's nothing i can do about that. Character design wasn't up to me lol

ALSO, meh... although Allan Walker looks really cute with his ash blond hair and read more
May 29, 2016
thelectricow (All reviews)
I finally finished D.Gray Man, just in time for the summer release of it's sequel. Was it worth the time and effort to catch up? Well, I wouuuuuld like to tell you, but if I do that you won't read the review!
__________________________________________________________________________
STORY: 5/10

The concept of D.Gray Man is definitely overdone. It was certainly more unique in it's time, but was still common, even then. Even if it hadn't been overdone so much, it still wouldn't have been too interesting. Humans versus monsters isn't really that captivating. However, one of the big pluses of DGM is that it is much darker than you would expect. read more
Aug 2, 2016
Kadrian (All reviews)
Well, this is probably one of the few anime with too OP main character that I enjoyed watching. It has really enjoyable plot and story.

It has action and awesome fighting scenes
It has developed plot and great solutions.
It does not have harem/Rever harem/ecchi/etc
It does not have weak and pathetic highschool girls
It has great developed relationships between main characters.

It has unique characters and unique powers too. The art isn't really top class, but the second season is really awesome.

All in all, please do give this anime a try. It is probably one of my all time favorite anime!