Kono Minikuku mo Utsukushii Sekai
This Ugly Yet Beautiful World
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: This Ugly Yet Beautiful World
Japanese: この醜くも美しい世界

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 2, 2004 to Jun 18, 2004
Premiered: Spring 2004
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:30 (JST)
Licensors: ADV Films
Studios: Gainax, Shaft
Source: Original
Genres: Sci-FiSci-Fi, ComedyComedy, DramaDrama, MagicMagic, RomanceRomance, EcchiEcchi
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.801 (scored by 2464224,642 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #43832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1930
Members: 51,283
Favorites: 174

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 25, 2008
iamjoe (All reviews)
They sure got it right by putting 'ugly' in the title.

This marvellous piece of crap is a terrible anime about aliens, boys who love them, and boobage.

The story was bad, but who cares? Boobage!

The art was poor and looked like it was recycled from the early 90s. But does it matter?? Boobage!

Who can remember the sound? There were better things, I think. Boobage!

The characters were flat, cliches, and underdeveloped. The boys seemed to be horrible clashes of several bad male characters, and the female characters had no personality and were nothing more than fanservicers. However, there were several pairs of things the read more
Apr 9, 2008
NotARandomName (All reviews)
This anime is definitely a gem, but like any gem in the rough, it's not without its flaws. A lot of them, unfortunately.

Story

The story is quite interesting, and fairly original. The quality of its presentation varies throughout the series, however - foreshadowing, for example, is plentiful and very well intertwined into the story, so that little details that you might notice but not think much of turn out to be intricate plot points later on. On the other hand, there're the cheesy "OMG! The sky is falling!" bits usually associated with fantasy series surfacing all around the second half of the series which definitely read more
Feb 27, 2010
silvermoonrose (All reviews)
This anime sounded promising, the concept of an ugly yet beautiful world where life is cleansed and reborn every so often fascinated me. After a promising start however with a great opening battle with great action, the anime seems to have shifted gears and quickly became a ecchi / school-life, slice of life comedy. Then it sprinkled some "sad, but true" stories of the past.

Let's start off with the good. The art is fairly decent. For the most part, colors are nice, and natural features such as the trees and character outlines are quite nice. Hikari's outfit in particular is great. Sound isn't really read more
Dec 26, 2007
blank1234567 (All reviews)
Konomini is sadly that one anime that always seems to be overlooked by bigger, more popular titles. It’s such a shame, because this series is a little jewel. There is something in this anime for everyone.


Story:

The only reason the story gets a 9 instead of a 10 is because this anime was so short. Don't get me wrong. I enjoy short animes. However, the basic concept had so much depth this series could've easily had 120 episodes instead of 12 without repeating itself at all.
One thing this series can be described as is dynamic: shojo, shonen, slice of life and certain elements of the read more
Nov 23, 2007
Darreal (All reviews)
Being a major fan of Neon Genesis Evangelion, I'm going to say this with some limitations in mind.

I consider this series to be on par with NGE.

Mind you I never thought I would ever make a statement quite like that, but that is why I try everything and anything when it comes to anime - more often than not it tends to catch me off guard when I least expect it.

This series has an interesting concept, which unfolds itself after a decent bit of foreshadowing. The story itself has a somewhat predictable ending, in my opinion, but it finishes quite well.

Art-wise, I think presently read more
Mar 18, 2009
Credulous (All reviews)
Well here's an anime that has been made before, seen before, heard of before. Basically this anime has been around the block a few times. It's always with some new twist, but still the same generic, true to its roots as fanboy/girl anime. Am I being too harsh? No.

When you set out to make an anime, any anime, you need to have some sort of idea of how the characters act in the anime. If, as so many times before, the characters feel as unreal and sort of pasted in as they did in this anime then the anime probably isn't going to turn out read more
Feb 17, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Time to travel back to the past and review another "lost" series that anime fans have forgotten! Put on your Indiana Jones outfits, because we are going deep into the obscure for this bit of anime archaeology. "This Ugly Yet Beautiful World" which I will hereafter refer to as "TUYBW" is a series that came out in 2004, but was completely forgotten shortly after despite a decent budget and being produced by freaking GAINAX themselves! How could a Gainax anime become so quickly forgotten despite the legions of fanboys that will swallow anything Gainax shits out? The answer is timing and overshadowing. If another read more
May 17, 2008
Darkani (All reviews)
Maybe I started watching it with too high expectations but it really didn't hit me as interesting or fun.

The characters are just typical anime characters, they don't really have any uniqueness at all. You have the carefree guy, a brainless girl that likes the guy, a jealous cousin. The popular guy that isn't interested in girls.

At first the story seemed appealing but after the first episode the story didn't really evolve at all untill the last 3 episodes. The only reason I give it a 6 and not a 4-5 in story is that the main plot about how the life needs to be erased read more
Dec 12, 2008
Takeru15 (All reviews)
This anime is a piece of work. People if you have not seen this anime I think you should because its simply about a boy name Takeru and he had a hard past. But that same day him and his best friend wittness something they never seen before. I dont want to tell all of the action but the beautiful girl named Hikari has a dark side that is evil, wicked, and erotic. She is the destroyer of the earth and its up to Takeru's power to help save the earth from his one true love Hikari.
Feb 15, 2010
PerlaNemesis (All reviews)
Story: (8/10)
It's nothing very unusual. I'm pretty sure there are more anime with similar story. It's about guy Takeru meeting a girl, who came from space. However, Hikari isn't that innocent like everyone might think. Hikari's true purpose makes story more unique.

Art: (9/10)
Art is nice, but nothing extraordinary.

Sound: (9/10)
I love both opening and ending themes. Also, all voice actors did great job. I have really no complains here.

Characters: (7/10)
Most of the characters are stereotypical: normal guy, who has no luck with girls, quite guy, who's very popular but isn't interested in girls, jealous cousin, who's in love with main guy, innocent girl, who's also in read more
Sep 14, 2011
cecropiamoth (All reviews)
Preliminary
Sometimes in watching anime I feel like I've entered the twilight zone.

Anime stories often are about and for teenagers, and for that reason they routinely contain romance, and some have shots of semi-clothed beautiful girls. This one has both, but the romance is passing odd. The kids in the story are all in high school, but when romance time arrives the boys regress to approximately age 11. They agonize endless (usually through several tiresome episodes) before they kiss the girl, no matter how clear she makes it that they're welcome to do so. In general, these late-teen anime boys twitch and draw back like read more
Oct 30, 2011
Hazegurl (All reviews)
Don't bother. Just watch Elfen Lied please because this is just what this story tries to be. the keyword is TRIES. Actually, if a bunch of writers were sitting in a room trying to come up with the story for Elfen Lied, this would be one of the rough drafts after a long night of tossing out first ideas before it goes through several rewrites and becomes the story we get in Elfen Lied.

This story is a cheap lazy rip of Elfen Lied (boy finds naked girl, takes naked girl into his large boarding house, naked girl has two personalities /sweet and read more
Feb 24, 2012
squirrelsgopeep (All reviews)
Note: This is the review I wrote for Netflix. Thought I'd kill two birds with one stone...or something like that :)

SPOILER ALERT!

I have read several reviews saying people did not like this anime. I'm sorry to hear that. One reason people were unhappy with it is the amount of nudity. Yes, I agree, it was a bit excessive at times. However, the two characters who were usually naked were Hikari and Akari, and since they had no physical form before coming to Earth, it makes sense that they would not conform to boundaries that other humans abide by (i.e. wearing clothing at read more
Jan 2, 2011
TheUltimateKalie (All reviews)
Okay this anime sucked. It is filled with Mary-Sues, plot holes, and useless characters. There is no plot! It is a relationship based anime but the relationships suck!
Episode 1 of this series seemed to be okay but past that, it sucked.
The main female character, Hikari, is an alien who has no clue what her past is but everyone seems okay with that fact and goes along with it.
The main protagonist, Takeryu, is a high school student who finds Hikari in a tree and saves her from a monster that came out of nowhere. By saving her, he turns into read more
Apr 7, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
In honor of Gainax's thirtieth anniversary, I've decided to review the anime they released to celebrate their own twentieth anniversary, ten years ago! It's time for This Ugly Yet Beautiful world, so here we go!

In the long history of the Earth, there have been several major mass extinctions, each one wiping millions of life forms out of existence. Because of this, over ninety nine percent of all life forms that have ever existed on earth are now gone forever. But what caused these mass extinctions, what was their true purpose, and... When will it happen again?

Following this admittedly intriguing monologue, we read more
Nov 27, 2008
VitalLife (All reviews)
This anime is good for people who like Nudity and some killing in it.

Story:
Don't get me wrong its not that bad of an anime but the story was kinda fast paste one it try fitting the whole story line in 12 episode but overall it was worth watching in the end.
Apr 10, 2009
FuckedUpProfile (All reviews)
takeru takemono and his friend ryou nishino are out on his motobike one night. one there way back to his house they see a light that flys though the sky and lands in a tree. the boys run over to find a strange girl floating in the tree. she is named hikari. takeru gets hikari down from the tree and decides that they should take her home with them. before they leave the three of them are attcked by a monster that seems to be drawn to hikari. takeru proteat hikari with an stange power that he suddenly got. they defeat the monster and take read more
Jun 29, 2010
warniefn (All reviews)
Overall this was a good anmie and one worth viewing.It had a really nice story , lots of splice of life, romance and a nice ending as well.
The art was nice and the sound excellent , both the subbed and subbed versions were spot on.Not something you can say about all anmies.

If its so great why the over all mark of seven , you may ask?.
simply put , its extremely slowly paced ,more than necessary and in places it drags.if it wasn't for the "mystery " surrounding the girls , read more
Aug 26, 2012
Jessintime (All reviews)
I honestly have an extreme appreciation for this anime and that is mostly because of the great prominence of duality in all aspects of the story. For this, I would say that the title is creative and appropriate because it introduces this concept of two perceptions or sides. The heaviest emphasis on duality comes mostly from the characters, but also the underlying message (that can be derived from the title). It makes the viewer think and notice how the story has depth to it. I praise this and welcome it, and would say that, beyond anything else, it is the duality that makes this anime read more
Jun 23, 2012
r1n-okumura (All reviews)
I don't even know where to start with this review. This Ugly Yet Beautiful world started out strong. The first episode was really good. But then everything just went down hill from there. The concept was good, the storyline was good, there was just some rough areas of this anime.
I'm gonna start this review with the pros of this anime. The storyline, I thought, was very interesting. The concept of two girls coming from space and taking human form is what made me want to watch this. The characters are okay. Some of the characters are just unneeded and unwanted in my opinion. I read more