Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic


Alternative Titles

English: Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic
Synonyms: Magi Season 1
Japanese: マギ The labyrinth of magic

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 25
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 7, 2012 to Mar 31, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.191 (scored by 288,791 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3452
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #92
Members: 548,043
Favorites: 6,866

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 31, 2012
hellwyr (All reviews)
Preliminary
First of all I didn't expect anything from this anime. As I read the description I thought " not another anime, show, movie, about fair tales... who wants to see this .... " But due to the lack of any good anime and thanks to a nice review I've read, I thought I will give it a try.

So I got hooked right away.

After the first minutes I wasn't sure yet if it was a childish anime or if it was made for a broader audience. After watching 12 epsiodes I can tell you its for a broader audience, so no worries!

Story:
Let me tell read more
Oct 25, 2013
Yoaken (All reviews)
From someone who has watched countless shounen, it becomes typical to look at a show labelled "shounen", and dismiss it as mundane and cliche. But with every new addition to this vast genre, there are always shows/manga that stick out more than others.

Thankfully, Magi does this.

Story: (9/10) With a setting based on Arabian Nights, you can expect (or at least hope for), a gripping narrative. Thankfully, Magi is structured so that the focus on the two main protagonists (Alibaba and Aladdin) is well orchestrated, and has a unique vibe to it. Through this, the story can become very dark and gripping, while not read more
Apr 2, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
So, you believe in magic? Whether that answer is a yes or no, Magi sets itself as an unique series of a classical adventure for anime fans. It's a wonderful experience and there are many ways in which Magi portrays its adventures with its cast of characters. Now, get ready because Magi might just be something to refresh your weekend with its old school themes and premise.

Magi (also known as Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic as its full title) is a manga written by Shinobu Ohtaka. The series takes place in an universe that has has desert artwork scattered all around. As such, its theme read more
Oct 21, 2012
AnimeGuruTV (All reviews)
Preliminary
MAGI IS AMAZING!

ok first i must say that before i saw episode 1 i was under the impression that Magi would be similar to Fairy Tail. the reason i thought this is because both clearly have magic involved but the difference is:

Fairy Tail = Fanservice + Magic + Action

Magi = Magic + Action + Psychological + Fantasy

When watching Magi, it feels like a combination of Sword Art Online and Mirai Nikki. the reason i say this is SAO and Magi are both produced by A1 Pictures and both are Fantasy Based. Magi is similar to Mirai Nikki in the way that they both have read more
Mar 23, 2014
BlackSwordsmanPT (All reviews)
I´ll start this review by saying that i haven´t read the manga yet, im saying this because many people say that the anime isn´t on the same level of the manga and that it is a bad adaptation missing out chapters and giving bad explanations about how things work. So keep in mind that i´m doing this review having only the knowledge given by the anime.

Story/Setting/Combat depth - Ok, so i´m not only reviewing the story and world here but the combat depth too, because i think that it´s an important part on any battle anime.

SETTING

The story is set in an alternate recreation of the read more
Feb 14, 2015
AlexJetski (All reviews)
Shows like Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic really catch me off guard. It's so rare nowadays to see a battle shonen that delivers a feeling of exploration without getting too caught up in itself. Is it perfect? Of course not, but if there's one thing it gets right is its sense of adventure.

Magi takes place in a vast fantasy world with a ton of tie-ins to 1001 Arabian Nights. The setting is huge, spanning across many diverse countries, which presents an enthrallingly enormous scope. Aladdin is a young boy who some call a Magi, and the story follows his journey for self-discovery alongside his read more
May 28, 2015
Riktheprick (All reviews)
Preliminary
The series starts off light-hearted like many modern series to come out these days, but starts to get serious rather quickly with a nice pace. The world building is nice and breathing compared to many series that make lack-luster attempts these days, and I could even go as far to compare it to the Full metal Alchemist series for a general feeling towards character development and story. Unfortunately, the series turns to absolute rubbish at episode 16 where the whole politically focused plot turns out to just be a really cliche story about "muh darkness", as mysterious masked men try stop them for the sake read more
Jul 22, 2016
Treima (All reviews)
Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic is a tale of friendship triumphing over all odds. Perhaps you have heard this kind of story told elsewhere. If so, you've probably heard it told better, too. Magi is all over the place in terms of pacing and tone. Even the morals of the story seem quite in conflict with the methods used to tell it. Above all, it's just dumb and boring, which are two death sentences for an anime from this viewer's perspective.

Magi is about two boys. Aladdin is an impressionable, airheaded young Magi, or wandering mage. He comes across a golden-haired and golden-hearted street urchin named read more
Nov 17, 2013
Bear1211 (All reviews)
So after much hype from compatriots of mine I finally decided to watch "Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic". My friends who have watched it previously loved it. Praised it even. It quickly become one of their favorite shows, and told me it was fantastic. So did their hype build this show up too high? or Did it achieve what I was told? Well a little of both.

Story: 6

A shounen if I've ever seen one. The story is the usually, a run of the mill group of hero's trying to overcome adversity, and fight against the big bad. It's a formula that most Anime under this read more
May 9, 2015
-Toko (All reviews)
Magi is an anime that you've most likely seen before a million times unless you haven't seen anything in the medium. We have the family of tropes here! Everything from characters taking five minutes preparing a single punch only at the end to scream a ludicrous nickname such as "Rebel Power Punch" while the opponent stands still blinking at him to the power of friendship making everything better because friendship powers.

Magi does all of these overused tropes quite well. For a fan of action centered anime, it is a fun watch. But there're two major things that bothered me. The obvious one is the read more
May 13, 2013
NostalgiaCrisis (All reviews)
I heard of this anime plenty of times, but never gave a bother to try it just by looking at the title picture, shame on me.

For Magi's genre (adventure/fantasy) I think it successfully filled those roles.

Story 9/10:
The anime's about a boy named Aladdin who is joined by his friends Morgiana and Alibaba. The anime contains magical powers but is not centered only around magic. There is also sword fighters, along with fist fighters etc. I won't mention the "plot" because that's a spoiler, but the anime is sort of adventurous and in the settings of empires/conquerors.
I very much enjoy settings where empires, kings, read more
Oct 13, 2014
BanjoTheBear (All reviews)
(This has been adapted from my reddit thread)

Something that has bugged philosophers for generations is the idea of a little thing called "destiny." Do we have control over our own fate? Is everything we do just predetermined, with the outcomes already an inevitability? It's a strange topic because in reality we don't fully know the answer. In Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic, the show would have you believe that while "destiny" may guide your path, you alone have the ability to change its course.

STORY

M:L (what I'll be calling it from now on), begins with our star Alibaba having a chance encounter with Aladdin. Both boys read more
Nov 23, 2015
UsaagiTsun (All reviews)
-

This is the script for my video-review of the show over on youtube, so if you don't wanna read it, listen to me talk about it!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nn7Wk9_TudM

-
Magi is a shounen fantasy adventure, but this time, it's one borrowing not only themes from the arabian one-thousand and one nights, but many other countries as well!
It is based on an ongoing manga by author Ohtaka Shinobu and was adapted as 2 TV series spanning 25 episodes each.

The adaptation by A1-Pictures contains the first 110 chapters of the manga, staying mostly true to the source material, was directed by Masunari Koji and aired in Fall 2012.

In Magi's read more
Aug 18, 2014
aikojazz (All reviews)
I just finished this anime and I'm breathless. It is amazing.

Story 9/10
Magi has unique Arabian setting, with on characters from 1001 Nights. In short, it is about a young magi Aladdin and his chosen king's candidate Alibaba along with a former slave Morgiana developing their power while traveling to different places. A lot of things comes their way but they make a lot of friends and allies as well.
The concept of magic (magoi) here is interesting. It comes from the nature, and goes back to the nature when we dies. I can accept the logic. The dungeon and djinn are well thought and had read more
Oct 11, 2014
MajorJett (All reviews)
When i think Magi, i think action and comedy perfectly blended in together into one beautifully presented adventure. Not only did magi has stunning visuals and amazing choreography in fights, but the voice acting also seemed perfect, requiring no time to "get used to their voices" like some dubs and subs have. Now to preface i did watch magi in sub (don't even know if there is a dub) and let me tell you i could close my eyes and fall asleep to those damn voices man. Casting was near perfect with only a few moments where i thought (his voice doesn't really fit that read more
Apr 5, 2013
Radeon (All reviews)
Magi: the labyrinth of Magic's first few episodes were pretty good; it was cute, funny, charming and awesome. Sadly, it didn't stayed like that for the whole series. For the first half of the series, 1-13 was at pretty watchable. The second half was the main weak point of the anime; all those cute and funny moments disappeared on the second half (14-25), and the ending wasn't that great. Though, it was a happy ending, but still, it was a crappy happy ending.

Story? Story is pretty good, Aladdin, a Magi meets a young boy, Ali Baba an Aladdin helps him fulfils one of read more
Aug 22, 2015
Anim3Punk (All reviews)
Initial Review for Newcomers: Magi: The Labyrinth of Magic is loosely based on One Thousand and One Nights (more commonly known as Arabian Nights). A boy named Aladdin has been bestowed with great power and with his friends, he will help save/protect the world. Over the course of their adventure, they encounter treasures, magic, women and... social and political injustices. Over the course of this anime, dark themes of slavery, poverty, corruption and war occur. This anime expresses these themes in a similar fashion to another well known show (Yes, I'm referring to Avatar: The Last Airbender; although Avatar's dark themes are lightly touched and read more
May 12, 2015
ichiban_alex (All reviews)
Magi is certainly not the best shonen anime ever made, but it is certainly enjoyable.

The primary selling point, especially in the first half of the show, is definitely the setting and cultural aesthetic. Magi showcases lands inspired by various middle eastern and asian cultures, primarily those of historical Islam and China. The show establishes itself as separate fantasy world, so keep in mind that it is not trying to be historically accurate despite the inspiration from "1001 Nights."

The animation is bright and colorful which compliments the fantastical settings, powers, and more outwardly cute art style. In addition, most of the character designs are neat and read more
Apr 14, 2015
camcam111 (All reviews)
First off, this anime is AMAZING, you will not regret watching this...

If you’re interested in the world of magic, political struggles, and wild life-changing adventure , as well as visually stunning artwork, then Magi: Labyrinth of Magic is the anime for you. Despite, its cutesie like appearance, Magi actually takes the show on a slightly darker path than expected, thus leaving the watcher surprised and wanting more. Magi follows the journey of young Aladdin, and his friends Alibaba and Morgiana, as he tries to figure out who and what he is, all the while making new friends and stumbling into magical battles. You can’t help read more
Mar 11, 2015
SovietPsycho (All reviews)
Only saw the first season of Magi, which is the labyrinth of magic. I had many thoughts while watching this.... and I wished to share them with y'all. Hopefully this will entice you to watch the show, as it had for me. I have no doubt that this will be a great watch for you if you can connect with it, and if not, then it is at least an enjoyable and solid watch. So, moving on, here are the thoughts I had while watching this show.

All throughout the show I couldn't help but feel as though they actually had a plot.... Magi, using the read more