Yama no Susume


Encouragement of Climb

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Encouragement of Climb
Japanese: ヤマノススメ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 3, 2013 to Mar 21, 2013
Premiered: Winter 2013
Broadcast: Thursdays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: 8bit
Source: Manga
Genres: AdventureAdventure, Slice of LifeSlice of Life, ComedyComedy
Duration: 3 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.821 (scored by 2291522,915 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #44062
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2045
Members: 64,090
Favorites: 120
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 20, 2013
ProfessorGinkgo (All reviews)
It’s very rare to find a great show among animated shorts. Many of them produce situational one-shots with the same characters in the same setting. While some of them do have a serial timeline, shorts often lack the details of storytelling. The short series Encouragement of Climb (Yama no Susume) counters these claims by creating situations chronologically with wonderful progression and development for its protagonists.

Encouragement of Climb follows two high school girls and their adventures in hiking to mountain summits across Japan. Aoi, the scared and unsure of the two, learns to overcome her anxieties while being accompanied by Hinata, the tomboyish enthusiastic one who read more
Feb 7, 2013
Rhaal (All reviews)
Preliminary
Now, the row of 8's may actually leave many baffled or doubting of the seriousness of this review, but I assure you all scores were given impartially and after long thought.

Also, the show is still going so the review may well be subject to change, but I felt I had to do something about the ridiculous rating: the score as of now is 6.82, which is the average for EXTREMELY BAD anime. Not kidding: EXTREMELY. BAD. Yama no Susume, however, is frankly one of the shows I look forward each week, so I hope this review will encourage more people to watch it.

Enjoyment: 8 read more
Aug 15, 2013
renfire (All reviews)
Childish show? Yes. About cute girl doing cute things? Yes. At first, I thought this anime will just gonna waste my time. It is short, only 3 minutes per episode. That's why I think this anime can't be very good. How could it be good if it is only 3 minutes? Moreover the story is just about little girl playing around? But, seriously this anime is not like what I thought at first.

Yama no Susume. A story of courage and friendship. As its title -Encouragement of Climb- say, this story is about a little kid (Aoi) who build up her courage in trying something new read more
Apr 4, 2013
djWHEAT (All reviews)
When seeing the title of this anime, I thought that watching a acrophobic moe girl trying to climb mountains could lead to some funny hijinks. Sadly I was kind of disappointed when more than half of the show was about moe girls doing cute things and "talking" about climbing. This made the story kind of generic and forgettable.

The art of the show is your standard moe style, with all the bright colors, cute girls and big shiny eyes that you expect from such a show. Other than that I can't really say much about it, except that it was okay i guess.

The sound is where read more
Nov 1, 2016
teqkoi (All reviews)
This is one of the best and short anime series I have ever seen, since its three minutes in one episode and the story is really simple but really good.

Kinda long review, which could help you decide watching this anime.

Story (8):

This story follows an introverted girl named Aoi and her childhood friend Hinata.
Aoi is introverted and shy, when Hinata is an extrovert and loves mountaineering (going to mountains). They both decide to climb a mountain, to see a sunrise they saw together when they were younger.
Episodes fit together into a continuous story, it wasn't very predictable but the story is very short and simple because read more
Sep 18, 2019
Yuri-Crusader (All reviews)
Why do humans climbs mountains? Well people climb dangerous mountains simply because they can!! They see the mountain as a challenge,a challenge that cannot stand unanswered!!!! Can cute little girls also climbs mountains? Well let's find out , Welcome to my review of Yama no Susume!!!



Years before this tale take place Aoi and her friend Hinata climbed a mountain together!! Holding hands and seeing the sun rise!!! Casting its piercing rays over the world and blessing it with its precious light!! While they are sharing the magical display from nature. My girls makes a vow and pledge to relive this moment again together!!! But life read more
Jan 16, 2020
moe_sama (All reviews)
With anime the likes of Non Non Biyori and Yuru Camp exploding in popularity for their focus on nature and the beauty of exploring your friendship outdoors; I find it disappointing that more of these viewers haven't taken the time to watch the few seasons there are of Yama no Susume.

The premise of Yama no Susume is simple, two childhood friends reunite and rediscover their love for mountain climbing/hiking. The story generally focuses on character relationships and how their friendships are growing, but never shoves this in your face. Each episode has a short run time and makes for an easy watch when you need read more
Feb 8, 2018
attempt1 (All reviews)
A fantastic short anime with great character development. Yama no Susume is about Aoi, a shy girl who is scared of heights, then a childhood friend Hinita forces her to start climbing, a friendship begins and Aoi gradually begins to have more confidence.

Short anime series are known for not having a clear plot, but this surprising has one and has great continuity. The series focuses on Hinita and Aoi’s goal to climb a mountain, and the episodes flow and join each into each other seamlessly. Each episode is focused climbing in someway, whether they’re shopping for a new bag, or climbing up a hill.

The character’s read more
Mar 5, 2016
Bernstein (All reviews)
A new chapter in the collection of "cute girls doing cute things" anime, Yama no Susume is a series of short episodes (which evolved into a longer second season) that does not deserve to have such a low score, 6.85 at the time of writing, being objectively a very good show that satisfies the target audience of slice of life and moe enthusiasts.

Let's start addressing the elephant in the room: can this show be good with three-and-a-half-minutes-long episodes including ED? Yes, no doubt: it's a slice of life, it hasn't a dense complex plot which has to be carefully developed in order to be enjoyable; read more
Aug 10, 2014
apollokino (All reviews)
Moe at the right point, the kawaiiness is just enough to melt your heart and hugs you just as a loving sugoi mother would.
Everything is perfect: outstanding characters with realistic personalities, beautifull landscapes and wonderful stories with an enchanting yuri subplot with that weird irl alterego of Black Rock Shooter and the main character from Hidamari Sketch.
Truly a masterpiece that everyone should see at least once in their lives.

Wonderful.
Sep 6, 2018
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
Initially, I didn't expect much from the collection of hiking shorts, known as Encouragement of the Climb, or Yama no Susume. And following my expectations, the first season of the series is just average, I can't say that it's anything other than average, but I thought the second season was good.

• Much like other moe shows like K-On, Yuru Yuri, or New Game! The second series are usually far superior, due to the fact the the studio seems to be more comfortable quirks, and the audience is more familiar with the girls’ cute quirksーso character and story exploration can take place. Encouragement of the Climb read more
Mar 20, 2013
minimiau (All reviews)
Recently Japan likes to make animes of 3 to 5 minutes per episode. This is an example of this. There isnt any bad to make that short anime, becouse I consider if you can, you can tell a story in a short time.

Here we dont have any ecchi, action ore something like other animes. The anime inly focus in a girl with a fear and how her friend helps with that. The only know about the main character more than the other 3. Some episodes the characters go into a mountain and others we see that buying things (and for this makes the anime boring), read more
Sep 14, 2014
Sad-Frog (All reviews)
You are in a school and want to pass it peacefully by doing stuffs you want to do. People usually keep their distance from you as you are not good at socializing. Is this the story of your school life? No there will always be a person in your life who gonna break the barrier and drag you out from your illusion-normal day-unsocial life.

Set on a high school Aoi is your "Unsocial" main character who prefers indoor hobbies but her childhood friend [whom she forgot already] came out from no where and pursue her to mountain climbing as they once did when they were read more
Nov 12, 2017
Medic_chan (All reviews)
It's ultra-moe propaganda for casual mountain climbing and camping. All things I am definitely into. And it's divided into 3 minute concentrated shots.

And I mean concentrated, every shot, line, moe noise, and character are perfectly distilled to their most moe in an effort to get people going to easy to climb tourist mountains. Every syllable of the 15 second 7-line ED is dripping with moe.

The only complaint I had with this show was that it's adorable and good-natured atmosphere baited me into watching the last 4 episodes in front of my roommate. Half of the last episode is in a shower room with a lot read more
Dec 13, 2015
savage_ (All reviews)
I want to start off this review by saying , you wouldn't think it's possible to have as "complex" of character development in 12 three minute episodes. But it is , and its heart melting to say the least . The stories about 2 high school girls , one outgoing and boarder line obnoxious and the other shy and reserved and terribly afraid of heights . The rest of the story is the development those two girls go through in their journey to climb mountains together as they once did as younger children . The art is BREATHTAKING !! Every nature scene looked just like read more
Oct 3, 2018
earl_of_sandvich (All reviews)
When Yama no Susume premiered, I took one look at the show and passed, thinking it was a "sports anime" like Yowamushi Pedal or any of the billions of baseball/soccer shows that Japanese producers can't get enough of. "Hiking club? Whatever." But the Anime Drought of Summer 2018 showed up (1), and I needed a pick-me-up anime to break the monotony that set in. A colleague at work heard that I enjoyed Yuru Camp, and suggested Yama no Susume. All right, let's have a go, but I want to start from the beginning.

So, how do you get an acrophobe to climb a mountain? Just make read more
Apr 14, 2013
sunshine_sakura (All reviews)
Yama no Susume is a light and warm series of short episodes about cute girls doing cute things. Also, mountains.

There's really not all that much I can say about this series. The art style is beautiful and captures the essence of the locations well. If you know nothing about mountain climbing, it's even a little informative, and "peaked" (bad pun, I know!) my interest in trying it myself some time.

There's no action or drama here, just a cute story about a girl gaining confidence and making new friends. The characters come off as a little generic, but they fit in to the story well read more
Aug 1, 2020
lorelei1 (All reviews)
i will be short.there is something that the western audience doesn't understand about anime.what is the target audience for anime : japanese casual viewers (majority of the japanese population) and mainly the female audience.cuteness is everything in japan."kawaii is not just word,it's a concept,a japanese concept,and everything need to be cute.pressure at work,in school and social pressure is a big problem in japan.so when you come back from a long day of working at 10pm or midnight,watching a nice,relaxing and cute moe slice of life warm your exhausted heart.so no sorry for the people who tried really hard to look like intellectuals here,this anime is read more