Kannazuki no Miko


Destiny of the Shrine Maiden

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Destiny of the Shrine Maiden
Synonyms: Kannaduki no Miko, Priestesses of the Godless Month
Japanese: 神無月の巫女

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2004 to Dec 18, 2004
Premiered: Fall 2004
Broadcast: Saturdays at 00:30 (JST)
Studios: TNK
Source: Manga
Genres: SupernaturalSupernatural, DramaDrama, MagicMagic, RomanceRomance, MechaMecha, ShounenShounen, Shoujo AiShoujo Ai
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.861 (scored by 2581325,813 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #42262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2057
Members: 60,857
Favorites: 778
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Mar 25, 2009
Kona_chan (All reviews)
In my opinion, Kannazuki no Miko could have been a real masterpiece, or at least something very close to that. Unfortunately, it has its bad(but it also depends on the viewer point of view) elements.

The plot it's not one of the best ever written but it really has quality and potential, expecially if you are fascinated by japanese folklore. That's why I found it very intriguing, not particulary original tough.

The best point about KnM is all about the way the part of the plot involving the main characters relationships is developed and their characterisation, expecially the one regarding Chikane. It's really intense how the anime read more
Aug 5, 2009
alteredcourse (All reviews)
A timid young girl named Himeko has a fateful meeting with Chikane, the elegant daughter of an obscenely wealthy family. There's an immediate emotional connection between them, but Chikane, bound by protocol and social convention, finds herself unable to act on her feelings while Himeko is kind of dating her bland childhood friend Souma. By the time the first credit sequence plays out it's revealed that they're the latest reincarnations of shrine maidens who must defend the world from a mythical beast who wants to destroy it for some reason. Ooookay.

The more I watched this show the more convinced I became that it's all an read more
Sep 17, 2008
Splitter (All reviews)
I don't even know why I liked this series. It's another "we have to save the world with giant robots" anime, with anime staples such as catgirls, bishounen, and panty shots, all spiced up with some blatant lesbianism. It's a joke in premise alone, but the follow-through makes it a surprisingly capable tale of forbidden love.

As you can probably tell, I wasn't expecting anything overreaching with Kannazuki. I wasn't disappointed. The anime sticks to a giant robot battle formula for the first half with just the slightest hints about where Chikane and Himeko's budding relationship is going. Fortunately for viewers, a huge twist awaits and read more
Jan 5, 2008
AtaraxiaM (All reviews)
Ugh. Talk about an anime that started off so well and quickly deteriorated into a disappointment. The first episode of Kannazuki no Miko impressed me so much—the animation quality, the seemingly likeable characters, the potential for romance, even the mecha battles. I really thought this would be a yuri that I would actually enjoy. But as the series progressed, I soon realized that the romance was mushy and the story and characters were as generic as can be.

The story is, or at least started off, cliché. An ancient evil (called the Orochi) revives and the fate of the world rests in the hands of two read more
Apr 29, 2008
ShadowBlazer3000 (All reviews)
My goodness, what an interesting show this was to watch. Had many good qualities and bad qualities and plenty of fan service. I can't say that I am disappointed in the slightest, especially with the great ending it had.

Acting for the most part is quite mixed, decent and mediocre at the same time. Now Himeko's voice sounds a little spacey and a little scratchy at times as well. Almost like the VA's is trying to do a high voice. While Jennifer Sekiguchi certainly makes for a lovable Himeko acting skills is something to be desired for her. However her co-star Michelle Ruff does wonders with read more
Sep 11, 2008
Kilz (All reviews)
Kannaduki no Miko can be summarized as thus: Shoujo-Ai and Giant Mechas with bits of Japanese mythology thrown in the mix for good measure. It works better than it sounds, trust me on this. I watched the series in it's entirety in a span of about one week, and you know what I did the day after watching the last episode? Began watching it again from episode one. That's how good this series is.

My reasons for liking this series so much are by no means logical ones. From a cold, ruthless, objective point of view, Kannaduki no Miko is a mindless piece of drivel with read more
Nov 15, 2008
Tasogare (All reviews)
This has to be one of the messiest anime I’ve ever seen. Starting in a traditional high school setting and then suddenly throwing in mecha-fied Shintoism, this manages to make itself yuri. Okay then. And I guess it’s not supposed to make much sense, since all of the citizens in the town manage to go into denial about all supernatural happenings. Right.

Despite this awkward first impression, I enjoyed it. :)

The fanservice gets kind of annoying after a while, or in my case, within the first five minutes. But if fanservice is what you want, then you won’t be disappointed. Otherwise, read on.

The odd plot read more
Mar 30, 2013
Mephistofeles (All reviews)

First of all notice that the note is the result of what I enjoyed or not (mostly not) of this series. My analysis conforms my particular point of view, as is usual in such cases. It should be noted that we are only users of this and we entertain ourselves, (except some cases) we don't live in this industry. So like most this isn't a professional review but rather is a particular vision and you can feel free of that maybe you might get to like this series.
It wasn't my case, I found it very ugly and I gift it a bit of qualification. Just read more
Aug 11, 2010
KatanaTao (All reviews)
Preliminary
I never thought that I would ever rate any anime below a 5 (average) but this anime was obviously to me below average. As you might have noticed I have only watched 3 of the episodes of this anime series. The reason for that abrupt drop is that if I had to watch even 1 more episode I would have either laughed to death or shed tears of pain. The story starts off well with the creation of a love triangle centered around Himeko who is loved by both of the other main characters. What completely throws this anime down hill is read more
Jun 1, 2012
BadMediaKarma (All reviews)
Great anime for anyone who likes action~packed yuri. The show is gripping from the start, and the complex themes will leave you thinking for days. Kannazuki no Miko is one of my favorite anime personally because it's straightforward yuri with no subtext, and Chikane's feelings for Himeko leave little to the imagination. The show deals with realistic emotions, in a realistically unaccepting world, as opposed to the strictly yuri relationships environment in Strawberry Panic. I'd recommend Kannazuki no Miko for anyone 13+ but towards the middle of the series there is a brief rape scene, later referenced in the following episode. read more
Oct 23, 2008
Lestaki (All reviews)
Kannazuki no Miko is a show that demands apologists, but it's also sufficently vituous to have them at all. The somewhat intrusive mecha element, the fanservice (though it is *good* fanservice) and the badly developed and utilised villains are all present and accounted for, but the series has virtues that outshines its flaws. The central love triangle is robust, with all three characters carefully balancing virtues and flaws while remaining likeable. It's also important to note that the fighting aspect of the show is vital to underpin the character development as it occurs, as frustrations in battle and love both drag Chikane down relentlessly during read more
Oct 30, 2011
Higurashi (All reviews)
Being a fan of romance, especially Yuri and Yaoi when I can find a decent one, I had high expectations of this anime. Unfortunately this series did not live up to expectations at all - it was a bad series in general and apart from the things that I didn't even need to watch the series to see, I just did not enjoy this series.

Story - 2
Pretty much, the story is terrible. A 2/10 may sound a bit harsh, but the only reason I didn't give it a 1/10 is because at least other people got some enjoyment out of it. The story is read more
May 28, 2015
awerture (All reviews)
This is a very bad anime. Nevertheless on several conditions I'm inclined to highly recommend watching it. I'm doing it mainly because it has some originality, its melodrama is rather disturbing and, what is really rare for a bad show, it's thought-provoking.

One can have many complains about Kannazuki no Miko, especially about its story. But the very general outline of the narrative is very solid and not entirely unoriginal. At least I have never watched anything like that. It slightly resembles PMMM, but Madoka is almost ten years newer and it's not nearly as edgy. I suppose the outline of Kannazuki no Miko could make read more
Mar 16, 2015
centurydoll (All reviews)
So, listen... I saw this yuri awhile back and all I can say plot wise is that it doesn't really make much sense. While I'm fuzzy on some of the knitty gritty details, I can give you the highlights. Anywho-- **Spoiler Alert**

So get this straight: Himeko has a complete and total girl crush on Chikane, but very openly is in love with Souma. The entire sun and moon goddess conflict aside, their friendship blossoms until one day Chikane pretty much rapes Himeko. Himeko, alienated (as she probably should be, considering she was raped by her best friend), avoids Chikane for awhile and seems to read more
Aug 24, 2014
silversongwriter (All reviews)
Story 3/10
This story was dumb and cliche'd. Mecha battles came almost out of nowhere. The idea behind the show is good, however the awful, awful writing and characters ruined what could have been good. I could have been awesome. The writing sinks to a new low when the (Controversial scene) happens. And the way they justify it makes no sense, niether does much in here. Bottom line the story is mediocre most of the time, but it finds places to be really bad.

BTW, the ending... wasn't that bad compared to the absolutely terrible ending the manga had.

Art 6/10
It's okay... It looks pretty good. I don't read more
Jun 18, 2010
AnimeAlice (All reviews)
In my opinion this was a "intresting" anime. It different and unique but the plot is little wierd. There were when i was watching it and just asking myself "What the hell?" Each character has his/her own objective, making the plot nothing more than all there wants put together.
another problem is that the main characters are to confusing. At the begining they don"t know what they want in life but then during the last 2 episodes it all becomes clear. Suddenly, read more
Jul 18, 2008
HiGHFLYiN9 (All reviews)
Kannazuki no Miko is a light high school Yuri / save-the-world-from-an-evil-god / big-robot-fighting series spread over 12 episodes. Normally I don't care for big robot fighting, but I don't mind when it's not the main attraction, ie: Nadesico. This seemed to be the case with Kannazuki no Miko, the robot fighting wasn't prominent enough to bore me.

The first episode had some strange timing issues, I felt like I was being thrown into the fray too quickly without a good introduction, but this seemed to be limited to the first episode. I would have liked a little more character development for some of the Orochi read more
Jul 17, 2013
succubusyuri (All reviews)
So, as someone who wasn't -terribly- involved in anime until around 2007-08, I have never truly gotten around to watching this one, which is odd, considering my likes. So I figure I will toss my hat from here, 2013 and ten years hence production.

I came at this from the angle of someone who likes mystical and yuri romance. I haven't ever been more than neutral towards mecha, not avoiding it, but not going out of my way either. I enjoyed this series immensely, but mostly as a character study (my preferred method of series). But a character cannot exist in a vacuum, so let's get read more
May 4, 2015
w7n (All reviews)
Rephrasing & rearranging parts.
Rather long review, MAJOR SPOILERS PRESENT in order to give detailed analysis on stuff.
Before you downvote my review for giving KnM a 5, I suggest you also read what Erica Friedman thinks about the manga. Many of the problems present in the manga are also present in the anime.


Opening question:
It's widely said that love conquers everything, and so too in the series, but how can you say 'love conquers everything' when love can't even make character development happen when it's already required?


Kannadzuki no Miko, aired in 2004, is usually considered a landmark in the history of yuri anime, as it, being one read more
Aug 6, 2015
KibaYuki (All reviews)
This anime focuses more on romance and story than action. It certainly has flaws and the role of mecha isn't too appealing.
I usually watch subbed anime but the dubbed version for this is on point and I really enjoyed the English voices.

There is just something about this anime that makes you forgive its flaws. For me, it's the intense relationship buildup between Himeko and Chikane, and if you love Chikane like me, then the anime plays with your heart in a way that keeps you from stopping, and in the end, it is worth it.
I got more enjoyment out of this anime by watching read more