Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Vividred Operation


Alternative Titles

English: Vividred Operation
Japanese: ビビッドレッド・オペレーション

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 11, 2013 to Mar 29, 2013
Premiered: Winter 2013
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:30 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, EcchiEcchi
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.501 (scored by 2242422,424 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #61362
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1750
Members: 57,032
Favorites: 108

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 23, 2013
johnvswild (All reviews)
Vividred is a bootylicious party with a mix of action porn and, well, softcore porn.

SPOILER-FREE

A-1 brings us the touching anime-original story of four shapely butts as they fight off aliens, or monsters, or something. Oh yeah, there are girls attached to these butts and they have characterization and stuff. And there’s a beach episode with boobs, but they give way back to butts. And then there’s a fifth butt, this one gets a close up within twenty seconds of the show starting, really setting the tone for the rest of the show.

Now seriously let’s have a review.

STORY 6/10

It isn’t entirely obvious, but you will notice read more
Feb 16, 2013
arutairu (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am usually loath to dropping a series, but 6 episodes into Vividred Operation and I can't watch any more. I initially chose to watch this anime as it was an original and I love when visual media can put out something spectacular all on it's own. Unfortunately for me though, visual media has failed me this time.

Story - 3
An interesting initial concept but everything is very dull and predictable. The story plods along very straight forwardly without any twists or turns and you know exactly what is going to happen when the outline of the episode is shown in the opening minutes. I felt read more
Mar 28, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
I've been a fan of Strike Witches so when Vividred Operation was announced, I was pretty excited. After all, this series is about saving the world without pants once again. In fact, the world that this series takes place in doesn't seem so ominous. As a matter of fact, Vividred Operation looks like one of those paradise worlds from the future and one that I would definitely want to live in. It looks like a paradise, it has some features of a paradise, and maybe it is a paradise. Rather though, I gave this series a shot and what I discovered it was from far read more
Feb 13, 2014
RakiRaki (All reviews)
L-lewd!

Vividred Operation has become the butt of a lot of jokes since it aired. In a manner not dissimilar to its spiritual predecessor, Strike Witches, this anime has been dismissed as bottom-of-the-barrel pandering trash, an asinine attempt to cash in on the sexual obsessions of those gross otaku. This seems terribly unfair to me. What ought to be taken into account is how well Vividred Operation succeeds on its own terms when you more closely examine the contours of its plot and characters. It's unreasonable to hold Vividred responsible for not following conventions that it had no intent to follow in the first place.

Vividred Operation read more
Feb 24, 2013
sywex (All reviews)
Preliminary
I am four episodes into Vividred Operation as I am writing this review so the scores might be subject to change but where this show is going I highly doubt it.

Story: 4
"Friendship is the key to protecting the world." From the show's tagline one already has a grasp what sort of plot are in store. Indeed this show is an amalgamation of the magical girl and sci-fi settings. You have your typical heroines fighting against alien invaders in power suits using all their powers of friendship at their disposal. Early episodes follow the pattern of "Monster appears, girl transforms, monster powers up and girls power read more
Mar 29, 2013
Partei (All reviews)
I was going to write an introduction to slowly draw the reader in, and compel them to read my review. It was going to be full of evocative language and rhetorical flourishes. But you know what? This is going to be crazy long as it is. Let's just get started.

STORY:
Awful plotting, awful continuity, and awful character motivations. Yeah. That about sums it up.

Vividred Operation is a decent series. It's about a young girl who, one day through strange happenstance, stumbles upon a threat that could wreak chaos upon the Earth, and takes up arms against a threat from another world.

Oh, sorry. That's Magical read more
Feb 13, 2013
GemmaOtaku12 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I found this anime pretty cool. Because it's about technology in the future not magics. One of the most interesting anime to watch in 2013. The story is really great, awesomely unpredictable. The future technology, action, sci-fi thingy is simply awesome. Although there's so much fanservice and yuri scenes in it (score: 9). The art is very beautiful, especially for the backgrounds, characters, and the mecha, love it (score: 8). The opening and ending are pretty good I think (score: 8). What I love the most are the characters. The characters personality are all unpredictable, especially Himawari. I thought she was the moe chara read more
Mar 31, 2013
LuckyKrystal (All reviews)
Vividred Operation is an action/sci-fi anime brought to you by studio A-1 pictures and the creator of Strike Witches. Vividred Operation is an action anime that is very pleasing to the eyes. A-1 pictures went all out in the animation department, especially when it comes to the fight and transformation scenes. Unfortunately, its art and animation are the best part of the anime. The plot, themes, and characters are all very formulaic, containing nothing we haven’t already seen before in countless other anime.

The main character, Akane Isshiki lives with her sister and grandfather in a peaceful and lush world. Always cheerful and bursting with read more
Mar 2, 2013
Kokorolla (All reviews)
Preliminary
I love the part with the mayonnaise in Vividred Operation, I felt like that was a very emotional part and a great representation of America. You start with rice, which represents a new land, unexplored by people other than the native residents. Then suddenly a vessel containing a foreign kind of edible substance arrives, and it begins to unload itself onto the barren rice, and soon the rice on the top is overwhelmed by the sudden flash of mayonnaise. Oh, but it doesn't stop there, nope, the mayonnaise just keeps on pouring, completely submerging the top layer of rice. The submerged rice is then dug read more
Dec 24, 2014
desusama (All reviews)
Watching this anime was painful in so many different ways, it's not all bad though so I'll try my best not to bash it too much...

STORY: The story....this anime is one drawn out lesson of friendship conquers all, so basically expect the basic magical girl formula but with technology and aliens thrown in. The story is so irrelevant that if you watch the episodes where the girls join you could skip to the end and still be able to follow the story. Basically it's power rangers meets the powerpuff girls except less awesome than that sounds and more likely to make you hate your computer/ read more
Apr 12, 2013
UnculturedWhitey (All reviews)
I'll just copy-and-paste (with slight clean-up) from my comments section out of my anime list:


Before watching: So I heard this was a spiritual successor to Strike Witches. When it's done airing I'm going to see if this is true.

After watching: That's a whole lotta action, fanservice, and cute-girls-doing-cute-things interactions with each other! Can definitely see how they can call it that, with much the same kind of plot, battles (though this time with a straight-up magical girls feel, despite being pure sci-fi), and ambiance 'n' aesthetics.

This is certainly one of the best-looking animes I've ever seen, though probably because I've never watched one so new read more
Apr 2, 2013
SuiNoByakko (All reviews)
If I should describe this anime in a few words, I would say colourful and predictable fanservice. It’s not that there’s nothing else to it, it’s just the strongest and arguably the best or worst points of the whole anime. Really, enjoyment in this anime is as subjective as it gets. Do you like cliché and predictability? Do you like fanservice of underaged girls? Colourful cast with only as much depth as their fanservice scenes? Or simply want something simple with a hint of characters and story to watch? If so, this show is for you and you’d most likely enjoy it.

The plot isn’t read more
May 22, 2015
Cauthan (All reviews)
(This is a spoiler-free review adapted for this site)

[Synopsis]: In the future 95% of the world’s energy is supplied by the Manifestation Engine – a massive machine that purportedly harnesses the power of the sky. One day giant, mysterious entities known as ‘Alone’ appear and attempt to destroy the engine however it’s inventor, Kenjirou Isshiki (Terasoma, Masaki), creates the Vivid System in order to combat them. His granddaughter, Isshiki Akane (Sakura, Ayane) and her friends utilize the Vivid System to transform into mech-like warriors in order to fight back against the Alone and save both the Manifestation Engine and Earth.

[Characters]:

The main characters in the read more
Mar 11, 2013
thatrusherguy (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hamtaro and his friends learn the importance of friendship. With a lot of ass shots in the way.

Watch it if you wear a fedora, haven't got other anime to watch and you have nothing else to do.
Mar 31, 2013
earl_of_sandvich (All reviews)
After watching the preview and first episode, the first thought in my mind was, "Huh, so is this Strike Witches plus Nanoha?" Visually, there's a lot of similarity with these 2 shows. A detailed and very fan-service-y transformation sequence is quintessential (well, more like cliche at this point) Nanoha. While the concept originated with Sailor Moon, the "high-tech" styling of the sequences clearly play to otakus rather than young girls, and the "key in the ignition" shot is a possible throwback to the tagline of Nanoha A's. The way Rei was portrayed also reminded me very strongly of Fate Testarossa. As for parallels with Strike read more
May 27, 2013
raritydash (All reviews)
Vividred Operation is a show that has been on my list of shows to watch for a while now. Action anime with female casts are something I tend to usually enjoy and the director, writer and studio have all done work I've liked previously. The show was also being compared to Strike Witches, an anime which I've always thought did so much right and didn't get credit for it because of the girls flying around in their underwear. I wanted Vividred to be a repeat of that experience and shine as something undeniably great. In that respect, I was disappointed.

Vividred Operation is not a bad read more
Jan 27, 2016
bearvarine (All reviews)
An enjoyable girl adventure series that mixes four cute protagonists and girlfriend relationship problems in with science fiction and military battle action. Don't expect any deep sci-fi plot material here, but the underlying story is mildly interesting in that it follows the well-worn theme of battling invaders from parallel universes, with some general storyline similarities to the Mai-Hime, Yumeria or Noein series. The story was somewhat remarkable for what it didn't have: no boys or male love interests, almost no comedy or humor. All in all, Vividred was a pretty light feel-good series with more than a few fan service moments.
Mar 18, 2015
kvnadriano (All reviews)
It was.. eh. It's alright by all means, but it just seemed to lack and kind of depth. It's completely obvious that it draws inspiration from other mahou shojo, and while it's able to pull off what its trying to be like, it does so in a very... lack luster way. I found myself completely confused at the antagonists motivations and modus operandi. Try to really think about why the antagonists does what it does and why it does it and you'll figure out what I mean. I feel like this tries too hard. It tries too hard to be deep. Perhaps it's just me read more
Oct 21, 2015
Fluttersniper (All reviews)
Preliminary
I have a couple of animes I consider "guilty pleasures". I know they're below average, but I was sucked in by an interesting universe, premise, or art style, and became invested in what I was watching. Even when things become dull or predictable, I continue to plow through because I genuinely want to see what is next. I'm INVESTED.

Vividred Operation fails to invoke investment. At all. In any way.

The entire thing felt like magical girl paint-by-numbers constructed from the leftover scraps of Strike Witches. "Spiritual successor"? More like "shameless knock-off"!

The first 2 episodes were some of the most read more
Jul 21, 2016
zombie_pegasus (All reviews)
The actual plot of the anime is quite unrealistic since it involves loli fighting evil aliens trying to destroy futuristic technology that the world runs on. Although the technologies aren't too impossible, most of them would be impractical in the real world. This anime is much more well-know for the fanservice than it is for its story.
The art and animation is the main attraction here. Everything from the character designs to the world layout are done quite well. Some of the villains look a bit generic, but they at least die in interesting ways. The school uniforms ditch the traditional skirt and instead go with read more