Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun


Alternative Titles

English: My Little Monster
Synonyms: Tonari no Kaibutsukun, The Monster Next Door, My Neighbor Monster-kun
Japanese: となりの怪物くん

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 2, 2012 to Dec 25, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Tuesdays at Unknown
Licensors: NIS America, Inc.
Studios: Brain's Base
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.671 (scored by 328,408 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12352
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #93
Members: 577,095
Favorites: 4,577

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 25, 2012
aonyx (All reviews)
An extremely disappointing series that had a lot of potential with vibrant characters that goes absolutely no where

At first glance, TNKK seems like a cute and different kind of story. The female lead, Shizuku Mizutani, is top of her class but not without a price. She's cold and emotionless, only caring about studying and becoming successful, very much the anti-shoujo stereotype of being obsessed with love. She meets Haru, an intimidating boy with natural smarts that outmatch hers, a vivid outlook on life and an extremely wild, aggressive streak. The two are natural opposites - id and ego - who are destined to fall in read more
Jul 14, 2013
Satire (All reviews)
Too many times have I seen the redundant case in anime where a show will conclude at what feels like the midpoint of the series. Although providing quality artwork, animation, and satiating my thirst for lighthearted romantic-comedy, Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun (My Little Monster) falls victim under this unfortunate plague.

The plot of My Little Monster resides mainly in the perspective of the two main characters, Shizuku and Haru; both are social outcasts and have no friends at the beginning of the series due to their own respective personalities not meeting the standards of the social norm. They are both very weird characters, but maybe that's read more
Nov 29, 2014
Raphies (All reviews)
So while scrolling through Netflix during the ungodly hours of the early morning, I came across Tonari no Kaibutsu-Kun. The premise seemed interesting; a studious, no nonsense, anti-social girl named Shizuku finds a friend in a hostile boy Haru.
While not an entirely unique story nor complex, I still found it entertaining.

The story is quite simplistic, but I didn't really mind that much. (I just finished Noragami yesterday and that one was very complex.)

I will say that I almost clicked out on the first episode due to pacing issues. However, I'm glad I didn't, because it turned out to be quite enjoyable. The said read more
Aug 6, 2015
ChucriBZ (All reviews)
This anime is really good, is not the typical romance comedy and the main character is great, it was really one of the few interesting characters i have seen in a while and i realated to him, well most of him, he is almost like a sociopath.

Story
The story could seem generic, boy meets girl, he falls for her, they start a romance, well is nothing like that, is about this boy Haru Yoshida who doesn't like to go to school because he can't make friends and one day his classmate Shizuku is sent to take the homework to him, they met and she starts to read more
Oct 22, 2012
Savvy (All reviews)
Preliminary
First off, I'd like to say that this review will be short considering I am in the middle of doing homework and we're are only 4 episodes into Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun.

Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is about a girl named Mizutani, Shizuka who spends most of her day studying and planning for the future. She is a bright, young, brown headed teenager who only knows the world of textbooks.

Everyone's favourite character in the show, Haru, is a dark-headed male teenager who lacks social skills who at first look appears to be just another delinquent.Being the delinquent that Haru is, he regularly skips classes making his read more
Aug 9, 2013
TheLlama (All reviews)
Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is a romance anime that tries and ever so slightly succeeds at setting itself apart from the standard mass of harem anime that's out there, but inevitably stumbles and falls on its own flaws.

Its first and most obvious flaw is that it progresses too fast. It is determined to set itself apart by portraying an attraction (of sorts) that's there and out in the open nearly from the get-go, but fails to recognize that this makes little actual sense when the characters hardly know each other. What is an attempt to portray, perhaps, a sense of naiveté or cute clumsiness from the read more
Dec 24, 2012
edorcean100 (All reviews)
Ok, so I wanted to wait for the anime to finish before writing a review because I wanted to have all my facts straight. Let me be a bit frank here:

I am going to make a lot of people mad with this review

Please keep in mind that I rate a lot of anime highly on the premise of entertainment. If I enjoy something and finish it then I rate it highly. However, enjoying something and thinking that a series was well done can be two completely different things.

But, as someone who is a huge fan of romantic comedies, who hasn’t read the manga read more
Jul 12, 2014
Grail_Nikephoros (All reviews)
This was the first romantic-comedy series I watched when I started watching anime a while back, it was great. Apparently this anime is shoujo, I didn't know what it was, but now I know. The setup or the premise instantly grabs you. The show is certainly enjoyable, greatly assisted by colorful range of expressions, and some genuinely funny lines. There were way too many still scenes , but we can use them. The scenes that were set up had such memetic potential.

This series is bold, colorful, using varied, solid strokes with full color. The character designs are gorgeous and really appealing. The comedic sense read more
Jan 8, 2013
Lukas10 (All reviews)
Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Story:

Mizutani Shizuku is the main character, She is only focused on her studies and nothing else should get in the way of her learning, Some might say a book worm or teachers pet, Her attitude is very harsh and times and leads you to think she doesn't understand nor care for other peoples emotions.

Yoshida Haru changes this, He is a troublemaker at school, when he turns up, and also beats people up, Has anger problems and friends who only use him.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Art/Sound

Both really nice, For me this seems a hybrid of styles and not focused on the stereotypical "Shoujo" looks, Although they are read more
Mar 26, 2015
Renegatz (All reviews)
When I first started watching My Little Monster, I was already following Say 'I Love You' and I must admit, the initial impression I was left after three or four episodes with was mixed. One of the strengths of this show - and this is already strikingly clear from its first episode which was a very strong start - is the amount of content and fun it can cram into 20 minutes. However, I was a little bemused at the first-glance appearance of the relationship.

Haru's casual rape threat in the first episode, and repeated use of his physical strength to have his way made me read more
Dec 24, 2012
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Merry Christmas everybody, so I've just finished this 13 ep anime, so without further adieu, here's my rating.


Story: Good 7.

The execution of this anime's genre especially on the romance side is to me a well executed. You really can relate to the, I really like how this anime's romance being combine with a little bit of comedy was done. Basically it is a reverse thing where bad boy comes into normal high school girl's life and turns it upside down and along the way bad boy's relationship seem threaten when he sees possible competition trying to win normal high school girl's affection.


Art: Poor 3.

This probably read more
Jul 12, 2015
temchan (All reviews)
From the first episode you might think that its another shoujo about a CRAZY delinquent boy getting dropped into a studious girl's lap, and might lose interest. However I think Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun is unique in that it doesn't try to make it's lead male into this delinquent boy who happens to be percieved wrong by all of his classmates, and is actually deep down a sweetheart who is a hero with all of his morals in the right place. In Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun Haru (the male lead) is literally an almost sociopath, minus the fact that he hasn't actually killed anyone, yet, and all read more
Feb 7, 2014
Tugglesworth (All reviews)
It's hard to find a romance/comedy/slice of life that really leaves a good impression. Tonari no Kaibutsu-Kun does exactly that and for those of you who have already seen Lovely Complex and/or Honey and Clover it gives you some traits from each of those shows and adds it's own flavor into the mix as well.

Story- This is the weakest point of the series, however it's not so weak that it provides no interest or doesn't evoke any emotion from you. It's simple and laid out right in front of your eyes within the first two episodes essentially. That being said though, there read more
Apr 17, 2015
leep11 (All reviews)
The anime is about a girl named Shizuku Mizutani who has grew up without any friends. Instead of making friends, this girl would rather study and try to be the smartest girl in class. She would act cold towards people and she doesn’t really care for most things. She is so extreme that people started calling her “Dry Ice”. One day, Shizuku was asked to deliver some homework to a classmate named Haru Yoshida. Haru is a troublemaker and he loves getting into fights. Shizuku was shocked to discover one of the school’s toughest guys to actually be desperate for friends and he has gained read more
Jul 28, 2014
Dimuthu (All reviews)
Hey! I've never written a review before, and I thought this would be a great place to start! Ikuzo!

To be absolutely blunt, what initially drew me in was the OP, in all honesty it's one of the best OP's for a series, it fits the story perfectly and is cheerful, catchy and upbeat, I'm listening to it right now actually xD.

Aaaanyways, back my opinion, it takes a little bit of a while to pick up speed but around episode 3, the storyline becomes a little more interesting, personally I like really like Mizutani's character and feel a great many of us can relate to her read more
Mar 16, 2013
Toucanbird (All reviews)
Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun: It's Not My Little Monster

I'm actually somewhat speechless at how underwhelming this series is. Skin deep, it's a pretty decent series with an interesting cast of characters, a somewhat intriguing plot in regards to Haru's back story, and has some rather amusing character interaction. However, I'd be lying to myself if I didn't call Tonari a disappointment. This series reminded me of a teenager going through puberty. It's so full of potential but it's just so damn awkward in quite a few ways.

The story of Tonari revolves around Shizuku, a rather studious girl that does nothing but study so that she gets read more
Jul 13, 2015
RaveenFleya (All reviews)
So, I have somewhat weird routines in the morning. I need to yotube-surfs for at least one hour before start my day. It is when I found an interesting anime scene in someone amv. It's when a black-haired guy lick his girl's hands in stairs. This scene succesfully make me do some research in Google. And I found it, an awesome romcom anime named Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun.

Story - 5/10
Sorry... but i can't find anything new in this whole series. A violent guy who got tamed by a shy girl. Too focus girl on studying who defeated by a "never-studying boy". A girl who didn't come read more
Jan 31, 2013
SchrodingersMatt (All reviews)
Bad boy meets lonely girl rom-coms are nothing new--they occasionally make for good comfort food, but having been done to death the way they have it's rare to find a series that's willing to look at its characters honestly rather than just putting an attractive loner on display to get the fawning fangirls a-squealin'. Thankfully, My Little Monster not only averts many of the stale stereotypes associated with its tired premise, it manages to make its leads some of the most believably lonely and isolated characters I've ever seen in a good long time. Love them or hate them, but we've all known kids like read more
Nov 22, 2015
Hedgie (All reviews)
Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun [My Little Monster] is a Rom-Com that fails to deliver. It continues to go in circles while not coming forth and facing its problems. At the same time showing us meaningless love interest with the side characters. Will they? Won't they? Why haven't they?

It's a decent at most. I just fail to see, why others give it such high praise. If you enjoy, ‘Rom-Com; than this is for you. Be warned 'Abuse' and 'Odd' situations ahead. I’m a bit dumbfounded how I wasn’t able to enjoy. I love Romances but when watching this one, I found myself struggling at times and leaving read more
Jul 25, 2014
morphinup (All reviews)
I really like this anime. I personally rate shows based on how successful they are for what they are marketed as. Tonari no Kaibutsu-kun pretty much masters what it is supposed to be a shoujo rom-com slice of life.

The characters act like high schoolers. The love is awkward at times because, that's exactly what's it's supposed to be, awkward love between awkward members of society. The main characters are social misfits with social ineptitude. What ensues make sense. This is where the comedy aspect comes in. The take this awkward approach to love to showcase the hilarity of how out of norm read more