Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Phantom Thief Jeanne, Divine Wind Thief Jeanne
Japanese: 神風怪盗ジャンヌ

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 44
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 13, 1999 to Jan 29, 2000
Premiered: Winter 1999
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.521 (scored by 20,296 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #16262
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2056
Members: 39,535
Favorites: 424

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 28, 2007
Crystal (All reviews)
A mahou shoujo show, a genre that might interest some, and chase off pretty much everyone else. KKJ might not give us any new spins in this highly niche genre, we can't help but love it anyway?

Story
KKJ doesn't exactly provide anything ground breaking story-wise. It's standard mahou shoujo material. Like many other thieves you may find in other anime, Jeanne oddly enough tells the police beforehand she actually plans to steal something, and magically completes her missions successfully, foiling the police each time. While there is an obvious plotline, majority of the anime is fairly episodic. It follows a monster of the week pattern, so read more
Dec 20, 2008
carriehulk (All reviews)
There isn't much to see just:
1)must see; 2) must see; 3)must enjoy ^_^
Then I was a teenager I used to watch this and imagined that I am that brave, strong, lissome girl. I knew all phrases when she is transforming and that was my inducement to be better and alarm-clock which woke me up every morning with smile, bravery and impulse to continue what I have started.
Story is about friendship which could be very mystical and disloyal, about love which can be beautiful but in the same made-up, bet from the start till beginning it always is truthful to yourself which teaches us to love read more
Jul 1, 2015
ICristina (All reviews)
So this anime is great, i love the romance, i love the magic, i love the characters.

story : 8/10

i said i love this anime, but this anime is really stressed on what is absolute evil and what is absolute kindness, im kinda against that so i personally think this is an anime for younger kids and would like u to know that the plot is great its just my personal issues. There are good points and bad points to both the anime and manga, i recommend watching both. The manga have a better ending, though the anime already have a happy ending(i meant it you read more
Jun 12, 2015
Animelover820 (All reviews)
Just finished watching this last night. I overall really liked it, but I was slightly disappointed with the ending, I felt like it was slightly incomplete. So I might read the manga. Maybe.

Story 8/10

Decent. At first I was a little alarmed by the similarities it drew to Saint Tail, but meh, whatever. I liked it enough, so yeah. Whatever.

Main=Thief=reincarnation of Jeanne d'Arc (I'm assuming Joan of Arc)

Romance: Absolutely there. Wished there were more episodes to fully showcase it. Typical good girl/bad boy.

Art 6/10

Slightly displeasing to my eye, because I'm not a huge fan of when the eyes are overly big, but meh, read more
Apr 15, 2009
Braenn666 (All reviews)
My first anime. I was so moved. I enjoyed watching my first anime Dearest (as I called them later). As I liked Chiaki I hated Fynn.
Watching this anime I had fun, but for me, manga was better. Anime isn't so close to manga, and some actions are really bad. Oh, and I hate openings. I always skipped them >.>
May 10, 2011
MonjaElisa (All reviews)
One of the best animes I have ever seen seen…

The story revolves around 16 year old Maron who lives alone. Despite not being the most eager or the most courageous person in the world she happens to be the reincarnation of Joan de Arc, She lives as a art thief in the eyes of people around her, But the truth is that she actually exorcises demons and monsters from art. This causes the art she has cleansed to dissapear as she has removed the demons..

One day a new neighbor moves in the dorm she has, A boy whom makes an impression on Maron the read more
Nov 25, 2011
coocooformanga (All reviews)
Preliminary
Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne had changed me in many good ways. It taught me how to be strong and not be afraid of the mean people out there, not be afraid of not being accepted by the society, it helped me to know that if you want to get things in life, you've got to be annoying like heck and get into people's heads! Before, I was a shy girl and was afraid of my own friends, which for some reason had recently happened this year. Kamikaze Kaitou Jeanne helped me realize the strength I had accidentally let go inside of myself and this is why:

Story:
The read more
Aug 2, 2011
MissyTsukiyomi (All reviews)
I just finished watching this anime for the second time today, and I adore it. I love the plotline, and the characters have great personalities.

The story and progress of the story is a little slow in the beginning, but Maron's past and her slowly evolving bond with Chiaki managed to keep me interested. Of course, her adventures as Kaitou Jeanne and the adorable Fin Fish, as well as the mystery around Kaitou Sinbad and Access rope you in as well.

The second season is when this story really starts to get amazing, in my opinion. You start to learn more about Jeanne d'Arc herself, Maron and read more
Mar 10, 2017
moonwitchxoxo (All reviews)
In my opinion this anime is really underrated. I don't understand why some people say that this anime is for kids. I think everyone can watch and enjoy this one. Honestly I believe that this is the best anime story ever. Of course there are some things that I don't like, Chiaki and Maron became too quick lovers, I think it would be better if Maron hated him a lot, and than got closer, that's actually the only thing that annoys me. Because Maron is a servant of god and Chiaki the servant of de the devil. I think if Maron wanted to kill him read more
Dec 4, 2016
gworcester (All reviews)
I overall really enjoyed this anime. I love stories with adventure, fantasy, romance, drama, and especially comedy. This anime pretty much has it all. The characters are probably the best part about this show. They really know how to make you laugh and cry at the same time. I loved the romance between the two main characters, getting to see their relationship blossom was my favorite part about the anime. The art style was never my favorite, however, after a few episodes I actually grew to really like the style the anime was drawn in. It's very unique, and it fits well. The story read more
Mar 29, 2010
PhearTheNinja (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Note- I've only seen about ten episodes, the first few and some random ones scattered among the series
I went into this with high expectations... Which is probably why this hit me so hard when I found out it was so bad. The Jeanne manga was my first ever manga, and I still read it over and over again to this day.
But this anime... It doesn't hold a candle to the manga. The story somewhat follows the plot of the manga, but it stretches it and adds to many unnecessary things that just don't seem to fit. The sound isn't too bad (the voice acting is read more
Aug 29, 2011
KatieMH (All reviews)
I didnt like this anime because of the plot twist, which made the anime pointless if you ask me. The story plot from start till finish was unoriginal, a recycled idea from a few other anime that is similar to this (only i cant remember what they are called, something to do with a Tail? lol) although it did have a more stronger romance element to it, which was ok, I suppose but the religious and historical angle of this anime made a mockery of everything that has to do with the catholic religion and history and i didnt like that bit of it at read more
Dec 22, 2012
Ta-Ro (All reviews)
I like the manga better.
IMHO the anime was rather drawn out. It could be shorter.
And the end is a bit... Hm. How do I put it? It didn't feel like closure.

Not to say that I didn't enjoy it.
It's good in its own way. Parts of it crack me up in a good way.

And Chiaki's weapon arsenal is rather impressive. I wonder why he didn't use it?