Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Zetsuen no Tempest


Alternative Titles

English: Blast of Tempest
Synonyms: Zetsuen no Tempest: The Civilization Blaster
Japanese: 絶園のテンペスト

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 5, 2012 to Mar 29, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 02:00 (JST)
Licensors: Aniplex of America
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.081 (scored by 181,035 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4832
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #183
Members: 397,451
Favorites: 5,866

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 9, 2012
JBHUTT09 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This my first time ever writing a review here on MAL. I felt the need to write one because this show is by far the most underrated show of the season. The story is original, the characters are great, and the artwork is beautiful. There is quite a bit of action in Zetsuen no Tempest but it's the dialogue that will keep you on the edge of your seat, especially in the later episodes. It's what happens when there is no real "bad guy" and both sides are desperately fighting for what they truly and honestly believe is right. These shows are always so much read more
Apr 4, 2013
nixnao (All reviews)
“What’s past is prologue.” - The Tempest - William Shakespeare

Nothing could say more about Blast of Tempest than Shakespeare’s The Tempest which is heavily referenced throughout the series. Blast of Tempest is a story about overcoming entrapment in the past, both figuratively and literally.

Story

One thing that can be said about Blast of Tempest is that it follows a logical premise that manages to feel legitimately inspired despite its fair share of twists. Even though the story involves magic, the series defines a strong logical framework that both empowers and entraps its characters.

Above all, our character’s personal history is a major factor in the read more
Apr 5, 2013
LuckyKrystal (All reviews)
Zetsuen no Tempest is an action/supernatural/shonen anime by studio Bones, known for its previous works Eureka Seven, Fullmetal Alchemist, Star Driver, etc. Tempest starts out as a very promising shonen anime with interesting characters and an elaborate setup in a world full of turmoil. Preferring to skip the dramatic buildup, Tempest throws you right into the action and chaos right from the very first episode. Its steady pacing keeps the viewers on the edge of their seat and eager for more of the story. It’s too bad that Tempest doesn’t keep this up for the whole series. Halfway through, the show takes a serious dip read more
Dec 24, 2013
liidistorted (All reviews)
How should I say this... This anime was one of the best that I've seen. Whenever I have nothing to watch, I would turn to Zetsuen no Tempest (Blast of the Tempest/ The Civilization Blaster). The ending was perfect, the story line was amazing, but the best of all were the characters.

Let me go into detail...

Story: The story was put together in a great yet questionable way. There were many parts of the anime that could be related to the famous works of Shakespeare. With plot twists that would leave you confused, the story was never boring. The twisted tale of love, hate, revenge and read more
Mar 29, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Some secrets are better left dead.

Yet, in some ways, they always seem to come back from the past and continue to be part of your lives. It's like when you go through a photo album and you see that one picture which strikes you the most. You take out that picture and examines it carefully and take a trip down memory lane. However, in this series, that memory lane isn't a happy memory. No, in fact, it's one ride you wish you'd never had taken because from that event, things are never the same again.

Zetsuen no Tempest (also known as Blast of Tempest) is an read more
Nov 16, 2012
Yuvaine (All reviews)
Preliminary
Zetsuen no tempest was one of the anime that had me waiting for each episode. A series I'd probably have seen all together if I hadn't been watching it as it was being aired. And so, this review is after seeing 7 episodes of the series. I might update it if I feel the need to, but as for now, this is my opinion of the series.

----STORY----
"Yoshino, Why did Aika have to die this way? It's been ten months and they don't have any leads. Nothing left behind.. no witnesses.. They don't even know if the killer was acting alone. The task force hardly does read more
Mar 11, 2013
riots (All reviews)
Preliminary
The following review is essentially a salty rambling involving a show no one's watched and a particularly egregious cinema sin: "quote dropping".

Nothing grinds my gears more than a highly superficial anime that pretentiously throws around Shakespeare quotes with no apparent purpose or meaning. No, it doesn't emphasize the show's dramatic storytelling, nor does it contribute to the themes (or lack thereof) that the show attempts to present. Rather, shows that arbitrarily drop quotes from popular novelists, psychologists, or philosophers (e.g. Psycho-Pass and Perfect Insider) for no other reason than to feign intelligence are simply insulting.

Zetsuen no Tempest, a 2012 anime purportedly inspired by Shakespeare's dramas, read more
Oct 20, 2012
AngelCharms (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hey there
So this is my first review of any anime but I wrote reviews about manga before. Anyways, don't be harsh xD

The first thing that caught my attention for this anime was how its wallpaper looked like. It was just an advertisement when I was watching some other anime, and I was like..hmm, this looks interesting. I didn't have the slightest clue about what it is, neither that it was a new anime or its genres. I just decided to watch it cause I was bored and the genres were my favorites. So I watched the first episode and it did not disappoint me. Well read more
Mar 28, 2013
explicit707 (All reviews)
This is a story that constantly quotes and references Hamlet and The Tempest, both works of Shakespeare. Some people will love that fact, while others may be a little annoyed. I thought it was done very well, and I really loved the theme and the execution of this series. I have not read the Manga it is based on, but I never expected to love this series going into it. I was pleasantly surprised and it's now one of my favorites. It is a great blend of story, dialogue, action, and it has a great visual and audio presentation.

What's it about? The synopsis doesn't really read more
Aug 2, 2014
eskimoseb (All reviews)
“There is more shounen ai in this anime, Horatio, than is dreamt of in your philosophy” - Definitely not Shakespeare

A light hearted review of Blast of Tempest (my first, so suggestions welcome)

Blast of Tempest (Tempest for short) is, for some inexplicable reason, a love letter to two of Shakespeare’s most enduring plays: The Tempest and Hamlet. A strange concept it is indeed, and this anime is, without a doubt, one of the most pretentious I have seen as a result. I admire the writer for being self-absorbed enough to take two classic pieces of literature, and squeeze them into the context of a read more
Jan 3, 2014
AngelsArcanum (All reviews)
There's this common expression: "all bark and no bite." Blast of Tempest is a dog that barks Shakespeare quotes aimlessly, holding little weight and consequence out of the context of its wholesome product. It's like how there's so much Zelda paraphernalia that gradually obfuscates from the point of what the iconic series was in the first place - a large game franchise with a grand mythos of diverse interconnecting core stories and subplots. Blast of Tempest puts up a facade of intelligence and substance by spouting Shakespeare when there's hardly any actual story content to speak of it. Well then, I'll move on to the read more
Jul 26, 2015
Codered-sama (All reviews)
This is one of the best psychological anime that I have ever seen till now (Might change in the future if I stumble upon another anime which is even greater than this). Let’s find out why is it the best psychological anime, Shall we?

Story: 9/10

This was just wonderfully written and done. It was simply epic. I don’t marathon a anime in a single day but Zetsuen no Tempest made me marathon it in just a day. This was an anime which I shall call the mother of all plot twists. You will think exactly the opposite of what will happen *no let me correct that* read more
Apr 5, 2013
Trotsky101 (All reviews)
The first episode of this series was most impressive. To be fair, it blew me away. First the artwork - it set the tone for the anime. It wasn't cutesy or cartoonish at all (nothing wrong with that) but showed a kind of muted realism, both in the characters' drawing and the scenery. It elevated the anime in some ways. Also the almost understated tension in the first episode showed something I'd not seen before. So I was very much interested to watch on.

The premise of the whole story was also fascinating. As well as having magic, a read more
Nov 10, 2013
TheGunners (All reviews)
Before getting into the review, let me say that, Zetsuen no Tempest is heavily linked with the works of William Shakespeare. The Tempest and Hamlet are the two pieces used and having some prior knowledge on these two texts does help fully appreciate Zetsuen no Tempest. If you have an indepth understanding of both of the plays you'll be able to notice the similarities and predict some scenarios beforehand. However, the anime does a good job of not making it a prerequisite and thus the general audience will be able to follow. Simply put, the major difference between the two is that; Hamlet is a read more
Apr 20, 2013
MrSunshine004 (All reviews)
My favorite anime this season, really interesting story that pays homage to Shakespeare's Hamlet and The Tempest while integrating its own original storyline and unique characters.

Zetsunen no Tempest, a story of revenge and tragedy. Referencing Shakespeare's Hamlet, the story portrayed can lead to tragic end of revenge where sadness is reflected with more sadness. However, there is also The Tempest, the alternative end to a story of revenge. An ending where all is forgiven and sadness is repaid with forgiveness and happiness.

Story:
Amazing plot, the story of revenge leads the audience to decide whether the ending should be one of tragedy or happy ending. Loved how read more
Feb 24, 2013
Bowerbird (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first half of the anime was theatrical, morose and stylish (yellow butterflies, humans turned into metal statues, faintly Lovecraftian environmental apocalypse, Kabbalism and Shakespeare go surprisingly well together). It had a certain charm, even if the characters talked their mouths off and the action moved a bit slowly.

Then the second half completely changed the tone. Everything started revolving around Hakaze's juvenile, banal crush on Yoshino. The fate of the world and the revenge plot took second stage to the riveting sight of Hakaze going kyaa and smashing her breasts against Yoshino's arm every two minutes. Quality storytelling, that. -_-

So if you don't mind an read more
Jul 8, 2015
FMehdi (All reviews)
Zetsuen No Tempest is one of those series that you'll come across accidentally, instead of getting it recommended from an anime-loving friend, and after finishing it, you'll be scratching your head, wondering why it isn't higher up in the rankings. But what makes it so good? Let's find out, shall we?

Story:

At first, the story may seem like a typical shonen; the two main characters are trying to save the world, with the help of a stranger, from a seemingly evil group (and a tree!). However, as you progress through the series, you'll start realizing there's a lot more than to what meets the eye. The read more
Jan 18, 2014
yogotah (All reviews)

Would you obliterate this world for the sake of someone you love? Would you go against the logic of the world to achieve your goals?

Zetsuen No Tempest is a masterly written piece of work that challenges the watcher to reflect on their ideas of death, love, and logic. I started this anime with low expectations. I am a rather optimistic person, and the premise of a dystopic world did not attract much enthusiasm from me. Zestuen No Tempest, however, is not just a story of some parallel dystopian world, but rather a personal story involving love and tragedy.

Story

ZNT prides itself in their story read more
Mar 28, 2013
bakuenjincamillo (All reviews)
Here we have, a superb series that didnt get the spotlight it deseved. The Fall 2012 anime season brought a lot of fan favorite series that would have viewers buzzing so other anime would be dropped. Zetsuen no Tempest was unfortunate, for some, to be part of the latter.

Studio Bones animates another Shonen Gangan manga, but unlike some of their previous adaptions it's not pragmatic and has no gecko ending. Meaning it follows the story all the way through. Some scenes are altered and arranged differently from the original manga but they're arguably improvements. The plot of the anime, even if not original is executed read more
Dec 14, 2015
TsuisutoMirai (All reviews)
This is probably one of the best anime's i have seen. It has many elements from different genres making it very enjoyable for many people. It also has great cliff hangers in almost every episode making it hard for you to stop till the end. It has a quick story line that is fast paced but is still a longer story that is pretty hard to predict even if you think hard about it, it will just change completely.So overall its an amazing anime. It has many genres that are enjoyable, Great story, Beautiful artwork, Interesting characters, Ever changing plot and much more.