Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Macross 7


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: M7
Japanese: マクロス7

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 49
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 16, 1994 to Sep 24, 1995
Premiered: Fall 1994
Broadcast: Sundays at 11:00 (JST)
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Production Reed
Source: Original
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.201 (scored by 7,935 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #29122
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2952
Members: 20,806
Favorites: 167

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 22, 2008
TriumShockwave (All reviews)
I'm one of what is probably the most rare breed of western anime fans, those who will defend Macross 7. While not masterpiece of the anime art form, there is a lot to like about Macross 7. Since the series is so polarizing among fans, I'll take a pros vs. cons approach.

Pros:
1. Music. While obviously a matter of taste, I find most of Fire Bomber's songs quite enjoyable. They're one of the few anime soundtracks I will listen to on their own merits.
2. Fun factor. Basara is genuinely entertaining to watch.
3. Nostalgia. There are numerous ties to the original series, and it's interesting to see read more
Jun 24, 2008
primeparadigm (All reviews)
Macross 7 is so far the most different installment of the Macross franchise. While it retains the three main story elements of all Macross series (Love Triangles, Music and Variable Fighters), for everything else it tries to push the envelope of strangeness while trying to keep it within the confines of the Macross universe. For that reason, it may rub viewers, especially older fans of the franchise with certain expectations, the wrong way. As a result, Macross 7 is truly an anime that you either love it or hate it, no in between, and the only way one can tell which camp you fall in read more
Nov 8, 2007
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
So, since I'm hell bent on watching all the macross series I thought I'd start on Macross 7. For a while I thought I'd made a big mistake.

Story

It took a LONG time to finish this series which already indicates at first glance it's not all that exciting. It's all about Nekki Basara, guitarist and lead singer of the band Fire Bomber (what a great band name). The band starts unknown, living and practicing in a hovel on City 7, joined to Battle seven. They're the mainstay of the colony fleet Macross 7, searching for a habitable planet to live on.

First part deals with character read more
Sep 25, 2015
FAKEANIMEGIRL (All reviews)
The original SDF Macross and its sequel Macross Plus are two of my favorite anime of all time. I was properly warned, but it was still destiny for me to watch Macross 7 as well. Not only was it the next in a franchise that had yet to do me any wrong but it's the first and only true sequel to the original SDF Macross. I had to watch it, despite Macross 7's reputation of being a huge departure for Macross.

The first series was one of the pioneering works of the "Real Robot" genre along with Mobile Suit Gundam. It combined the aesthetic appeal of read more
Mar 7, 2010
Otase (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you have watched Macross Super Dimensional Fortress you will understand beter Macross 7 and will give it more value cause this is realy a sequel of 1st Macross unlike that Macross II Lovers Again wich are just some fast made 6 ovas, anyone who starts watching this serie without having seen Macross SDF and Macross Plus, it sure will have less value to them, i recommend watching this series before starting this if you realy want to fully apreciate this anime:

Macross Super Dimensional Fortress (36.ep)
Macross II Lovers Again (6.ova) (its a bit optional to watch this one tough)
Macross Plus (4.ovas)

Then Macross 7 :) read more
Dec 13, 2010
darkcommanderq (All reviews)
Overall: Macross 7 has to be the most polarizing macross series of all time. I defiantly give this show a 10 out of 10, but I understand that this is highly subjective. I will explain what the show has to offer and point out parts that you will love or hate.

Story: Macross 7 takes place some time after the origonal super dimensional fortress macross. For those of you that watched the original there is a fun surprise character wise in this for you. Macross 7 takes the spirit of the show, as in "Music can stop war" and makes it a read more
Jan 26, 2015
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Macross 7 was one of the first sequels to the Macross franchise made around the same time that Macross Plus came about. This chapter of the franchise focuses on the human and Zentradi members aboard the spacecraft Macross 7 dealing with a new enemy alien threat called the Protodevlin and a guitarist named Basara Nekki cutting in during heated fights in a Valkyrie unit between the forces to try singing to the enemy for seemingly unknown reasons. Continuity wise, the series takes place 35 years after the events of the original Macross series, clearly evident with the appearances of Maximillian and Milia, the first human-Zentradi read more
Jul 11, 2018
somaisbatman (All reviews)
After seeing almost all of the Macross series, I’m here to say that Macross 7 is maybe the best one? I’m being completely serious, and I’ll try to explain some of why I found it so special.

BOMBER!! Let’s start with the music. SDF Macross was made to sell toys, and Macross 7 was made to sell CDs. To accomplish this, the show focuses on the band Fire Bomber, who have about a dozen insert songs in the show. At first these songs may seem tacky or repetitive, and it doesn’t help that the early episodes keep using the same two songs, but the soundtrack seriously read more
Oct 7, 2018
neonUFO (All reviews)
I'm going to try to remain as objective as possible in this review, but it's fair to mention beforehand that this IS my favourite show, however I am well aware of it's flaws. This review contains no spoilers.

Macross 7 is absolutely nothing like it's predecessors, Super Dimensional Fortress Macross or Macross Plus. That is most likely why it gets such a bad rep - people went in expecting what is basically the opposite of what they got. Macross 7 is a heavily character-driven show and it takes it's time away from the plot to really develop it's characters, which is something I personally thought SDF read more
Jul 15, 2018
TheeSilent (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm going to keep this short, really short.

I'm not fond of writing, but there is a great chance of me commenting/reviewing when there's alot of bs.

I've bit the bullet and started watching Macross from the very beginning and completely... almost completely love it.

The review:
The art is really cool and lovable but art reuse could have been toned down but other than that, the music is awesome and great to listen to, the characters are all lovable (almost) and developed well, the story is captivating and continuing in expanding in space. Everything* is really good, honestly, you should watch it, even if you're not into read more
Oct 28, 2017
Janusmasher (All reviews)
Preliminary
Macross......Macross... Macross

Some time ago, circa 2012 I decided I wanted to watch the original Japaneses Macross series, as all I had watched before was the heavily edited Robotech, some friends advised me that Macross was a good watch, so I decided to give it a try, what I found out was a masterful crafted tale of romance, drama, comedy and self discovery that I have seen just a couple of times before with shows like code geass, eureka seven and full metal alchemist, Macross blew me away with excitement so, of course a wanted to see what the franchise had to offer, I was read more
Mar 26, 2016
BowlingJD (All reviews)
A direct sequel to the original 1982 Super Dimensional Fortress Macross, comes twelve years later in the form of Marcross 7. Studio Nue (Macross, Macross Plus, Dirty Pair) with the help of director Tetsuro Amino (Iria Zeiram the Animation) and music by Yoko Kanno (Macross Plus) set the tone perfectly for the anime. Yoko Kanno must be given so much credit because music is so key to Macross 7, without it, this anime would downright fail.

Taking place about 35 years after the events of the original, in 2045 a colony spacecraft and its’ fleet sets off into space for colonization. During said journey, the fleet read more
May 30, 2017
SharazJek (All reviews)
THIS REVIEW CONTAINS SPOILERS

As a sequel to Super Dimensional Fortress Macross, this one's an odd duck, with a wildly different tone which is likely to put most oldschool fans off. It's shamelessly and unapologetically absurd. But how does Macross 7 stack up taken on its own terms?

It's almost like a Magical Girl series with a male lead instead; Basara attempts to bring his message of peace to the universe through song and his skills as a guitarist in the band Fire Bomber. Like in all Macross music is used to move the masses. He's selfish, stubborn, single-minded, and usually takes his bandmates for granted. Yet read more
Mar 3, 2017
sol666 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I don't want to sound like a troll but Macross 7 is nothing like it's predecessor "Super dimensional fortress Macross" or the western edition "Robotech". In fact it cannot even be called a sequel, it practically runs parallel (non-canon) to the timeline of events in the original series (after the zentraedi arc but before the protoculture masters arc).
To me macross is is both nostalgia and a standard for space anime stories because it was the first space anime I ever watched. Macross 7 is an insult to whatever reputation the original macross series built. Macross 7 completely misinterpreted the relationship of music to the read more