Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World - Nanika wo Suru Tame ni - Life Goes On.


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Kino no Tabi: the Beautiful World - Life Goes On, Kino's Journey Movie
Japanese: 劇場版 キノの旅 -the Beautiful World- 何かをするために -life goes on.

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Feb 19, 2005
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: A.C.G.T.
Source: Light novel
Duration: 29 min.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.821 (scored by 18,846 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2128
Members: 40,280
Favorites: 45

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jan 24, 2009
shadowcat2323 (All reviews)
Kino's Journey can pretty much be divided into two shows, one that is an entirely episodic travel anime with light philosophic content and a second that has a much stronger emphasis on philosophy and underlying whispers of a overreaching storyline. Kino's Journey: Life Goes On falls pretty solidly into the second category and does a good job of representing exactly what I liked about the main series.

Story 10: This is the story I wanted to hear since about episode 3 of the show, and it never disappointed. The plotline of "Life Goes On" does a wonderful job of showing how Kino's writers are able to read more
Sep 24, 2007
Venneh (All reviews)
Title: Kino no Tabi: In Order to Do Something -Life Goes On-

Anime: The Kino no Tabi movie was released on February 19th, 2005 in Japan, and was directed by Takashi Watanabe, who also directed Ikki Tousen. It has yet to be licensed or released Stateside.

Story: The movie is a prequel of sorts, focusing on Kino when she was younger and living with Shishou, who was mentioned in passing in the series. We see her learning to protect herself with guns, and learning how to ride Hermes, which makes for some nice laughs. It also focuses on her guilt over a death that read more
Sep 30, 2017
Falco2424 (All reviews)
This first Kino's Journey special serves as exposition to the main series, kind of, and does basically nothing else. And even the exposition that it does accomplish is not only unwarranted, but unnecessary. It was also disappointing considering I was expecting the special to show exactly how Kino became so impressive at combat. So let's discuss those two aspects of the series. Its unwarrantedness, and its unsatisfying narrative. For this review, I will assume you watched the main series, as both of those subjects require knowledge of certain episodes in the series. Also, this review might get a little spoilery. I will not explicitly spoil read more
Jul 5, 2013
obtrice (All reviews)
For fans of Kino’s Journey, Life Goes On is a welcome addition. It’s a cute, engaging story that reveals how Kino got her traveler’s outfit and remarkable skills, expands upon two important secondary characters, Shishou and the older Kino, and focuses on Kino’s guilt over the death of the older Kino. It also has a bit of action, humor, and a suspenseful, darker climax.

As a prequel, the film isn’t bad but it leaves something to be desired. How did Kino and Shishou meet, and why does Shishou make Kino (and everyone else) call her Master? When and why did Kino decide to leave Shishou? If read more
May 17, 2019
Rezto (All reviews)
Kino’s Journey – Life Goes On, serves as a prequel to Kino’s Journey. It is longer than an average episode, clocking in at just under 30 minutes. This is a fairly cutesy side story, where we learn about what Kino got up to once she escaped her country of birth and reveals the important supporting character, Kino’s master – Shishou, who taught Kino how to shoot and travel.

This is essentially just another episode of Kino’s Journey, which would have worked fine within the original show – but is it good? Well, yes, it certainly is good, but it just feels unnecessary and makes you want read more
Aug 14, 2014
myronator (All reviews)
Life Goes On is an OVA which explores some of Kino's time spent with her teacher/master before she becomes a traveler. Without going into spoilers, this OVA is just as brutal as the original series. However, unlike the original series, this story is far more character driven than thematically driven. While people who are keen on seeing more development of Kino's story will be excited, it will disappoint anyone who wishes to see her travel to another country and explore a new theme. Nevertheless, the story is just as high quality as the series and really emphasizes the difficulties Kino has finding her own identity.

The read more
Dec 20, 2012
Ushiojiru (All reviews)
This is a wonderful little episode. It's only about 30 minutes long and it paints the picture of a younger, more inexperienced Kino. The main show only hinted at Kino's youth and training but nothing was ever fully explained. Most times, I really enjoy using my imagination to bridge the mysterious gaps in story plots. However, there was something about Kino no Tabi: The Beautiful World that didn't sit well with me. Though it was an amazing show, it left me with the feeling of wanting more.

If you feel the same way, then I suggest you give this little episode a watch. Even if you read more