Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo


Alternative Titles

English: The Pet Girl of Sakurasou
Synonyms: Sakura-sou no Pet na Kanojo
Japanese: さくら荘のペットな彼女

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 9, 2012 to Mar 26, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: J.C.Staff
Source: Light novel
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.321 (scored by 331,722 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #2182
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #64
Members: 583,363
Favorites: 18,616

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 18, 2013
Kyuutoryuu (All reviews)
**This review has a section (highlighted by tags) that contains spoilers.

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo is a rom-com slice of life anime, so it’s a good watch by default, right? Well, not quite. This genre has a shtick for being oversaturated, particularly with many poor productions. Why should you watch Sakurasou in particular, over the many other rom-com slice of life's? Well, read on to find out.

Sakurasou does one thing especially well that makes it stand out among its competitors, and that is its character dynamics. That is an aspect of it that is simply fantastic. As such, this review contains a fairly lengthy discussion read more
Apr 30, 2013
Radeon (All reviews)
"Everyday was the same. Deep down, I felt bored. I wanted to blame someone for my being bored." - Kanda Sorata

The very first line in the anime coming from the protagonist himself. Frankly, I felt exactly the same after watching the first dozen episodes of Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo. J.C. Staff, a studio which animated numerous titles such as Toradora, Zero no Tsukaima, Toaru Majutsu no Index, now it's Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo or in English, 'The Pet Girl of Sakurasou'.

Story? Kanda Sorata was told to move to a place called Sakurasou, a dorm where the problem students dwell in. One day, Shiina read more
Nov 3, 2012
KawaiiSwag (All reviews)
*Updated for 24/24, thanks for the reading*

Once in a while, it's nice to be pleasantly surprised. Going into something with a synopsis like Sakurasou, I honestly wasn't expecting much, but the end result was nice way to finish such a great series like this.

Keep in mind this is my first review. I'm not going to dive into why I picked numbers for each category because I find it pretty repetitive, but more strictly my enjoyment and impressions I have towards this anime. So by all means, I'm no expert in anime, I just watch what seems enjoyable for me.

One of Sakuraou’s most redeeming factors is read more
Feb 2, 2015
Aubzstein (All reviews)
"Over the last three years here at Sui High, I've made many dear friends. And what allowed me to meet them... was a student dorm called Sakurasou." - Misaki

The Pet Girl of Sakurasou. When I first read the little summary of it on MAL I got the horrible feeling in my stomach it would be very sexually forward with a lot of fan service and very little plot/char. development. I thank God today that I'm terrible at guessing plots to anime, and I will take this second to simply say "I apologize" to the writer for having low expectations. Because I could not have possibly read more
Mar 27, 2013
Newmn84 (All reviews)
So, just to get this out of the way, Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo is a high school, romantic comedy drama based off the light novels of the same name whose main draw comes from the characters and how they interact with each other. To be completely honest, when I first heard about Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo before it even aired, I fully expected it to be a “weird-girl harem comedy”, and the first couple episodes really did nothing to change that opinion. However, as the show progressed, I found that I never could have been more wrong.

The story revolves around Kanda Sorata, a read more
Apr 5, 2013
Orsonius (All reviews)
From all the Slice of Life, Romantic Comedy last year I've seen, Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo was by far the best.

But that in of it self doesn't say much about the Quality of the show, does it?

Let me first sum up my overall impression/emotions with the show.
I laughed.
I cringed.
I was touched.
I felt connected.
And I recommended it despite it being just another JC Staff School Anime.

Why?

That's what I'm going to explain to you now.

Story:

The plot revolves around a young male named Sorata Kanda who is attending an art school. He has the habit of picking up cats and caring for them. His dorm though doesn't read more
Mar 26, 2013
LEGOF (All reviews)
Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo is an artistic anime that blends together a colorful array of different anime themes. There's plenty of comedy, school romance, a loveable cast, emotional dramatic scenes, and... cute girls. These themes unfold into the grand events within and without the walls of Sakurasou.

Sakurasou tells the story of a basic, bland-haired male who has to take care of a genius, empty-headed bishoujo. Around him are fellow Sakurasou members, friends, family, and enemies. OK, maybe not that last one. The story isn't groundbreaking, but what it unfolds into is what makes Sakurasou a bit better than average.

Since the story is set in read more
Mar 26, 2013
jiwoo1024 (All reviews)
Sakurasou.... where to start. I am a huge sucker for romantic school kind of animes but MANY times I was unable to find the right kind of anime. There were many many animes which just got dull and boring straight from the start. But Sakurasou had me captivated and eager which made me wait every week for the new episode to come out. I even wanted to learn Japanese just so I could watch this anime raw!!!! (Which means i get too watch it faster :D) This anime, like many kinds of anime had its up and downs. And it was these ups and downs read more
May 10, 2013
MelKaven (All reviews)
Well, I don't normally go out of my way to write reviews.
But wow...
This show deserves it.

Within the first four minutes or so I thought this anime was going to be typical Harem or some annoying romance that attempts to sway you by overly cliche one-liners and pompous ass shots, but oh how was I wrong.

**NO SPOILERS**
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Story:

The story is unique in this anime because it does something that I really don't see very often in literature these days.

Its actually a generally sad story, but the reason its sad isn't because of stream that which guides the plot; i.e., war, death, dystopia, anarchy, evil tyrant, etc., read more
Jul 21, 2015
Bolt1984 (All reviews)
"This area feels weird, it's been throbbing hard since that time."
-Mashiro Shiina, Episode 12

My god, everyone seems to have a total hard-on for this show. Why? Nearly every previous review for this shit has been a 10. Is there something I missed while watching this? Seriously, what's so amazing about it?

So characters: you got your generic numbnuts male protagonist who's usually too fuckin' scared to say what he really means, a schizophrenic or something, a generic tsundere, the generic sex-crazed pervert character, and some other annoying chick. Sounds great already!

The setting: 1700's France? No, fuck you, it's a school. What did you expect?
Ok, to be read more
Feb 10, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
Every journey begins with the first step.

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo (also known as The Pet Girl of Sakurasou) is an anime series based off the light novel with a manga adaptation also written in the works by Hajime Kamoshida. The story tells of a group of young people and details the lives of them, especially Sorata Kanda the main protagonist who recently got kicked out of his school dorm after picking up a stray cat. Thus, he moves to the Sakurasou dormitory where he meets Mashiro Shiina, a strange girl with a very talented skill.

Thus, let his new life begin!

The story of the series read more
Apr 30, 2013
Caleb_Marvell (All reviews)
So. Finished The Pet Girl of Sakurasou, one of the most anticipated animes for the first quarter of 2013. My thoughts on the first episodes told me nothing but, "Just another echii/rom-com, you've seen this all before". Usually my brain is correct when it comes to watching animes for the first time.

Usually.

My brain was dead wrong when it came to this one. The thing I love about being me is that despite how cliché some romantic comedies are, I always finish them, no matter what. But this time I didn't need to power through it, and the season finale just made me want more. The read more
Apr 16, 2015
MizunoAkane (All reviews)
"Every day was the same. Deep down, I felt bored. I wanted to blame someone for my being bored." - Kanda Sorata

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo follows the life of a high school student, Sorata, being forced to live in a dorm called Sakurasou for the 'special' students of the school after he breaks a rule of the regular dorms. The people living there are all very unique in their own way but seem to be the misfits of society. At first, our main character, Sorata, firmly sets his goal as leaving Sakurasou as soon as possible and does not intend to stay for long. read more
Mar 17, 2015
Reinhath (All reviews)
Sakurasou is an anime that is more than the sum of its parts. If I were to break down Sakurasou into its most basic ingredients, I wouldn't be able to claim that any of those ingredients are particularly brilliant. However, the wonderful hot pot created when all of those ingredients are boiled together is one that is unique and unforgettable.

Story - 9/10

The premise of Sakurasou is generic enough, but the story grows beautifully from its humble beginnings. Containing multiple story arcs, each with enough plot and character to facilitate being an anime alone, Sakurasou almost resembles a battle shonen in structure. Various arcs centered around read more
Nov 28, 2014
Sorrow (All reviews)
The Pet Girl of Sakurasou is my favorite romance-comedy anime from the past couple years, for a couple of reasons. At first glance, the show seems like the usual perverted fan-service-shit everyone’s grown accustom to these days as the first two episodes are filled with a beautiful clueless girl walking about blindly and nakedly around a teenage guys house with lots of ecchi moments (original huh)... However, I decided to not drop the series and I'm glad I didn't, because upon watching more of the show, I found that the story goes on it's own path, away from the generic rom-coms story (pretty well-written for read more
Nov 28, 2014
henderson1147 (All reviews)
Sakurasou no Pet na kanojo is one hell of a ride. And it's definitely a hidden gem among all the generic slice-of-life animes out there and is lies among the best of them in my opinion. Its beginning may turn away many viewers due to its more than revealing shots of the characters, but please try to stick with this anime because you'll be rewarded with an alien-like yet relateable cast, amazing accompaniment of music, and a splash of colors swirling around the screen that's bound to give your eyes orgasms.

Seriously, please stay with us at Sakurasou.

* WARNING *
There are spoilers below and I read more
Mar 21, 2013
Oponn (All reviews)
Preliminary
I started watching this anime fully expecting it to be just another silly light-headed boyish comedy full of gratuitous skin flicks and fanservice. I admit, my hormones made me do it. If you just want a short summary, though, hear me out on only two more statements: This is a story about a kindhearted teenager who cares for, and slowly falls in love with, a savant. And I'm still surprised to say it's the only anime that has managed to pull any tears out of my eyes.

Yes, the show does start out with the immature titillation that we all came for. Yes, the comedic timing read more
Mar 24, 2013
RazorRamona200 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Bueno, how should I put it.......well, I'd probably say that this anime is good at the start of 2013. It is safe to say that this anime ended in episode 23 and it is safe to assume that episode 24 would just a filler since there were spoilers already indicated either from the forums, light novel, manga or from MAL's character info. So, this anime more like intensified of what was about the situation about the people of Sakura Dormitory or more popularly called "Sakurasou." So, without anymore BS, here are my ratings for each of this anime's category.

Good 7:

Story- Thought the anime it read more
Apr 22, 2014
Satire (All reviews)
"Don't judge a book by its cover." Something we are all guilty of doing on a regular basis. Who can blame us? We're human. We are quick to judge, are influenced greatly by first impressions, and will easily discard great potential investments without a second thought. Despite this deficit of reasonable evaluation, humans are also great beings; we are able to look back and realize first impressions can be capable of grievous deception.

Sakurasou no Pet na Kanojo (The Pet Girl of Sakurasou) is not really a romantic series. It is also not really a comedy. Though it has bits of both of these elements, read more
Oct 29, 2014
RayRay-kun (All reviews)
Ah, Sakurasou. This was a show that I watched a long while back and even now, I still love it. It brings back so much memories, happy and sad. And when I think about now, Sakurasou was probably the first anime I ever gave a perfect 10. You might think that since it's a rom-com that it's good by default, right? Well, no. Sakurasou is a romance comedy with touch of slice of life, but it's not like any other. That's not what makes it special. It's characters and compelling, influential storyline is what makes this show amazing. If this is not considered a read more