Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Naruto: Shippuuden Movie 6 - Road to Ninja


Alternative Titles

English: Road to Ninja: Naruto the Movie
Synonyms: Naruto Movie 9
Japanese: ROAD TO NINJA NARUTO THE MOVIE

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 28, 2012
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 49 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.791 (scored by 90,059 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #9232
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #681
Members: 149,906
Favorites: 264

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 21, 2012
Piapia (All reviews)
Singapore decided to show us anime fans some mercy by screening Road to Ninja, Houou no Miko and Tiger & Bunny: The Beginning in the cinemas.

Road to Ninja is a little different from the previous movies. While movies 1 to 5 introduce new characters—protagonists and antagonists—with plots that totally differ from the original story's, RtN is almost like a possible subplot of the main story.

With the exception of some, we get the same characters we see in the main story, but with a strange twist that would greatly appeal to the audience. It’s like a dream come true to some fans. It also keeps your read more
Dec 10, 2013
Vinum_Sabbathi (All reviews)
Have you ever seen a Naruto movie before? Yes? Good.
Do you have the intention of watching this movie thinking it'll be something new? Yes? Alright, I want you to open a new tab and search up in Google, a montage of the "Best scenes" from this movie. Said montage will inevitably contain the much-talked about bath scene involving all the AU characters, a few scenes involving Naruto and his parents (perhaps Sakura if the person is a fan of that pairing), and his fight with the movie's big baddy (whom I won't spoil just in case, although if you don't know by now I doubt read more
May 9, 2013
Newmn84 (All reviews)
*Please note that there will be some spoilers in this review*

If you could have one wish, any wish, would you give up everything just to see it fulfilled?

Once upon a time, I loved Naruto; I would sit down in front of a TV every week and wait for it to come on just so that I could see what happened next. As time progressed, my love for it whittled down to something that I watched merely to get it out of the way. That was my mindset coming in to watch this movie- it was to just get it out of the way. What read more
Nov 22, 2013
Wescos (All reviews)
SPOILERS

This is basically a rant

This movie was horrible. Shitty pacing,timeline doesnt make sense,bad use of characters and I cant emphasize this much. I mean they bring characters like Sasuke back and he does absolutely nothing. They did the alternate rookies even worse as they were hyped so much in the trailers as if they were going to be important but they were good only for a hot tub scene(Neji spying on hinata in a hot tub - weird) and thats it.

This highlight of this movie was to be the relationship between naruto and his parent but even that was depicted poorly. read more
May 8, 2013
Cruzader93 (All reviews)
2012 Film overseen by Masashi Kishimoto
Directed by Hayato Date
6th Shippuuden Movie & 9th Naruto movie overall.
Review from my POV (w/personal biases)
(Sp)oiler Lite.

PROS/What I Liked about the Film:
+ On paper, this seemed to me like a very appealing premise. Main villain constructs new technique to use on Naruto, where he (and Sakura) are put in what essentially is Topsy-Turvy Town/OppositeVille/A "reversed" Konoha so to speak. like a badass "what if?" episode
+ Speaking of reversed everything, I personally thought that some of the humor worked well for some characters (Sp) Energetic Kakashi and "old man" Guy," Don Draper" Sasuke and "Flowers of Evil" Rock Lee, etc.
+ 1 read more
Apr 27, 2013
iHitokage (All reviews)
Well I am gonna make it short.
This was the only (and maybe also the last) film from Naruto world worth watching. Finally no random princess saving, no bunch of new characters and the most important thing, finally a good story with some deep thoughts. Yea no wonder, it is said that Kishimoto personally worked on this one.

I really enjoyed this movie. There was something for everyone. I laughed many times when I saw really weird behavior of some characters we all know very well. Haha in this film, everything is slightly different. There are also cool fights and animation is really good. Not the read more
Jul 30, 2014
Tekku (All reviews)
Story - 7/10
Art - 6/10
Sound - 6/10
Character - 7/10
Enjoyment - 7/10
Overall - 7/10

Hearing about how this movie was supposed to be one of the better (if not the best) Naruto movies because of its interesting plot and nice twist at the end, I decided to give this movie a shot even though it's been a very long time since I've watched any sort of Naruto animation (been sticking to reading to the manga).

Overall, I was entertained by the movie and enjoyed the divergence from the typical Naruto movie formula, at least in the movies I've seen so far (Naruto meets new character X, learns read more
May 8, 2013
ao_no_exo (All reviews)
First of all I’ll try to retain myself from spoiling but I don’t promise that I wont.
WATCH THIS AFTER EPISODE 311, sorry for the caps, but seriously watch this movie after episode 311. It will be so much more fun.

I recommend this movie for everyone who got bored of fillers. It will make an amazing feeling that you are not repetitively stopped from seeing action by fillers. I loved the way the plot was made, the wishes of Naruto and Sakura, the other world and the way it ended proving my ideas of how it will end considering the first hour of read more
Apr 2, 2013
bakuenjincamillo (All reviews)
Before I start this review let me just say, that I stopped caring about this franchise YEARS AGO. Still, the premise of this movie really caught my eye. So I recommend this film to any former fans of the Naruto series like myself.

The selling point of Road to Ninja is that it takes pace in an alternate setting. All the characters have different personalities, Sasuke's still in the village,and Naruto's parents are still alive. In other words, it's the ULTIMATE FAN-FICTION. Where everything you disliked or complained about the series is reset.

However, it suffers from the same problems you'll find in any of the other read more
May 7, 2013
Kami_no_Kage (All reviews)
WARNING: SOME SPOILERS

Okay, this was about as good as I expected, but I was still a little disappointed.

It was cool to see alternate versions of people, I won't deny that. I do wanna say though, that they get about 5-10 minutes of screen time. I don't mind that too much.

Naruto and his parents meeting was about what I expected too. Very emotional, I liked that a lot. Probably my favorite part of the movie.

Then, you get to the action. It didn't seem forced, just, it felt like Kishimoto wrote everything except the fight scenes. Naruto actually said "There's too many of them!" at one point. read more
May 31, 2013
SmilePlease (All reviews)
sorry but as a fan of naruto, ill just give a 10 to every single thing for this movie.
i've watched naruto for years but i got bored after all members of akatsuki died.
but this movie really bring back memories to me, the day i started to watch naruto
well back to the topic
the story is really unexpected and is totally different with other naruto movies, i didn't like some of the naruto movies because the story is always repeating. so ill give the story a 10
for the sound, great timing for the bgm and the ending song is really nice

as for the character, its really read more
Dec 1, 2014
amandasparkles (All reviews)
Oh my. This movie. Before I continue with review, I want to point out that this review may CONTAIN SPOILERS and is solely my own opinion. It might seems biased because I love Naruto in general but I just want others to know how much this movie impacted me.

-Story-
Naruto and his comrades fought the Akatsuki members even the ones they have killed before, abruptly, all the members disappeared not long after the fight, leaving Naruto and his comrades in confusion. They went back to the village and every single one of his comrades bragged about their achievement kicking out the akatsuki out of the read more
Apr 15, 2013
Mcadogg1 (All reviews)
Naruto Movie 6: Road to Ninja follows the journey of Naruto and Sakura to an alternate world created by the diabolical Madara a.k.a. Tobi. Naruto and Sakura are shocked to learn that this world is a complete opposite of their own. The two will have to find out a way to get back to their world in one piece. It should be noted that like most movies and ova's this doesn't follow the original story completely. Although there wasn't all that much action in between, there was surely enough comedy and emotion.
Apr 16, 2013
OtakuKay (All reviews)
*This review will not contain important spoilers.*

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I watched this in Korean dub (English subbed) and the first thing I recommend is that you watch this movie in the same dub you usually watch Naruto with. Whilst the Korean VAs did a fantastic job - especially Kushina's VA, she was amazing - the movie will have more meaning for you if you watch it in the same dub you use to watch Shippuden.

The second thing I recommend is that you have a pretty decent understanding of the Naruto series before you watch this movie. If you're new to Naruto, read more
Sep 28, 2014
Nyren (All reviews)
Before tonight, I had planned to write a review for each Naruto movie in sequential order since I just binge watched all the Shippuden movies for the first time. However, after watching the sixth film, Road to Ninja, I immediately had to write this review. Otherwise, my thoughts on the movie might escape me, as it left me speechless. A movie like this only comes around every once in a blue moon.

Naruto Shippuden The Movie 6: Road to Ninja(Alt. Naruto The Movie 9: Road to Ninja) is the sixth film in the Naruto Shippuden series, and the ninth film overall in the greater Naruto franchise. read more
Feb 21, 2015
aucune (All reviews)
Content (plot/characters):
The story was conceived by Kishimoto himself so I thought it was definitely worth watching. The story takes place in a "genjutsu world" and it's kinda like your typical AU. The personalities of the characters are different in this world and so happen to be this world's Naruto and Sakura's family backgrounds. I personally find the plot to be not too interesting but, like everyone else, I enjoyed the scenes with the AU characters and that tiny glimpse of what happiness might have looked like for Naruto. My favourite part will always be that last scene with Iruka. It made me feel all bubbly read more
May 20, 2013
mrsKWON (All reviews)
And then there’s a 6th………..

About the STORY
It’s so like Naruto series to twist the “normal-kind of storyline” and revive dead characters but this time in a different way. The drama of the movie is one of the most touching parts of its storyline; Naruto’s lack of family. It’s one of the most authentic dramas the series has. A very interesting plot compared to the previous movies where it was just the same old “a mission” kind of plot most particularly the unsuccessful previous two movies.

About the CHARACTERS
The characters made the story really fun and exciting most especially the “Menma” thing. It’s also interesting to see read more
Apr 4, 2017
Duckielover151 (All reviews)
This one is probably my favorite Naruto movie. I've noticed a pattern lately that the Naruto movies tend to center on good ideas... It's just the build-up to those ideas-- or all the surrounding story, really-- tends to be weak. For example, this movie commits one of my anime movie pet peeves where they effectively write the movie out of ever possibly being considered some canon event that could have happened off-screen, basically ending the plot-important bits by saying, 'You know that crazy thing that just happened? We're gonna not tell anyone... Basically pretend it didn't, if we can't find a good way to explain read more
May 26, 2013
Hawk2 (All reviews)
I'll just give a quick summary of the review:

+ Decent plot involving use of personality swaps. The storyline is well written as many of the emotions and feeling could be felt from the characters.

+ Consistent with action as the main series is

+ The alternate personalities added humor to the movie (the interactions amongst each other proved comical at points).

+Some changes in the characters/groups made certain scenes interesting.

-The other chunin from the series (Shikamaru, Choji, Hinata, etc) had very little significance in the story. The story was hyped up about their change in personalities, but had very few scenes involving a majority of read more
Jun 24, 2016
Velek (All reviews)
This is one of the more entertaining naruto movies out there. It`s my third favorite under the Last Naruto Movie and Boruto. It contains the same characters throughout the series but puts a twist on things.

Story:
I can`t give explain much on this without spoiling things on the movie but I will say that it is very interesting and cool to see what happens. If you enjoyed the series at all you are definitely gonna like this.

Art and sound:
I didnt really notice anything different from the anime so stilllooks pretty good but nothing groundbreaking. The sound is pertty much the same as the series as read more