Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

To LOVE-Ru Darkness


Alternative Titles

English: To LOVE Ru Darkness
Synonyms: To LOVE-Ru Trouble Darkness, To-Love-Ru Darkness, ToLoveRu Darkness
Japanese: To LOVEる -とらぶる- ダークネス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2012 to Dec 29, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 121,619 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12842
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #438
Members: 225,808
Favorites: 1,813

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 12, 2014
Sonic-Speed17 (All reviews)
What seem to start off as just a little series that gave people a laugh turned into something new for the series.

For starters, Rito always seem to be put in situations that aren't entirely his fault and by this point everyone knows what happens. However, this season gives somewhat of a plot and cliffhanger for a new season which will lead further into it.

The one I didn't like about the series who Tear who was introduced in episode 10. Now don't get me wrong, it's not that shes a bad character in any way, it's just that you only get to see her read more
Apr 27, 2019
Zolopkflash (All reviews)
I love me some big anime tiddies. every now and then to how should i put this use it as a pallet cleanser for when us western weebs get to caught up in the "artistic merits of japaneese animation" not to say there's any thing wrong with you know more how should i put this shows that are deeper then to love ru darkness, yes this show is shallow its the lowest common denomnator and yet i cant help but admire its simplicity its cliches its idiotic premises its shameless ness but lets get to what the real important part of this anime is

the read more
Jan 2, 2013
rizkikim (All reviews)
the first time i does not feel disappointed with echi anime
of course this anime is recommended for man, there are only rito who take a role as a man character in this season, there no outrageous scene that make you disappointed

story (9/10)
the best story if compared with the other season, no stupid thing that rito do that makes the watcher feel irritated, but what make me feel bored is to many shower scene

art(9/10)
great background, great character design, rito body look more manly in this season different from the the other season where rito look like pitiful man

enjoyment(8/10)
doesn't make to curious or bored, normal but enjoy read more
Dec 6, 2013
Hraktuus (All reviews)
While it was better than Motto because of its plot, I must say Darkness still fell far short of the comedic genius of the first season of To LOVE-Ru. In terms of ecchi, it is better than both prior seasons, and most ecchi anime in general. It still has the problems of simply rehashing the same jokes over and over, but this doesn't bother me as much given there is actually a plot to follow. However, therein lies the disappointment. There is no real finale. Not even really a cliffhanger. It gives the feeling of reading a book halfway through and stopping in the middle read more
Jan 3, 2016
strawberrybubble (All reviews)
Now let me start off with this to love ru darkness is not everybody's cup of tea it's a ecchi harem anime but even though it is that I enjoyed it and here is my review to let you know why.

The anime may be a ecchi harem but the story is actually pretty good. It may not be perfect but it was enough to entertain me to continue watching it for me to figure out what this darkness it that it mentions in the title. Well as I watched more I figured out why SPOILERS- The reason why is because of Yami's dark past, and read more
Oct 27, 2013
TheDumen (All reviews)
This anime is very good for those people who just want to watch random events occur to one particular male character that is surrounded by loads of women who have the hots for him. It does tend to focus more on fan service and doesn't focus on the story as much as other anime. If you like things like harems,school life,and a lot of nudity this is the anime for you.

If you are one of those people who likes anime to have a good,emotional story and likes to get attached to characters then you might not like this anime. I am someone who enjoys a read more
Sep 21, 2018
Empyreanpain (All reviews)
It feels like, compared to To Love-Ru, the OVA, and Motto To Love-Ru, To Love-Ru: Darkness abandoned any sense of shame it had and fully embraced the ecchi scene. I don't think I've ever seen so much ecchi in a series before. There's so much nudity... So much. So, if you hate that kind of thing, this might not be for you. However, personally, I'm not a fan of fanservice either. That being said...

Story: There's actually a pretty good story for To Love-Ru: Darkness. There are two major plots in the works so the series is always interesting.

Art: While To Love-Ru's art was acceptable, To read more
Feb 16, 2018
PixlReality (All reviews)
I'm sure many of you think that this anime is nothing but ecchi-filled bullshit. But beware, as this has *no really* a GOOD story packaged in a lot of ecchi/harem nonsense that tends to sometimes go a bit over the top.

To LOVE-Ru Darkness! An anime following the events of Motto To LOVE-Ru where the main character isn't Rito this time, but Lala's younger sister Momo and/or Golden Darkness. You follow Darkness as they describe more into her background about who she is, and where she comes from. And Momo as she tries to make Rito a legit 'harem' to solve most of his "Problems."

As read more
Jun 8, 2016
Datrium (All reviews)
To LOVE-Ru

If you feel like you ned to be a pervert and want what your wtching to still have comedy and a decent story long, The first season of To LOVE-Ru is one of those that you have to watch and then never watch again because of the genre it is in.
Ecchi... that means all the boobs, fluids and continuous and repeativitive sounds of woman having pleasure because of one virgin that is so thick that even I would of caught on to what these girls (And I was the most dense geek out there)

First of, the storyline basicly starts through the first read more
May 1, 2013
swc1098 (All reviews)
A good ecchi anime...... welp! Hell's balls have officially dropped.

Premises is interesting to say the least... I've watched the original To-LoveRu series as a favor to a friend who stated "Its different this time!" excitedly about this particular show. Quite frankly..... i didn't find To-LoveRu to be that spectacular and don't understand it's initial popularity.

This sequel however, manages to catch my interest immediately with two factors.
One, *Gasp* it has a plot.
Two, The art style is freaking beautiful.

This anime manages to squeeze in a reasonable plot and actually adds drama to a show that i found to be absolutely meaningless and quite read more
Jan 26, 2014
MrEpicMichael (All reviews)
Well heres another anime from my list these 3 days.

I was realy dissapoined in this season man ill just say it this season looks for me like hentai porn i mean in season 1 and 2 it had some perverted scenes like an usual kind of anime for this kind but in this season 3 they went with an idea of if he wants to have every girl that loves him and that they wont be sad he needs to make an harem Momo WTF they didnt need this. I didnt personaly read the manga or an novel if there is but still an harem read more
Nov 8, 2017
SilentChameleon (All reviews)
Story (7/10) - In the first series of To LOVE-Ru we barely see any remnants of a plot. Motto was more about character development than anything else. And now, with the third installment, Darkness, I feel that the beginning of a story that was mostly forgotten, is starting to take shape again. Along with the usual, wacky adventures of this series, of course.

Art (7/10) - Along with Motto, the art in Darkness has improved greatly since the first season.

Sound (6/10) - Thankfully, the intro scenes of the first series are in the distant past, the theme was a bit catchy though. The music this time read more
Aug 4, 2017
Syndicate909 (All reviews)
I finished this and thought: "OH MAN, THAT WAS GOOD!!!"
This anime is a perfect harem and succeeded where the prequel failed in plot development. In short, this may be not just the one of the best anime, but one of the best TV Series of all time.
I like the speed of the plot, and whenever there was filler it was fun fan service where the great 'what if?' scenarios we all dreamed up became reality.
I loved the animation. the animators created some of the most beautiful girls and the most detailed backdrops I have ever seen.
Note to the viewers there is a lot of read more
Jan 20, 2013
DragonFire (All reviews)
Story. While you cant really expect strong plot from harem show, story side is enough to stick together fanservice and ecchi moments. Its hard to call it interesting or intriguing but enough to watch harem show.
Art. Because it's not action-based show, you can't expect to see something innovative from the art point of view. However, characters and background were performed decently.
Sound. You should pay attention to opening and ending of this show. While ending is kinda lighthearted, opening has very intriguing sound.
Characters. If you compare it with previous to Love ru series you can see that focus is shifted toward other characters. These new read more
Jan 1, 2013
EteheralForm (All reviews)
this anime is somewhat confusing for me, the plot little hard to follow
i can't really said is this anime about 'harem plan' or about 'yami'
the chara are pretty good
and there are a ton of ecchi everywhere so for someone who don't like ecchi better to not watch this