Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

To LOVE-Ru Darkness


Alternative Titles

English: To LOVE Ru Darkness
Synonyms: To LOVE-Ru Trouble Darkness, To-Love-Ru Darkness, ToLoveRu Darkness
Japanese: To LOVEる -とらぶる- ダークネス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 6, 2012 to Dec 29, 2012
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Xebec
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.651 (scored by 120,862 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #12762
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #434
Members: 224,244
Favorites: 1,802

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 21, 2012
Rezurrekt (All reviews)
First off, I want to say To LOVE-Ru Darkness is not for everyone.

This show is NOT for people who hate fanservice and/or harems. This show IS for people who love tons of ecchi, harems, and more ecchi. To top it off, To LOVE-Ru Darkness actually has... wait for it... a plot. *Gasp* Really?! Yes, it does. It's not just mindless fanservice (although that's cool too). You should definitely watch this show if ecchi is your thing.

...But you all probably knew that since this is the third season of the To LOVE-Ru series and you've seen the first two seasons (To LOVE-Ru and Motto To LOVE-Ru, read more
Oct 26, 2013
Gonzo-lewd (All reviews)
There can only be one series that would be considered the forefront of a particular genre that currently gives it its own identity or face; that series in question would be To Love Ru. It has had a rough start in its adaptation to the original source material by not providing a coherent narrative to the manga. Eventually it has made a name for itself for being the aforementioned forefront of Ecchi thanks to the later seasons that are somewhat “reboots” in the pure sense of the word reboot. Now comes To Love Ru Darkness, which is a separate manga that continues the story of read more
Dec 31, 2012
The_Pro_At_Stuff (All reviews)
...and the reward for best Ecchi anime of 2012 goes to... To LOVE-Ru Darkness!!!

Those of you who do not like Ecchi/fanservice anime might want to stop reading here. This anime focuses mainly on these two things and will most likely not be for you. Now for those who are in to Ecchi/fanservice, I will tell you why i think To LOVE-Ru Darkness is so great.

To LOVE-Ru Darkness is a sequel to the original To LOVE-Ru series. I highly suggest watching To LOVE-Ru, Motto To LOVE-Ru, and all the OVA's before you watch Darkness. For those who have watched and are familiar with the To read more
Jul 18, 2013
Kynov (All reviews)
To love ru darkness, brings up the new hope about how a harem anime which usually have negative comments can make all that comments gone. A common knowledge to all the anime lover that harem anime is usually is lack in the plot and story, since what makes harem anime interesting is fanservice and all beautiful or moe girl. If you have ever seen The World God Only Knows then maybe you have seen a good example how a harem anime can turn into from fun harem into a serious harem anime (in story aspects).

Back to the To Love Ru darkness , if read more
Dec 31, 2012
Nasty001 (All reviews)
Happy New Year to all of you out there, ok so it's yet to be a new year here in Mexico but in a few moment from now it will be, so I'm preparing my little friend a Glock 9, yes here in some dark recess of Tijuana Mexico when we say we celebrate the New Year with a bang, we really do mean with a BANG!!! But enough of that, so let get down to business, so what we have here is a sequel from the season 2 of the parent anime "To Love Ru," except this has more to do with Momo's plan read more
Nov 12, 2012
LawlumBawlum (All reviews)
Preliminary
There is action in this 3rd season in 2 kinds of ways ;)

This 3rd season is the alot better than the other seasons were, in that it actually has a story going and that there is action in it. Some parts are intense and some parts are pretty funny

I think they might make another season after this, but maybe the OVA will wrap it up. This season is mostly about Momo, Yami, Rito, and new girl Mea (she reason this season is intense) Lala barely as a role at all this season so far.
Dec 31, 2012
Growler (All reviews)
So I've watched the whole series and I must say if you are a fan of echi/harem stuff then this IS the perfect anime for you.The course of action is quite hilarious as the plot advances and the characters develop around the protagonist. I had hoped for the action to circle around Rito and the three princesses,if you have seen the series you know what I mean,but it still enjoying to watch. I am still hoping to see the day when Rito fulfills his destiny and Momo's dreams come to reality, wouldn't that be quite a scene? All in all To LOVE-Ru is a series read more
Oct 31, 2012
blakedueson (All reviews)
Preliminary
So far To LOVE-Ru Darkness seems just fine to me. But that could be because I love ecchi and harem anime. The story although has become more compelling. Fan-service is huge in this anime, and when I say huge I mean the freaking empire state building. But again I love ecchi so that's a plus for me. Personally I like the sound track to the point where I would actually buy the CD. The characters don't change much from the last season, although you are introduced to some new characters. Rito is again constantly falling on girls in silly ways. But there was something about read more
Jul 26, 2013
Simonian (All reviews)
To Love-Ru Darkness is the third installment in 'To Love-Ru' series and as the previous two it tries to overload the viewer's reward system in the brain by flooding the screen with symmetrical breasts, symmetrical butts... and more breasts. Darkness rises above all other ecchi series so high that it's at the top of the ecchi grading scale. A story about a mushroom that grows up in a humid forest would get 0% whereas Darkness would be the polar opposite with 100% ecchiness present. Let me put it this way, if you put any more ecchi into an anime series the earth would collapse past read more
Apr 8, 2015
DanDan_Mushi (All reviews)
To love ru darkness is a direct sequel, but unlike it's pequel, it's focus more on the characters and the story.While some might say that the "harem plan" is stupid, it gives rito a chance to develop and give screen time to the girls who didn't get as much as before.

The story start as simple but very quickley we can see that there is a more "mature" tone to darkness than before-it's tries to bring an actual plotline, while focusing mainly about yami and her past, thus creating a very interesting plot. Although the shame is, that rito doesn't really feels like "main character" anymore, read more
Oct 27, 2014
Coolingheaded (All reviews)
I wouldn't usually write a review for an ecchi/hentai/harem/porn/incest/whydon'tyoujustjackoffalready?-anime, but people are being driven crazy by this thing, it's already got a score of 7.99(at least when I wrote this) and the OVA basically is what they don't get to jack off to--I mean watch in the regular To Love Ru Darkness season, I mean, I get it, the show is good at getting your dick hard, good, and it can also make you have some giggles and good fun on the process? Great! But is it really a 10/10 show? No, it isn't.

And if there is anyone who dares to say that is the read more
Mar 5, 2015
cboyes7 (All reviews)
Preliminary
While I was disenchanted with the first season since it was just a jumble of events, the past two seasons in the series have been steadily getting better. With Motto running true to the Manga and kind of having some plot flow it still fell a little short in storytelling. Darkness solved those errors and the only reason I gave it a 9 is because I am able to follow the sequence of events throughout this season without asking myself, "Where did this come from?" or "Why is this even included?".

I am a fan of the fanservice and harem genre but I was lost read more
Sep 9, 2015
_Arcadia0 (All reviews)
OVA Impressions at the end of this review.

To LOVE-Ru Darkness

Wow…. I mean…. Wooooow….. or more like… YESSSSSSS!!!!!! And AHHHHHHHHHH HOLY CRAAAAAP WHHHHAAAAAA!!!! And then OH MY GAOOOOOO OH MY GAAUUUUUUUUUUU!!!!!

………… That’s the best way to explain To LOVE-Ru Darkness; Season 3 of the To LOVE-Ru series, it once again changes the formula and oh man, is it good. After watching LOVE-Ru and Motto, I was rather curious on how Darkness would continue the series; not saying that Motto ends in a way where you can stop (Not at all), but rather, it’d get a little boring seeing Yuuki Rito continue to try and confess read more
Jan 26, 2019
TGK94 (All reviews)
* * * THIS REVIEW COVERS BOTH DARKNESS AND DARKNESS 2ND * * *

The road to this point has been long and arduous. To LOVE-Ru’s first season was, by all accounts, total and complete dreck. The OVAs were mediocre at best. Motto was passable. But now—but now—after wading through 46 episodes of mostly vacuous blandness, it is time for something a little different. It is time for some honest to God, quality anime. Yes, to get straight to the point, To LOVE-Ru Darkness is good. And this is not some kind of run-of-the-mill goodness, no, this is genuine article high-quality content.

But wait, before I get read more
Jan 18, 2019
Senayaa (All reviews)
so i watched to love ru years ago when i dont really pay attention to the story and only been there for the ecchi. and now i decided to rewatch it again due to curiosity and of course, ecchi and welp i guess i know what i love this show so much back then.
welp the first to love ru maybe a bit boring and the art isnt that good but seeing the improvement from the first till now, damn im glad i endured the lack of animation back then (welp its from 2008 so i guess i cant complain).

i was thinking of making a read more
Apr 6, 2018
OVERPOWERED99 (All reviews)
STORY - 8
ART - 8
SOUND - 8
CHARACTER - 9
ENJOYMENT - 9

In this never-ending growth of enjoyable fanservice, To LOVE-Ru Darkness is the instalment in which the combination of both story and mindless fun takes form in a good way. What comes out of that is quite an alluring fractal I'd say. A phenomena that began progressing one day in the household of the once ordinary Rito.

Ever since girls from outer space (and Earth) started appearing all around the main boy, any chance of serenity and calmness was quickly trashed away. Poof! Never to be seen again. But it was not all in vain as it read more
Jun 6, 2013
Harem-kun (All reviews)
To LOVE-ru is not for everyone since this is one of the most ecchi anime in the ecchi world. It consistently have scenes which involves a blob of shadow blocking your view due the censorship.

So the story deserves a 8, since it's pretty good but not very meaningful in terms of actual plot like most other love/romance harems. But who cares, because everybody that watches to LOVE-ru is there for the ecchi scenes.

Art is a perfect 10. They improves a lot compared to the first season. The linings of characters and the environment is just overall better than previous to read more
Apr 24, 2014
Kevstuf (All reviews)
There's no doubt that this one was the best so far in the To Love-Ru series, but I feel extremely conflicted about multiple aspects of this show. There were some awesome things that they did, but also a lot that I really despised.

Story: 7/10
Unlike the first two series which followed a mini-ep format, this one actually does have an extended plot which is developed throughout all 12 episodes. There are some branch-offs here and there, but they actually contribute to plot movement or character development, so there's no wasted episodes here. This time we actually have a central conflict, but the comedic aspect is retained read more
Aug 12, 2014
Sonic-Speed17 (All reviews)
What seem to start off as just a little series that gave people a laugh turned into something new for the series.

For starters, Rito always seem to be put in situations that aren't entirely his fault and by this point everyone knows what happens. However, this season gives somewhat of a plot and cliffhanger for a new season which will lead further into it.

The one I didn't like about the series who Tear who was introduced in episode 10. Now don't get me wrong, it's not that shes a bad character in any way, it's just that you only get to see her read more
Jul 8, 2014
samkhoa (All reviews)
To LOVE-Ru Darkness is another harem/ecchi anime that is of course, not for everyone. It's a sequel to the previous Motto To Love-Ru and To Love-Ru.

- Story:

The plot of this sequel is very expected, like most other anime. The author(s) did not focus on trying to create an extraordinary story, but instead focus more on the art.

- Art:

This is why people mainly watch To Love-Ru Darkness and its prequels, the art and of course, the fan services. As I said in the "Story" section, the author(s) focused on this category. The art was perceived very read more