Psycho-Pass
Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 


Alternative Titles

English: Psycho-Pass
Synonyms: Psychopath
Japanese: サイコパス

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 22
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 12, 2012 to Mar 22, 2013
Premiered: Fall 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 00:45 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Production I.G
Source: Original
Genres: ActionAction, Sci-FiSci-Fi, PolicePolice, PsychologicalPsychological
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 8.411 (scored by 483314483,314 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #1492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #36
Members: 996,170
Favorites: 29,817

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Oct 26, 2014
noamsky (All reviews)
The series is set in a not so distant future. In a state which can definitely be seen as a satire of a modern utopia. What maintains the peace is a system where you can instantaneously measure an individual’s state of mind. If the person turns out to be emotionally unstable, the unit will immediately be apprehended. If it turns out the individual is suffering a too grave of a mental instability and therefore be out of reach salvaging, the system will instead discard the threat.

It goes without saying this is a society where humanistic ideals are by long time buried deep into the ground read more
Mar 25, 2013
RyugaHellsing (All reviews)
Once in a while, there comes along an anime that claims to go against the industry's trend. An anime that claims to be unique in a time when the market is filled mostly with indistinguishable moe clones and so on. This is a very good marketing strategy for Psycho Pass if you ask me, especially given the gorgeous artwork and an exciting concept. In addition to this, it was touted as the 'next GITS'. Needless to say, I picked this up with VERY HIGH expectations. expectations which were about to come crashing down faster than you could say 'psychopath'.


Let me commence the review read more
Nov 3, 2015
TheBrainintheJar (All reviews)
Criminals who babble philosophically will always be present in fiction. It’s an acknowledgement that mere sadism isn’t enough. Even if a person is a sadist, there is more going on than plain cruelty there. If we can answer what makes a man start fires, maybe we won’t need fire extinguishers. Too often these stories are too fascinated with the idea of the underdog taking revenge at society. He may lose, but awareness that he’s wrong doesn’t make it any less of an escapist fantasy.

The person’s actions should follow his worldview. If they contradict that, then this contradiction must be addressed. People are messy so of read more
Mar 27, 2013
Tanshaydar (All reviews)
Urobuchi Gen broke my heart with Saya no Uta and make me addicted to his works. I have come to know him more, and I can say that he is a writer full of hatred.
And I can say that, Psycho-Pass is the most humane story of Urobuchi Gen.

Taking place in a not far future, a dystopian place, Psycho-Pass is a great criticism to human nature itself, both as individuals and community. It is interesting to see that these matters were not put in a subtle way, but a more direct way. It's so unlike Urobuchi Gen, but that is one of the few reasons to read more
May 30, 2013
Baconzombie (All reviews)
Totally forgot I had this review.
Please don’t break out the pitchforks for not giving it a 10 and calling it the best thing since sliced bread either.

Story: (7.5/10)
Set approximately a century in the future, Tsunemori Akane is a rookie inspector for the MWPSB, the equivalent of Japan’s police force. Governed under a mysterious entity called the Sibyl System, which essentially quantifies your quality as a person, the world is set up using a seemingly typical dystopian model. Based on the background information given, it is implied that the Sibyl System is only present within Japan. The series does a rather good job explaining read more
Feb 15, 2015
_nervure (All reviews)
Psycho-Pass has the interesting premise of the "machine-operated" Sibyll system as the main form of governance in a seemingly utopian world (which very quickly reveals itself to be the opposite). This lends the story a sense of blurring between good and evil-- I often found myself sympathizing with the antagonist's causes. However, character development in terms of both depth and pacing was lacking. The relationship between the protagonists Akane & Kougami develop far too quickly for Kougami's portrayal as a stoic man who keeps to himself. Within two episodes, they seem to already reach a deep bond without having much of a lead-up to it. read more
Apr 4, 2014
Link_of_Hyrule (All reviews)
**SPOILER FREE REVIEW**

No matter where you live, who you are, or what your perspective on life is, it's a pretty irrefutable fact that planet Earth is filled to the brim with misery and despair. Three billion people, nearly half of the entire world, live on just $2.50 per day in terrible poverty; the same poverty that kills over 22,000 children every single day. Over a billion people entered the 21st century without knowing how to read or write their own name. Every 30 seconds, someone in the world will die because they don't have access to basic sanitation, not even clean water. It's estimated that read more
Apr 23, 2014
LordAura (All reviews)
"In the future, the men and women of the Public Safety Bureau's Criminal Investigation Division apprehend or kill those who have a chance to ruin human society based on their Psycho-pass and these are their stories."

Where do I begin with this show? While I did enjoy it immensely I have to say it suffered from some issues that I'll put in the "criticisms" section. There will be some spoilers in there so be prepared. With that out of the way, lets get on with the rest of the spoiler free review!

Story (8) - The story as stated in the first sentence follows read more
Feb 12, 2014
CapitalistOtter (All reviews)
"There's a point, far out there when the structures fail you, and the rules aren't weapons anymore, they're... shackles letting the bad guy get ahead. One day... you may face such a moment of crisis. And in that moment, I hope you have a friend like I did, to plunge their hands into the filth so that you can keep yours clean!" - Jim Gordon, The Dark Knight Rises

From a very young age, I've always been fascinated with police procedural television series, the most notable ones being Law and Order and its spin-off Law and Order: Special Victims Unit. Of the two, I only fully read more
Apr 21, 2019
Spindleglass (All reviews)
I was torn between giving Psycho-Pass a 5 or a 6 and finally settled on a low 6.
Let's start with the thing that really detractred from my enjoyment: the art style. I can't stress enough how bland and dull the setting is, it is all washed out colours with grey being the one that stands out the most.

Now, I understand you must be thinking: the art? really? That's one of the worst reasons to judge so harshly a show! But you haven't considered how frequently this anime relies on the classic "tell but not show." So while we are gifted with endless psychological ramblings read more
Feb 7, 2013
Chronologist (All reviews)
Preliminary
Psycho-Pass is a sci-fi psychological thriller set in a dystopian future where psychological scans determine whether someone is fit to be a member of society. The show draws most of its inspiration from the works of Philip K. Dick, mainly Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep (which was adapted into Blade Runner) and The Minority Report (again, adapted into a film). The show merges pulse-pounding action sequences with psychological horror, while delving perhaps a little to deep into the criminal mind. It's smart, it's beautiful, and it'll leave you wanting more.


To fully understand the story, you need a bit of context with this world. Decades read more
Dec 4, 2013
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Psycho Pass is a dystopian cyberpunk series created by Production I.G and written by Urobuchi Gen who you may know as the writer of Fate/Zero and Puella Magi Madoka Magica. Being overly optimistic isn't one of my failings, but I have to admit that that little fact does give me hope for this one. Let's check it out.

Our story takes place in a futuristic Japan where everything is run by the Sybil system. The system can check the career you're best suited for and scan your brain to determine how likely you are to commit crimes. This has resulted in a society in which read more
May 16, 2015
V4mpyr (All reviews)
Here's my quick review of Psycho Pass.

Do you ever watch an anime and after the last episode is done you don't know what to do next with your life? Psycho Pass is one of those animes, so long story short, should you watch it? Yes. Most definitely YES.

To be honest it's been a while since an anime has roped me in enough to leave me with a uncontrollable urge to watch the next episode despite being 3am in the morning and having work the next day. Oh and you can quit comparing this to Death Note, besides both shows having anti-heroes, there is read more
Sep 8, 2014
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

What happens when you create a series largely based on Philip K. Dick's classic dystopian masterpiece Minority Report and have Urobuchi at the helm? Actually, a really kickass anime! If you are currently going through mystery show withdrawal after finishing HBO's True Detective or BBC's Sherlock and need more to get your fix, Psycho Pass has got you covered!

Story: 10/10

The story takes place in a dystopian future where a program called the Sibyl system makes all of your decisions for you including your job, what you are going to eat, and pretty much everything else. People don't have any stress because they never have to read more
May 23, 2015
Hatul (All reviews)
Psycho Pass is another dark sci-fi - cyberpunk title from Production IG which became beloved by many since it came out and for good reason.. That reason being that we don't get enough cyberpunk titles in anime so I guess beggars can't be choosers.

I don't think too highly of this series, but hopefully fans will understand where I'm coming from. For a change, this review will be separated in to "Positive" and "Negative" parts since I think that's the best way to approach it.

There's gonna be some very subtle spoilers, but I'll try my best to keep them minimal. I'm certainly not spoiling anything read more
Sep 24, 2016
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
The Urobutcher and Naoyoshi Siotani were both asked by Katsuyuki Motohiro to work with him and Production I.G to make a gritty, futuristic, police cyber-noir with ideological clashes and allusions to beloved books that help strengthen the clashes amidst bloodshed and badassery.

It had me at hello.

*SPOILERS FOR PSYCHO-PASS. *

If you consider yourself saavy about anime nowadays, then there's no doubt that you've encountered a work by Gen Urobuchi, and probably enjoyed it. It is no secret to any decent anime critic that he has made some rather dark works that have a lot of intrigue and badassery. It's also no secret that this show read more
Jan 9, 2013
beast_regards (All reviews)
Preliminary
(NOTE: number of viewed episodes 11 from 22, show isn't finished yet)

*

Psycho-pass is, or it is at least trying to be another Ghost in the Shell. Both stories were set in the futuristic setting focused on special police force, both tried to raise a philosophical and moral questions, both shows grim/dark atmosphere of the near future. (or maybe not so near one)

Ghost in the Shell focused on borderlines of humanity in the world where technology allowed human and machine to became one.

Psycho-pass focuses on whatever is morally right to isolate people, separate or eliminate people haven't committed any crimes because of their potential to do read more
Jan 18, 2019
psyart (All reviews)
what is justice? what is the line that separates the 'good' & the 'bad'? what is truth, how much impact does it put on a society, and how does one deal with it? do you take it upon yourself to deal with it as a prisoner of a system that governs the world or do you stray off the 'intended' path & take a matter into your own hands, like a lone wolf, even though there are consequences that follow? common questions presented by a series that might be just as common.

psycho-pass is your run-of-the-mill dark-themed series but with a futuristic twist. it's not a read more
Dec 29, 2012
slowrain (All reviews)
Preliminary
[IN A NUTSHELL] Psycho-Pass offers a dark and intense crime-fighting storyline, set in a futuristic city with questionable technology, with overarching philosophical banter amongst pretty bishonen characters on what's right and wrong, on whether it's okay for supercomputers judge what it means to be human and so forth, all encased in wonderful artwork and semi-trance music.

STORY (7): The premise of the story is BOTH the strength and weakness of this anime. The idea of 'stopping crime before it happens' has already been explored and thoroughly loved/worshipped in Philip K. Dick's "Minority Report." Outdoing it would be like "Hunger Games" trying to outdo "Battle Royale." read more
Mar 6, 2015
Visceras (All reviews)
Psycho-pass .. well .. one sentence to resume this anime : Too much time wasted.


Think about it .. it's 24 eps for developing a simple plan that could be told in 8 eps instead of the 24 eps .. why did this happen? Because they "fill in" with useless talks and useless episodes (like the first 8 episodes) and so they manage to make it bigger. It worked out? NO !

The fist episode: Ah the plot is nice, i want to see more.

After 7 eps: Oh come on but this never ends? I'm tired of it

After 18 eps: Well at least read more