Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Shin Hokuto no Ken


Alternative Titles

English: New Fist of the North Star
Japanese: 新・北斗の拳

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jul 24, 2003 to May 28, 2004
Studios: A.C.G.T.
Source: Unknown
Duration: 58 min. per ep.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 7.021 (scored by 4,342 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #37092
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4227
Members: 9,944
Favorites: 13

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 27, 2009
FALLEN101 (All reviews)
Okay, I know a lot of people out there think that Fist of the North Star is a fantastic series with tons of ultra-violence in it. Well, at least that's what some people told me about it however, after this little run-in I have to say, I'm never going to be watching any series like this again.

Story: Well, the story simply put is bad, close to unwatchable. It's set in a post-apocalyptic world in which people beat the living crap out of each other with martial arts. Our hero, Kenshiro, is the greatest martial artist on the block because he knows read more
May 16, 2010
Torii-chan (All reviews)
Fist of the North Star, one of the first series/movies I'd ever seen. Basically story is post-apocalyptic with martial arts being the main defense/offense for all rogue citizens. There are certain martial artists that practice Hokuto style which is the "creme of the crop" the type of martial arts that can debilitate, kill or heal others with a single touch. A wandering traveler, Kenishiro meets and decides to help save a country from a false leader.

Story: 8/10- it's a classic, straight up action martial arts anime with a simple to follow story line and lots of violence.

Art: 9/10- A great thing about OVAs is read more
Jul 1, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Throughout the years, when long time anime fans in my group would get together with intentions on discussing some of the most brutal, and violent anime titles to ever exist. Fist of the North Star aka Hokuto No Ken was one of the titles that would always come up. The series and movies were the very definition of gratuitous violence. The New Fist of the North Star continues to follow that bloody path packing a little more depth than the original movie. There is a small amount of substance to be found, and the subject it does hit on can be frightening.

The series does have read more
Jun 26, 2016
DOWA (All reviews)
*sigh*
I always want a hokuto no ken remake CAN YOU IMAGINE HOKUTO NO KEN FIGHTS WITH MODERN ANIMATION!!!!!??????
and the most close for this is Shin Hokuto no Ken
starting overview:
ART&SOUND:
The animations most of the time is good the battles are very good the soundtrack is not great like original but is good. good in this apart they care about the remake. is fun to watch .
STORY&CHARACTERS:
THE ORIGINAL HAS MORE THAN 60 EPISODES THIS ARE 3
yes, the passing is fast they only take important arcs of the original but this important arcs have a good time read more
Jun 26, 2010
Danno (All reviews)
Preliminary
If you're reading this before watching, skip the intro theme when you do watch it. There's pretty much no animation in it. Not worth the few minutes it takes.

The plot is the same as any of the plots used throughout Hokuto no Ken. Bad guys enslave innocent villagers, innocent villagers try to find peace and get slaughtered, Kenshiro avenges them by painting the walls with the innards of the baddies. I watched all the episodes in the original series, and it really was just that over and over again, just with a new, more powerful main villain to replace the last.

I think the only read more
Apr 6, 2017
computerman (All reviews)
In Russian.
Hokuto no Ken является одним из первых(если не первым) "пафосных" тайтлов, сюжет там был не важен, важны были персонажи, то как они себя ведут, и под какую музыку, они себя ведут. В итоге эмоции в конце одолевали больше чем какой-нибудь Kanon, или Elfen Lied. Что же мы видим тут:
• Сэю, главный сэю упущен, да они взяли хорошего сэю, но он вообще не подходит Кену.
• Сюжет, создатели абсолютно забили на все что мог Кенширо в конце второго сезона, да даже в середине первого.
• Музыка, какой то невнятный метал, который как бы ни идет Hokuto no Ken
• Плохое 3д, если не умели в него, так зачем пихать.
В итоге это хуже read more
Jul 10, 2017
DesolatePsyche (All reviews)
First things first. My "reviews" system is explained on a blog entry. Which can be found through my profile.

------

OKAY THEN. I accidentally refreshed the bloody page while writing this review, so here it goes again.

First thing I have to mention that this Hokuto No Ken is essentially very different one. Rather than sequel, imagine it as alternative universe one. It's has very grim, depressive, dark and very heavy atmosphere around this tine. In a sense similar to another anime called "Zettai Karen Children" which also has dark spin-off. So rather comparing it to main series I'll have to review it as standalone.

Before I'm going to read more
Apr 28, 2017
TheManC (All reviews)
Keshiro is for me the Ares of that post-apocalyptic world. He is a self-righteous individual who plays the role of a vigilante that punishes those that are evil. Why do I compare him to a God? Because once you have challenged his fist and if you have angered him then your fate is sealed. And that fate can only be death. Aside from Kenshiro and his main enemies, the plot is not that interesting and although gore, violence, and bloodshed can be seen throughout these three episodes, nudity or sexual abuse was left out. Even the scene in which Sarah loses her virginity is left read more