Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Cyber City Oedo 808


Alternative Titles

English: Cyber City
Japanese: CYBER CITY OEDO 808 (サイバーシティ オーエド ハチマルハチ)

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 3
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jun 21, 1990 to Oct 4, 1991
Producers: Japan Home Video
Licensors: Central Park Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Original
Duration: 45 min. per ep.
Rating: R - 17+ (violence & profanity)

Statistics

Score: 7.231 (scored by 6,519 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #28112
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #3525
Members: 15,473
Favorites: 121

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Apr 17, 2007
davers (All reviews)
The year is 2808 AD, and major technological advances have enabled humanity not only to travel to work in self-driven hovercars, but also to seal off the planet's most dangerous criminals in a maximum security penitentiary which differs from our contemporary 21st century versions in just one respect: it's in space.

Thus, along with a rocking guitar riff to introduce the absurd acronym title ("Oriental Electric Darwinism Oasis 808", apparently), we are introduced to our three protagonist anti-heros: Sengoku, a hardened criminal who must have decided at an early age to commit as many crimes as humanly possible, currently serving a sentence of 375 years for read more
Sep 14, 2016
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

The German phrase Zeitgeist translates to "spirit of the age". This anime perfectly captures the zeitgeist of the 1980s even better than Fist of the North Star...despite the fact that Oedo was actually released in the 1990s and was laughably dated upon arrival. Despite how goofy it often gets, Oedo is freaking awesome and well worth checking out!

Background:

The 1980s were a truly bizarre decade in terms of film. The year 1980 saw the release of Heaven's Gate, one of the most boring, pretentious, shitty art films ever made. It bombed so hard it is legendary to this day! At the same time, the wildly popular read more
Dec 1, 2015
herbeey (All reviews)
Great 80s animation (yes it's 90s, but is very 80s)! Full on over the top cool cyberpunk action! Enjoyable swearing! Highly highly trashy! Enjoyable heavy rock soundtrack! Inventive architecture! Over the top dubbing! Stuffed full of attitude and one-liners! Excellent yet laughably bad!

If that sounds amazing, go watch now and have fun. Seriously, you can work out if this is for you from what I've just said. This is not a complicated anime. Go watch the UK dub now if it appeals.

3 cyber criminals in space prison (they literally call it that) are offered the chance to do dangerous police jobs in exchange for their read more
Jan 17, 2011
EzmierTheSwift (All reviews)
When bad guys are forced to do good in a futuristic city, fighting their fellow criminals, cybernetic creations, and even synthetic immortals, you get Cyber City.

Lets start with the plot. The idea is simple, three cyber criminals who have done more then a lifetimes worth of crimes, are given a chance to reduce their sentence and get a little fresh air. For every criminal they catch, their sentence is reduced, disobey, be blown to smithereens. Each episode follows a story centered around one of the three criminals turned cop and gives you a little insight into each one of them. Really, the story isn't very read more
Jul 1, 2015
Luquillo (All reviews)
Cyber City Oedo 808 is another one of those great ideas that ended up being completely wasted. I remember coming into this one with very high hopes only because it was directed by Yoshiaki Kawajiri. The mastermind behind well known classics such as Ninja Scroll and Vampire Hunter D: Bloodlust. My fascination increased once I learned this was one of his earlier works, because that was when he was really creative. Anyone remembers Neo Tokyo?

Right from the very beginning, I was immediately hooked to the style of the series. The series began with an introduction to the three main characters named Gogol, Bentan, and Sengoku. read more
Jun 1, 2013
Cbubbles (All reviews)
I went into this expecting delightfully generic, violent 80s stuff like Devil Man or Angel Cop, but unfortunately with overly long, uneventful hour-long episodes and mostly lazy animation, it falls on the decidedly "un-delightful" side of generic. The hilariously bad dub can make it watchable, though. "Get lost. You wouldn't know a goddamn vampire if one jumped up and bit you on the end of your fuckin' dick. So just get off my back."
Sep 11, 2019
Typ055 (All reviews)
Ima keep this short. In fact, so short that this paragraph is just filler to reach the minimum amount of words required. Can I start yet? Ok.

Cyber City is amazing, but I suggest you dont go in with absurdly high expectations thinking the entire thing is the best Cyberpunk anime ever made. Let me explain.

Each episode is dedicated to one character and out of the three episodes 1 is good, the other is peak cyberpunk masterpiece and the other is kind of stupid and out of place.

The first episode is good standard cyberpunk action. I don't have much to say about it.

The second episode, o read more
Jan 17, 2011
Arrvilja (All reviews)
Actually, I did not have any expectations about this anime for I just decided to get through with all the things I have before stuffing my hard drive with another portion of titles... so, here are the impressions.

Story. It is extremely simple. I would even say - average. There's nothing special about the situation when good guys fight bad guys (a typical action movie). The point is, these good guys themselves were bad guys not long ago. It is placed into cyberpunk setting, which now happens to be old-fashioned (take the usage of floppy disks, for ex.). However, some day the OVA used to be read more
May 16, 2012
barcaman101 (All reviews)
Cyber City Oedo 808 is one of those anime that it is almost impossible for anyone to hate,its just awesome.three of the worst prisoners have been been given life sentences in space prison.They have been made on offer that if they decide to work for the state they will get a small portion of their sentences reduce for each assignment that they undertake.sengoku,benson and gogle reluctantly agree and become members of the Cyber Police .They have been given explosive collars around their neck in case they should ever get out of line.

What I love about this ova was how each of the main read more
Jan 22, 2013
Shura-shurato (All reviews)
I,ve seen it first time on videotape, and fast became and fav because it was HANDDRAWN and a good dark cyberpunk story, and i like oldskool cyberpunk anime a lot. This ova is split in 3 parts, each tell a story of a member and their mission, wich all 3 are done very well i think. the animation is more proffesional from that time , wich really integrates into their personal story´s and make´s it flawless. Violent as hell, wich i like but sometimes its a bit slow, good background animation and it seems nearly everything from that time is done very well, but hey read more
Jan 29, 2019
Ultra_Fine_Point (All reviews)
Saw this one on DVD WAAAY back in the late '90's. A truly atrocious English dub mixed with Kawajiri's direction and animated by MADHOUSE -- WHAT IS NOT TO LOVE? If you are on a Kawajiri binge or want to see some seedier, B-level anime this is a good place to start or finish, what have you.

A perfect little gritty trilogy of sorts, comparable to Gunsmith Cats. Unlike Cats, though, this is more of an anthology where each main protagonist gets their own 15 minutes to shine and hop in and out of each other's stories.

Some really great future neo-noir (ala Blade Runner) aesthetics complement read more
Nov 23, 2018
Zio_ponte (All reviews)
Cyber City Oedo 808 is not one of the anime i'd consider if i had to list the best works of Cyberpunk genre, neither i'd recommend it to someone who wants to watch some serious Cyberpunk stuff for the first time; the reason? Because from the point of view of someone who is unfamiliar with it this anime could result cheesy and goofy due to its incredibly exalted 80's extravagant fashioned aesthetics heavily influenced by Glam Rock and punk fashion (moreover this anime was already a bit outmoded at the time of its release in 1990, when the hyper colored punk was read more
Jan 14, 2018
Frankcoco (All reviews)
In the future we have a police force of the country of Japan that decides to fight crime with using criminals with life long sentences with the promise they get their sentence reduced if they do good jobs. If they don't the bombs attached to them will explode and kill them. You can label this anime as being inspired or ripping off the comic Suicide Squad or the movie Escape from New York. Yet this OVA take those story ideas and somehow make a fun, yet stupid entertaining series.

Each episode is a standalone story that focuses on one of the criminals racing against the clock read more
Sep 4, 2017
zombie_pegasus (All reviews)
This anime lives, eats, and breaths GAR. The main characters are criminals, which completely sets it up well, and the screens fills with blood frequently, but not in poor taste.

The story is about criminals who are given shorter sentences if they take care of other dangerous criminals, an offer they gladly accept yet wish they didn’t have to. I personally think it’s a good premise and although it doesn’t do too much with it considering the anime’s short length I still consider it to be a good story.

The art is very 90s and you can take that how you will. They know how to use read more
Jul 14, 2014
Avs (All reviews)
Despite a few plot holes, this story about the far future 2700s cyber criminals forced to become cyber police to reduce their sentences, provides great entertainment value for its one track character archetypes and episodic storyline.

Of the 3 OVAs you'll watch, each one tells the story of one of 3 protagonists, hardened criminals with 300+ year sentences. They are forced into solving other A class criminal crimes in order to reduce their sentence as otherwise the police will detonate their explosive neck collars. You will explore the psych, past, and present lives of each three in quick sequences as they often work together to read more