Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hikaru no Go


Alternative Titles

English: Hikaru no Go
Synonyms: Hikaru's Go
Japanese: ヒカルの碁

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 75
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 10, 2001 to Mar 26, 2003
Premiered: Fall 2001
Broadcast: Unknown
Producers: TV Tokyo, Dentsu, Dream Force
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.161 (scored by 43,878 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #3772
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1111
Members: 95,301
Favorites: 1,972

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 19, 2007
Stormy_77 (All reviews)
How on earth could anyone make a 75 episode anime about a school kid playing a 3000 year old board game? Surely there must be a lot of filler episodes. Those were my initial thoughts but Hikaru No Go had a great rating on Animenfo and I decided to start watching it.

The first thing to do is to collect the entire series of 75 episodes, the special and the Journey to Hokuta Cup before you start. One of the most amazing things about Hikaru No Go is it's ability to capture the viewer from the get go, once you start watching, it's like you don't read more
Aug 22, 2009
TheLlama (All reviews)
Hikaru no Go is, in essence, an anime about the world of Go; about the game, the friendships and rivalries that arise in this world, the challenges, obstacles and feelings. This is a lot to actually live up to, and Hikaru no Go most certainly fills its role well.

It starts out very simle, in a way you've probably seen before. The main character, Shindou Hikaru, encounters a paranormal apparition by coincidence while stumbling around in his shed, and only he can see it. Said apparition is, in fact, the ghost of a skilled Go player from the past, Fujiwara no Sai. He really wants to read more
Oct 6, 2014
betsuniisan (All reviews)
This is somewhat of an anomaly. If you had told me that one of my favorite series was going to be a show about people playing go, I would've laughed and told you that you clearly don't know me. Yet, here it is.

Admittedly it's been a few years since I watched Hikaru. Working in the time to rewatch a 75 episode series isn't feasible when there's other anime to watch out there. However, that doesn't matter much as I will explain below.

Let's talk about the story first:

I rated Hikaru no Go an 8 on story because I felt like while it's exceptional, the story is read more
Dec 24, 2006
Hiromi (All reviews)
An anime about a grade school boy playing a board game. Sounds intense, huh? *cough*

That's what I thought when I first heard about Hikaru no Go. But how about something like this: A young boy is introduced to a board game unchanged through nearly three millenia by the spirit of a top player still yearning to complete what is called the "Hand of God." But then again, everything sounds good when you throw in big words.

Hikaru no Go is essencially the story of Shindou Hikaru as he is inhabited by Fujiwara no Sai - a genius go player from the Heian Period. As Hikaru is read more
Jan 6, 2009
VoDKa (All reviews)
I will begin by saying that do not let the length of this anime turn you off. Although watching 75 episodes is not an easy job for any given anime, I cannot once remember the act of watching Hikaru no Go being a pain. In fact, every single episode was a pleasure to watch and the entire experience was nothing less than spectacular. I will not go into the plot since there are countless places on the web where you can find the plot outline (including myanimelist lol). This review is therefore strictly to do with the elements that make Hikaru No Go such an read more
Apr 20, 2008
slpless (All reviews)
So how does one make a 75 episode anime about go, let alone a good anime? Simple, you don’t, instead you make an anime about people that play go. While Hikaru no Go can be classified as a sports anime it does not follow the typical sports anime structure. That structure is characterized by train, fight/play, train, fight/play, etc. One can call Prince of Tennis an anime about tennis and Hajime no Ippo an anime about boxing. However, it would be incorrect to call Hikaru no Go an anime about go. Before I start this review let me just read more
Aug 23, 2008
Solivonyx (All reviews)
Story - 9

I've never really been a person to watch sports, or game animes. Why watch a game when you can go out there and play it? But wow... Hikaru no Go captured my attention in a way that I would not have thought possible. Every part of the storyline had me watching until I could no longer keep my eyes open. Believably intense and even inspiring, Hikaru no Go is an anime, that will have its place in my library of goodies. Story for Hikaru no Go gets a 9.

Art - 7

The art is nothing spectacular and yet nothing could I imagine changing read more
Mar 25, 2009
duonoaikouka (All reviews)
Hikaru no Go is one of those animes that seems to push the bar for other animes to follow. In almost every aspect, this anime provided entertainment, thought-provoking ideas, great comedic moments, and the eternal drive for the better game that exists in some fashion in every sports/game orientated anime. The character-driven action and emotional resonance creates one of those gems of anime that would have culminated into an anime classic except for a single glaring aspect that prevented stardom. I enjoyed this series so much that I made a marathon of it and the hour and fifteen minute special within a three day span. read more
May 9, 2012
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Hikaru no Go was a long running manga written by Hotta Yumi in the late 90s, early 2000s. Of course, it got an anime adaptation. I'll be honest, it's an anime based off of a board game. I don't see much possibility of it being good or interesting. Will it surprise me? Let's take a look at the anime and find out.

Our story begins with a boy with ridiculous, multi-coloured hair, Shindou Hikaru, going through his grandfather's garage. He comes across an old Go board with a stain that only he can see. The ghost of a Go player named Sai from ancient times read more
Jun 17, 2007
Ryogakun (All reviews)
A TV series about GO?
Must be boring hm?
No must not!!!
Hikaru no Go is one of the interestings Sports Series you'll find
at the moment.
The difference between other Sport Anime is that Hikaru is not
the guy who's only winning every game.
No he has first to learn the game and he will lose many times.
Its much more interessting to see how he grow up
unlike Prince of Tennis who the Protagonist is only Winning.
Jul 31, 2018
DerOkashi (All reviews)
A series about go? Can that be made interesting? For 75 Episodes???
Well, it definately can.

To be honest, I was a little sceptical, as a friend recommended me this series. But this scepticism dropped drastically. Watching the first episode I thought to myself, oh, it's that kind of anime. See one and you'veseen them all, so to speak. But the further I watched on, the more I got sucked intothe story, and I realized, thet it goes beyond the clichés.

Let's start from the beginning. The main character Hikaru is in one way a very typical main character, being sometimes overconfident, nonchalant, sometimes mean and disrespectful to read more
Aug 2, 2010
kajia (All reviews)
"Hikaru no Go" is an anime that took me just a week to blitz through, but months to get over. It's the second long shounen series I've seen recently, the first one being "Hajime no Ippo". Even though they both look like the same type of show at first (long running shounens in which the hero goes from a complete n00b at something to being immensely strong... I'm sure you know the kind of stuff I'm referring to here), in reality, they're as different as chalk and... er... chimpanzees.

Whilst "Hajime no Ippo" never really broke free of the stereotypical image of its genre, "Hikaru no read more
Jan 24, 2010
DMDetonator (All reviews)
Truly one of the anime I've seen out there. Just so you know I've watched this anime four times so far and it still entertains me :)
It may say it is for children which is true but it has a certain quality that makes even teenagers enjoy it.

Story
It is great, it has a wonderful plot full of excitment and suspense and it keeps going on and on. One of the best things is that the story starts immediately without any fillers. A young boy gains a spirit and goes into the world of 'go'. A truly magnificent story

Art
Considering the year the art is exceptionally good. read more
Mar 29, 2011
Kyzoryn (All reviews)
[Longest Review I've ever written - as originally posted on AnimeNfo.com - warning minor spoilers] -via Kyzoryn

When I stumbled upon Hikago I was shocked to see its rank as Seven here at Anime Nfo. A series soley revolving around the world of Go and not simply a theme for a plot centralized elsewhere. Though a drama at heart Hikaru no Go is a an anime that goes beyond the experience of enjoyment, it has affected me personally and the world of Go, nearly tripling the number of active players worldwide. It is a series that will remain a classic in the realm of anime as read more
May 9, 2008
zwl20 (All reviews)
Preliminary
A 75 episode anime about go (probably one of the less comprehensible board games) that is strangely addictive, regardless of whether you like the actual game. Well crafted personalities go a long way in this anime. Sai, the effeminate ghost who was a master of go in his lifetime; Hikaru, an ordinary boy who comes to share Sai's love of the game; and Touya, his slightly spoilt protagonist whose entire childhood was swallowed up by his desire to become the best.

Outstanding pacing allows this anime to grip your interest from the first episode.
Music is nothing exceptional, and the same goes for the animation.
however read more
Apr 6, 2015
60sRock (All reviews)
Wrote this review (more like a reflection) a while ago. Thought it'd be a waste if I didn't post it. So here you go:

Hikaru no Go is a 75 episode anime series revolving around go, or as they call it in China, weiqi. It follows the journey of an adolescent Japanese boy named Hikaru Shindo, from when he first gets to introduced to the game all the way to the beginnings of his career as a professional player.

First and foremost, I’d like to point out that you do NOT need to know anything about go to enjoy this series. Hikaru no Go has a read more
Sep 3, 2016
sapir (All reviews)
This is the first review that I'm writing and Hikaru no Go totally worths it.
Firstly, I will probably include some spoilers so if you haven't watched this anime yet, please be aware of that (I will warn beforte the spoiler).

Story-
The story here focuses especially on the characters in the series.
You don't have to know how to play Go to enjoy this. You get to know a bit about the moves but it's not everything.
Hikaru finds in his grandfather's old garret, an old Go board where he finds Sai. Sai is a spirit who seeks the "God's divine move". Along with him, Hikaru starts to learn read more
Jun 13, 2010
Rampant (All reviews)
The more anime I have watched, the more it has become that only the parts that can really differentiate it from the manga (animation, coloring and other art differences, sound...) end up mattering to me. Sometimes these combine to make a work divine, and sometimes these efforts are an abysmal low budget clunker. This anime is the latter. The manga is good, the anime is bad, save your time and read it instead!

The art is a low budget mess. I guess it does not really make sense to spend a lot of money animating people clinking stones on a table, but the art level in read more
Dec 4, 2018
ganomed (All reviews)
I rewatched Hikaru no Go lately, several years after, and I love it like the first day.
Still this new viewing gave me a new perspective on Sai : he's really a big cunt.
From the start to the very end he never stopped being egocentric a second, if he left Hikaru play peacefully during his insei studies that was only because he didn't care playing against such low opponents, but as soon as a strong challenger appeared he only thought about himself.
Even on the last moments, he for sure knew what was happennig and he didn't bother warn Hikaru about it, selfish fucktard.
Anyway, it's very a read more
Sep 9, 2011
Forganesolid (All reviews)
So I pulled out my old monopoly set out of the basement and set everything up. I set the car (because come ON the car IS the best peice) on GO and Mr. Monopoly pops out and scares the living daylights out of me!

Has this ever happened to you?

Hikaru No Go revolves around a young boy, Hikaru who like every other Japanese child doesn't really care about his future, and has no real motivations toward much of anything except having fun. When one day he is trying to get some extra cash, he goes through his family's store house to find something to read more