Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Utsu Musume Sayuri


Alternative Titles

English: Striking Daughter
Synonyms: Utsu-musume Sayuri
Japanese: 打つ娘サユリ

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: 2003
Producers: None found, add some
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: None found, add some
Source: Original
Genres: Comedy, Dementia
Duration: 3 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 2.091 (scored by 6,238 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #109852
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4465
Members: 8,454
Favorites: 27

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 24, 2015
ZephSilver (All reviews)
There's weird and then there's Japan weird.

This is fucking disturbing and extremely uncomfortable to watch.

Computer-rendered imagery composed of distorted faces, confusing scenes of human depravity, incestuous body horror, and a sense of gradual deprivation with no true intention spotted. An ugly fever dream. The entropy of a disturbed mind melting into itself.

Something is just... off. An unnerving feeling of peering in on an immoral act meant for private eyes only. The weird fetish of a troubled person accidentally made public.

That's it, no need to add extra padding to this review. No need to explain any further. If you watch this three minutes of a read more
Apr 30, 2015
Revolution666 (All reviews)
Thoroughly awful Japanese surrealism. This is seriously one of the dumbest short films I've ever seen. It looks awful (the mass of morphed bodies is only disturbing for the first, like, two seconds, then it just becomes stupid), the voice acting is awful and shockingly amateur, and I'm pretty sure that literally everything was done by ONE guy, and this guy sucks. Its story is some weird fetishistic pseudo-incestual...thing...it doesn't make any sense, and I really don't care to try and analyze it, because frankly I don't think there's anything to really analyze here. But yeah, it sucks. I love surrealism, but not like this.
Jan 21, 2015
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Utsu Musume Sayuri is a 1 episode "show" that is 3 minutes long. It is like a Terry Gilliam short cartoon from Monty Python's Flying Circus...except stupider...and less funny.

This short sketch is about a horribly deformed blob that is supposedly a little girl. She engages in a poorly animated and trippy S&M session with other poorly animated blobs that are supposed to be her parents. That's it. That is all that happens in this 3 minutes of time that you will immediately wish you had spent doing something else.

I know what you are saying. It is only 3 minutes, how much can you suffer read more
Jul 6, 2014
PsyjiicOrder (All reviews)
I don't even know what I just watched. I am not even sure I should be criticizing this "Anime" because I am not even sure it is. It is a three minute short and for all I know it could have been directed by some kid in his bedroom. If you feel up to the challenge watch it on Youtube.

Story 1: I don't even know what it is about. It says in the description it is about some girl celebrating her strike but it has nothing to do with it. Also it says below that the genre is comedy. It is far from a comedy read more
May 29, 2017
AndoCommando (All reviews)
I don’t want to write much in the way of a fancy introduction for a ‘review’ of Utsu Musume Sayuri, Striking Daughter, the kind of crap you’d find in one of Courage the Cowardly Dog’s nightmares or whatever you want to call this vomit-inducting smegma. I want to keep it straight-forward and easy to understand because honestly what the fuck…. Literally! At first I was asking myself not only what in God’s name was I watching, but what in the world would drive someone to make such absolute dog shit! This is the kind of weird shit that I thought was unimaginable; you couldn’t try read more
Jun 4, 2017
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
*This'll be a short one*

When you indulge in an audiovisual medium long enough, you will inevitably have at least one of "that moment". You know the one. The moment in which you yell "WHAT THE FUCK DID I JUST WATCH?!" in a state of anger and confusion. There can be a number of reasons as to why this happened, none of which are ever good, at least in regards to what you're watching, not in justifying why you said what you said.

Maybe in the middle of a series, a plot point, story event, or plot twist pops up that really fucks up any logic of read more
Dec 5, 2016
superhik72 (All reviews)
This is my first review ever. (Like some test to me) Dont hate this my english is bad so i try write something.

This is most wierd and most ugly anime ever watch. But even is bad i recommented to everyone.

Story 1/10
There is no story. I dont get any point what happend in this anime.

Art 1/10
Art is very bad, i say to my self wtf is this.

Sound 2/10
Sound is only think who is little better than other thinks, but also very bad.

Characters 1/10
Who is characters here i dont even remember.

Enjoyment 1/10
I dont enjoy this show. Who can enjoy at all, this was wtf. If you read more
Feb 25, 2017
OnyuO (All reviews)
So, I think this anime is very odd, there's no mistaking it, however I actually came up with a theory.

I think this anime represents growing up.

Sayuri is essentially one body, with Hiroshi, her mother, and her father connected to her. I think this represents how children depend on their family.

When Sayuri's "time to strike" has come, the mother and father disconnect from Sayuri, this represents the child becoming independent in life.

The striking part represents raising a child, as in Asia the "tradition" would be to beat your children (I am Asian before you say anything).

Sayuri doesn't think much about beating her read more
Jan 2, 2017
SP9 (All reviews)
When I first began watching Utsu Musume Sayuri I was totally shocked. But now that I’ve watched it several times, I can understand the entertainment factor for the short. Even the first time I watched it, I couldn’t help but laugh at how weird it was.

According to other reviews that I’ve read, there have been a lot of trolls posting reviews about how “great” Utsu Musume Sayuri is. I would like to clarify that this review is serious and I genuinely enjoyed this short film. I do not want my first review to be taken down just because I gave a rating and wrote read more
Jan 25, 2018
LipstickOnMyDick (All reviews)
Not particularly creepy or disturbing as I was lead to believe it would be, It is rather unwatchable for how boring it is. I really couldn't find any 'shocking' element that so many of you have found in this sayuri anime.

Its one of those animes where I wanted to be disturbed but that I just can't. Thee gore websites have desensitized me so much that now I can look past a real myiasis- infested face without feeling any emotion at all. It strives to shock me 'n' I feel nothing.

There was no plot itself to care about animation/sound; this 3 min ova doesn't have a read more
Mar 7, 2019
Otorez (All reviews)
Holy Mother of God, please forgive me for my sins and give me your strength to forget what I just watched.

Utsu Musume Sayuri was... probably the best possible illustration of how a mad person who was born prematurely after her father ended up in an asylum and her mother consumed at least 1kg of pure mixed heroine/cocaine per day. I literally wondered how could someone have such an idea.

And in case you have the "Why did you watch you it dude" question in mind, let me answer it. I wanted to get this dumb badge (http://www.mal-badges.net/users/otorez#138) which was worth 50 XP. God, sometimes my achievements read more
Jul 29, 2017
Starlin-Sama (All reviews)
Now let me tell you, you uncultured swine. This film is far too deep for any of you to understand. You thought Evangelion was a deep anime with thought provoking moments? Guess what, this film brings upon a new standard of advanced anime that no one has ever seen before. Simply comprehending it is impossible for your simplistic minds to see it's true greatness. Sayuri manages to speak on all controversies at once and fully explain the objective right answer to each one. Sorry peasents, but you're going to have to look at this 20 more times before seeing it's true beauty.
Apr 11, 2015
NemesisReaperX (All reviews)
This is the weirdest and creepiest "Anime" short I've ever seen. I don't know if this can even be considered an "Anime". If you are looking for the worst things ever made in Japan, welcome to the bottom of the bottom of the barrel.

Story: 1
Don't expect anything from it, the story it's just about the daughter of a good family celebrating her strike and... that's all, nothing more. According to the genres tags, they say this thing is comedy, but I couldn't find anything about "comedy" or "funny" during the 3 minutes I watched this thing.

Art and Animation: 1
The characters are extremely weird, deformed and read more
Mar 29, 2015
Andhrimnir (All reviews)
Utsu Musume Sayuri could be said to be an epitome of a man's weird imagination.

Story: 1
There's little to no story. It's unorthodox and claims absolutely no sense. The audacity to even introduce the characters blew me away.

Characters, art and animation: 1
Now, this is the worst of all. "Grotesque" manages to describe them quite well. The characters' design, along with the art and its colour direction, leave you with feeling of nausea and headache. The unsettling animation of Papa, who has some sort of a centipede body, is outright ridiculous and outrageous.

Enjoyment: 1
Though I admit I laughed at the strike because it didn't make read more
Dec 23, 2014
lolaidaka (All reviews)
I'm not going to lie to you in this.

If I could unwatch that and get my 3 minutes back, I would.

I'm into literature and movies and finding symbolism in everything, but this was ridiculous. I honestly felt sick to my stomach after watching it and maybe that was the point, but I will never know.

It was grossly sexualized, which again may have been one of the points. There was really no upstanding plot. It was just a weirdly gross family and a lot of "striking". I don't want to spoil it, but I doubt you'd understand it even after watching it. I feel read more
Dec 14, 2015
Nervin (All reviews)
It is certainly an art to create something as "bizarre" as Utsu Musume Sayuri; and when I say bizarre, it isn't in the good way. Did you think Mars of Destruction was bad? Now, this is certainly worse. I am open for artistic innovation, yet this piece falls nothing short of being a disgrace to the artistic world. In my eyes that is, because this was quite the watch.

Regarding the story - well, there is actually none, besides some sexual references, which seem to match with the animation it is trying to portray. Speaking of which, it is quite alluring at first, until viewers realize read more
Dec 19, 2015
oedipuscomplex (All reviews)
What could go wrong? It's a three minute long short. It has a funny looking kind of CGI style. It looks whacky and funny. It's not.

This is the only anime production I have ever given a 1 out of 10. This is for good reason. As you may or may not know, the 1 rating stands for 'appalling'. This would mean that giving something a 1 out of 10 would imply that it offended me on a base level. That it made the very 'artistic' ground it waddled upon like a penguin with one eye and one leg shake and feel like it would never read more
Feb 2, 2017
Plasmatize (All reviews)
It seems someone at the party heavily spiked and/or drugged my drinks - I'm seeing some horrifying hallucinatio- ...oh, I'm clean and sober. That's even more concerning.

Behold, Utsu Musume Sayuri - a vivid visual metaphor for the hell it was spawned from; a place lurking in the deepest, darkest pits of the human mind. It lies in ruins, discombobulated and disturbing to witness; the halls echoing with the muffled screams of animators crying out for help; a satanic armchair director with who knows what kinds of fetishes looming over them with a black-souled whip.

Either that, or someone was just incredibly bored. Eventually, it becomes hard read more
May 9, 2019
pichu500 (All reviews)
At first it was confusing trying to understand who or what Sayuri was and why Utsu Musume Sayuri came into existence as it did seemingly out of nowhere, but then I discovered that there is no need for discovering its origin. In fact, I believe that the lack of origin only makes the show so much more impact with its delivery.

After my first viewing of this anime I was not sure what to think, and I was lost after the first 30 seconds. I laughed a few times in confusion of what was happening and weird it all was. When it was over I was read more
Apr 10, 2019
Spoonmaster12 (All reviews)
Wtf did I just watch-everyone that watched this show

For this review, I will be focusing on story, art, sound, character and enjoyment, although I will be wondering why I will even be focusing on those. there may be spoilers ahead? yeah, probably no...

Story: This beautiful piece's story may be interpreted with several different ways. Some may think it is about a naughty child who is being spanked for some reason, some may think it's a hidden message about depression or abuse, and some may simply think it is about, huh? what was it about again? If I hadn't read the synopsis I wouldn't have read more