Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Hunter x Hunter Movie: Phantom Rouge


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Gekijouban Hunter x Hunter: Hiiro no Genei, HxH Movie
Japanese: 劇場版 HUNTER×HUNTER 緋色の幻影(ファントム・ルージュ)

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Jan 12, 2013
Licensors: Viz Media
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Duration: 1 hr. 37 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.381 (scored by 33,095 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #20482
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1255
Members: 54,828
Favorites: 98

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Aug 2, 2013
Stark700 (All reviews)
First of all, I am under the assumption that viewers interested to watch this movie have at least a little knowledge or background of the Hunter x Hunter franchise before watching. If not, it might be a little hard to completely get the best experience out of this. But at any rate, enough talk about interest and let's talk about the movie itself. For fans of the ongoing remake series as well as the original Hunter x Hunter, this should be a gift delivered early from Santa.

The movie itself is called Hunter x Hunter: Phantom Rouge. It is a side story rather than read more
May 15, 2013
RedgraveGilver (All reviews)
Hunter X Hunter is a series known to many people especially to shonen fans. It's one of those shonen anime that proved that the mainstream shonen genre can also be intelligent yet exciting. Hunter X Hunter has been serialized for a decade now and spawned two anime adaptations, one being a remake. As the popularity of the series rises again because of the remake, the series finally now have a film that many hunter x hunter fans would be excited about. Is this movie worth the hype for us fans? Let's check it out.

Hunter X Hunter phantom rouge is about Kurapika one of the main read more
Nov 9, 2013
Karhu (All reviews)
This review will be short and shitty, just like the movie.

Hunter x Hunter: Phantom Rouge is about everything which Hunter x Hunter isn't. The story is about this puppeteer who makes puppets based to real people, copying their appearance. Ironically, our main characters Kurapika, Kil, Gon and Leorio also feel like puppets, empty shells, in this movie. All of their personalities have been changed, and all former character development seen in the anime has been turned back to zero + little extra taken away. Not only are they completely different characters, they have been turned into a bunch of weak idiots as well. I don't read more
Jan 19, 2014
stream_eon (All reviews)
This movie made me excited the first time I've heard of it. I expected too much especially I faithfully followed Hunter X Hunter 2011. I kind of got disappointed because I gained ONLY 2 THINGS out of watching this. I decided to score it 7.

NOTES:
1. Even though the movie is out of the scrapped chapter made by the mangaka Togashi, the movie has successfully made it seem connected to the show.
2. The setting and plot starts after Yorkshin Arc but before Greed Island Arc.
3. IF YOU JUST WANT TO WATCH IT TO KNOW ABOUT THE BENEFITS I WILL MENTION LATER, you better just read read more
Jul 27, 2013
xmaikokoro (All reviews)
Anime movies can usually never hold a candle to their series counterpart. Phantom Rouge, the first movie of the Hunter x Hunter franchise, is no exception. Chronologically, this film takes place immediately after the Yorknew/Phantom Troupe Arc. So before watching this film, be sure to have finished the Yorknew/Phantom Troupe Arc of Hunter x Hunter as this movie pulls from the fact that the viewer has an idea of the characters in that arc and the events that had happened.

With Phantom Rouge's premise of Kurapika's eyes being "stolen" and the involvement of the Phantom Troupe, Phantom Rouge had a lot of potential to create read more
Feb 16, 2015
UndecidedFate (All reviews)
I waited until after finishing the TV series before watching this and I'm glad I did. The TV show was utter perfection, whereas this was like watching an extra long, sloppily made episode of HxH. It wasn't terrible by any means. Even the bad episodes of HxH are still good. I still liked it, but it was lacking the excitement and the sense of adventure and just the whole overall feel that the TV series gives you.

The TV series had a very, very strong emotional pull to it. I've watched bucketloads of TV shows and movies over the years (and I mean good ones, read more
Dec 12, 2016
DeloreanMail (All reviews)
**Very minor spoilers ahead**

Let's get something straight right off the bat: this is not Hunter x Hunter. It may look like Hunter x Hunter, it may share the same soundtrack, it may have your old favorite characters, but if you are expecting the same masterful writing and style of the anime, you will be sorely disappointed.

The movie takes place directly following the Yorknew City Arc, and I would only recommend this anime to those who have at least seen Hunter x Hunter up to that point (in order to have a more full understanding of the charecter and story). Though, maybe those who haven't read more
Jan 28, 2014
nazunya (All reviews)
This will be a short review, since it's all this movie deserves anyways.

When I found out there was a Hunter x Hunter movie, (you see, I only recently started the series) I was overjoyed! However, looking back, I almost regret my feelings of excitement, because this movie was an utter disappointment.

Be warned- I will compare the film to the anime A LOT.

STORY- (7/10)

Apparently this movie was made from a scrapped chapter of Hunter x Hunter, written by Yoshihiro Togashi. Surprisingly enough, it seems to fit well, taking place between the Yorkshin City Arc and the Greed Island Arc. (when in reality, there was no read more
Apr 4, 2016
Suzu-kun22 (All reviews)
Art/Sound: I'm gonna start with the technical aspects. The animation is pretty good, but it's still not as good as the show. The music... um... well... I don't actually remember it at all. Not like the music from the show which had its extremely stand-out OP and the first, third, 5 and 6th ED as well as the amazing song The World of Adventurers. And I honestly don't remember a single song from this movie. But that's not as important as other aspects like story and characters.

Story/Character: The best parts of this movie are the parts about Kurapika. The scenes explaining Kurapika's backstory and the read more
Jun 29, 2017
TheAnimeBong (All reviews)
Taking place after the Yorkshin arc and before the Greed Island arc, Phantom Rouge depicts a small scale story in which Gon and Killua encounter the mysterious previous eighth member of the Phantom Troupe. (Don't watch this movie until after finishing the Phantom Troupe/ Yorkshin Arc.)

I actually happen to have really enjoyed this movie despite it's shortcomings. It's nice to have gotten a backstory for Kurapika, and adds more weight to his conflict with the Troupe. The friendship between Gon, Killua and Retz is also heartwarming and there is some comedy in their interactions. (Rest of review contains spoilers for movie)

The villain Omokage actually has read more
Aug 3, 2013
kchorrex2012 (All reviews)
As a die-hard Hunter x Hunter fan, I expected this movie for months. Personally, I would say it is an enjoyable mixed bag, in the sense that it might feel like a long gaiden episode that has enough elements to be canon. This is the first in the likely inevitable series of movies (a second one has already been announced). The film follows Gon and Killua in a quest to recover Kurapika's stolen eyes. There are a few new characters but a lot of known faces show up along the way. You might be confused as to where this movie fits in the HXH canon, read more
Jul 9, 2016
GKillua19 (All reviews)
So I've done watching the whole HxH anime before watching this part but still I can recall what happen before and after. The flow of the story was great it didn't break the flow of the story in the real anime. I love the conflict in the story and the resolution but the only part that I kinda didn't like was the final battle, Gon and Killua fighting the puppet brother of Killua and Leorio and Kurapika fighting his friend I like the part where they are still trying to think of a resolution but I kinda got dissatisfied when just one hit they kill read more
Jul 27, 2017
JudeMelody (All reviews)
I never thought Yoshihiro Togashi's wonderful work could be so spoiled in less than two hours. But it was.

"Hunter x Hunter Movie: Phantom Rouge" is the kind of movie I would actually appreciate if I were just looking for something to pass the time. Unfortunately, it is very far from the quality the Hunter x Hunter fans are used to. I had great expectations about this movie and they were all destroyed within minutes. Still, the movie can be a little enjoyable if you forget it should be connected to Hunter x Hunter. Which would pretty strange, to say the least.

STORY - 2
The story is... read more