Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Saint Seiya Omega


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Saint Seiya Ω
Japanese: 聖闘士星矢Ω

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 97
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2012 to Mar 30, 2014
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Sundays at 06:30 (JST)
Producers: Dentsu, TV Asahi
Licensors: None found, add some
Studios: Toei Animation
Source: Manga
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.391 (scored by 12,885 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #66142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2370
Members: 34,110
Favorites: 160

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 28, 2012
sentience (All reviews)
Preliminary
To enjoy this series, let go of your beliefs and deep-seated assumptions about what the Seiya universe is like according to Kurumada's original anime and manga series. Kurumada is not involved in the creative process of Saint Seiya Omega, however he has been credited with the idea of Yuna and also many of the concepts used in the series (such as constellations, Bronze, Silver, Gold Saints).

This series was clearly written for new blood - i.e. new fans to the world of Saint Seiya and those of a newer generation and of different values from the previous generation, hence the new generation of Saints. Many of read more
May 20, 2012
pika2000 (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ah, Saint Seiya, one of my favorite anime when I was younger. Now they are taking the franchise into the future, with new saints (despite the title being Saint Seiya, I guess that's the downside of having a franchise titled with the name of one character) for the new generation. At least I think that was the tagline.

First of all, they re-used the original theme song, Pegasus Fantasy. That's a nice nostalgic touch. The characters are updated to reflect the current stereotype of bishounen (no more muscles). Everybody is sleek and slender. The cloths are simplified, and are stored inside a jewel. The concept of read more
Apr 2, 2012
AnimeFan500 (All reviews)
Preliminary
The legendary anime has returned everyone. !!!!

The storyline of Omega takes place in the future era, 25 years after the Holy Wars of the 20th century narrated in the original manga and its anime adaptation. The goddess Athena is still on Earth after reincarnating to cleanse it of the agent of evil as she has done during millennia, accompanied by her Saints, fulfilling her duty of protecting peace on Earth, after her victories over antagonistic deities. Athena and a new generation of Saints prepare to face a new menace that lurks in this new era, in which Pegasus Seiya, the protagonist of Kurumada's manga, is read more
Apr 15, 2012
Klownzie (All reviews)
Preliminary
I'm usually against writing reviews before the anime has ended; I just have to make an exception here so I can tell people what's in store for them if they decide to pick this up.

Let's begin by saying that this anime is nothing like its predecessor: It's worse in every aspect—from the point of view of someone way over 10. The show is aimed at little kids with no real knowledge of Saint Seiya.

You may have realized how the trend is to make anime more simple and cute so more people may be attracted. Well, Saint Seiya Omega its exactly that. Saint Seiya Omega is read more
Oct 12, 2016
Mercuryo (All reviews)
If you're a true fan of Saint Seiya ... maybe you must not see this anime...
This anime starts with a short battle between Seiya, the new Sagitarius Saint and Mars and when you hope to see the new power of the Saint they make a cut and put Kouga... the most stupid Saint in all the franchise.
All scenes with Kouga in the screen are unbearable. Kouga pass all the time talking about save Athena that's not bad if you do not looks like his lover...
It's okay if they want a new Pegasus Saint... but the character itself is hateful. Talking about the pegasus saint... the read more
Apr 14, 2013
luislozanog (All reviews)
Preliminary
I waited to write this review until I finish the first season (ep 52). The anime per se is good but as anything that has a great ancestor you will either love it or hate it. And I love it, why? just because if you are a truly fan of Saint Seiya (as I am) you will look into the similitude of this anime with the original series instead of looking for differences. People tend to compare OMEGA with Lost Canvas, impossible, Lost Canvas are OVAs and Omega is a series. I don't know why people make a lot of noise about the school (palestra), read more
Aug 22, 2012
halfchaos (All reviews)
Preliminary
The story is as cliche as it gets. Little boy needs power to save the world and get all the girls to like him. It adds things like "elements" and "ninjas" (1 leaf tree trunks and all) but other than that it's nothing you haven't seen before.

The art is really the worst I've ever seen in a japanese anime. Anime in my opinion is supposed to stand out above saturday morning cartoons but this doesn't even try to. The drawing is childish and horrible but the shading and coloring is even worse. There are probably 6 year olds with coloring books that could do better read more
Jul 14, 2012
Nekoni (All reviews)
Preliminary
Wow… where to begin?
Ok, first of all, if you grew up watching Saint Saiya or saw any of the movies, be sure to put off those shiny, engraved nostalgia goggles, cause this is more your… generation X Saint Saiya. Don't take that comment the wrong way, as new is always a good fresh air into life, just not in this case.
As soon as I heard of this anime my butt was glued to the seat and I watched all the episodes that were out one after another. Sadly that huge, bright childish smile that it started with, slowly turn into such a state of read more
Aug 8, 2019
HHUB (All reviews)
ENGLISH REVIEW AFTER PORTUGUESE


Bom, Saint Seiya não é um anime muito bom! Mas ele foi um clássico marcante para os antigos.

Saint Seiya Ômega comete muitos erros de seu antecessor, entre eles estão:

- Haruto: A ideia de criar um cavaleiro ninja, não é ruim, só que ele foi mal produzido. Haruto! Exatamente como você leu! Ele te lembra algum nome? Claro que lembra, Naruto! E de ninja o que eu vi nele foi o mais clichê possível.

- Repetimento De Ataques: Saint Seiya sempre teve isso, mas de tanto ver isso acabamos relevando. Mas quando a luta se baseia em uso de poderes! SE read more
Oct 30, 2019
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
Saint Seiya: Omega is a dumpster fire. While not being as bad as Saintia Shō or Soul of Gold, Omega still makes the running for one of the worst series in the franchise. *Yoshiko Umakoshi’s character designs & *Make-Up’s catchy rock ballad rendition of ‘Pegasus Fantasy’ lure old fans into the fray, but fanatics of the original are left with nothing but cardboard remnants of the past. There will be spoilers in this review! You have been warned!
*Yoshiko Umakoshi is most famous for his character designs in Casshern Sins and HeartCatch PreCure! Make-Up’s cover of ‘Pegasus Fantasy’ features Shōko Nakagawa as the vocalist, she is read more
Oct 16, 2019
Mr_Yaz (All reviews)
Disclaimer: This anime was my introduction into, and probably the extent of my involvement with, the franchise.


✪ Genre: action (gunfights, swordplay), adventure, drama, contemporary fantasy, shounen, superpower


✔ Positive Aspects ✔

◧ The animation of the anime is the only positive aspect of this series that I could name. Specifically, we witnessed fairly distinct characters using different kinds of bodysuits, majestic structures left and right, in combination with colors that were highly saturated and very vibrant, easily capturing and retaining the viewers' attention.


✘ Negative Aspects ✘

◧ When I am embarking on a new shounen anime journey, I do expect to stumble across some cliches (the protagonist's legendary read more
Nov 14, 2012
rusty400 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I began this series with high hopes. Decent yet predictable story of a nobody kid who's destined for greatness after he makes friends to go on a journey with hiim where he overcomes some insurmountable issues. This anime is as predictable as predictable can be. To the point that it's not interesting even in the slightest. It's just a constant use of a typical formula that anime of this genre seem to over use. Meet a tougher enemy and through sheer determination, not skill, end up beating them in the end. Meet another, tougher enemy and through sheer determination, read more
Apr 30, 2019
SieghartTheMage (All reviews)
Omega, how much worse could happen in Saint Seiya. Even if yes, in fact (as a quality) it is not the only one.

Started during a general recovery of the spin-offs, mainly because there were the classic protagonists (now adults, being 25 years in the future) and, as always, some gold saints. It was better I hadn't done it, and trust me, if you're a fan of SS, it's a series you can very well avoid. And when even the Gold Saints suck (not all, but more than half yes), it's already a signal.

If the original series had crude and violent, sometimes tragic aspects, Omega can read more
Dec 2, 2019
L4UR_05 (All reviews)
So Saint Seiya Omega, the non-canon sequel to saint seiya

I will judge this compared to the original Saint Seiya series, and will include little to no spoilers, enjoy:

Story: the story has 2 sagas each with their own main enemy and with separate arks inside each saga. Unlike the original saint seiya anime this anime has more characters that are actually developed and we get more insight on them, it isn't just gold saints and main cast. the story actually has turns that you don't see coming at first or has some minor characters that have some deeper feelings and thoughts. I wish i could read more
Oct 20, 2019
mouthpiece (All reviews)
The original Saint Seya happens to be amongst the first fighting shounen ever made in the mid 80’s and even the one who established the formula of the genre. Even Dragonball took pointers from it. Along the years the franchise was kept alive through numerous non-canon follow-ups, the major ones being a sequel series between 2003 and 2008, and a prequel in 2009. The thing is, most of the original fanbase either grew over it or went for newer and fancier shounen; it is by no means a franchise with tens of thousands of followers anymore. The reason being its formula remaining quite narrow and read more