Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Tsuritama


Alternative Titles

English: Tsuritama
Synonyms: Fishing Ball
Japanese: つり球

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 12
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2012 to Jun 29, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:15 (JST)
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: A-1 Pictures
Source: Original
Duration: 23 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.811 (scored by 40,091 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #8572
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #731
Members: 102,311
Favorites: 1,910

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Jun 21, 2012
Meg-nyan (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ahh... Tsuritama. I didn't watch this show until the fifth episode came out so byt ehn I was practically bombarded with praise and gifs of the show showing off how amazing it was. So I decided to give it a try.

The beginning of the story made me feel so confused. All I understood was that there was a red haired awkward boy who was constantly followed around by an annoying white-haired self-proclaimed alien with a talking fish. However, as time passed on and more episodes were watched, everything became clear and the plot revealed itself. However, Tsuritama is so much more than that. It's read more
Jun 15, 2012
piercing-heavens (All reviews)
Preliminary
The first thing that caught my eye was the superb art and colors. After watching the first episode, I was hooked (haha)
The entire show is amazingly amusing. It's the king that brings out the kindness and warmth to all of the viewers, the characters are astounding and unique, and the plot is original and and entertaining. I don't believe I have ever came across a better lighthearted comedy than this show, and the funny thing is, my favorite genre of anime is usually horror or action!

There is one more episode left, and I am on the edge of my seat right now waiting read more
May 13, 2015
Astar (All reviews)
Tsuritama is a show that will exceed your expectations. It will lure you in hook, line, and sinker, and make you question how an anime about fishing could ever be quite so enjoyable.

The story is set in the quaint town of Enoshima. There, the show’s protagonists—Yuki, Haru, Natsuki, Akira, and Tapioca (*quack quack*)—all come together to share in a singular pastime: fishing.

It is through the characters’ forced participation to undertake in this hobby that we are able to truly understand each and every one of their personal anxieties and motivations. We are imbued with a real sense of fulfilment, as through their fishing we are read more
Jan 14, 2015
theshinyone (All reviews)
The main theme behind Tsuritama is a very simple one, and one which is very common in media - the power of friendship. Of course, as this isn't a silly battle shounen, it is much more than a simple excuse to randomly power up a character to beat the big bad evil, but rather, is a simple and heartwarming tale of how a mysterious alien boy manages to break the barriers of a few boys, helping them form bonds that would last a lifetime, helping them to grow beyond who they are.

Beyond its excellent slice of life portion, the show also features a very bizarre read more
Feb 2, 2015
Max (All reviews)
With age comes a sense of self. Or at least, that's what Tsuritama wants us to believe. Ironically, though, the series itself never knows what it wants to be – is it a dramatic slice of life or a quirky, supernatural adventure? The result is ultimately spontaneous, for better or for worse.

Yuki has a hard time making friends. Always moving from place to place, there's little time for him to get to know anyone, and his social anxiety doesn't help. More than anything, he's afraid of being considered weird. But while living with his grandmother on the island of Enoshima, Yuki meets a self-proclaimed read more
Aug 8, 2012
maxima423 (All reviews)
i usually dont finish 12 episode animes in two days, but when i do, i know its a real work of art.

if you're looking for a amazing anime to watch, than this is the one for you. it has everything you would want, awesome story, hilarious characters and one epic goal to bring them together.

the story does start of kind of slow, but for a good reason, the characters needs to develop the necessary skills in order to accomplish their goals, the real story actually starts around episode 5 than it really picks up, it picks up so much that i couldnt stop from episode read more
Apr 30, 2012
thomtinuviel (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's a bit early yet to say anything definitive about Tsuritama. And yet I think that it's not too early to describe the series as rather unique. Having said that, I'll edit this review as the season progresses.

Tsuritama was created by the same director who did Mononoke and Trapeze - two series memorable for distinctive visual style and approach to storytelling. I think in some ways Tsuritama is a younger sibling to those series - while it is certainly as interesting to look at and only mildly less thought-provoking, it has a sense of humor about it that is somehow invigorating - there's fun read more
Jan 9, 2013
matt_todd (All reviews)
Tsuritama (2012) is an “odd duck” (pun intended) of an anime, meaning it uses a less common style of story telling. While many stories can happen almost “anywhere,” and many occur in a fantasy location, this show has a very strong sense of a real place; namely Enoshima.

Enoshima is an actual Island at the mouth of the Katase River in Sagami Bay, on the Pacific Ocean. The island is connected to the mainland by a pair of 600m bridges; a pedestrian bridge and a bridge for motor vehicles. Enoshima and Sagami Bay were made world famous for being the harbour and the area where the read more
Jun 9, 2013
Zomino (All reviews)
An anime about fishing, that somehow becomes shonen.

I expected Tsuritama to be a slow slice of life that recreated the relaxing atmosphere of fishing and was driven by dialogue. Sadly the characters are mostly annoying and the strangely shonen ending is last minute character development. The whole fishing aspect is a bit gimmicky and I thought it was wasted potential. Yamada (Sugita Tomokazu) is awesome and the anime is visually really pretty but its still not particularly interesting.

People say Tsuritama is underrated...

...Nah
Jul 20, 2016
tinomak (All reviews)
Being able to relate to the main character on the basis of being a socially awkward individual, I decided to give this anime a chance. I was more than pleasantly surprised.
I can understand why this isn't a top anime, it has its many, many flaws but the characters is not one of them. From the main character who is introduced as a young boy with the inability to hold social interactions and develop relationships, to his sick grandmother who supports him and provides the young boy with comfort and a honey coated tongue. All the characters are well thought out and have a great sense read more
Nov 18, 2015
UsaagiTsun (All reviews)
-

I've just recently started doing reviews on Youtube, and thought I might as well share them over here. They were written for video-form though, so either read it or give it a watch:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aX84r7k6vNM

-
Tsuritama is a 12-episode show full of quirky fun and sympathetic characters. It was produced by Studio A1-Pictures and aired during 2012's spring season.
While directed by Nakamura Kenji and written by Oono Toshiya, it is most likely best recognized for its character designer, Uki Atsuya.
In this kinda SoF, kinda sports and kinda sci-fi anime, the headline is “You can't catch fish if you don't go fishing, and you can't read more
Nov 12, 2015
bad3ip420 (All reviews)
=================
INTRO
=================

Wow. I'm surprised how this gem passed under my radar for so long. I've forgotten how long it was since I watched a show so fun and relaxing that I always have a stupid grin on my face after each episode.

Tsuritama is simple (the studio knows it) and sometimes simplicity is good enough for a show about fishing.


=================
THE REVIEW
=================

The show starts with Yuki, a socially awkward boy, transferring to a new school. There he read more
Jun 28, 2012
basementfire (All reviews)
Watch the series from beginning to end. The first 5 episodes are slow, but it definitely picks up from there. The pacing of the story is like that of a swelling wave: first you don't notice how slowly it's building up, and then suddenly it's 30 feet high and growing more impressive by the second.

At first, I rated this anime an 8, but right now it's a solid 10, and it wouldnt have been without the earlier episodes to build it up to the final and beautiful conclusion.

The anime isn't exactly slice of life, if I had to pick a genre, it would read more
Mar 6, 2016
elevels (All reviews)
After finishing Tsuritama, I felt compelled to write a review. This anime managed to grasp me more than any other sports anime I've watched so far (though all I've watched is Free! and part of Haikyuu!! currently). It has the same sequence as the others: people who have their odds but have to come together in the end for a common goal. But the characterization in this one made it special to me.

Story and Character: 10
I'm doing these together because I couldn't write about them apart. I liked that this wasn't some romantic relationship based show where the shy boy meets a girl who changes read more
Jan 10, 2015
Owlabi (All reviews)
I loved this series so much. I generally have a low concentration rate, and find myself needing a few breaks between anime episodes, but for some reason I found myself excited, and almost always engaged with what was going on in this show. I had to remind myself to get food after a while because I'd been too distracted by it.
Of course it depends on personal opinion, as all anime does, but I certainly recommend giving it a try.
The plot was certainly interesting and different. It didn't have too much going on, so the story was easy to follow, yet also had a good balance read more
Sep 14, 2012
Astroleaf (All reviews)
The story was very unique, but in a way it was almost it's crutch. While I did l enjoy the creative mix of fishing, supernatural, and alien, sometimes the absurdity of it all made the the story feel kind of silly. There were where times when the mixing of genres would take away the bite out of serious moments, of course there were also those pitched perfect moments where everything just came together. It was a bit awkward, but for the most part, it just worked.

I am a real sucker for interesting art styles, I really couldn't help but appreciate that in read more
May 23, 2012
saintlier (All reviews)
Preliminary
*updated* Ah, fishing. It's how a group of four boys will quite possibly save the world.

I'll be first to say that the premise of four quasi-bishonen boys is what enticed me to start tsuritama. The statement that this show is about an amazing story of saving the world comes at a close second.

Tsuritama spends part of the show developing characters and relationships and such, like an entertaining extended backstory. It has a very light mood, heavily reminiscent of a slice-of-life comedy, mixed with a little "Growing-Up Protagonists". However, without saying too much, the series then takes a relatively dark turn; and the original hook for read more
Jun 15, 2015
mispy (All reviews)
Tsuritama is happiness distilled into anime form. It's all bright colors and kind people and cute psychic alien fish boys, completely ridiculous and filled with emotion and joy. Gets extra credit from me for showing kids with realistic depictions of social anxiety and family difficulties, then making them happy too.
Jun 8, 2016
TanoshiiTanuki (All reviews)
Tsuritama is a charming series that displays a well measured balance between feel-good sentiment and emotional weight. I think it is worthy of comparison to the great sci-fi film, Donnie Darko. Whilst more lighthearted than Donnie Darko, Tsuritama shares several themes and settings - manipulation, small world significance, social displacement and social anxiety.

The artwork is in perfect synergy with the setting of the series and serves to inform the revelations in the story that arrive later on. The colour palette and fantasy representations of the main character's state of mind suggest an aesthetic intention that goes beyond providing what is necessary to tell the story. read more
Mar 22, 2016
Persuade (All reviews)
Story: Tsuritama is a coming of age story about a boy name Yuki who moves to Enoshima with his grandmother and why you ask does this have anything to do with FISHING? Well, a lot actually. Through his time in this small town he not only learns to make friends but develop into a "hero." Yes I said hero, because our main character Yuki somehow wound up saving the plant.

Art: The art by far is quite interesting, and you can see this through the opening and the show during regular times. Nothing much to say in this department, so compliments to the design team. For read more