Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Gakkou no Kaidan


Alternative Titles

English: Ghost Stories
Synonyms: Ghosts at School
Japanese: 学校の怪談

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 19
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 22, 2000 to Mar 25, 2001
Premiered: Fall 2000
Broadcast: Saturdays at 19:30 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Fuji TV
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Original
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.731 (scored by 31,547 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #10492
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1292
Members: 76,751
Favorites: 777

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 18, 2008
KaworutheProphet (All reviews)
What I've edited on the wikipedia article on a few occasions was the reason ADV didn't do a dub that directly translated the original version, I've sited sources and still it was taken down for some reason. It was the fact that they did this that made so many people try to bury the series before it was released. Hate for ADV came left and right if you mentioned "Ghost Stories" or "Gakko no Kaiden" (School Ghost Stories), This was the dub that no hardcore anime fan wanted to see succeed. While some threw hateful comments, others were just plain confused. read more
Aug 8, 2015
Ziote (All reviews)
Going into this series, anyone should know that the dub and the sub of this show are drastically different. The sub is probably more serious, and the dub is complete crack. So of course, I watched the dub version.
Ive done my fair share of watching serious animes. But once in a while its nice to sit back and relax with something light. Trust me, if you just want to laugh for half an hour, then Ghost Stories is what you want.

Story
Story? what story? This show has the plot of an abrigged series you'd find on youtube.
To me there was a certain formula to watching read more
Sep 20, 2016
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Ghost Stories is the amazing tale of a failed anime that became a cult classic through the absurd dubbing of the now defunct ADV films. The original is quite forgettable and not worth your time, but the infamous dub is DEFINITELY worth watching.

Background:

So who the hell was ADV? Back in the 1990s and early 2000s, the Texas dub studio ADV was the main rival of Funimation. Due to a series of terrible business decisions and an industry bubble burst, they went bankrupt and their best talent was poached by their surviving rival. They are basically the WCW to Funimation's WWE or the Sega to Funimation's read more
Dec 10, 2015
Cebix (All reviews)
The thing about this anime is that it is actually REALLY really bad. It bombed in Japan and it is easy to see why, the time this was released, there were so many good anime out that blew it out of the water and this anime doesn't do anything special. It tries to be Scooby Doo and also the cliche's and bland characters really hurts this show.

However......


Aniplex was handed the English dub of the show, knowing it was a failure in Japan and probably would be a failure here, it SEEMS they didn't take the dub too seriously. So what do we get? The best read more
Nov 5, 2011
Hazegurl (All reviews)
LOL! I gave this anime a perfect 10 all the way through because I know it would would just tick off the anime purist. Mind you, I am giving it a perfect 10 because of the ENGLISH DUB!

What can I say about this anime that hasn't been said better here except to add to the opinion that if you have a sense of humor you WILL enjoy this anime, this dub is by the far the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. Let's just be honest, the show in Japanese sucks, plain and simple, there is just no getting around that. So read more
Mar 26, 2014
Bakaoid2112 (All reviews)
Gakkou no Kaidan is a very hilarious anime. I had the pleasure of watching it dubbed and the comedy is in it is excellent, for me it is the best part, and what made this anime such a pleasure to watch. It is full of pop culture references and one liners, making nods to every thing from politics to celebrities.

As far as story goes, it doesn't change past, the kids encounter a ghost, and fight it off, but even with its static story, it remains entertaining and never becomes dull.

The character development also remains static, none of the characters really venture past the stereotypes that read more
Nov 15, 2009
seekster (All reviews)
First off let me say that I am a fan of Ghost Hunt which is in many ways very similar to Ghost Stories. However after having seen both series I have to say that Ghost Hunt is clearly the better of the two. Having said that Ghost Stories is a slightly underrated series that probably does deserve a bit more recognition.

Story:

Unlike Ghost Hunt, Ghost Stories is completely episodic and all but the first and last episodes can be watched in any order and still work. There is not anything really wrong with the story but it is predictable and prone to cliche use. There are read more
Nov 26, 2015
RoneSpeak (All reviews)
I don't know how this fell into my pilots watchlist, but I'm so happy it did. I can't believe there haven't been more animes dubbed quite like this one. This is one of those shows you need to watch the English dub of, I'll explain in a sec why.

Gakkou no Kaidan (Ghost Stories) is a pretty tame, predictable show about kids in school that accidentally release a bunch of ghosts and have to put them all back to sleep. Yeah, I know, it doesn't sound that memorable, but it's actually one of the best comedies I've seen in years and by far the most memorable.
I read more
Oct 17, 2013
syaoran555 (All reviews)
This is, without a doubt, the funniest anime dub I have ever watched. If you have anything remotely resembling a sense of humor, I highly recommend that you watch it.

The reason the ADV dub is so funny is because ADV took the original script and essentially tore it up, giving the VAs carte blanche to say whatever they wanted as long as it matched the lip flaps. As a result, Ghost Stories went from an almost unwatchable show to one of the funniest dubs in existence.
Nov 16, 2018
Curtis-Desu (All reviews)
THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE DUB!!! If you watch the original Japanese version of this anime and enjoy it you are simply wrong and have terrible taste.

Ghost Stories (Gakkou no Kaidan) is a pathetic excuse for a piece of entertainment with paper characters and the most generic story lines in existence, making this "Scary" anime a complete bore. In a nutshell this anime is: buncha kids find out school is haunted so do spells from a book to make them go away.
The thing to note however is due to how bad this anime did in japan the people in charge of the English read more
Oct 31, 2018
Its-Maki-kun (All reviews)
Imagine that you study in a haunted school that have so many supernatural beings that want you dead or something like that. And the only thing that could save you is... a very hilarious impromptu dubbed anime. Gakkou no Kaidan or more known as Ghost Stories is an anime praised not by the story, the art style, or even the soundtracks but for its impromptu hilarious dub. This anime is a very proof that being a creative person is above everything.

The story of Ghost Stories is mediocre at its best with repeating the same formula over and over again until 19 episodes. First, the episode read more
Oct 25, 2008
adeadaccountlol (All reviews)
Ghost Stories, oddly enough, is MUCH better in the English dub version than the original Japanese version, and it still isn't that great. The English dub tries to take an anime that takes itself way too seriously and make it funny, but even then, doesn't produce much more than a smirk from the audience. However, the Japanese version is unbearably serious and is practically impossible to watch.

The series is made up of short stories ((one per episode)) about ghosts, goblins and related demons. The main characters always get themselves involved and attempt to figure out these poorly written "mysteries" in the usual, cliche fashion.

The animation read more
Dec 3, 2015
angelsreview (All reviews)
This is one of those shows that is really hard to talk about, especially when I talk about the dub. I normally like when the dub is at least close to the original storyline and anyone who has heard of this show would know that it isn’t the case here. There are three different versions as I have heard about this show; the Sub of course, and then two different dubs even if I have only been able to see one. The dub that I’m going to be talking about is the ADV version and not the rumored Animax version. Most of the character personalities read more
Sep 23, 2013
kitphiroth (All reviews)
This is simply an amazing anime, ahaha. I cannot help but laugh at every joke, every poke on this anime as I watch it. You can tell it didn't even try to go after it's original script, but that was the beauty of it, they made something boring into a comedy.

If you have a sense of humor, just watch it, you won't be disappointed. Just, the whole anime just makes you laugh as a whole and if you are watching it to be a serious dub? Then don't bother, it's not something most people would even watch. If you read more
Feb 6, 2018
RetardedHyena (All reviews)
Basically, scooby doo, but more predictable and japanese. Well, that's the original anime for you, the "sub version" of this anime is like a strong 4 at best. The dub on the other hand? A masterpiece

Imagine an abridged series going legit. Well, this anime is exactly that.
(This is second hand information) Ghost stories was poorly received in japan, so when it was handed over for redub for the west, they basically had 2 requirements. Don't change names and keep the ways the ghosts are defeated.
AND THEY WENT HAM ON IT. Event though i have no idea if that is actually true, i wouldn't be surprised read more
Apr 27, 2019
SRMcQuillan (All reviews)
Okay, so I'll get to the dub, but frankly it feels like a different show, so I'll treat it separately.

This series is essentially Goosebumps in Japan and has a similar level of originality, narrative sophistication, and character development as what you might find there. These characters are loosely sketched and bring little memorable to the table (frankly I can't remember most of their names apart from protagonist Satsuki). The animation is not exactly stellar and most of the ghost/demon designs are rather derivative with only a few stand-outs. The stories are not genuinely scary, but it's aimed at a young audience, so I can read more
Jan 30, 2019
desumin (All reviews)
Don't watch the sub, don't even bother, it's not worth it. Sub is 2/10. It has 0 redeeming qualities. Mediocre art, mediocre writing, mediocre sound design, mediocre everything.

However, the dub is a different story. This dub is a masterpiece. I didn't know it was possible for a bit of script changing to make a boring intolerable anime into something I'm willing to watch if just for the jokes alone.

Though, that's about it really. The jokes are really good. The dub changes the characters by giving them outright ridiculous character traits, which I respect since it does make everything more interesting, but the story still doesn't read more
Jun 7, 2016
Mishiranu_Soto (All reviews)
The ADV English Dub of Ghost Stories exists as an interesting experiment: an official abridged version that has transformed an otherwise pretty poor kid's show into an amusing series for adults. With that said, there's some issues that prevent Ghost Stories from reaching comedic glory. For one, there's often no getting away from the original's badness. By the end of the series, a few of the episodes blur together either by being pretty forgettable, similar to each other, or just downright confusing. The dub often points this out and while it can hit the nail on the head, here's the other issue and it's a read more
May 6, 2018
SleepingAyumu (All reviews)
Have you ever accidentally watched a show you have not intended to watch? See, that was an easy one. It happens to everyone.

Let's swiftly move towards a less common problem: have you ever watched the series you were convinced was a different show? Now you might be asking yourself, how is this even possible, or probably what kind of a nonce could even manage such stupidity? The answer is currently typing this review.

For about two years, I have been planning to watch an anime called Kaidan Restaurant, and eventually its turn came. Unfortunately, I struggled finding a living torrent for the series, and just when read more
Apr 29, 2018
godofmankind (All reviews)
*THIS IS A REVIEW FOR THE ORIGINAL SHOW AND THE SPECIAL EPISODE*

[STORY: 3/10]
I watched the dub, which is notorious for its hilarity and total mock of the original show. The story isn't amazing, but the jokes (while hit and miss at times) really made it enjoyable. But as the original product is, it is just pretty bad and not very creative.

[ART: 3/10]
Not the worst art in the world, but very ugly and generic. Alot of times the animation and disproportion of the character's bodies will take you out of the show and make you laugh at the incompetence of the animators.

[SOUND: 7/10]
The voice actors are read more