Gakkou no Kaidan


Ghost Stories

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Ghost Stories
Synonyms: Ghosts at School
Japanese: 学校の怪談

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 19
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Oct 22, 2000 to Mar 25, 2001
Premiered: Fall 2000
Broadcast: Saturdays at 19:30 (JST)
Producers: Aniplex, Fuji TV
Studios: Studio Pierrot
Source: Original
Genres: MysteryMystery, HorrorHorror, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.691 (scored by 4549445,494 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #10682
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1251
Members: 113,040
Favorites: 1,091
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 18, 2008
KaworutheProphet (All reviews)
What I've edited on the wikipedia article on a few occasions was the reason ADV didn't do a dub that directly translated the original version, I've sited sources and still it was taken down for some reason. It was the fact that they did this that made so many people try to bury the series before it was released. Hate for ADV came left and right if you mentioned "Ghost Stories" or "Gakko no Kaiden" (School Ghost Stories), This was the dub that no hardcore anime fan wanted to see succeed. While some threw hateful comments, others were just plain confused. read more
Dec 10, 2015
Cebix (All reviews)
The thing about this anime is that it is actually REALLY really bad. It bombed in Japan and it is easy to see why, the time this was released, there were so many good anime out that blew it out of the water and this anime doesn't do anything special. It tries to be Scooby Doo and also the cliche's and bland characters really hurts this show.

However......


Aniplex was handed the English dub of the show, knowing it was a failure in Japan and probably would be a failure here, it SEEMS they didn't take the dub too seriously. So what do we get? The best read more
Aug 8, 2015
Ziote (All reviews)
Going into this series, anyone should know that the dub and the sub of this show are drastically different. The sub is probably more serious, and the dub is complete crack. So of course, I watched the dub version.
Ive done my fair share of watching serious animes. But once in a while its nice to sit back and relax with something light. Trust me, if you just want to laugh for half an hour, then Ghost Stories is what you want.

Story
Story? what story? This show has the plot of an abrigged series you'd find on youtube.
To me there was a certain formula to watching read more
Sep 20, 2016
literaturenerd (All reviews)
Overview:

Ghost Stories is the amazing tale of a failed anime that became a cult classic through the absurd dubbing of the now defunct ADV films. The original is quite forgettable and not worth your time, but the infamous dub is DEFINITELY worth watching.

Background:

So who the hell was ADV? Back in the 1990s and early 2000s, the Texas dub studio ADV was the main rival of Funimation. Due to a series of terrible business decisions and an industry bubble burst, they went bankrupt and their best talent was poached by their surviving rival. They are basically the WCW to Funimation's WWE or the Sega to Funimation's read more
Feb 29, 2020
Lord_Tridoth (All reviews)
(WATCH THIS ANIME DUBBED)This anime is a must-watch definitely a cult classic anime, with the best dialogue in anime. With this anime is recommended to watch dub some episodes were very good and the anime is well-paced. Do not binge this anime and it is best enjoyed with friends. This anime is too complicated and is straight forward which makes it watchable. I can probably rewatch this anime by far favorite character is that cat. This is an anime you at least have to see once and is really well written.

If you do not laugh at least once then you have NO SOUL
Oct 17, 2013
syaoran555 (All reviews)
This is, without a doubt, the funniest anime dub I have ever watched. If you have anything remotely resembling a sense of humor, I highly recommend that you watch it.

The reason the ADV dub is so funny is because ADV took the original script and essentially tore it up, giving the VAs carte blanche to say whatever they wanted as long as it matched the lip flaps. As a result, Ghost Stories went from an almost unwatchable show to one of the funniest dubs in existence.
Nov 5, 2011
Hazegurl (All reviews)
LOL! I gave this anime a perfect 10 all the way through because I know it would would just tick off the anime purist. Mind you, I am giving it a perfect 10 because of the ENGLISH DUB!

What can I say about this anime that hasn't been said better here except to add to the opinion that if you have a sense of humor you WILL enjoy this anime, this dub is by the far the funniest thing I have seen in a long time. Let's just be honest, the show in Japanese sucks, plain and simple, there is just no getting around that. So read more
Mar 26, 2014
Bakaoid2112 (All reviews)
Gakkou no Kaidan is a very hilarious anime. I had the pleasure of watching it dubbed and the comedy is in it is excellent, for me it is the best part, and what made this anime such a pleasure to watch. It is full of pop culture references and one liners, making nods to every thing from politics to celebrities.

As far as story goes, it doesn't change past, the kids encounter a ghost, and fight it off, but even with its static story, it remains entertaining and never becomes dull.

The character development also remains static, none of the characters really venture past the stereotypes that read more
Nov 15, 2009
seekster (All reviews)
First off let me say that I am a fan of Ghost Hunt which is in many ways very similar to Ghost Stories. However after having seen both series I have to say that Ghost Hunt is clearly the better of the two. Having said that Ghost Stories is a slightly underrated series that probably does deserve a bit more recognition.

Story:

Unlike Ghost Hunt, Ghost Stories is completely episodic and all but the first and last episodes can be watched in any order and still work. There is not anything really wrong with the story but it is predictable and prone to cliche use. There are read more
Nov 26, 2015
RoneSpeak (All reviews)
I don't know how this fell into my pilots watchlist, but I'm so happy it did. I can't believe there haven't been more animes dubbed quite like this one. This is one of those shows you need to watch the English dub of, I'll explain in a sec why.

Gakkou no Kaidan (Ghost Stories) is a pretty tame, predictable show about kids in school that accidentally release a bunch of ghosts and have to put them all back to sleep. Yeah, I know, it doesn't sound that memorable, but it's actually one of the best comedies I've seen in years and by far the most memorable.
I read more
Oct 25, 2008
adeadaccountlol (All reviews)
Ghost Stories, oddly enough, is MUCH better in the English dub version than the original Japanese version, and it still isn't that great. The English dub tries to take an anime that takes itself way too seriously and make it funny, but even then, doesn't produce much more than a smirk from the audience. However, the Japanese version is unbearably serious and is practically impossible to watch.

The series is made up of short stories ((one per episode)) about ghosts, goblins and related demons. The main characters always get themselves involved and attempt to figure out these poorly written "mysteries" in the usual, cliche fashion.

The animation read more
Aug 7, 2019
Astraea_ (All reviews)
"Now I know it will never work between us. And it's not because you're a rabbit, but because you're black."
Ghost Stories will go down as the greatest anime dub of all time. The dub is great, and not because the voices are speculator or anything, but due to the dub turning a supposedly garbage anime into a great one. For those who don't know, Ghost Stories is a horror mystery anime that bombed in Japan due to how bad it was. For some reason, ADV got the rights to it and gave absolutely no shits when dubbing it. Supposedly the only things they weren't allowed read more
Jul 14, 2020
MentosOW (All reviews)
Preliminary
For context this is coming from someone who watched the english dub, not the japanese sub
I personally gave up on this anime halfway in. Humor is all the english dub is. That may be enjoyable to some people but it wasn't to me. the best way to describe it would be like a japanese version of something like family guy or south park. The reason those shows succeed is because they add variety. This show however is pratically the same thing each episode. Although the art is average for the time period and it is certainly very funny, those alone are not enough to keep read more
Apr 16, 2020
IOnlyWatchLitAni (All reviews)
This is the most serious, disciplining anime I have ever watched. But for some reason it is soo serious I don’t like it. In the dub no one has emotions. I mean come on, these are students the least they can do is crack a joke. I was very emotionally attached when the rabbit was black.

0/10 story- too serious

0/10 Art- feels too much like Teletubbies except more serious. Something I can’t fathom.

2/10 Sound- The music is great. Like Beethoven once said, “Music is the name of Ghost Stories”. But their voice is also a part of sound. And their voice acting is too serious.

0/10 Character- read more
Dec 3, 2015
angelsreview (All reviews)
This is one of those shows that is really hard to talk about, especially when I talk about the dub. I normally like when the dub is at least close to the original storyline and anyone who has heard of this show would know that it isn’t the case here. There are three different versions as I have heard about this show; the Sub of course, and then two different dubs even if I have only been able to see one. The dub that I’m going to be talking about is the ADV version and not the rumored Animax version. Most of the character personalities read more
Jan 16, 2020
GameTek (All reviews)
as a long time anime fan i never dreamed the day i would have to review this amazing dub now im not saying its a good show it obviously flop in japan but when they decided to do a dub i never thought it would be so good and 100% funny still to this day i laugh the jokes are very amusing and to make it even better this will always go down as a masterpiece among anime fans due to it being great despite the fact though it does have some problems i would like to talk about the 1st one being read more
Sep 23, 2013
kitphiroth (All reviews)
This is simply an amazing anime, ahaha. I cannot help but laugh at every joke, every poke on this anime as I watch it. You can tell it didn't even try to go after it's original script, but that was the beauty of it, they made something boring into a comedy.

If you have a sense of humor, just watch it, you won't be disappointed. Just, the whole anime just makes you laugh as a whole and if you are watching it to be a serious dub? Then don't bother, it's not something most people would even watch. If you read more
Nov 16, 2018
Curtis-Desu (All reviews)
THIS IS A REVIEW OF THE DUB!!! If you watch the original Japanese version of this anime and enjoy it you are simply wrong and have terrible taste.

Ghost Stories (Gakkou no Kaidan) is a pathetic excuse for a piece of entertainment with paper characters and the most generic story lines in existence, making this "Scary" anime a complete bore. In a nutshell this anime is: buncha kids find out school is haunted so do spells from a book to make them go away.
The thing to note however is due to how bad this anime did in japan the people in charge of the English read more
Apr 27, 2019
SRMcQuillan (All reviews)
Okay, so I'll get to the dub, but frankly it feels like a different show, so I'll treat it separately.

This series is essentially Goosebumps in Japan and has a similar level of originality, narrative sophistication, and character development as what you might find there. These characters are loosely sketched and bring little memorable to the table (frankly I can't remember most of their names apart from protagonist Satsuki). The animation is not exactly stellar and most of the ghost/demon designs are rather derivative with only a few stand-outs. The stories are not genuinely scary, but it's aimed at a young audience, so I can read more
May 20, 2016
AnthraxHierarchy (All reviews)
Such an amazingly funny anime. This show is like family guy, but 10x more offensive. Most of the comedy in this anime is spontaneous, but there's some pretty funny well thought out jokes throughout it. If you read some back story on this anime the voice actors were given permission to pretty much say whatever they wanted as long as they stayed on track with a story. As the show progresses the voice actors pretty much just go **** it and say whatever they want no matter how offensive (i mean that in that best way possible rofl). Anyway, not usually into comedic anime, but read more