Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Bio Hunter


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Biohunter
Japanese: バイオ・ハンター

Information

Type: OVA
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Dec 8, 1995
Producers: BMG Japan
Licensors: Urban Vision
Studios: Madhouse
Source: Manga
Genres: Action, Demons, Horror
Duration: 58 min.
Rating: R+ - Mild Nudity

Statistics

Score: 6.011 (scored by 3,941 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #81582
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #4475
Members: 8,577
Favorites: 5

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Feb 27, 2011
kisarachan (All reviews)
I'm surprised no one has written a review for this yet, as I found it quite a pleasant surprise. Japan has given us some very interesting stories about zombies and demons in the past (the most famous probably being Resident Evil) and this movie is no exception.

Biohunter uses the age old plot device of a virus which leaves the infected with some rather nasty side effects. The show begins by illustrating a woman and her lover, both devoured by the disease. In the case of the young woman, she loses her sanity (and her good looks) while her lover is quite literally lunch. It read more
Dec 14, 2014
bloge (All reviews)
Bio Hunter is an interesting twist of John Carpenter's "The Thing" and "Ghost Busters", starring Akuma, and it really works out well for itself. This was a surprise turnout when considering the mean score of 6/10. I say, don't be fooled, Bio Hunter is nothing to pass up. It's one of the best examples of Madhouse's creativity working wonders in the past, and a reminder to why they are one of the best studios around.

Starting with the sights and sounds, Bio Hunter doesn't wimp-out. For sub-HD video, the entirety of the screen looks crisp with great color-depth and some nice grain. It fooled me, while read more
Oct 24, 2018
ktulu007 (All reviews)
Bio Hunter is a Madhouse film from the mid 90s based off of a manga by Fujihiko Hosono. Madhouse has a bit of a mixed history with horror themed anime in general. They worked on Blade, which was okay. Death Parade, which was fantastic and Highschool of the Dead, which remains among the worst anime I've ever seen. So, this anime could end up anywhere on the spectrum. 

Story:
We open with a couple having sex. She seems disinterested and just wants something to eat. Guys, if your partner responds like that, I'm sorry but you need to work on your technique. Maybe communicate a little and find read more
Mar 4, 2017
Sidewinder51 (All reviews)
Rate a 5
Seen via English dubbed

Story/art
Not original. Similar to a couple older shows like ghost busters for example. Even though the question one would have are answered it fails to make the viewer captive. perhaps, it is due to the unrealistic approach the art has. Don't get me wrong the art is done nicely just not nerve raking. If you have seen any of the Saw movies you know what i mean. Those movies use very realistic effects and i get can't help but getting scared. Here i felt the need to yawn.

Sound
No complaints nor compliments.

Character
background was covered but i would of have like to read more
Jul 27, 2018
Cinemasakuga (All reviews)
Well, I've ended up enjoying this anime a lot even though it has a lot of errors in terms of the narrative of the anime.

Bio hunter is one of those anime that everyone can enjoy due to the stupid tone he has and the scenes of violence so graphic, but my main problem with this anime is that he does not decide the tone that he will have in the short duration of 58 minutes, I like how they introduce us the conflict if the monster can love and I can say that this is well executed but here I have my main problem of read more
May 21, 2018
berserkersoul (All reviews)
Bio Hunter is a really fascinating tale of two biomolecular professors that try to unravel a mysterious retrovirus that is spreading through Japan. This virus has the ability to change its hosts into bloodthirsty monsters with increased strength and speed. One of the professors has been infected but his impeccable immune system has allowed him to remain in his human form and transform into his monster form. However, the professors are working against the clock as the virus spreads and the professor struggles with his monster side

Story - The story is a really unique fusion of supernatural lore and science. It is really enjoyable to read more
Jan 31, 2018
Luisfe-kun (All reviews)
Ok, to be honest I just was expecting a cheap-gore OVA like Genocyber. But I was given a very good story with a few gore scenes.

Story: Not the most original story in the world (also I think it was inspired on Devilman only with a biological focus) but it was pretty good. The existence of demons explained from a scientist point of view. Hey, thats something that we dont get everyday. But thats just a combination of the ideas of mythological and biological monsters in one sotry. It doesnt make it original but still a good idea

Characters: Too simple but it doesnt make them read more
Nov 19, 2016
mrbeckham09 (All reviews)
Bio Hunter

Right from the get-go I am enthralled into this anime. A couple is making love (no one is in the room with me) I'm thinking, "Alright, let's see where this is going." BOOM somebody dies. Now you've got my attention.

The story line actually isn't very thought out, but the two main characters are detectives and stumble into a life-or-death case involving them now. At first they wanted to help this poor lady in distress, but then they become emotionally attached and can't just leave her alone.

Background: A demon virus is on the loose and infecting people. These Infected devour other people in order read more