Fushigi no Umi no Nadia


Nadia: Secret of Blue Water

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Nadia: Secret of Blue Water
Japanese: ふしぎの海のナディア

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 39
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 1990 to Apr 12, 1991
Premiered: Spring 1990
Broadcast: Fridays at 19:30 (JST)
Producers: NHK, Sogo Vision
Studios: Gainax
Source: Original
Genres: AdventureAdventure, ComedyComedy, RomanceRomance, Sci-FiSci-Fi
Theme: HistoricalHistorical
Duration: 25 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 7.531 (scored by 1566515,665 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #15332
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #2389
Members: 54,652
Favorites: 415

External Links

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 9, 2008
BornIn1142 (All reviews)
Story: Nadia, the Secret of Blue Water is supposedly based on the novel 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea. The truth of the matter is, the plot elements shared by the two can pretty much be counted on one hand. The two stories are practically unconnected. But that's alright. The plot crafted for Nadia "based on" Jules Verne's is actually quite good by its own right. It offers both awesomely epic action and touching emotionality and handles both wonderfully. There are a few nicely executed twists thrown in as well.

Of course, no review of Nadia can get around a certain arc in the middle. Episodes 23-34 read more
Jan 14, 2008
JTurner (All reviews)
In the mid 1970's, prior to obtaining his well-deserved status as Japan's greatest animator ever, a young Hayao Miyazaki was hired by Japanese movie giant Toho to develop ideas for TV series. One of these concepts was "Around the World Under the Sea", based on Jules Verne's "20,000 Leagues Under the Sea," in which two orphan children pursued by villains team up with Captain Nemo and his mighty submarine, the Nautilus. Although it was never produced, Toho nonetheless kept the rights to the story outline. Miyazaki would reuse elements from his original concept in later projects of his, most notably the terrific action-adventure Castle in read more
Dec 26, 2014
Fear_the_Reefer (All reviews)
Jean Raltique is a 14 year old, wide eyed inventor living in 1890’s France. He and his uncle are participating in the Birdman Rally, an event that wouldn’t actually be established until 1970’s England, but we’ll be gracious and ignore that fact. He falls in love at first sight with an exotic looking circus performer named Nadia, who wants to return to the place of her birth, which... Due to her dark skin... she believes to be Africa. They’re attacked by a trio of jewel thieves, and are chased all the way back to Jean’s house, where he smoothly offers to read more
Sep 6, 2018
CodeBlazeFate (All reviews)
Nadia is a strange and interesting series to talk about. From its reception, you’d find a show that can go from fun to nauseating and amazing to terrible at the drop of a hat after a magnificent early run. From the title and the premise, this show sounds like a wonderfully charming time. It creates this sense of trepidation as to whether you should watch the show, as while there is a lot of joy to be had, some may deem the lengthy yet temporary drop in quality not worth sitting through even for the ⅔ of the show that is worth cherishing.

Allow me to read more
Feb 13, 2011
NeverKnowsBest26 (All reviews)
Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water is one of the first works acclaimed director Hideaki Anno. Though inspired by Jules Verne's "Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea" it is a sci-fi adventure that is enjoyable even without any knowledge of Verne's story. The show displays Anno's talent as a director early in his career. While not as refined as Anno's definitive work, Neon Genesis Evangelion, it benefits from Anno's mastery over characters and spectacle. Sadly, it also suffers from the director's unfortunate tenancy to overemphasize on those strengths and his weakness in theme and plot.

The show follows Jean Roque Raltique, a young scatter-brained read more
Jul 4, 2021
cloudviiiiiii (All reviews)
This series is one of the best animated features ever made. Away from the bizarre island arc, it is nearly flawless. I recommend watching the 30th Anniversary fan edit, which converted the 16+ hours series into a trilogy of movies of less than 6 hours. It also treated the major issues like the island arc, and some other continuity errors and fillers in an amazing way. I personally think this is the best way to watch this work of art.

The best thing about this masterpiece is the character development and writing. This is by far one of the most enjoyable, relatable and well written cast read more
Apr 16, 2010
MS06FZ (All reviews)
Preliminary
It's a shame that the desert island arc of this show exists.

If it wasn't for that, it would be a good show. But the fact that for a good few episodes in the middle of the show, any trace of character development is killed dead, and any concept of the ongoing plot is put on hold and instead replaced with wacky comedy and pointless filler means that this show is not really anywhere near perfect, or indeed very good.

Let's start with the good things. It's a steampunk sci-fi show featuring the VAs of Noriko Takaya and Anavel Gato in fine form as a rebellious French read more
Nov 17, 2015
Mondblut (All reviews)

Note: The following review excludes the horrible "Island Arc" (Eps 23-34). I will write about them later on.

Now,
that this is out of the way: After i finally rewatched the show after
almost 20 years, as an adult (actually it is one of the earliest anime
memories i have had as a child), i was completely blown away. I knew it
was good, but i never expected it to be that good. Hideaki Anno (Neon
Genesis Evangelion) was able to create a show that is able to mix
lighthearted moments with heartshattering drama without disrupting the
characterizations of its characters. Nadias characters are not only
likable, but feel alive. Even though he doesn`t read more
Jun 20, 2020
neongenesis92i (All reviews)
The characters are truly loveable and well-written (Jean and Nadia are both adorable in different ways), many interesting and philosophical themes like science/nature conflict, growing up, human race and its flaws, love, death, fate, duty, sacrifice, hubris are covered. I loved how joyful and childish the show looks like at first sight, but it actually ended up being kinda dark and deep.
The story itself is also really interesting, and the ending (ep 35 -39) is grandiose. The Island and Africa Arcs are for sure flawed in many ways: they are mostly fillers, with crappy and boring humor and gags, ininteresting events (King being jealous...), boring read more
Feb 22, 2009
Apocaly (All reviews)
Esse anime é mais ou menos baseado no livro de Julio Verne, 20000 léguas submarinas. Na verdade da história mesmo, só tem o capitão Nemo, e outras coisas mais secundárias.
A personagem principal é Nadia; ela possui uma estranha pedra azul desde pequena, misteriosa porque começa a brilhar quando Nadia está em perigo. Ela encontra o jovem inventor Jean em Paris, e os dois se unem para ir para a África, terra natal de Nadia. No decorrer da história, os dois vão conhecendo amigos e inimigos, e descobrindo o passado de Nadia.

Os personagens são perfeitos, muito carismáticos e cada um com sua particularidade. Gosto do read more
Oct 23, 2018
mattpointon77 (All reviews)
I was introduced to the world of anime back in the mid-1980s when, as a child, I saw The Mysterious Cities of Gold. Ever since then I've searched for a series that can compare and now, I have found one.

Nadia is not MCOG and I still prefer the latter, but in style, plot and characterisations, there are lots of similarities, from an historical setting, world travel and survivors from an ancient civilisation destroyed by war.

Nadia is better in terms of characterisation. There is a degree of depth to all the characters that does not exist in MCOG. The dynamics between Nadia and Jean are excellent.

Nadia read more
Sep 12, 2018
EggheadLuna (All reviews)
Fushigi no Umi no Nadia was a cacophony of many different things: an explosion of colors, an unusually worldly settingーparticularly for an anime of its time, and machinery fetishization that is noticed, it nearly breaks the fourth-wall, by the main heroine (Nadia) who annoyingly whines and throws tantrums throughout most of the show. I felt as though Hideaki Anno was attempting to merge Space Battleship Yamato with Jules Verne’s Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea into an original, awe-inspiring tale.

• Nadia: Secret of Blue Water fails where it’s successor, Neon Genesis Evangelion, thrives. This is with tonal consistency and focus, areas that cause Secret of Blue read more
Jul 20, 2016
hasabrowngirlnit (All reviews)
[Warning somewhat spoilerish]

Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water ‘starts off’ as a great anime. The first ep was well-done and serves as a perfect example of how to capture your audience's attention from the very beginning.

We are quickly introduced to the character Jean, who we understand is an upcoming inventor, he then spots Nadia, a mysterious girl who wants to find out where she comes from. Later, on we meet Grandis and her crew, who will quickly become my favorite characters in the series, and see that they are after the ‘blue water’ that is Nadia’s necklace.

So there we go, we have are plot, we read more
Oct 10, 2017
BunBytes (All reviews)
STORY - 5/10
Apparently this idea was pitched by Hayao Miyazaki over a decade before the series was made. In total honesty I'm no fan of Miyazaki when it comes to his stories - I watch Ghibli for the animation - so it's no surprise I wasn't the biggest fan of the plot of Nadia. What confused me most was the inclusion of filler (there's an episode where the characters sing 2+ minute songs set to clips from previous episodes), considering it ran to a non-standard 39 episodes and wasn't adapting anything. It's very hard to pin down the story's faults beyond that, though, because the read more
Mar 17, 2017
AironicallyHuman (All reviews)
'Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water' is a fascinating piece of overlooked anime history, as well as an adventure classic. Those fond of 'Neon Genesis Evangelion', in particular, owe it to themselves to watch it because Nadia is the anime that directly influenced Evangelion; in the form of director Hideaki Anno's very own version of a much loved Ghibli classic.

The reason Nadia holds such influence is - partly - because the stress of working on the series was what lead to Anno's (in)famous four-year period of depression, which he would later channel into a sort of negative creativity in the form of THE psychological breakdown read more
Aug 12, 2018
Smartreviews (All reviews)
Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water is one of anime's greatest kept secrets and a hidden gem (no pun intended) for most modern anime viewers. While I wouldn't say it's based off of 20,000 leagues under the sea, it certainly does take inspiration (Nemo) and pay homage (Jean) to many of Jules Verne's works. Most importantly, it's accurately captures Verne's spirit of adventure that would be expanded upon in Hiyao Miyazaki's latter works. It was basically Gurren Lagann before Gurren Lagann. Yet, I wouldn't blame anyone for rating this show a flat 7. Why?

Well, while the first 23 episodes and last 5 episodes made up read more
Aug 8, 2017
young_kappa (All reviews)
I'll say it right off the bat, this show totally soiled my expectations. I was certain Nadia: Secret of Blue Water would become one of my all time favorite series at an 8/10 or possibly 9/10 score until about the halfway point where the directors just threw in about ten episodes of superfluous and boring character interactions just to stall on keeping the plot going, that largely being what killed this for me along with the fact that it's chock full of blatant animation errors, among other things I'll get into. But it certainly has some very redeeming qualities.

Nadia's story is the strong point. It's read more
May 31, 2017
LaLeLuLiLo (All reviews)
The story opens on 1889 as the world is in the midst of an industrial revolution, as well as the start of the famous french world fair with its main attraction being the Eiffel tower, the tallest structure during its time as well as a monument to modern engineering, industry, and science. Enter Jean Ratlique a young french inventor whose dream is to be the first person to make an actual flying aircraft. Jean along with his uncle enter a sort of flying/gliding competition, until Jean falls in love at first sight with a dark skinned girl who walked passed by. Jean leaves his project read more
Nov 15, 2017
AnimeTopScholar (All reviews)
Fushigi no Umi no Nadia (Nadia: The Secret of Blue Water) is a 39 episode anime that aired from Apr 13 1990 to Apr 12 1991. The anime is based on the novel 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea by Jules Verne. The story concept was made by Hayao Miyazaki, and it was produced by studio Gainax and directed by Hideaki Anno (Neon Genesis Evangelion.)

In 1889, the world is on the pinnacle of great discoveries in technology. We're introduced to Jean Roque Ratlique. He's a young inventor who, together with his grandfather, are joining a competition in order to make a flying machine. Jean see's a read more
Nov 17, 2020
renyrells (All reviews)
I always thought this show was more popular than it seems to be. It's a Gainax show directed by Anno after all. I've definitely seen Jean, Nadia and Captain Nemo around the internet for well over a decade. As some of the other reviews here indicate, At less than 50k viewers, it is a hidden gem in the Gainax Library.

*Will contain some minor spoilers*

This is one of the better adventure show's I've seen. I know it's an aspect of the anime media to have over arcing storylines. However, this show does such a good job at stitching the end of one episode right where read more