Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Sakasama no Patema


Alternative Titles

English: Patema Inverted
Synonyms: Sakasama no Patema
Japanese: サカサマのパテマ

Information

Type: Movie
Episodes: 1
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Nov 9, 2013
Licensors: NYAV Post, GKIDS
Source: Original
Genres: Adventure, Sci-Fi
Duration: 1 hr. 39 min.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 8.131 (scored by 82,316 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #4142
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #607
Members: 171,350
Favorites: 1,063

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Dec 27, 2014
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
Patema Inverted focuses around a teenage girl named Patema who lives her underground home to discover that gravity is distorted for the humans living on the surface as she encounters a boy named Age living on the surface. The movie focuses on the two bonding through their rather unique situation with gravity while putting up with the dictatorship government that Age lives under trying to capture Patema and learn of the whereabouts of her people to wipe them all out. In terms of the bond with Age and Patema, it is genuinely convincing with the two learning through one another of the differing problems they read more
Mar 25, 2015
PandaJerk007 (All reviews)
This will be a really quick review because I gotta prepare for a presentation in my Japanese class tomorrow. I had some extra time so I watched this pretty awesome movie and now I'm trying to get back to doing homework, but I felt like writing this review first ^_^

The story was very intriguing and kept me interested the whole time.
Story 8/10

For an anime movie made in 2013 the art could have looked a little bit better at times. However, during the many scenes that were designed to be visually stunning they not only succeeded but blew away my expectations. It was breathtaking to watch read more
Jul 24, 2018
TaiyooYuki (All reviews)
The concept and story is actually great. Many people who gives this anime a bad rating is because they didn't understand everything in the movie. It's a nice and interesting movie. I recommend it.

(Reviews doesn't have to be longer than this, waay to many people write much more than necessary) so im gonna fill this out with just blank. so im gonna fill this out with just blank. so im gonna fill this out with just blank. so im gonna fill this out with just blank. so im gonna fill this out with just blank. so im gonna read more
Mar 6, 2018
LegendAqua (All reviews)
Up is down and down is up, yet fear is everywhere...

Sakasama no Patema is probably one of the more interesting anime movies with extremely strong undertones of racism and the fear of the unknown all packaged under one of the literal topsy turfy world building (in a good sense) LA has seen in a while.

Mild spoilers ahead...

Sakasama no Patema's undertones goes as far as being or having the personality of an outsider being labeled as an inverted. Being "inverted" has connotations on both sides of Sakasama no Patema

*The "true" world of the "Aigans", where it's an Orwellian 1984 future, another words being disgraced and even read more
Jan 25, 2018
elemenope (All reviews)
A pretty decent movie with a decent concept. it started like this: 2 different worlds that are equally deluded on the way of life. but the characters in each world wants to discover something more then what they live in, and hence this story. Sadly the MC ruined it for me. Patema is the exact type of character i hate in my animes: she acts like shes so important and does what she likes, and when she gets into trouble, doesnt know shit on how to handle herself and orders people to help her. hated her by the 20th min of the movie. but if read more
May 17, 2014
davyjones635 (All reviews)
I went in not knowing what I was getting into, and I must say I was pleasantly surprised. Sakasama no Patema is a very sweet story of a girl meeting a boy while in very difficult positions regarding the other. It's almost like Romeo and Juliet, although this story focusses less on romance and more on resolving the issues between both of the sides they are on.

Story: The story was good in the beginning, it was clear what was happening although you were not really sure to which party it was happening, and plot holes barely presented themselves. Later in the movie the story read more
Sep 4, 2015
hinekure (All reviews)
Sakasama no Patema is a film that took my breath away. From the moment I became immersed in the world its absolutely stunning art created, my attention was held and my expectations completely surpassed. To me, this is a film about the divide the fear of the unknown creates between us, a metaphor for the way we are separated by the way we, as a collective, cope with that fear, and compassion, friendship and empathy.

Story: 9/10 (Great)

The story of Patema Inverted follows a unique take on the theme of "Us and Them" - it takes place in a future in which a botched experiment causes read more
Jul 4, 2016
xbobx (All reviews)
˙ƃuoɹʇs ʎlqɐᴉuǝpun sɐʍ sɹǝʇɹǝʌuoɔ ʇxǝʇ uʍop-ǝpᴉsdn ǝsoɥʇ ɟo ǝuo ƃuᴉsn ʍǝᴉʌǝɹ sᴉɥʇ ƃuᴉʇsod ɟo uoᴉʇɐʇdɯǝʇ ǝɥ┴

Imagine a cave where people have been imprisoned from childhood.
These prisoners are chained so that their legs and necks are fixed, forcing them to gaze at the wall in front of them and not look around at the cave, each other, or themselves.
Behind them is a large bonfire, and between the two there's a walkway where things that get placed on it appear as shadows on the wall in front of the prisoners.
These shadows are cast from people, animals, objects, many things that constitute our reality in their wide read more
Mar 28, 2016
Meatloaf292 (All reviews)
2 Sentence Review: This movie is fantastic. It toys with the idea of perspective both physically in the animation and the mental concept of it, in what I thought to be a very creative manner.

Story 7/10: Not the greatest story in the world. Pretty basic to be perfectly honest. However, it did its job well. Its tone is relatively peaceful yet the message its trying to get across is rather direct. I cannot say much but I will say it could potentially leave an impression on your life outlook, as much of an exaggeration as that may sound.
Art 10/10: Nothing I've seen has so read more
Jun 22, 2016
TXTSVO (All reviews)
no spoilers dont worry

Sakasama no Patema isn't the kind of story you want to overthink or you'll end up confusing yourself. Instead of trying to explain it or disprove it, just let the story take you and guide you through its world. If you try to include actual science you will likely end up confusing yourself and you won't let the magic of the story work itself. It's a great story about a world where an gravity related-experiment gone wrong causes some humans to experience gravity differently than others. That's probably as much as I'll tell you about the story itself.

While the movie wasn't necessarily read more
Nov 10, 2017
DevWinterCast (All reviews)
The rules said that I shouldn't include summaries and spoilers so I'd best try not to.
Anyway..

If I would live in a place as such. I'd do. No questions.
The real question here is... who's inverted?


To explain how I rated it 10/10 (Outstanding) really easily is because..
From Arts, Sounds to Story.. It's just something I'm looking for.
The surrealism of an environment, the way they made different perspectives for those who live on it. The art is especially amazing, to be honest, I wasn't expecting much at first, but it's worth it.

Now, the main factors is that you'll be able to gouge your eyes out seeing read more
Sep 24, 2017
cordy_herondale (All reviews)
Oh wow, honestly this is such an amazing movie, it has a great and intriguing story, the timing for the plot twists is really well done, everytime you think you have the story figured out something happens and its mind-blowing. The characters are very well written and the bonds they create and the way interact is so heartwarming. I absolutely love Age, he's brave and loyal and Patema is adorably curious and cheerful.
The art is beautiful, it was the reason why decided to watch it tbh and the soundtrack was really good, making every scene so much more meaningful.
The side characters were nicely done, I read more
Jul 29, 2017
Kosmic_Mindful (All reviews)
Just an fyi if you're looking for an expert review go away this is just my first "review" of a movie I thought was really good and one of the better things I've seen as of lately. (I've been on a downward slope of trying to find any good anime to watch, anyway lets get into whatever... this, is)
wow, just wow
fucking great movie
I"ve never seen a show or movie with this inverted idea but it was very interesting and very good
there are no plot holes or anything, while the idea of it is far fetched, (then again it's fucking anime so don't think too read more
Aug 11, 2019
ToastMyGhost (All reviews)
This is definitely one of those movies where the prospect of seeing another world is a whimsical notion, which means I would have really liked this more as a kid. When I was younger, I would brush off bad storytelling for the sake of spectacle (which is why Star Wars Episode II was my favourite movie for a while). However, my logical, adult brain started picking apart "plot holes" I wouldn't have thought of as a simple-minded child. But if you can move past the little things like that, this is an enjoyable movie.

It would have been a little intense for me as a kid, read more
Jun 24, 2015
Hendo-chan (All reviews)
Quick Review: Patema Inverted has a very interesting concept which appears to relate to Nazi Germany. While its cast is not particularly strong (hard for them to develop them in such a short time), I feel they are sufficient enough to take you on a beautiful and enjoyable ride. This movie should definitely be given a watch if only for the unique story and pretty animation and sound.
Jan 18, 2015
Richard-kun (All reviews)
This film is weird! It's full of unanswered questions, mysterious back story and a mysterious setting which is kept a mystery throughout the whole film.

The concept, art and music is all so beautiful and I love these aspects of the film. Visually, Patema Inverted is a beautiful adventure and journey which makes this well worth the watch and something which I am very happy to have on my shelf. The two main characters, Eiji and Patema are also very likeable.

On the other hand, this movie has enormous plot holes which really lets the whole thing down. How and why there is inverted gravity read more
Feb 10, 2015
Amagai (All reviews)
"Patema: Inverted," after having initially seen the trailer back in 2013, this movie had been on and off my radar since. Through the trailer alone I was captivated by the concept of the "gravity" element and what gives purpose to the titles meaning. To cut the review short, yet succinct of my thoughts...

...much of the characters are tropes, but that doesn't equate to the film being bad, but illuminates a single honest flaw of the film. I think where this film truly shines is in concept being recognized through execution of this inverted world that gives perspective just that, perspective. Without spoiling anything, one could read more
Apr 28, 2016
LoveAnime93 (All reviews)
Which way is up and which way is down? I'm Loveanime93 and welcome to my Review for Patema Inverted or Sakasama no Patema.

To Start, I didn't know about this anime film I've heard of Studio Rikka who did time of eve but not this film and I only watched this as it was recommended by a sale person at a comic con event. And Boy was it something.

Firstly this film is a mind bender and can give a headache and it will leave you constantly questioning things at least i did.

The story is a simple but original and drives on the different points of views read more
Dec 30, 2015
We_are_zero (All reviews)
I had relatively high expectations coming into this movie, but it totally blew them out of the water. Between the pacing, the story, the conflict- this movie kept me interested from beginning to end. I highly encourage anyone who's even thinking about watching to try it- it's only 99 minutes.

Story-8
No summaries here, but the plot never fails to produce situations which seem relatively likely to happen even the circumstances (exception of one scene). Other than that, a few plot twists kept me guessing at where the story would go next.

Art-10
I would rate this a 10 even if it was paper cutout read more
Oct 30, 2014
Okishi (All reviews)
Summary:
Patema is a girl that lives in an underground city, all people there wear protective clothes and live a peaceful life. Patema loves exploring, especialy the ‘danger zone’. Even though she was scolded and told not to go there again, her curosity took over and she visited it once more. This time through unexpected events, she falls into the pit leading to the ‘outside world’ where she meets a boy named Age and falls in love with him.

Review:
Sakasama no patema is a beatiful story about 2 people from 2 different worlds, meeting each other and falling in love with each other. Even though both are read more