Edit Anime Information
What would you like to edit?
 

Eureka Seven AO


Alternative Titles

Synonyms: Eureka Seven Astral Ocean
Japanese: エウレカセブンAO

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 24
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 13, 2012 to Nov 20, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Fridays at 01:55 (JST)
Licensors: Funimation
Studios: Bones
Source: Manga
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.781 (scored by 31,300 users)
1 indicates a weighted score. Please note that 'Not yet aired' titles are excluded.
Ranked: #46512
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1369
Members: 73,599
Favorites: 193

Reviews

Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
Nov 21, 2012
ohiraz (All reviews)
OK. First off, let me just say that this series was a mess.

I had huge expectations for this sequel since I'm a fan of E7, however, this didn't even come close. What I enjoyed about E7 was the story and character development. I actually felt connected to many of the characters. The story flowed very nicely. I even liked the Nirvash as its own character.

E7AO started off ok while introducing the characters, then it quickly went downhill. The focus was more on the story and fight scenes. I dont think the story was good, but that's where the focus was.

I liked Elena and Fleur and read more
Mar 19, 2015
Archaeon (All reviews)
Building on an existing storyline isn't an easy thing to do - especially when the ending of the original tale has a degree of finality to it. That doesn't stop people making the attempt though, and nowhere is this more prominent than in the world of fanfiction. This rather odd realm of amateur (and not-so-amateur), writers is filled with continuations, alternate retellings, character side-stories, non-canon additions, and a host of other works that reflect the fan's passion for the source material. Although they often lack the quality and direction (and sometimes the logic and common sense), of professional pieces, they're generally imaginative yarns that can read more
Aug 25, 2012
SavageSmickey (All reviews)
Preliminary
Eureka Seven was one of my most favorite mecha-animes of all time, but I was very disappointed in Astral Ocean. Here are the reasons why,

Eureka Seven AO focuses too much on the action. In the previous series, there was drama and love. I know most of you will think to yourself "mecha animes aren't suppose to have any drama or love, just action" but the drama in Eureka Seven was what made the series. It made you love the two main characters, Renton and Eureka. But in Astral Ocean, you don't have the same connection with Ao.

The story of the show is still strong, it's read more
Aug 2, 2013
SpaceTitanium (All reviews)
Eureka Seven AO serves as a sequel to the fantastic Eureka Seven of a few years ago. however to call it a sequel is akin to calling a doughnut a loaf bread, it shares many of the same base elements, is similar on a surface and level but make for totally different products in the end. one of which has a giant hole in the middle.

The hole in this context is the story, or rather the lack of it. The series mulls around being a monster of the week show for the majority of it's run all the while attempting to raise mysteries and intrigue read more
Oct 5, 2012
BigOnAnime (All reviews)
Ah, Eureka Seven AO, how I was so excited to watch you before you aired. Now here I am facepalming all over the place at how bad this show is, and how I was foolish to be excited for this.

Let me start out by saying, the original Eureka Seven is one of my all-time favorite anime series, and it's just sad for me to see what BONES did. They are merely marketing a show purely based off of nostalgia, and putting zero effort into it, less so than those incomplete adaptions used to sell more of the source material.

So first off, what is this show read more
Apr 22, 2012
Mattafixx (All reviews)
Preliminary
It may be early days yet, but the refreshed and reinvigorated Eureka Seven franchise holds great promise. Earmarked as it's spiritual sequel, Eureka 7 AO appears to not only match its predecessor in beauty and story, but does create firm groundwork to better it.

Story

By the end of the first episode, I was hooked. The whole progression is well-built, where E7-AO dips its toes pretty evenly between character dialogue and fast-paced action scenes. Just when you think the action has outstripped its relevance, the plot yanks you back, to cover any gaps you may have missed. This to and fro between action read more
Nov 20, 2012
Toucanbird (All reviews)
Eureka Seven: OW...er, AO

Ouch! That's is all.

...okay, that wouldn't make for much of a review, but really, the best way I can put this series was it was painful to watch. I remember seeing the original series in both English and Japanese and loved both. One of the few English dubs that I didn't despise that much. I really hope this doesn't get localized so it can slap the faces of any other Eureka Seven fans that don't watch subbed anime.

Okay, enough venting and more reviewing. The problem with this series was the story and character development...and boy, was it bad. Bones had a pretty read more
Apr 13, 2012
Kaladin777 (All reviews)
Preliminary
So I just saw the first episode and I was truly drawn in to the entire episode. The artwork is new and definitely fresh and at moments has some almost 3D aspects but it still has the Eureka 7 feel to it. The manga and the anime have a few different ambiguities that are slight. I have yet to identify the sound tracks that will be used or were used in the first episode, but hopefully they are correlated just as well as Sato Naoki's from the first series where you could literally hear the emotion in his music. Character development is good for the read more
Feb 21, 2013
kda7731 (All reviews)
Too be completely honest, I was a little disappointed With this series. I had higher expectations after Eureka 7. It was a great plot, very well developed characters, and had just the right amount of romance and action.

For Eureka 7: AO, This was not the case, the story seemed to be more thrown together and just tried to dazzle you with action for most of the episodes. This being said, character development was lacking and you could not relate or get to know the characters better. I loved the fact that Eureka 7 had great relationships which help bring it together but AO did read more
Nov 21, 2012
BHancock (All reviews)
If you want to watch AO while not being bogged down by rage-fueled reviews, then look no further. This review will tell you what to expect from E7: AO so you can be spared the headaches if you don't want to watch it. I won't be doing the generic reviews of the usual elements since many others have covered them.

First, don't expect that the original series is paralleled here in AO. It's a completely different story with elements from the previous series, the only links being Renton, Eureka, Nirvash, and the Gekko.

Second, if you don't like to think hard on an anime, then don't watch read more
Nov 21, 2012
ggultra2764 (All reviews)
This proved quite disappointing considering how much I enjoyed the original Eureka Seven series, though I'm not completely condemning it to hellfire and brimstone as many folks presently are as there have been worst messes I've seen in anime. Eureka 7 AO gave us the promise of Eureka's son, Ao, trying to discover his mother's whereabouts by trudging through some complicated conflicts between military factions and Generation Bleu. While this idea showed its potential for much of the first half of the series, while also digging into the complicated issues surrounding affairs between the mentioned factions and monster threats, later episodes get increasingly messy with read more
Feb 12, 2013
KellyAwesome (All reviews)
Oh god Bones. How can you do this to me?

Honestly, it wouldn't have been an awful anime standing on it's own. But you had to attach it to Eureka 7, to which I have so many fond memories and emotions attached!

My first complaint with this anime is.. The waste of time. The key points of this episode could have been done in 12 episodes. There were no real filler episodes either!

Why 12? Well, at least half the content was just boring: Go here, kill these guys. Minor character development. Nothing really happens.


My next complaint is.. the characters. The super powers, they didn't make sense read more
Oct 9, 2012
Hazegurl (All reviews)
Preliminary
Okay, first of all let me just say that when I first saw the original Eureka 7 I actually had a hard time getting into it. so much so to the point where I put it on hiatus for a while. Now usually when I do that I rarely go back to finish watching it but E7 was different. I found myself checking it out once more and loving it! I'll tell you why I was so compelled to watch that anime again despite initially not liking it very much....the characters and character development was great! Even for characters I did not like such as read more
Nov 27, 2012
Chibakun (All reviews)
I don't exactly have much time to write a full review as the previous people did. But I wanted to get this down since I just recently finished watching Eureka Seven AO. Probably won't bother doing much editing either. So here goes my review of Eureka Seven: Astral Ocean.

I will start this off by saying up-front I am a huge fan of the first Eureka Seven. It is by-far my number one favorite anime next to Steins;gate, NHK, and a few others. Tbh, I did have some pretty high expectations for the sequel. Based on how well Bones did with the first series. I really read more
Sep 21, 2012
lovelydeath (All reviews)
Preliminary
After watching Eureka 7 and loving it I decided that I would give this anime a try. I tried to go into it with an open mind knowing the eureka series, however this is not what I expected. The best way I can describe this anime is a mecha mystery mess.

Story- In my opinion I do not feel that this story is solid. There are many holes and mysteries that even after watching up to episode 20 still don't make sense or haven't been explained. This story has endless plot holes that will most likely never be explained or never make read more
Jul 17, 2012
MyNameIsTony (All reviews)
Preliminary
Before we get started I am planning on making a 2 part review of Eureka 7 AO this being the first one. Since i have reached the half way mark of AO i felt like it would be a good idea to give a opinion on it now, then an opinion after the show. Also i will not be ranting in any case of this review. I feel like people aren't here to hear a rant they want to know about what the anime features good and bad.

Eureka 7 AO or its full name Eureka 7 Astral Ocean is the sequel to the very read more
Jun 9, 2013
tjlep (All reviews)
As quick overview to this review: I liked Eureka AO but, I can't get into what I liked without discussing its shortcomings as a series and sequel first. There are a considerable amount of shortcomings to this series but, I am going to try to condense them down into three primary faults from which other problems with this series stem.

Probably the biggest problem I initially had with this sequel is that it denies fans the happy ending that a lot of us had pictured as following the end of Eureka Seven. Ao's parents are missing, Ao's island home in is remarkably different from read more
Jan 22, 2013
explicit707 (All reviews)
This series cannot be reviewed as a sequel. It's best to look at it as an optional side story. That being said, it has both positive and negative aspects.

For those that love the original and have yet to give this a look, I do advise perhaps taking a pass on this one. It has very little continuity with the original, and it doesn't expand on the overall story. One word to sum it up is this is clearly DIFFERENT (than the original).

Eureka 7: AO has a lot of mystery throughout. The biggest problem is the overall delivery of the story. The flow of the story read more
Nov 20, 2012
accountredacted (All reviews)
Straight 7s all across the board ... minus a 3 in Character. So how do I feel about E7:AO?

I've been a fan of Eureka Seven since I first watched it subbed by Nanashi. It's also been a really long long time since Bones made that. Forgetting E7, let's look at AO for what it actually is.

Eureka Seven: AO is less like a drama and barely a romance anime at all. Its entire point lies in family ties and coming of age - which it does... Well. Not great. Well. I did enjoy it's constant change of perspective though, although that's really not a plus read more
Sep 9, 2012
eureka822 (All reviews)
Preliminary
*Astral Ocean has not yet concluded its run as I write this review and thus I cannot say whether the last five episodes are along the same lines as the rest that will be reviewed.*

Eureka Seven Astral Ocean is an interesting series for various reasons. While the parent series, Psalms of Planets, focused on character interaction and psychology (among many other topics) with plot taking the backseat for more than half of it's run, Astral Ocean, which is less than half the amount of the original, has a stronger focus on politics. This makes for fundamentally different plot and character development, and while much of read more