Hiiro no Kakera


Hiiro no Kakera: The Tamayori Princess Saga

Edit
What would you like to edit?
 

Alternative Titles

English: Hiiro no Kakera: The Tamayori Princess Saga
Synonyms: Scarlet Fragment, Hiiro no Kakera: Tamayori Hime Kitan
Japanese: 緋色の欠片

Information

Type: TV
Episodes: 13
Status: Finished Airing
Aired: Apr 1, 2012 to Jun 24, 2012
Premiered: Spring 2012
Broadcast: Unknown
Licensors: Sentai Filmworks
Studios: Studio Deen
Source: Visual novel
Genres: FantasyFantasy, RomanceRomance, ShoujoShoujo, SupernaturalSupernatural
Duration: 24 min. per ep.
Rating: PG-13 - Teens 13 or older

Statistics

Score: 6.761 (scored by 3581035,810 users)
1 indicates a weighted score.
Ranked: #45662
2 based on the top anime page. Please note that 'Not yet aired' and 'R18+' titles are excluded.
Popularity: #1431
Members: 89,601
Favorites: 416
Sort
  • Most Helpful (Weighted)
  • Most Helpful (All Time)
  • Most Recent
  • Friends Only (Weighted)
Preliminary
May 13, 2012
totally_absurd (All reviews)
Preliminary
Boring. This is the only word I can describe this anime with.

Yes, it's reverse harem made from otome game, so you shouldn't expect much from it, but it fails even the lowest expectations.

The premise is nothing new, but it seems they haven't even tried to make something out of it. Even the bad guys are a common set (and not the best one) that you'd see in any other anime. We have an aloof five year old blonde girl that acts like she's fifty. Eye patch guy, megane guy with creepy attitude and a busty bombshell that everyone's drooling over. You can make a list read more
May 7, 2012
Kathykins (All reviews)
Preliminary
This is my first review, so bare with me please. This will be based on the first 6 episodes released so far.

Hiiro no Karera got my attention when it came out. It is a reverse harem, so you would say it's more for the ladies than the gentlemen. Consisting of 26 episodes in total, the story is really slow paced. Though, I'm a big sucker for reverse harem anime. Just to start off, this anime is based off an otome game ("An otome game (乙女ゲーム otome gēmu, lit. Maiden Game?) is a video game that is targeted towards a female market")

The main heroine is one read more
Jul 16, 2012
Shirasho (All reviews)
Utter waste of time. It’s like someone just wanted to make an anime without caring about plot, character development, or..well…anything. The ending is absolutely disappointing and reveals nothing. What little story there is builds up to what is expected to be a spectacular ending. They throw hints of mystery and character ties that never get answered. The main characters are constantly complaining about their lives. The heroine is annoying. The characters are forgettable. There isn’t a single redeeming factor about this anime. I give it a 4/10, and that is being extremely forgiving.
Jun 24, 2012
Stark700 (All reviews)
Making an anime based off a visual novel is never easy especially one aimed at a specific target audience, or in this case, the female market. There could be mistakes through adaption, the delivering of the characters, or in other cases, not sticking with the story. There is much to be said regarding what can make an extravagent series out of a visual novel these days especially from a series a game that is not too well known compared to some of the more popular series like FSN, Higurashi, etc. Will Hiiro no Kakera carry out the task of getting through the right audience and read more
Apr 11, 2015
Veasel (All reviews)
Preliminary
An average high school girl who also just happens to be a magic super special princess goddess.

If this plot is new to you, Welcome to Anime! :D

As of episode 8 we haven't seen her manifest magical powers, though we have heard her say she'll DO HER BEST! *defiant air punch* quite often. But she doesn't have time for magical powers because she's got a lot of gasping, crying and apologising to do. Ad sometimes she has to gasp, cry and apologise at the same time.

She's surrounded by the usual spectrum of protective types, a grumpy supernatural boyband with one of every flavour: there's the nice read more
Jul 1, 2012
sstarlee (All reviews)
My very first review so please :P

Anyways honestly this entire anime/storyline/plot the whole thing about it, was everything i used to dream of as a child.
Being told one day, you're some important princess that must "save" the world, but in this story she must protect an important seal or this monster will terrorize the world, which is practically the same thing!
And it is a reverse harem, which is a bonus.
But pretty much this is a really beautiful story, i'm going to be sure to check out the manga here right away.
Beautiful opening theme song, it's just really beautiful the whole thing about it. read more
Jun 25, 2012
Yemi_Hikari (All reviews)
I am reminded of the Anime called “Asura Cryin'”. The first season came out in April of 2009 and the second came out in October of 2009. The first season of the Anime actually shares a lot of the problems that “Hiiro No Kakera” happens to have. One of the problems happens to be the fact there were signs that the series had potential but the whole first season falls flat.

However, the second season ended up giving those of us who gave it a chance a pleasant surprise. Similarly “Hiiro No Kakera” has the same potential to possibly wow people with the second read more
May 9, 2012
hellwyr (All reviews)
Preliminary
Did you expect something great like Natsume Yuujinchou, which is also about a person who can see Yokais and moves to the countryside. Or maybe something like Mushishi a guy travels around and sees Yokais and spiritual stuff. Forget it, those anime are a whole different level in enjoyment.

Story:
A girl moves to the countryside, to her grandmother. The family is very traditional and strict, so the girl who can see Youkais and all kind of spirits must succeed the grandmother as the princess of her clan. This traditional family is backed and supported by more conservative family's from the village. The tradition says she read more
Jun 18, 2012
x0xDragonfly (All reviews)
Preliminary
Truly fantastic, I would say from the bottom of my heart i am so truly enjoying this anime right now - It's different, new and it keeps you guessing.

I'm a big fan of romantic animes and this one im hooked onto, The music is beautiful, the charecters are fantastic all with there own special personalitys.

A must watch - give it a try, it's like marmite you'll either love it or hate it.
I absolutely love it.
Apr 4, 2012
FluffyPop (All reviews)
Preliminary
Hiiro no Kakera, so far, is just eh for me. After the first episode, I was left unsure of whether I'll want to continue the season or not. Don't get me wrong, some of it was really promising, but other things just seemed so boring and bland that it could ruin the whole show. The art is beautfiul (I would almost watch it for that alone), but that's why I was confused when these overly simplistic "monster" ghosts came out. I have no idea what was going on there; a child could have drawn them. But all of the other art, like I said, is read more
May 23, 2012
bonkabonka (All reviews)
Preliminary
QFT: "So, Lone Star, now you see that evil will always triumph because good is dumb." - Dark Helmet from Spaceballs

Too bad in this show evil is equally stupid which makes means good will win despite its best effort to avoid it.

Overall/Enjoyment: 3 and 2 - Hulk didn't want to smash TV so Hulk had to put the show aside.

Art/Sound: 4 and 6 respectively - very middle of the road though the CG drowned gods looked hugely out of place to me

Character/Story: both 1 - if I could rate them zero I would. Why? Glad you asked ...

This is one of a very read more
Jun 8, 2012
Rianoa (All reviews)
Preliminary
The anime begins with Tamaki in a god awful outfit going to her grandmothers maybe to cater to the little red riding hood fans, upon walking into the forest things happen and she meets Takuma. Who then begins to trash talks her when she meets him and is the moodiest in the bunch so he is the love interest (Fushigi Yugi, Neo Angelique).

We then go to her grandmothers and everyone in or around the general vicinity may as well wear designer suits and Italian shoes and call themselves the mafia as they all appear just as shifty. Tamaki then meets her grandmother who lives in read more
Aug 15, 2019
BTDarklings (All reviews)
1/10

I can honestly say this is without a doubt the most boring anime I've ever had the pleasure to experience.

The characters are bland, boring, and quite frankly, pathetic. None of them gave anything of value to the story. Their abilities and powers were worthless and with the skills they have in this show I'm surprised they even managed to help at all.

The plot was barely existent. I feel like you could watch the first and last episode and still have a fairly decent idea of what was going on. I don't even understand how the writers managed to create a plot like this.

Getting through this read more
Jun 19, 2012
Jryou (All reviews)
Preliminary
Ok this is a review of the first 12 eps so were about half way through this confusing series, now I'm a sucker for characters with superpowers but it gets rediculous when they keep getting whomped by the enemy who seem to have no purpose for being evil other than for the hell of it, not to mention the current leader being a gender confused child with the personality of a rock, the villains are pretty cool and honestly I am about to start rooting for them because the main female character is so useless the series would better from her being gone, what confuses read more
Aug 10, 2013
mijjang (All reviews)
First review...
Story:
Great storyline, poor execution; it would've had more potential if the writers focused on like actual soul searching/demon hunting rather than trying to pair the main girl up with every guy there.
Art:
For an anime made in 2012, it looked early 2000s. I get that they were trying to follow the game style but visually, it didn't stand out much.
Sound: Appropriate OST and sound FX, but not worth looking up any particular song.
Characters:
teenaged girl visits/moves in with her Grandmother only to find out that she's a princess with hidden magical powers and has hot bodyguards but in typical anime fashion, she's read more
Dec 26, 2012
purechild (All reviews)
Ok, first ever review so sorry if it's a bit useless ¬_¬
Story:
I thoroughly enjoyed the storyline. It may have been a little slow-paced but I enjoyed the slow development. There are a few twists and some mystery involved in the story line, although some of it can be pretty predictable. I found it very interesting the way things turned out and there are some exciting events, however the first half of the series can get a bit irratating at times but I thought it was definetly worth it.
Art:
I LOVE the way the characters and scenery is drawn! Everything looked beautiful but not over exaggerated. I read more
Jul 2, 2012
BigOnAnime (All reviews)
Everyone knows of at least one anime that had the potential to be great, but instead it became a pile of crap, wasting all or most of the potential it had. Well Hiiro no Kakera is yet another title you can add to the list of shows that had potential, but wasted it.

Hiiro no Kakera is an adaption of a bunch of popular otome games that currently remain only in Japan. Adapted by Studio DEEN, who can do plenty wrong, you can guess it's them adapting the games improperly that led to this.

The show starts out with a girl named Tamaki finding out she is read more
May 15, 2016
influenced50 (All reviews)
Preliminary
This princess is actually kind of dumb. She goes on and on about wanting to be partners with her five guardians and feels as if they were friends. However, she agrees to cooperate with someone who obviously views her friends as monsters... how is that even considerate of her friends? That's the worst part definitely, it makes me disgusted with the princess.
She takes forever to realize her own powers and her idealistic views get really annoying because she has no way to back up her views and protect the people she "cares" about. Then again, if she really cared about them, would she have disregarded read more
Jul 19, 2013
ZatsuneMiku1 (All reviews)
Preliminary
I try hard to stray from dropping too many animes. I try to stick through with watching all the episodes no matter how bored I may get. But I must say... I was thoroughly saddened by this anime. I had high expectations, but was disappointed. I got to episode 6, and dropped it. Let me explain:
Story: 3. Okay. This is what got me the most. The plot is REAL slow. I mean, I've fallen asleep on the same episode at the same point three times in a row. It's just slow. I would not suggest this anime to someone who likes things fast paced. It's read more
Jul 30, 2013
OwlCrackers (All reviews)
I'm going to keep this review short, since the others are a bit longer. I'll just say that the story does take a while to develop, but after about 6 or so episodes, the show really grew on me. After watching the second season as well, I can definitely include this in my favorites because of the fast paced turn it takes as well as the drama that occurs later on. If you plan on watching this one, make sure you watch it all the way through. The best parts are in the second season.